You are here: HomeNews2017 03 15Article 518874

State of Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital children’s ward shocks Ghana

Read Comments Comments (33)

• Ijk 7 years ago

There's too much money in people's pocket than in banks and government in Ghana. This story, as shocking as it is, is symptomatic of the plight of many public institutions. I pray that something can be done in quick time to h ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

Forget about the stories of the government(s) and let's start contributing toward it now, folks.

• Observer 7 years ago

40 yrs still incomplete construction?
    So what did Kuffour do?

• Photosy 7 years ago

he was sleeping on the job, it is so unbelievable that Kuffour did nothing. he must never be forgiven if for eight solid years all he did was to award people with gold chains etc, Rawlins could be ignored and so can Mills and ...

• ghanian 7 years ago

a fool and and an animal,monkey like you,why are you doing pick and choose,which of the parties had more years,kwasia like you.

• ghanian 7 years ago

stupid observer and a useless onea such,out of the 40yrs what did Rawlings do with his n.d.c,thaunder fire your mouth aboa like you

• Poundsman £££££ UK 7 years ago

And yet NPP was compaigning against JD Mahama building Hospitals and schools. See the hypocricy of winning power at all cost. Now you get what you want look at how incompetent signs you are showning with two deputies and 96 m ...

• Virginia , USA 7 years ago

Oh Lord, have mercy. Mahama administration waisted millions on fleet of cars, shoddy Dubai circle and the so called infrastructure and couldn't help those little heroes at the children's ward. There is God oooooo

• Photosy 7 years ago

i cannot comprehend for 8 years Kuffour did nothing about this. his own back yard ? impossible, why blame Mahama if Kuffour himself did nothing ?

• Ada Boy 7 years ago

Here we go again with the blame game.We need to blame every president since independence. The presidency has just been budgeted to receive ghc 1.56 billion per year,how do we justify that when our children cant find beds in o ...

• ghanian 7 years ago

monkies at thire best fools.

• Isaac 7 years ago

Oh my Ghana. Sometimes I wonder the kind of administrators we put in charge of our state facilities. Besides governments failure, I believe the hospital could also have done something about this from the IGF. Wherever you ent ...

• Kk 7 years ago

The policy of free maternal care, funded by the British did not factor in the expansion of obstetric care facilities, training of obstetricians and midwives. What is on display is a direct consequence of a poorly thought thro ...

• Apuuu!!!! 7 years ago

The President, Nana Addo will choose to build National Cathedral than to get beds to the Okomfo Anokye hospital for the women to use. Misplaced priority president

• ATIA 7 years ago

KOMFO ANOKYE IS BETTER THAN ALL REGIONAL AND DISTRICT HOSPITALS. GOVERNMENT SHOULD HANDLE WHOLISTICALLY

• Kk 7 years ago

Agreed. It's a nationwide problem.

• Tony Addo 7 years ago

So what is wrong with being charitable. There are a lot of very rich Ashantes who could help to finish the project. Ashantes are very proud people and therefore should not stand aside and allow this shameful situation to cont ...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

tHIEVES

• K .Agyeman 7 years ago

What is the shady and corrupt Asantehene doing about this? He's more interested in amassing wealth for himself. He should bow his head in shame. Whet legacy is he leaving behind?

• chief vandal 7 years ago

And the President says that a national cathedral is his priority?
    I am really sad.
    4 beds only? How much does a bed cost? Why is the CEO of the hospital still getting paid?

The priorities of any government for its citizens must be good health and education. These are basic for the development and well-being of any nation. If these basic needs are not addressed, then the nation is heading toward ...

• Abewaha 7 years ago

What is the King of the Ashantis/ Surely his role would be to fight for this facilities to be completed using the opportunity whenever he was by the Mahama and others. Instead he sit there saying he is the King of The Ashanti ...

• NANA BAAH 7 years ago

THIS HORRIBLE SITUATION IS LARGELY TO BE BLAMED ON OUR INCOMPETENT, GREEDY, CORRUPT LEADERS OR SO-CALLED POLITICIANS WHO MISMANAGE GHANAS FONDS FOR THEIR OWN SELFISH NEEDS!!IT IS A BIG DISGRACE!! DONT YOU GO ABOUT SEEKING AID ...

• Naniama II 7 years ago

when the docs went on strike and the President said he needed to improve on the infrastructure and that the salary demands of the doctors were too much? Who supported him?

Mahama said he wont budge even if it cost him the ...

• Tony Addo 7 years ago

Can we please move away from the thinking that state should provide everything for its citizens. Resources are scarce and therefore just like what transpires in countries like the UK and America, individuals who are rich shou ...

• Minta 7 years ago

...it is not the function of citizens to provide hospitals and good roads, whilst state money goes into private pockets.

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

And the politicians (all) keep stealing money, cars, government buildings, big time exgratia and what have you. Suckers!!!

• Nana Asumadu sakyi 7 years ago

Some of you should grow up.the hospital belongs to all Ghanaians and not only Ashantis. Are u asked your ethnicity before treatment? Every Tom ,Dick and Harry must contribute regardless of one's back ground.I was born there.o ...

• Paul 7 years ago

Ungrateful Ashantes. JM as a visionary leader was building in the Ashanti region alone military hospitals, regional and district hospitals in order to ease congestion and offer quality health service yet you lamented that it ...

• Mort 7 years ago

Acheampong the so called uneducated dictator was wise enough to start the facility 43 years ago. Rawlings killed him the so called democrats have come and gone yet they have done nothing. Sad

• Bernice. 7 years ago

This is shocking. The amount of money stollen by Mohama & his government should have been used to renovate and equipped all the teaching hospitals. Disgusting. Or were they not aware what was happening?

• Isabee 7 years ago

Unfortunately this is the state in many gov hospitals. Hence the exploitation of many "private clinics/hospitals". These alternative s have their own set of problem.

• Tabby 7 years ago

Our politicians are going to spend $200million dollars on a new parliament when half of that will finish and furnish this KATH building started a disgraceful 42 years ago. No maternity building, no
    Parliament building! Our ...