You are here: HomeNews2017 03 08Article 516960

Police to charge Volta ‘separatist’ group members with treason

Read Comments Comments (151)

• Kobina 7 years ago

Handle this agitation with circumspect ion. It's a lost cause from the onset, so avoid making martyrs of these disgruntled ignorant agitators.

• ABBA 7 years ago

Treat these people as criminals. It is funny. A parasite that does not want to depend on the host. How can that parasite survive.? They are making empty noises. Just jail them for 10 years or deport them to Togo. They are Tog ...

• Paul 7 years ago

If they are parasites why not allow them to leave you, the host? The north and Volta must secede!

• KLUTSE 7 years ago

They are parasitic beings and good for nothing.They don't contribute anything to our economy. Let them be wasted in jail. We don't care about these parasites. They can go today.

• Hey Nana 7 years ago

we are not part of ghana... we want our own state now... carry your nonsense ghana and dirty ashantis go. we are not from ghana

• KLUTSE 7 years ago

Now you Ewes are not part of Ghana. This is what Ghanaians have been saying all along. Whenever we tell you this truth, you insults us. What make you Ewes to confess now that you are not Ghanaians.

You brought evil revolut ...

• Hey Nana 7 years ago

Fine, the plebicite date has reached now. It's 50 years and now it is 60 years... why not let us go? We want to go? what kind of evils are you talking about? you stupid dirty ashantis with sikaduro and dirty ntoa are all good ...

• KYI 7 years ago

what you talking about, no one is from Ghana, we all came to form Ghana,
    so stop these confusions and make Ghana great rather than divisions. Peace Bro

• Hey Nana 7 years ago

Me nyemi korde all ahsnatis mouth.... we want to go.... We are from western togoland.... the plebcites expires....we must go....idiot ghana

• NDC IS SATANIC 7 years ago

Paul are you sure the north are ready to leave with you? And even Volta North are asking for a seperate region so what shows they will leave with you, they just want to be heard and nobody will take them serious. I don't know ...

• agbeli kaaklo 7 years ago

Tsoo you fool calling who parasite. Ghanas number one parasite is asantehene. Avuu.

• NDC IS SATANIC 7 years ago

Agbeli you are a fool. How can Ashanti with all the natural resources be parasite? Have you seen them chasing to head institutions or civil service? They are hardworking and don't want to work under somebody to be paid so ar ...

• Gardens City 7 years ago

What kind of stupidity is this.u hate people without course. U and ur people will continue to live poor.the most poorest in ghana the Volta.

• pilolo 7 years ago

Their advisor is Akuffo Addo. Old dwarf shd also be arrested.

• C8. 7 years ago

D cccc8cïviu ihicvuiicigiccìviviigihvuiviiiiiviviiiihiuuciuccviicuiiicuicguiucvc. Ivivcivuviiiccviiçiviviviiuviviuccvviup8iicciih vçigicicviccicucvuccicciçvv viicvihvuciiiuv8ivihgu

• 3dem 7 years ago

Why is the police making these people feel important? Let them declare what ever they will declare and let's see how many people associate themselves with it!!! These are obviously a bunch of mad people being given free publi ...

• 3dem 7 years ago

What the Volta Region needs us development. If they have any ideas, we all join......obviously a mad person whose hallucination is about power and leadership....nonsense.

• Nii Sakaman 7 years ago

Punish them severely and throw these fools into jail

• TOGBE 7 years ago

Atsivor please do not deprive these citizens of their basic right. It is a legitimate issue. if you are not comfortable with ityou can challenge them in court but not putting them behind bars. Get matured, we are in a democra ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

For God safe:do we have to let them know it is a treason act.Come in folks:we want the country to live in peacefully

• Gardens City 7 years ago

Conspiracy theories. U hate ghana .you love to be togolese but u still holding documents from Ghana.
    We are happy with Nana Addo as the president of Ghana.

• OBINNA 7 years ago

SUCH DIABOLICAL ACTIVITIES, SUCH AS CALLING FOR THE SEPARATION OF SECTIONS OF THE COUNTRY, AMOUNT TO TREASON. THIS IS A TREASONABLE ACT AND THE AUTHORITIES SHOULD NOT DEAL WITH SUCH CASES WITH KID GLOVES. IT IS THE NO 1 CRIMI ...

• ATIVOR 7 years ago

These EWES have been a great liability instead of asset to Ghana. All the major coup d'tat in Ghana were staged these Ewes. Ghana would have been developed than this if it had not been these Ewes. Let them go and form their T ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Actually when we go you will not have good food to eat,you will not get education,you will not even know how to wear your pants,we produce and cook all the food you eat except that your raw plantain,fool like you,animal like ...

• ATIVOR 7 years ago

Please, we Ghanaians want to live in our country peacefully without you.Please, we beg you go. Please, go to your Togoland. We don't your all okro food.Please, please, go today. We love to see you go. You are parasitic beings ...

• Cece-Love 7 years ago

Then tell your Ghana government to free them and just stop harassing people fighting for their rights.
    Free the people you plus your government.

• elorm 7 years ago

Am not surprise is you.. Cuz uve been a fool since birth.. Avu..

• Yara MAFIAS Club New York MAFIAS 7 years ago

Corney is Son of a Bitch Fiafeto. You cook as an (Individual) Servant, and your proud of yourself. You are (less) than Intelligent (INDIVIDUAL) TRIBALISTIC FIAFETO

----> By Togbe Wisdom

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Another fool,no wonder you call yourself MAFIAS CLUB,animal like you,a bull like you if I'm tribalistic what about your fellow animal who wrote trash that about Ewes?

You these replica of animals come here to insult Ewes w ...

• Maka a maka 7 years ago

Wow! Corney the guy hit a raw nerve. You're incoherent and ranting with rage. The truth really hurts, huh? Does anything you said in your posting make sense to you? Do you feed the rest of Ghana? What kind and what amount of ...

• elorm 7 years ago

You are a complete fool.. Thats Is what I can describe u.. Avu..

• KLUTSE 7 years ago

Is this an insults that some Ewes are screeching their teeth here like bears roaring.Who has told you to leave Ghana? It is some of you who want to leave to form Trans Togoland.

Ghanaians won't cry a bit when you leave tod ...

• Dumenyo torhunor 7 years ago

You use somebody's name and put rubbish here, if you know what is good for you

• Osborn 7 years ago

Akans are the most disgruntled people, and always said the wish they could sold country Ghana for their quick money making motives. Point out what an Akan person did to help the Masses in country than himself and families. .d ...

• D DAY 7 years ago

IS IT TRUE???

• heroe 7 years ago

the ewes are noble people with deep culture. As for the coute it is your grand fathers who insight the ewes against nkrumah and the rest. So if u dont know histry go learn and be quiet. Ewes have more than you know so shut yo ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

If this don't be contain it will spill out of control and creat Boko Haram version

• Let My People Go! 7 years ago

Ma ti mi hu.

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Nonsense of all nonsense,it seems police don't know what they are doing,how on earth are you going to charge them for treason,is treason a joke,after bailing the people you are ignorantly tellingus you are charging them with ...

Tell your foolish separatist that we will mercilessly punish them

• ghanaba 7 years ago

Go and tell edward snowden he only leaked information and did not use arms thus his actions shouldn't be seen as treasonable

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 7 years ago

They represent the wrong side of history because Anlo Youth Organization under the leadership of Modesto Apaloo campaigned and won the majority votes that the territory of the British Trans Volta Togoland should remain as pa ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

They are attention seekers,anyway,Anlo was not part of Trans Volta Togoland,the same as Tongu and Peki areas,we did not take part in the plebiscite,just ignore them.

• Frothy 7 years ago

I am particularly concern about their beautiful ladies that they may go away with. I am pacified that you mentioned some areas of Volta the were not part of the plebiscite and so would continue to be Ghana and I could pick my ...

• KLUTSE 7 years ago

What else are these non performing Ewes looking for? Are they looking for okro soup and apeteshi? That, you want the government to provide to you? Parasites!!!!

• Paul 7 years ago

They've always told us we are not Ghanaians. So why shouldn't the north and Volta regions separate and form our own country?

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Form which country,we don't need that,no need for it.
    Police should be careful with these guys who are just seeking attention to become popular,ignore them otherwise you are going to make them popular and some idiots in the ...

• Bev 7 years ago

Cry your own cry. North? Have you heard such a thing from the north before? If you people want to go, they should grant you your wish.

Go to hell.

Leave north out of your hate

• Kojo 7 years ago

For your education look at the map of TVT

• Ramcocos 7 years ago

They should let them go for what is in volta region that we will loose

• emeka 7 years ago

that's where you go wrong. don't just comment without facts.

• Chairman 7 years ago

I urge all voltarians to support the movement so that we claim our independence from these wicked Akan people who have no respect for us.

• Bev 7 years ago

Hahaha, get packing so we know you're serious

• TK 7 years ago

TVT did not include southern Volta.

• Joseph Lee PEPSI. 7 years ago

Fucky inward looking people

• Bev 7 years ago

Oh how I wish their wish is granted. Ewe land not part of Ghana. Nice

• DOGBE Eric 7 years ago

Give the Voltarians the gift gifted them by the Supreme Being. Follow their history and you Will know that they are only fighting for what rightfully belong to them. Give to Caesar what belongs to Him

• DOGBE ERIC 7 years ago

If Something Should Happen to the Volta Leaders, things may not be easy.They are not fighting but need to take what is theirs. You may think you are touching only one person but before you realize you have touch the entire et ...

• hor 7 years ago

I thought part of the Volta Region openly declared its intention to break away and form the Oti Region. Are they also being charged with treason, or the circumstances are different? Please handle with care. The real test for ...

• Mohammed John Koffi 7 years ago

My friend, the Oti Region issue has been on govt lan years back, though I personally dont like the idea. Dont forget that the Oti Region will still be part of Ghana.

On the other hand, the supposed Western Togoland will se ...

• Otwenua Adamfo 7 years ago

Breaking away from the Volta Region to form Oti Region amounts to no treason because Oti Region will still be part of Ghana. Next time try comparing apples to apples. You can take the Ewe lands of the region away from Ghana i ...

• mandela 7 years ago

how I wish dis voltarians succeed in that....u will see ur source of revenue

• emeka 7 years ago

lol don't be ignorant my brother, get your facts.

• hohoho, montreal 7 years ago

where is the treason? they haven't declare the independence yet, so there is no treason as at now.

• Jahrule 7 years ago

If people feel discriminated that is what they will do. The Briafras of Nigeria are doing same.

• Pelicles 7 years ago

How can people who are being discriminated have the chance to be president etc? Ewes want to lead the nation no matter what and that will not happen. What is so special about Ewes? Are they supper-humans? What qualities do th ...

Ei.

• pin 7 years ago

We are with you both in arms and spirit.We will fight till the end.So the british ,calefornians,ireland etc can campaign to separate but ghanaians are not allowed to do so?What is wrong with the ghana police? They will have t ...

• JOE KLUTSE 7 years ago

Please, get out from Ghana immediately before we force you out.

• pin 7 years ago

ewe traitors like you will have a nice ending

• AHORGA 7 years ago

VOLTA REGION IS AFRICA "SWITZERLAND" OUR LEADERS KNEW SINCE DR NKRUMAH'S ERA . WE HAVE ,GOLD ,DIAMOND, KLINKER, OIL. ETC .STUPID IDIOTS WILL SAY WE HAVE NOTHING, ALL THE GHACEMENT IS COMING FROM VOLTA IF YOU DONT KNOW AS YOU ...

• Dr. Asemfofro 7 years ago

Massa are not an illiterate yourself? Check your grammar you dumb modafaka!

• Nana Aidoo 7 years ago

Why do you arrest them, they need to express thier oopinions and i think it is a go go campaign.
    Free Volta now

• Victor 7 years ago

Kwashigah is a big disgrace to Keta constituency. The Germans were in Keta in 1853 and gave you our Ewe alphabets. The Portuguese, the Danes, the Dutch were there before the British, who became the bitterest enemies of Anlos. ...

• Pythagoras 7 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians, I beg you not to insult or denigrate a whole ethnic group just because of the ill-conceived activities of a few people. Please limit your criticisms to only those involved. Am kneeling down and begging you

Nana will hear you

• pin 7 years ago

The plebiscite that destroyed the western togoland was rigged by Nkrumah for his own benefits.If elections are being rigged in 2017,anyone can see how easy it was to rig any election in the 1940s.

My friend if for these years of being a Ghanaian you could not better your sorry and pathetic self, how different are you going to be from the people of Togo or Benin? You are better off remaining the leeches that you are to ...

• pin 7 years ago

What do you call a contribution? I know you personally haven't done more than me for this country.Hope to meet you in the battle field.

We are yet to read of your successes on any battle field. Take your sorry self and people to your promised land. Speak for your self.

• KKD 7 years ago

Let them go. It will be NPP's advantage. And I promise ndc will never come to power again in gh.

• Paul 7 years ago

Fools, we in the North will join and leave your dying Akan Ghana for you. Remember we in the North have the largest arable land. We will see how you'd feed your people.

• Nanaba 7 years ago

Jail dem monkeys. Volta is solidly part of Ghana if you don't like it move to Togo.

• OBIBINI 7 years ago

Let the seperate themselves. They are good for nothing ewe people

• fairplay 7 years ago

When all Africa wants to come together and become one for progress what are these lazy minds talking about?

Fools don't know the value of what they have till they lose it.

• Move to Togo 7 years ago

If you dont like ghana move to Togo. Volta region is already part of ghana

• Michael K. Tettevi. 7 years ago

Gone are the days when it was possible to seperate. Now majority of those who could support that movement are all dead and gone. Even if they are right it will not be easy. The colonial days were favourable for that when Germ ...

• Bright 7 years ago

It will be good if that part of Ghana breaks away. Look that's where all the conflict in Ghana comes from. Bawku. Bumprugu. Bimbilla. Alavanyo Nkonya. Anlor . Look if they go Ghana will be peaceful. Plenty let the break ...

• agbeli kaaklo 7 years ago

How many conflicts from Anlo?

• Kofi/USA 7 years ago

Remember Biafra in Nigeria and stop the nonsense

• ChrisC 7 years ago

Nonsense, Ghana police needs proper training, is it a crime to campaign for one's region to gain independence, were arms recovered from them, were they organizing secret meetings, are they calling for armed insurrection, rebe ...

• KKK 7 years ago

Nonsense. You cannot twist the arm of history. Do you forget about the 1956 Plesbecite? It is about time Volta Region separate from Ghana. Independence now

• Astro. 7 years ago

No Ewe guy should take any harsh comments published on this platform against them seriously. Those so called akans with those harsh words are the inferiors among the akan tribes. Real ones never talked bad about other tribes. ...

• Mak 7 years ago

YOU ARE RIGHT "EMPTY BARRELS MAKE MOST NOISE" THANKS

• Ashant dominant 7 years ago

Ghana would be a peaceful country without these voltarians.
    They are the most evil people on earth

• OBIBA JK 7 years ago

we second d this good cause.it time the plebiscite signed over fifty years to be over.we now have the right to be an independent state.give us our land.that's all we seek

• Miss Etweba 7 years ago

The people don't want to be ruled by an oragatuan Dwarf . They have all the rights to part away from Ghana.
    If that dwarf keeps bragging that he is the real Democrat why not honor their wish by first granting a referendum t ...

• Ugly akufo addo 7 years ago

Useless Prez

• KI -LOTE 7 years ago

pls tell the police to be very circumspect in dealing with this issue. it is our right not a privilege. release them b4 something unthought happens.

• KI -LOTE 7 years ago

pls tell the police to re-visit history

• Rayo 7 years ago

They should contact Akuffo Addo who wants to separate people. Dividing regions meaning separate people. Akuffo Addo is the commander in separation.

• WHO CARES. 7 years ago

LET THEM GO

• teddy 7 years ago

Plz let's be careful this is how Biafraqand boko haram started in Nigeria
    Even me I do sympathize with them esp with the frustration and corruption with our current system you might end up martyring them and people with mone ...

• ABAA !!! 7 years ago

It was their own in NDC government who had looted and stolen everything in Ghana. They should ask JJ Rawlings when he built the Nsawam factory he owns.They should blame their own.

• Judas 7 years ago

Corney, or who ever you call yourself. If you dont know your back ground then let tell you today.your ancesters are (Iroba) they run away from Iroba kingdom so for that you Ewe ppls are nigerians, so pls just go back nigeria ...

• zomabi 7 years ago

careful, careful, careful, be very very careful.nedo gede anyigba dzivo

• Shaba 7 years ago

Is this a crime? Are they not entitled to express their desires in a democratic dispensation?

• Mcllins 7 years ago

I don't think what they are seeking is a bad idea. Jxt give them what belong to them that's all. There is nothing like treason in this case.

• Judas 7 years ago

Corney, or who ever you call yourself. If you dont know your back ground then let me tell you today.your ancesters are (Iroba) they run away from Iroba kingdom so for that you Ewe ppls are nigerians, so pls just go back to ni ...

• JC 7 years ago

Ghana is a one unitary state. And no part of it will be ceded.

• JOHN 7 years ago

SO ALLOW THEM TO GO. I HOPE OUR DAM IS NOT IN THEIR REGION

• Naniama II 7 years ago

invincible forces more evil

• Gborgla 7 years ago

please tell that police commander to be very careful in dealing with these people before he disappears. Ebe yedzine nane, koene.

• Exornam 7 years ago

Everyone should take into account what are being said. If these feelings of hatred towards the Ewes are not in our hearts it will never come out. Is this how to treat fellow humans? I am appalled as 5o the venom that is being ...

• Good news 7 years ago

Finally, the good news is here! please let us fight this together, we need this separation now!

• nimdiklugavegi 7 years ago

can any of you speaking against ewes shows his face? at least to show bravery.

• pep 7 years ago

these separatists are fools,when everybody is advocating for peace and unity, you are advocating for division...they should be dealt with accordingly...this is tantamount to declaring war in Ghana...

• pin 7 years ago

Give back our lands .The gold coast arm was an invading force that was treated as such by the voltarians son we have lived to fight another day.So let the war begin.

• asem 7 years ago

these have less years to live and they are telling the rest of the country what they should do?

• Kpevi 7 years ago

I support my people 100%. We will leave this bogus country and form our own. Ghanaians are fools. All they know is sex and fufu. We will go to Togo where we belong.

• ABAA !!! 7 years ago

Please, don't sleep with your own daughter or a goat. That is what you guys enjoy most.

Good bye, parasites!!!!!

• Agbeli Kumordizi 7 years ago

The case is as simple as that if you are not happy with your wife the solution is divorce
    Ghana at 60 good years not a single factory
    Accra should settle Volta people peaceful divorce

• Albert 7 years ago

They should go. Their separation won't affect Ghana in anyway.

• Jolapito 7 years ago

Having read all the comments under this story, I could see that people in favour of the separatist write good and grammatically correct English and vice versa.

• Osborn 7 years ago

Mr Officer Atsivor, I advised you not to violent the right of the trios. this is an issue which needed to be deal regardless to political affiliation. it is their right, challenge them in court,but not an action of persecut ...

• Myles 7 years ago

can u blame them? they are constantly referred to as Togolese. others think they don't deserve even position thay have so much toiled and are qualified for. this portal has published articles that seek to say voltarians don't ...

• Myles 7 years ago

and someone here is calling them parasites. see Hw stupid and insolence people are.
    they want to go and u HV problem with them ?

This is a treasonous activity, it's quite simple and am confident the police will do their job as required. I don't see why lovely Ghanaians will result to insulting each other over this issue.

• Osborn 7 years ago

Voltarians shall continued to protest for their independent until Akuffo rescinded his decision on division of the region. He thought he is wiser than everybody, because of the his motive of dividing the region and achieved i ...

• freedom 7 years ago

I think some people have to go back to their history teachers and stop exposing them self here.

• AZAA 7 years ago

It is the same NPP which said these people are Togolese and when they agreed and want separation you call them names.

• Gud 7 years ago

Volta region produce the highest medical doctors and their lawyer's
    National arthem were enjoy today was composed by the voltarians

• infiniti 7 years ago

stupid ayigbe people...juju ayegbe people are too wicked and descriminatory...infact go and great your nonsense in the sea..evill people

• Victor 7 years ago

Akans must be told that Ewes are not a minority ethnic group in West Africa. We are in Western Togoland, Republic of Togo, Republic of Benin, South-eastern part of Nigeria. They should not compare Ewes to Biafrans. Akans shou ...

• numnum 7 years ago

fools every akan would like ewe to go we even want our akanland it will be far better than with ntafo and ayigbefour kwasia man even ashnti alone have more population than ewes in west africa the largest ewe population is in ...

• Bisa 7 years ago

This must be treated carefully as it may increase the level of agitation. The problem is as a result of Jerry John Rawlings' posture in the region and fear that NDC may collapse.In fact over the years JJ and NDC has been the ...

• awudu inusah 7 years ago

I support dis movement,n iwill in carrige all de purple of volterian 2 support it.

• Frank 7 years ago

If the president is thinking of forming new region and possibly dividing the Volta region in to two, what then is wrong with some people deciding to form their own country? 100% support for the break away. Volta region is not ...

You are creating hatred for ewes you swine.

You are going to make your people poorer than you are now.

Your part of volta region is going to be poor as no one will invest in an unstable region

• Frank 7 years ago

We like it. Time to go

• Gershon Ahumnle 7 years ago

The securities should about this people. They have the right to come out with their views because we are in democratic era ,if anything we should do referendum and see who wins but arresting them would yield anything. I don't ...

• Akpakli 7 years ago

We are not a Ghanaian we know why can't you give what belong to us . So that's Akans and Ashanti to live in their own country called Ghana . Volta Independence now . You guys never know your history if trans volta Togoland t ...

• Frank 7 years ago

Time to leave fuck pussy ghana

• Concerned ???? 7 years ago

Togoland was captured from the Germans and divided between the French and the British period. It's only Germany that can make a case to claim both Togo and the the portion that was given to Ghana. Those idiots must be told th ...

• Benbella 7 years ago

These Volta separatists and secessionists must be swiftly prosecuted and hanged for their treasonable conduct to deter like minded persons from doing same.the constitution of Ghana is supreme, acts of secession constitute tre ...

• Kabo 7 years ago

What are police waiting for to arrest those who are changing the name and the location of Juapong Volta Region to the name Adome of Eastern region on the Google Map?

• Kwasi 7 years ago

NPP DURING THE 2016 ELECTION CAMPAIGN PROMISED DIVIDING SOME PARTS OF THE WESTERN REGION AND THE VOLTA REGION.SOME PEOPLE HAVE NOW STARTED SPEARHEADING THAT POLICIES.

• Kwesi 7 years ago

Allow them to go because the ashantis are claiming Ghana to be their own.

• Joseph Lee PEPSI. 7 years ago

These so called activists are social rejects and why is the establishment entertaining such diabolical activities .CRUSH THEM ONCE AND FOR ALL.

These frustrated fools should spare us with these rubbish.Which Voltarians are they representing