You are here: HomeNews2017 03 08Article 516829

Fufu Brouhaha: Dietician backs Pastor Otabil

Read Comments Comments (63)

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Have you wondered why fufu spoils within a short time of its preparation. It is because of the unhygienic way it is prepared. The turning and turning alone absorbs a lot of pathogenic microbes and gases which renders it unhea ...

• peter 7 years ago

theres no evidence for your claim than just a thought

It clear that fufu spoils easily after its preparation. In order to make it stay longer without spoiling, people add a lot of salt to preserve it. This method is also crude and dangerous for the fufu patrons because it could ...

• Apraku 7 years ago

Any other food will get spoiled when you don't keep it the way it should be kept or prepared, your assuption has nothing to do with fufu.

• Pelicles 7 years ago

All these idiots making senseless statement about fufu, love to lick pussy and swallow anything their tongue extracts into their stomach and to them, that is hygienic.

Name any Ghanaian who died just because of eating fufu ...

The leading cause of death is food related. Why did the whiteman say 'you are what you eat'. Imagine a home where fufu is eaten everyday. The husband comes home late everyday to meet a big bowl of fufu seasoned with plenty sa ...

• Kutsii 7 years ago

if u continue to blaspheme against the fufu that our ancestors handed over to us, u might be knocked down by a sewage truck. Repent .

• KK 7 years ago

Hahahahahahh

• Jo Alaa 7 years ago

Agbesi is foolish

• Nana Bawuah 7 years ago

Nonesense! I eat Fufu several times a week. Sometimes several times a day. Fufu is healthy and won't cause any health related problems. I've never heard of this nonesense like keeping Fufu by adding salt to it. How can someon ...

Because you always swallow fufu hook, line and sinker you don't even know how it tastes like. Please, ask the woman who prepares fufu for you what she uses to preserve it. I know I am stepping on raw nerves but I have to in o ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Ask them that question again,that so called dietician is foolish like Otabil.
    When did these fools realize fufu is not good for human consumption.

Because of this foolishness especially in social media when I get whatsApp ...

The dietitian was more charitable and so he was sounding a bit more diplomatic. If he had decided to let out or the harmful effect of fufu you would have been crying Mahahamahaha by now.

• K. M., Australia 7 years ago

Perhaps the guy has neat ffu factory and he wants a nice way to discourage people from eating pounded fufu so that he can get more market for his neat fufu.

Some of the pieces of advice given by the dietician on how to pr ...

• Sam 7 years ago

Fufu is bad, so we go for pizza, papaye or mawarko rice. Thanks Mr know all dietician.

Any food that is chewed in the mouth by humans is good. We have such foods in Ghana including yam, cassava, cocoyam, etc. Processed foods like banku, konkonte, TZ, etc, are good if they chewed in the mouth.

• JH New York. 7 years ago

Don't pollute the public with your non- performance imaginations!.Have you noticed the difference in the Oil prepared from the original local Palm Tree fruits and that from the later day Palm Tree populary called "Agric", fr ...

Correction:.. fufu Spoiling within 7 minute,etc,after prepared...

Fufu in Ghana is a very bad food. This is the very food that has made a lot of Akans grow short and instead of tackling the menace some useless academicians are glorifying it by claiming Akans in general and Ashantis in parti ...

• peter 7 years ago

is there any word beyond stupid? please consider yourself that

• Hohoho, montreal 7 years ago

80% of Ghanaians children born in Canada are taller than their parents. It's the milk and the environment. Dude, it has nothing to do with Akans .

Besides the milk, most western foods are chewable. Compare that to what most Akan children eat in Ghana. Everyday most Akan Children eat fufu. The Energies spent in preparing and pounding the stuff is not the same energy they ...

• SASU BOATENG 7 years ago

Lol! Very funny!!
    Who thought you science, the alchemist?

• KK 7 years ago

Guess you have not seen a short man in any other society apart from fufu eating societies? Did you think before writing this post?

• Komla Ganyo, Leklebi Dafor 7 years ago

Flawed analysis based on a single child with parents in Canada. Is it only Ashantis of the Akan family who mostly eat fufu? Stop This Nonsense Agbesi Kwesi. WHAT ABOUT Gari eaters? Do they chew gari? Banku eaters also don't ...

• Wisdom. 7 years ago

Ashantis are not the shortest tribe in the world. Are the Chinese short because they eat Fufu? There are many tribes in Ghana that eat fufu as much as the ashantis but they are taller. Remember, Konkonte, banku, tuozafi and m ...

• peter 7 years ago

these people are making too much noise about fufu eating killing africans.this advice goes for every food need to be prepared under proper hygeine. the so called pastor also made mentioned of not eating with your hands. what ...

• Bobbyñ, Atebubu. 7 years ago

Agbeshi Kwesi, is only Ashanti's who eat figure Ghana? Talk sense you stupid ayigwe boy, what do you eat there?

• akofena 7 years ago

Ewes and Ayigbes leave corn doughs to rot and stink before preparing banku with them.Is that hygienic?You dry 'keta school boys'on dirty floors and along the sea shores for months and weeks before using them to prepare okro s ...

• KOO MENSAH 7 years ago

Ok guys I have been eating fufu since 56 years ago and still growing strong.
    I don't know if fufu has started to kill the Ghanaian populace.
    Wayo! So what are we going to do now..fufu eaters for it seems we are in trouble.

• Aj 7 years ago

Koo Mensah,the problem here is that dieticians/ pastor otabil know that most of our Ghana foods preparation are unhygienic but due to the reactions of some tribes against them would be horrible, so they choose fufu to make th ...

• KK 7 years ago

Fufu is eaten all over West Africa and Akans are a minority when you consider all those who eat fufu in West Africa. The fact that Akans glorify fufu does not make it an Akan food

• boakye 7 years ago

shut the fuck up you ewes want everything we have it started from kente now it is fufu kwasia fufu is akan food from akanland. jollof is from senegal but it is eating in west africa. take your banku away do you see akans clai ...

• Jeff, UK 7 years ago

This is different from Otabil's assertion. Fufu is made from cassava and plantain or cocoyam. What consumers should be made aware of is what happens when these compounds come together. Probably the science department of otabi ...

• Francis, Flagstaff House. 7 years ago

This is irrelevant. Every food is not safe depending on how it is prepared; rice & stew or even tea is not safe all depending on how it is prepared. Why do you have to make mention of only fufu. It is fufu that has mafe me w ...

• ghanani 7 years ago

foolish talk

• ogya 7 years ago

Go away with this nonsense . our forefathers ate fufu when there was nothing like hygiene but lived more than 100 year . nonsense you ate fufu under bad condition and should have been poison before you sit and spree this nons ...

• Kutsii 7 years ago

Put fufu and light soup with dry fish, and also put Pizza with ice cream and I will always go for the 'unhygienic' fufu. Nonsense.

Enough of the fufulogical nonsense, fufunisms and fufutologies. Ask Otabil if he uses BENTO ...

• Mr Carpenter 7 years ago

What this diatecian is saying can be applied 2 all kinds of food being prepared. Do not single out fufu.
    Why all this nonsense about fufu suddenly?
    There is nothing the matter wrong with fufu. If u do not like, do not eat i ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

MEXICANS EAT BURRITOS AND SALSA WITH THEIR HANDS ARE THEY BACKWARDS?
    AMERICANS ALL EAT CHICKEN WINGS AND CHIPS WITH THEIR HANDS ARE THEY LIVING IN DARK AGES.

• Uncle Pee 7 years ago

If fufu was a killer, those criticizing wouldn't be living. I will pick fufu over hamburger and French fries 100 anytime!

• Hohoho, montreal 7 years ago

Do you know what is bacteria? You are ignorant. Ask what is bacteria and what can kill it before you come and comment about it

• KWABENA 7 years ago

I wil eat fufu prepared the traditional way at all times.My father ate it that way and lived beyond 100 years.I have been eating it that way and I am almost 70 years.Otabil's scaremongering will not stop me from eating fufu t ...

• Dziko Kwame 7 years ago

Hmmmnnnn.

Dietician indeed. Where does he practise this dietetics?

How sanitized is the cornhusk in which we prepare kenkey?

How sanitized is the leaf in which we prepare Agidi (Kafa in Ewe)?

In which restaurant ...

• Pelicles 7 years ago

Can you tell me why White people die? You are commenting as if Ghanaians are under unrelenting attacks from pathogens due to our food. Name any Ghanaian who die from eating fufu, agidi or whatever. Name just one.

• Jo Alaa 7 years ago

Otabil and this bogus dietician are going mad

• Paa Kwesi 7 years ago

The pestle and mortar are sanitized with hot water that is poured from the boiled cassava. Its only lazy men who can't pound fufu that won't like it.

• STARLINGARD 7 years ago

Another BASTARD

• K. M., Australia 7 years ago

Perhaps the guy has neat ffu factory and he wants a nice way to discourage people from eating pounded fufu so that he can get more market for his neat fufu.

Some of the pieces of advice given by the dietician on how to pre ...

• MARWAKO 7 years ago

THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR MENTIONING METAL, EVEN SOME FO THE BUILDING MATERIALS USED IN THE COUNTRY ARE CANCER BOMBS,ALL THESE NICE ROOFING SHEETS ARE ALL CANCER BAZUGA.THEY ARE NOT ALLOWED HERE IN THE STATES.

• MARWAKO 7 years ago

THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR MENTIONING METAL, EVEN SOME FO THE BUILDING MATERIALS USED IN THE COUNTRY ARE CANCER BOMBS,ALL THESE NICE ROOFING SHEETS ARE ALL CANCER BAZUGA.THEY ARE NOT ALLOWED HERE IN THE STATES.GHANAIANS FOLLOWS ...

• Odikro Mununkum 7 years ago

The whole article don't make sense. Any food not hygienically prepared is not good to eat. Also, any food left above 45 degree Fahrenheit for 30 minutes can develop harmful bacteria that can cause food poison. Fufu is a natu ...

• KK 7 years ago

Our grandparents ate fufu and lived for over 100 years. Ghanaians started dying early as soon as they started adopting foreign lifestyles. Give us a break!

• master 7 years ago

Our grandparents drank from the well and lived over hundred so we should also keep drinking from those holes. Also, our grandparents didn't have fridges so we should not buy one.

Sometime when I read these comments I feel ...

• J.B 7 years ago

No food in this world is 100% safe. Thus why God created humans with immune system. Talking about old ages. Akans fufu eating communities produced more nd more old men and women than most of the city dwellers. Otabil might be ...

• Ashootings 7 years ago

The problem with fufu is very serious. A lot of people are walking around with big and not too big stomachs. They are grossly overweight and do not exercise enough. They are deemed as rich. some people eat fufu in the morning ...

• Pelicles 7 years ago

Whites who have kidney problems, high blood pressure, strokes etc get that from eating fufu right? Also, there are people who weight as much as 600 hundred pounds in the US and where did they get that from?

Some of you arg ...

• boka 7 years ago

Not just fufu, any food not prepared under hygienic conditions can kill you.Stop scaring people, if you have choices just go ahead and enjoy your varieties.

• CONCERNED GHANAIAN 7 years ago

Pastor Otabil concentrate on spiritual things. Because you are so frustrated with spiritual things that s why you have resorted to these things. Consider parts of the country that eat fufu and parts that do not eat fufu and t ...

• King George 7 years ago

Otabil is one intelligent pastor I admire among the many false "men of God" on the market these days. His reasoned judgement on fufu should be treated with all seriousness. I stopped eating fufu at about twelve years old when ...

Cheap Dietician. Cheaper than Fufu pestle and mortar!.

• Odikro Mununkum 7 years ago

Otabil and the dietician are both wrong they should stop confusing themselves are Ghanaians. Hygienic in food preparation and nutrition facts are two different things. They don't know what they talking about.

• Wisdom. 7 years ago

Why won't you just advice on hygienic ways of preparing food. What about the stick used in preparing banku, and the way the dough is fermented? What about drying cassava for Konkonte? What about cooking utensils for rice? (wh ...