You are here: HomeNews2017 03 07Article 516329

Samia Nkrumah calls for renaming of Kotoka Airport

Read Comments Comments (119)

• ibn abudu @ NPP FOUNDING MEMBER@YYZ 7 years ago

THIS IS A VERY INTELLIGENT PRESIDENT & I HOPE GHANAIANS WILL SUPPORT HIM TO CHANGE THE NAME THROUGH A REFERENDUM IF COST ISN'T TOO HIGH

• Umknown 7 years ago

Why? Kotoka was a freedom fighter.

• HONESTY 7 years ago

How I wish I can drive every Ghanaian to think.
    Stop fighting over an old edifice and build a better more modern and huge airport befitting the great African icon.

• Sherry 7 years ago

Excellently stated!

• ED-KSI 7 years ago

The airport named after this man Kotoka does not make sense. It makes the western............... if the find out what the name really means. Asem oh, bibifour.

• yaw 7 years ago

kotoka was a traitor.

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

It's long overdue and I don't understand why previous leaders didn't have the balls and foresight to enact this change. They were all busy stealing and lying to the public

• Zuale 7 years ago

Nkrumah was so power-drunk that he made himself President for life without a Vice and any one who opposed his was imprisoned for life and tortured to death at Nsawam Prison. Nkrumah was a murderous tyrant and ruled with terro ...

He imprisoned those who.we're trying to bomb him into.bits, those 2faced traitors. If u say nkrumah was a murderer then u must not have heard of jj Florence. U fool. The opposition didn't understand dr. Nkrumah nor did the la ...

• Abongo 7 years ago

Who is a listening president that rouge drugs addict, evil dwarf?

• Kofi. 7 years ago

Ibn Nkrumah is not intelligent President he was selfish and a dictator.If he was intelligent Ghana by now would have been better than many western countries.After independent Britain left Ghana debt free and also hundred mill ...

• Neutral Zone 7 years ago

Today she's also talking.

• PETER MIEZAH 7 years ago

SAMIA BECAREFUL FOR VOLTARIANS WILL KILL YOU

• ... 7 years ago

SIMPLE.

• Lopez 7 years ago

Samia should be grateful for the democracy she is enjoying now if not for the sake of Kotoka and his brave compatriots. Kwame Nkrumah would have been just like what Mugabe has become in his country, a brutal dictator who thin ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

That girl should build a new airport and name it after her father.
    Why not appeal to the president to name Ghana after Nkrumah,was he the only one whoever led a country to independence to have everything name after him?
    Tha ...

• KOFI. 7 years ago

Bother Corney, The airport name would not be changed. Samia Nkrumah is a joke...she better call western region after his late father.

• Yahya Jammeh 7 years ago

The idea is long overdue

• Alan Coomson 7 years ago

Kotoka toppled the evil regime of Kwame Nkrumah. Kotoka was the only man in history who staged a coup to save a country and not for his personal ambition that was why he called Ankrah to be the head of state.

KOTOKA WAS A ...

• God first New York1 7 years ago

Corney, you are entitled to your opinions but do you really know the meaning of a "hero?" I have thrown a big challenge to you to enumerate all the achievements that Kotoka accomplished for Ghana.

• KKK 7 years ago

As a matter of fact, Nkrumah left us with a Brutal Dictatorship, and an economy in steep decline. Check the facts, we were recording negetive growth rates towards the end of his brutal reign.

• Kofi. 7 years ago

God first Kotoka liberated Ghana from a tyranny Nkrumah was a dictator and a merciless President

• Tweaa dc I 7 years ago

MR GOD FIRST NEW YORK I.....KOTOKA'S HEROISM WAS HE LED THE OVERTHROW OF ONCE A DICTATOR WHO CHASED A LOT OF GHANAIANS INTO EXILE.........FOR JUST OPPOSING HIM POLITICALLY......TELL SAMIA WHAT HER FATHER WAS APART FROM HIS P ...

If staging a coup d'etat depicts heroism, then being hero is meaningless and worthless. In fact, if that's the meaning from your empty head, I wouldn't mince words to say heroism has gone to the dogs.

• H. S. FIRE 7 years ago

Samia called for "renaming" of the airport. Did you read anything in the piece that confirms Samia suggested the gateway should be named after her father?

No coup maker deserves to be honoured anyways by any country. Coup ...

• Ebo Thompson 7 years ago

Kotoka is forever. Nkrumah was the cause of all our woes. While Ghanaians wallowed in poverty and slums eveywhere, Nkrumah gave 10 million pouds each to the Presidents of Mali and Guinea for them to help him to be the life Pr ...

• Edgar 7 years ago

Kotoka was a legend who ended a murderous and bloody dictatorship. Nkrumah proclaimed himself a messiah and his dictatorship was unparallel in Africa. He was worse that Gadafi. He was like Iddi Amin.

LONG LIVE KOTOKA. KOTO ...

• Okomfo,London 7 years ago

Did you know Gadafi?Do you know what he did for his country?

• Umknown 7 years ago

Why don't you ask we name Ghana after your father who stole everything from those who brought him from abroad to help gain independence? He was a brutal dictator who chased away well meaning Ghanaians, jailed and killed his o ...

• Law of Kama 7 years ago

As an Officer he did.what would libetate the country at that point in time. His actions saved us from tyranny and dictatorship that had creep our good Nkrumah.

• narh 7 years ago

Law of kama. Thank you. This stupid people have the opportunity to talk today because somebody has sacrifice and clear the way down for them.

• hor 7 years ago

I don't have any academic credentials apart from senior high school. I've however learned that ' time and place ' should be considered in passing judgment in historical events. I rejoiced when Kwame Nkrumah was overthrown. ...

• Compliments12 7 years ago

You guys have really short memories. Today you're living peacefully from the efforts of one man Nkrumah and since he's no more you're just slapping yourselves.Yourselves because l am writing for all those who are making filth ...

• Kofi. 7 years ago

Wise up I lived under Nkrumah regime I am honestly telling you that Kotoka is a hero.If not Kotoka I tell Ghanians will never have democracy that we are enjoying.So today if you are able to cell phones and enjoy freedom of sp ...

• GH Hightower 7 years ago

what has this man done to have a such a monument named after him. he was peasant soldier. a traitor, footsoldier for the CIA who helped distabilize a sovereign state. who name the airport Kotoka

• GHANA'S BRIGHT FUTURE 7 years ago

Kotoka International Airport must be renamed Kwame Nkrumah International Airport. Coup makers must not be rewarded by such honor.

I bet you, if Kotoka was not an Ewe, Rawlings and his Ewe government of PNDC would have rena ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Can you tell us what Rawlings rename which was named after those from other tribes,was it not Rawlings who built the Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum,was it not Rawlings who renamed UST after Nkrumah,what else do you guys want to be n ...

So, you still love it 'Kotoka International Airport, right? Then why not Busia International Airport. I hate it because Kotoka was a coup maker.

I bet you Rawlings would have changed the name if Kotoka was not an Ewe. That ...

• predator 7 years ago

thank you! go ahead and name everything after Nkrumah including the country. today in knust, virtually everything and sooner all the trees will be named after ofumtuo's (apology: prof mills) manhyia people

• KOJO BEDIAKU. 7 years ago

You tel your mother fucker such stories. that's why we will remain like that...........brag future bright on telling others we have gold, diamond etc, useless talk...

My friend, with president Nana Akuffo Addo in charge, don't you see Ghana bright future. I see it. Now, with good men in power, Ghana has bright future.

For more than thirty five years when P/NDC governments were in charge ...

• Essum 7 years ago

Nkrumah was a dictator who schemed to accise his opponents of bomb throwing when in actuality he was behind the bombings. Why was the British lawyer who flew from Nigeria returned the moment he landedvin the famous phraae by ...

• Charlie King Addo 7 years ago

Esum means darkness.

• steve 7 years ago

Charlie king Addo, u are so funny .u mean Esum means darkness abi

• MP 7 years ago

It will forever be KOTOKA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT!!! You cab go back to Egypt, where you belong.

• Cowboy 7 years ago

I PERSONALLY DO NOT KNOW HOW MANY ROADS THERE IN IN THE USA BUT JUST TO LET YOU KNOW THAT ALL STREETS WITHIN THE 50 STATES OF THE USA HAVE BEEN NAMED AFTER HUMAN BEINGS REGARDLESS OF WHO YOU ARE AND WHAT YOU DID.I AM AN NKRUM ...

• JOE BOAT 7 years ago

Kotoka for me was a hero to have led the coup that sacked the dictatorial regime of Kwame Nkrumah packing.
    Nkrumah had deserted the original plans of the UGCC and CPP to make Ghana a shining example of a progressive independ ...

• Sherry 7 years ago

Who killed Afrifa? Hahaha

• Jones,Canada 7 years ago

All of you do not forget. It was Kotoka's uncle Mr. Komla Agbeli Gbedemah who made Nkrumah who he was by giving him his seat and then campaigning for him

• Kofi Ho 7 years ago

Sorry you should have appealed during NDC time. Nkrumah named many things after himself whiles president. He put his picture on all the currencies. What a man. Didn't he remember his own colleagues like Gbedemah, Ako Adjei, K ...

• Ernesto 7 years ago

Those 'boys' who followed Nkrumah were being used by Nkrumah. Little did they know Nkrumah had his own agenda. Nkrumah's vision was Africa, not Ghana. JB Danquah was for the Ghana agenda.

• Kwasi London 7 years ago

Ghana is no Egypt, Ghana is our motherland is not our fatherland, so is good for you to keep that your mouth close. Look at this Fulani woman, a person who don't have addressed in this world. Don't talk tell me your nationali ...

• Sherry 7 years ago

Stupid kwasia London, dirt is better than you.

• Anfoega 7 years ago

Kotoka is the only Ewe man whose name unifies Asantes and Ewes. If you take him away from the equation these two groups would launch a bloodywar against each other.

So let it be Samia!

• APONKYE 7 years ago

When people like this contributor think in terms of only tribes, how can Ghana progress? Wrong is wrong, simple.

The single action that stopped Ghana's progress was the 1966 coup. And if people can defend/support the perpe ...

• KWAME EMIHER. 7 years ago

You better find something to do than your taught. Your father detain my father till he pass out in detention, its a pain to his generation....You have nothing to do than name change cos he lead Ghana to independent.......

• GHANABA GASHIKPONG 7 years ago

GHANA IS OUR MOTHERLAND AND NOT YOUR FATHERLAND. HOW DARE YOU MENTION THIS. READ YOUR HISTORY.WHERE WILL YOU NAME FOR THE INNOCENT VICTIMS OF NKRUMAH,DO YOU THOSE THAT REALLY FOUGHT FOR OUR LIBRATION AND FREEDOM, NKRUMAH JUST ...

• Pk 7 years ago

Hmm

• th 7 years ago

changing the name of the airport, is it going to generate income in the name nkrumah where Samia will be getting some in the of his father. they are you that your father is a dictator that contributed to his downfall. underst ...

• one love 7 years ago

we shd name that airport to ur stupid father of urs.

• Ohene 7 years ago

Rename will bring food to the table?

• james mann 7 years ago

does Ghana belongg to Nkrumah that everything must be named after him?what didn't he do to JB Danquah who's started the movement of Independence, didn't he die in prison under Nkrumah,, is that legitimate?enough of naming str ...

• K Addison 7 years ago

Nkrumah government was illegal government so Gen Kotoka as a concern citizen has a legitimate right to overthrow a dictator.
    The behavior of Dictator Nkrumah was exactly the same as what Dictator Yahaya Jammeh, even Nkrumah ...

• Kojo Appiah 7 years ago

Dr Nkrumah also made mistakes. The name of the airport must remain so, to remind politicians that dictatorship has no place in Ghana.

• GOOD CITIZEN 7 years ago

KOTOKA'S NAME DOES NOT BEFIT OUR INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. RENAME IT AFATER NKRUMAH

Kotoka did not do anything for Ghana to warrant him named after our national airport. I support Samiah.

• KOFI 7 years ago

TO LET: ENSUITE ROOMS & APARTMENT WITH MODERN FACILITIES IN TANTRA HILLS.

PLS CALL OWNER ON 026 471 6238

• Kwamena 7 years ago

Yes it must be
    Accra International Airport

• Nii noi 7 years ago

Fool what is accra?

• KOFI 7 years ago

FOR SALE: JAGUAR GENUINE PARTS BOTH NEW OR HOME USED AT LOWER PRICES.

CALL OWNER ON : 026 471 6238

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

Accra International Airport ... anyway good reason as to why it was named after him ?

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

Any good reason as to why it was named after him ?

• wahab 7 years ago

in fact I see no reason why that place should be name after this Kotoka who was pushed by whites to foolishly overthrow Nkrumah, which is the reason we ar still where we are.

• OBIBINI 7 years ago

Shut the fuck up bitch. You want us family to enjoy all the glories in life.

• Dr Phil 7 years ago

Osadzefor was a great man but he has his bad side too. So those he hurt during times in office must also demand a name change of KNUST, NKRUMAH CIRCLE, NKRUMAH MUSEUM etc ? Samia, pls give us a BREAK.

• Muskham Andani 7 years ago

Should everything in Ghana be named after your father Dr Kwame Nkrumah?
    History can't be changed. There is a reason for the name Kotoka Airport and when people asked they will be told. Nkrumah wasn't overthrown is just for ...

• THE VOICE 7 years ago

WE WILL NAME NSAWAMU DETENTION AFTER UR FUCKY USELESS FATHER KWAME NKRUMAH.NO BODY HAS ANY RIGHT TO GHANGE THE AIRPORT'S NAME.IF NOT KOTOKA MAY HIS NAMESHINE ON GHANA WE WILL UNDER THE GRIP OF KWAME NKRUMAH HIS CHILDREN.
    KOT ...

• KOJO NYE, USA 7 years ago

I WAS VERY SAD TO READ FROM MY UNIVERSITY LIBRAY THAT DR. NKRUMA WAS KICKED OUT OFF HIS ADMINISTRATION BY AFRIFA AND KOTOKA BY TAKEN ONLY FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS. IT IS A SHAME, ONLY FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS TO DESTROY GHANA.IAM ...

• Kk 7 years ago

For some of his human right abuses, Nkrumah should be put on trial. He was not accountable to anybody or any institution. He spent Ghana's money like his personal money! Nkrumah is lucky that he has not been arrested and put ...

• Agyei 7 years ago

I think I agree with Samia. In asmuch as no one is perfect, changing the name will be in better taste looking at our present democratic credentials I would however further suggest that it is named either "KWAME NKRUMAH INTERN ...

• Boakye 7 years ago

Interesting
    Well you can change the name from kotoka to any other name but not Nkrumah.
    KNUST, KWAME NKRUMAH INTERCHANGE, KWAME NKRUMAH MENSOULEM.what again?
    Nkrumah Airport,Nkrumah harbour, Nkrumah hospital,Nkrumah high ...

• Bright 7 years ago

Who says the overthrow of your dictator father was illegal? Shut up and go back to egypt if Ghana is too hot for you.

• alex 7 years ago

being part of independance fight does not mean that kwame nkrumah was a true democrat. he jailed, killed, exiled many ghanaians.
    is the somebody to tell mrs nkrumah tha ghanaians were very joyful at coup announcement in 1966 ...

• Onaapo 7 years ago

Nkrumah's name is known worldwide as a pan African politician but some children of CIA agents are still struggling to rewrite history. It won't wash. The traitors children can name their homes and companie, properties after t ...

• andrew bright asare 7 years ago

Samir you are right , to me this name has brought Bad luck to Ghana

• Nyanueke 7 years ago

Will that bring food to the table of the poor man in your village. The president has better things to think of.Please leave him alone.

• Oboy 7 years ago

Nonsense what did your father did

• Samuel Owusu 7 years ago

If not the intervention of kotoka Ghana and j.j Rawlings in Ghana struggle .like Ghana will still be like Niger and BURKINA .God bless kotoka for that timely intervention. Look at the money ur dad spend on other African natio ...

U will forever remain a dumb fool useless.twat. Go and read up on your history and atop eating fufu and antelope feces

• Yaa Boahema 7 years ago

Quiet Samia as you don't know what your Dad put us through. Ghanaians were fed up with Nkrumah at the time of his overthrow. Kotoka happens tokead the coup to kick him out. You were just a child, so shut up. Rawlings Park sho ...

• Lily 7 years ago

Samia, should shut up. Her father wasn't perfect. he betrayed my grandfather (Ako-Adjei) n his other four friends that brought him to join the UGCC. later he put them in prison n my father died after being blind because of ...

• JOECO. 7 years ago

SAMIA NKRUMAH should rather rename herself.Because she is not the nineth(9th) born child of her mother.May be her father hid hos real Nzima name from her.But akans know that Nkrumah is a name give to children who are the nine ...

• ybk 7 years ago

Yes it should be rename ando Ensawam prison also change to Nkruma anti opposition kill arena

I've a better solution. Let's change Name of Nsawam prison to Nkrumahs memorial freedom park and put up a giant statue at the entrance in his honor

• Yussif 7 years ago

Samia should know that we need good and bad history to guide us,her father Dr Kwame Nkrumah did some wrongs too,his actions sent others to their early graves.The people's detention act (PDA),Dr JB Danquah died in detention in ...

• Yaw Ofosu 7 years ago

Madam,
    What I again? The name plead will not be changed because for some of us, that overthrow was the most sensible of all overthrows in the history of Ghana. Their reasons were valid and was well welcomed by the populates ...

• knight Arthur 7 years ago

Ghanaweb shd update their news items cos some of the news items has been there for a long time.pls it makes it very boring visiting n Reading from your site.. Give us. authentic n Updated news

• Ibrahim 7 years ago

Not necessary.... It wouldn't change the economy of ghana

• Citizen@60 7 years ago

Do you know Kotoka Airport brand worth?

Ye steady!!!

• Old Soldier_ Apatrapa, Kumasi. 7 years ago

To the best of my knowledge, the airport was symbollicaly named after Kotoka because that spot where his STATUE was standing, was the very spot Lt Yeboah shot Kotoka 2x,since Kotoka got to his weapong first ' and of I didn't ...

• Luze 7 years ago

This is nonsense, did Nkrumah own Ghana? or the late Kotoka was not a Ghanaian? or is it because he was an ewe? When did Samia came to Ghana? This hypocrisy and stupidity must be condemn once and all.

• Hamza 7 years ago

Selfish Hypocritical Samia, What about honouring your senior brother Onsy Kwame Nkrumah? As you know your brother is the one who started urging previous governments and this new one to rename the airport and rename Founder's ...

• Kwaku 7 years ago

What was the achievement of Kotoka to name our main airport after him? There are thousands of Ghanaian heros, such as Yaa Asantewaa who led a war against British colonialism. Osei Kofi, a legendary Ghanaian footballer. Any of ...

• Ghana One 7 years ago

what is wrong with this lady, because we did not talk much about her father wrong does, when Nkrumah was overthrow , is there are tons of Gold in Ghana reserves over see. where are they now , Nkrumah did not hand over those ...

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

I support this cause,coupmongers should 'be banned from everything Ghana ?they are our albatross and antidevelopement and progress.

• Master Plan 7 years ago

Be wise, because of conflict and tribal sentiments leave it as it is, let's build a modern international airport, name it after the town where it will be located, use kotoka as a local airport

• Agama. 7 years ago

U are right, but am not sure it would work, can't u see the short man is gradually erasing u fathers name from our history?

• Prince Stifler Amoah 7 years ago

WO papa gyimifo) no.WO Maame tw3

• Osei 7 years ago

The illegal action by General Kotoka removed an illegal one party government forced on Ghanaians by President Nkrumah. Kotoka's name should be removed from the airport but the airport should not be renamed after despot Presid ...

• SIMPLY GEORGE 7 years ago

If I can have my way to do the exhumation of evil Kotoka's dead body, I'll not waste even quarter of a second to do it. The skeleton of the traitor need to be lynched to appease the souls of all african freedom fighters. Yebo ...

• Ganzy 7 years ago

Y do u want us to name everything after ur father is he the only one who fought for Ghana independent .gv us a break

• Ichiesco 7 years ago

you are like we named some things by Nkrumah. You want the airport to be named by him. Madam we will name Ghana by him so that you can be ok or we can Cpp by him

• PATRIOTIC JOE 7 years ago

KOTOKA AIRPORT ALL THE WAY, STUPID WOMAN YOU WANT EVERY INSTITUTION TO BE NAMED AFTER YOUR BULLY AND DICTATOR FATHER IT IS THE RESULTS OF HIS TOTALITARIAN REGIME THAT GHANA IS BLEEDING IF YOUR FATHER KWAME NKRUMAH DIDN'T TUR ...

• Sol 7 years ago

Nkrumah was a demagogue and autocrat who should be shown for what he was. By creating a one party state based on communist principles he set what was a new country into a tailspin. President Akufo Addo is correct. The indepen ...

I've a great idea. Let's change Name of Nsawam prison to Nkrumahs memorial freedom park and put up a giant statue at the entrance in his honor
    There will be any argument about its history. He built it

• abad 7 years ago

why all these, doesnt Ghana has alot to address? renaming Ghanaian propery isnt a solution to our fading nation. isnt it better for pple like samia to help solve problems than to raise history changing issues? Ghanaians, let ...

• Yakubu 7 years ago

It is disgraceful that our international airport has the name of a soldier who overthrew a democratically elected president of the country as it's label. Remove it now.

• Kanawu 7 years ago

Kotoka was a traitor and a nation wrecker. It is time to remove his name from the Ghana's current and past history...

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 7 years ago

...AFTER ONE PERSON! Kotoka Airport is what it is and should remain because that will always evoke the story about how and why Nkrumah was deposed. Like it or not that is an important part of Ghana's history and, anyway, enou ...