You are here: HomeNews2017 03 02Article 515280

'Kaya tax' does not exist - Benjamin Kunbuor

Read Comments Comments (77)

• NANA A 7 years ago

Propaganda tax! it's the duty of the districts or MMDA to implement these taxes, it was highlighted to score political points. Propaganda!

• Blantyne 7 years ago

Kumbour swine keep quiet. Killing your own people with taxes. Fire don burn you all. Taxing Kayayes to feed the rich. Fools

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Kumbuor is sick. Don't you see his face?

• . ..AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

You know Ken Ofori Atta, young man but see his face. Sicky and weako. Bloody scoundrel . As for Nana Addo, but cocaine intake to revive him, he would have died long ago

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

MAHAMA IS BARAWO BANZA
    Mahama is so heartless, wicked and corrupt that he wouldn’t blink stealing from a helpless orphan. Please read the following:
    Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London ...

• NANA;BAWUMEA 7 years ago

NPP 2020 CAMPAIGN BUDGET WRITTEN BY BAWUMEA. NPP IS BEING SMART DOING EVERYTHING TO FOOL MOST ILLITERATES TO REMAIN IN POWER 2020.

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London 7 years ago

How can we sit down to let this thing be our leader? Oh Ghana when? Nyansa baako mpo ni ne trimu.

• Naa Saani 7 years ago

Ooh Ghana why!!! So this people are still ignorant? That is why we are not moving forward. See guys, put this in your heads, there is no TAX for Kayayes what soever. These budget are full of numerous nonexisting taxes but hav ...

• KingSouth 7 years ago

If the hon. MP receive and pays electricity bill he'll know the existence of the electrification levy. Hope he sees and hears. Readers should find out

• Home Boy 7 years ago

These NDC idiots and morons are doing everything possible to discredit this budget.

• Nana Addo 7 years ago

How can you be quoting scriptures and be talking about reducing taxes that dont exist?

• AMUZU 7 years ago

Tweaa are KAYA NOT PAYING TAXES?DCE AND OTHERS LOCAL GOVERMENTS ARE UNDER THE CENTERTAL GOV'T.

• the capitalist 7 years ago

The pathological liar who claimed he was shot at.
    We the kayayeis from your region are happy with the budget.
    Idiot.

• Abena,Ksi 7 years ago

Swine....r u Kayayo????talk for uself

• Ethos 7 years ago

Go to Tema Station n see for urself

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Ethos.. Kumbuour is talking about "National Tax" on Kayayes... It does not exist in any national tax/revenue books..
    These market levies are in the domain of the towns cities and municipalities. So Dr. Kumbuour was right is ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

He is right but we don't have federal system in Ghana so if government is saying those market tolls are scrapped it means those towns and cities can no longer take those taxes they take which the lion share goes to the indivi ...

• Adu Phillips ( Toronto) 7 years ago

Corney sorry for you. How can you trust this scrapping taxes will work in our market? Are you telling me these market will be clean and maintain for free?

These taxes has been there since time in memorial and its goes to t ...

• NICH 7 years ago

Name any market in Ghana that is clean even with the so called taxes before. NDC will be in opposition for a long time. Ghana is moving forward.

• tawiah 7 years ago

So who gave de municipalities de authority to collect dose levies. man is real, if it exists in national books or not, de pple are paying, so if u don't know just keep quiet

• sulley 7 years ago

Ask the kayaye if they dont pay tax.

• Nii 7 years ago

The kayaye will tell you other it is exist

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

the question is were the kayeyie paying this tax or not ?, if it doesn!t exist why were they paying them ?
    The vision is clear to ordinary understanding that those porters suppose not to pay anything, so now if anybody trac ...

• yyy 7 years ago

They pay market tolls and i dont think they will stop paying...there was nothing like taxes imposed on kayaye's

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Thank you

• KONKONSA 7 years ago

What is a market toll????

• Osei k. 7 years ago

I think kayayei pay a levy to the Assembly but not a tax.

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

You are right

• Clem 7 years ago

WATCH HOW MUCH YOU WILL CONTINUE TO PAY FOR PETROL, ELECTRICITY AND THE REST TO SEE. THESE ARE COSMETIC STATEMENTS. E G EXCISE DUTY IS GHs 0.13 per gallon. How will that impact the price if removed?

• SAROUK MISSILES/NIMA 7 years ago

HOW CAN THIS MUMU BECOMES MP, EVEN HIS LAST NAME TELLS IT ALL. GO TO KUMASI KEJETIA , KAYEYEI'S ARE BEING TAX INTRODUCED BY DUMB NDC IMBECILES. HOW CAN YOU TAX SOMEBODY'S HEAD FROM THE NORTH

• Paa 7 years ago

Funny enough the Kayayei are jubilating now as we speak over the abolishment of that tax. So if such a tax doesn't exist, why are they jubilating?

• Governor 7 years ago

This man is not the MP for Nandom, rather it is Ambrose Dery. Kayaye tax exist so Dr. Mum our should do his home work well before talking.

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

You are definitely a fake "Governor".
    Kumbuour is talking about "National Tax" on Kayayes... It does not exist in any national tax/revenue books..
    These market levies are in the domain of the towns cities and municipalitie ...

• KONKONSA 7 years ago

Should a tax be written down in national books before it qualifies as such? Stop playing semantics.

Fake self-assassination attempt man. You should be in jail not parliament

• DDT 7 years ago

Why should I jubilate when the budget seems like election promises. He keep saying "We will abolish " but the question is , when?. The first disappointment is dumsor and water crises is back. Kuffour gal ...

• serwaa aka Mrs Jasikan 7 years ago

The wise people of Ghana made up their minds long time ago so thanks for your unsolicited advice. You should direct your statement to the foolish bunch.

• GHANABA 7 years ago

NPP think we are stupid from plagiarist speech to fake figures is nothing new. Voodoo economy does not work. Everything in Ghana is flawed and dysfunctional.

• KONKONSA 7 years ago

If everything in Ghana is flawed and dysfunctional why then blame Npp.?

• Kb 7 years ago

Oh poor man,where do you live in Ghana,they pay tax wai

• Abena,Ksi 7 years ago

Massage stop being an educated illiterate
    ..they pay levy to Assemblies but not tax...tax cut across

• KONKONSA 7 years ago

What an irony! You are clearly the educated illiterate. What is a levy ? In your mind a levy is a grant isn't it? Oh! Its because its not referred to as a tax so it isnt? Moron! And the effrontery to call others names. That s ...

• Yussif 7 years ago

Kunbuor was not listening its streetlights levy,whatever exited has been scrapped,we don't need the former defence minister to tell us about something his government couldn't do.All the kayaye knows is that from today onward ...

• Bongerat 7 years ago

So-called social democrats never knew kayeyei were paying daily tolls. It shows how they were in power to steal and look after themselves and their families

• sebon2000 7 years ago

Whether it is collected in the bedroom or any other place, the government is saying it is abolished. Why is that NDCs like to refute any glaring truth, from election results, to vice president's mansion cost, and now kayeyei ...

• . ..AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Nana Addo is a crook. Bloody liar

• KONKONSA 7 years ago

Oh he lied about you not being your dad's son?

• obaaapa 7 years ago

Kunbour it does exist!!!
    If you don't know go to Agbogbloshie market, they collect these tolls everyday from the poor kayayei..... so sickening the way they manhandle these poor girls sometimes....

• Seje Wanka 7 years ago

Go to Madina Market and see. This statement is a clear statement of how when the downtrodden vote for you in the north, you come to Accra and enjoy youir largesse and forget your own poor. Mahama same as you. Exploiting the p ...

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

Were they paying daily taxes or not? Were the AMA tax collectors collecting stones from the Kayayei every day? Anyone who cares can go to any of the main markets in Accra and interview the Kayayei themselves. The unending lie ...

• Dan Kojo Taylor 7 years ago

Uncle Benjamin Kunbuor you didn't listen to the Minister well. That tax was under AMA

• sas 7 years ago

Do we pay tax again at toll gates after the road worthy? When we go to toilet,landpoll etc.why was it not captured in the budget ? Let us be real and stop the politics.Because many are suffering because of these politicians.

• Alhaji 7 years ago

Wooooow am really surprised hearing kayayi tax doesn't exist..... We always see them sticking tickets everyday.... I nearly fought with a woman some time ago for taxing a kayayi who was with a baby at her back loaded with not ...

• AAziz Issahaku 7 years ago

They used figures to deceive Ghanaians.the percentage they landed on are the percentage currently in the system.

• Passy 7 years ago

Eeii ghanaweb, where are the editors? Dr Benjamin Kumbuor is not the MP for Nandom constituency. The MP for Nandom is Hon. Ambrose Dery, the Minister for Interior.

• Darkoa 7 years ago

If the taxes don't exit why were you asking the kayayes to pay a cedi a day and what did you use the monies collected for?. Now, if the taxes don't exit as you say, nobody will dare ask them to even pay a dime when they ply t ...

• Oppong 7 years ago

You again. U better shut ur stinky mouth. What we know is that they won't be charged from using the heads to carry loads

• Richard fynn 7 years ago

He says what!kaya taxes does not exist?oooh my God!!!it means some of our leaders are liars,as big man as you are,you are now deceiving your wife and your childrens that there is no such taxe?come to kanta and ratify about yo ...

• Arise for change 7 years ago

Big fool hu told it doesn't exist???? it does papa in reality.jimmii

• isomaila 7 years ago

moron like u, in fact no wonder your eyes can't see well. killing ur own people with taxes, Mr. man come to the market n do kayayi n see if u wouldn't pay tax.

• tawiah 7 years ago

jon man cam to Kumasi central market nd see kayaye's paying, u sit in ur comfort houses nd talk nonsense. cam on de ground nd see what's happening

• op.ny 7 years ago

Look at his dirty face ,a liar kumbour ,who shot through his car ,pretending he was attacked ,some of this northerners are really sill

• Last warrior 7 years ago

Why would you take money from them when they carry this heavy load just for little change whiles the government thieves are just coming up with all sort of new ways to rob the poor(they call it levy) and some fools on this pl ...

• Adu Philip 7 years ago

Is this Honourable mp lives in this country? He failed to understand the words of the finance minister . This tax is practiced by district municipalities .Now these Assemblies can't tax those kaya

• Obeng 7 years ago

There was no where the honourable minister said kayayei tax. he referred to them as tolls.

• BAM 7 years ago

Who told you Kaya taxes don't exist. Hon,I wish you could vacate you air conditioned office one mrg,and sit at Okaishie,just to hve a feel of AMA and how they harass Kayayees over 0.50p.

• Katakyie 7 years ago

Kayayie zre taxed everyday with nuisance tickets. I have seen city authorities struggling with these young girls everyday. Kumbour and co are a big disgrace to northerners. You can't do anything to help your own people. You ...

• abi 7 years ago

If Kayayes paid taxes, how is the tax collected and what percentage of tax do they pay on their annual income, which we call income tax? I don't even think kayaye's annual income can even meet the threshold set my the IRS to ...

• Tony Addo 7 years ago

The NDC in opposition have lost their senses pure and simple. They never expected to be in opposition and so are finding it difficult to deal with the new situation they find themselves in. They should realike that they don't ...

Kayayes are given tickets everyday in the markets where they operate by the city councils just as market women are and that is equal to taxes because they pay to the cities they work in as taxes. How much does the Kayayes ear ...

• Nanaba Sika 7 years ago

After the budget the TV stations went into town and interview the kaya's they are happy they are not going to pay the tax any more ,and you from the north are telling us there were no kaya tax... shame criminal NDC man.

• Teacher Kodjo, Berekume 7 years ago

Idiots. If you don't know, go and learn. Kayayes pay tolls not taxes.

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

You should be ashamed of your selves only ndc will appoint your sort because you carry that emty long sheet of sbds carricolum.What have you achieved for the north not talking of your village,,?AFTER ALL THESE INVESTMENTS IN ...

• J.A.K WEBERE 7 years ago

Simple logic. Do we ve a group of pple called kayayei, r dey been taxed or not n if not y de jubilation by dese group of pple. To ur info dey r not only been taxed but booted abt by de so called AMA pple. Get to de grounds n ...

• Buglala Messah 7 years ago

Mr Kumbuor if you were to see how ugly your face was with the lie , you would not have
    said Kyaye tax does not exist

• akwasi Agyei, adenjta 7 years ago

I believe what the Minister of Finance was refering to is the market tolls paid by all traders and others who ply their trade in the various markets run by the MMDAs. The determination of these tolls, fees, rates, levies, etc ...

• Nathan 7 years ago

Is Kumbuor still MP?