You are here: HomeNews2017 02 28Article 514506

Ghana missing in best English speaking countries in Africa

Read Comments Comments (145)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 7 years ago

FAKE NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!

• GaBaa 7 years ago

We have educated people speaking broken English to their children, not encouraging reading as a past time compared to when we were young, have newspaper articles with improper grammar all over the place. Dumsor, no light to ...

• Africanus 7 years ago

My brother we do not need to speak or write the best English in order to advance. What we need is Mathematics, science and technology. Many other countries have made huge economic and technological progress without necessaril ...

• Trust 7 years ago

That is the truth

You are right to some extent but don't forget that those countries, Hong Kong, china ,Germany etc they write science, mathematics, IT books in their own language but we don't as Ghanaians.

• BLANKSON 7 years ago

WHAT ABOUT NIGERIA

• Hey Nana 7 years ago

when swahili is kenyan official language..how can they be english speaking country? zambia and south africa speak african and their english is just same as nigerian english...how could they be ranked english speaking country ...

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

If you are studying in Ghana, then you need all you can get from the English Language before you can become even a common messenger, let alone a manager - not just enough. Your Hong Kong boss may have studied in a language th ...

• Africanus 7 years ago

Brother, we as a nation should focus on learning things that will add real value to national development. And if you ask me Mathematics, Science and Technology are the big deal. We should not be wasting too much time on Engli ...

• Karanbani! 7 years ago

I hope that means we now speak our local dialect better.

• Mamachi! 7 years ago

It's all Bokum Banku's doing. Whoever compiled the list probably listened to Bokum Banku.

• JohnD 7 years ago

And mathematics , science and technology materials are written in Twi, Ewe, Dagomba, Hausa, etc.

• Africanus 7 years ago

We have spent 60 years polishing our English. Where did that get us? Our president still travels around to beg for money mostly from countries whose national language is not English.... China, Japan, Italy, Germany... the lis ...

• bolo yen 7 years ago

africanus you are right on point.All we need is mathematics and science.How many people speaks english in germany,china and russia,yet still they are way ahead of U.K in tecnology.Even in England,most of the english struggle ...

• Africanus 7 years ago

This is a country with abundant supply of sun light... but because we lack the know-how to convert the sun light into electricity we suffer from Dumsor.... We speak our beautiful English and when we done speaking go and sleep ...

• Abeeku 7 years ago

Mr Africanus, you must be lying.In Ghana, we need English. Our level of English is too poor. Then according to you, we should stop learning English and adopt your Akan language as a national language. You see the Akans, they ...

• Africanus 7 years ago

When did I say we should stop learning English? I said one only need enough English to get around. Secondly, where in my comment did I mention Akan? And how did you come to the conclusion that I am an Akan?

• Too much Akan sets us back.. 7 years ago

If we want to be globally competitive, we should speak English. Already when we are outside, we are told that we speak with an accent. This excludes us from some important considerations.
    Now we are holding ourselves back mo ...

• Efo kojo 7 years ago

You are crazy ,what do you know about language , goto to China and ask how we'll! They speak English , you are dumb and still a slave that's why you think like a slave who always wants to impress his master , you import 99% o ...

• Efo kojo 7 years ago

He is an idiot to think one must master English to Advance

• Efo kojo 7 years ago

You must be sick bro , Goto China and tell them to write good English , you are in this shithole you call a country and you want to fight over a language.
    We Africans are too dumb

• NPPigs 7 years ago

Africanus? Hmmmm! Is this the Africanus Owusu-Ansah the prolific writer? Your spoken english is equally superb.

I do agree with you on the substance of your argument. On the other hand, if the so-called survey is unbiased, ...

• Africanus 7 years ago

No, I am not Owusu-Ansah. Yes I agree that the standard has fallen. But I guess the gist of my argument is that education system as it now has left Ghana behind her peers (such as Korea and others), because we over emphasis l ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

WHAT GHANAIANS DONT KNOW,,, ENGLISH IS JUST A LANGUAGE, ITS A LEARN TO UNDERSTAND EACH OTHER SUBJECT, ITS NOT A SCHOLAR OR DEVELOPMENT SUBJECT, BUT IN GHANA WHO SPEAKS FLUENT ENGLISH IS CONSIDERED AS AN INTELLECTUAL, SCHOLAR ...

• Villager 7 years ago

Granted that your argument is true, where do we lie when it comes to the sciences?
    We just have to accept that the standards have fallen abysmally. we see this when we read the articles on Ghanaweb

• Steve 7 years ago

You are big liar wai...

• Nana Kuffuor. Abeka. La Paz. 7 years ago

Ghana is even lucky to be on the first ten. In Ghana the youth speak pidgin English. The Akans have hijacked the rest with twinglish. That is the reason why our musicians and actors cannot do business outside Ghana. Just wat ...

• 1Loaf 7 years ago

Naana Jane Opoku Agyeman advocated for the akanization of Ghana so how can we perform better than the deserved performers?

• The law 7 years ago

Fake news

• E. A. ADU GYAMFI 7 years ago

Whether we speak better English or not is nothing. Do the Chinese, Germans, Japanese etc speak better English than us? Why should we impose another country's language on us and suffer? In every developed country in the world ...

• Steve 7 years ago

This is a big lie...it is because you cannot speak better English that is why you are saying this...

• E. A. ADU GYAMFI 7 years ago

The whites cannot outsmart us all the time. The motive behind this research is to divert our attention from science and technology to studying their language the more, but we are smarter than we think. Why didn't they conduct ...

• Santo 7 years ago

No its not a fake news Ghananians can speak good English, especially the Akans , thats why your president couldnt write his own speech he had to copied the ex American presidents speech , i know Ghananians think they speak go ...

• James 7 years ago

heah prince sit in your farm say is not true how many times do your family speak english in a day i agree with them 100% southern africans speak good english than west africans all twi speaking ghanaians do not speak english ...

• Edudzi 7 years ago

I am surprised Ghana made the top ten list. We speak 'twinglish' in the motherland and our leaders lack originality. Our presidents only know how to plagiarize......

• Kweku 7 years ago

Be serious and offer positive contribution rather than making political capital out of nothing, DO YOU SPEAK BETTER ENGLISH THAN NANA?

• JohnD 7 years ago

Edudzi is not saying Nana speaks bad English. He is accusing Nana of stealing.

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Hahahahaha

• Nana Bawuah 7 years ago

What plagiarism? Go to Germany there you see ministers being stripped off their PHD because of plagiarism. As for me I either speak Twi or English. Maybe your Twi is so poor that you have to supplement it with English.

• Villager 7 years ago

That is why Justice Kpegah was dragging Nana to court but our courts are like the state they don'r work like their counterparts in other countries, for example your example of Germany

• Nana Bawuah 7 years ago

In Germany courts don't have power to strip people of their academic titles, only the Institution (university) where the Person obtained it from can do that if there's sufficient proof.

• Mugu Yaro 7 years ago

Who made this ranking? The fellow is a big joker from one of those east and southern African states. A typical Ghanaian speaks English better than people from those countries. Ugandans speak English like some tribal language; ...

• GaBaa 7 years ago

You are joking, be real, our educated fools cannot write...

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Our English grammer is very poor. It is not uncommon to hear things like 'one of my sister is coming home'. We have placed too much emphasis on oral English and that is killing us. Nigerians don't pay much attention to pronu ...

• Jasmine 7 years ago

"Grammar!"

I think I have conveyed my thought perfectly.

• Efo kojo 7 years ago

You are a disgrace, who the fuck cares about what kind of English you speak ,
    I would prefer to be dumb and deaf than to speak someone's language and still import 99% of my daily good's.

• Kweku 7 years ago

Have you noticed the kind of English some of our journalists put out there? Accra is better, try venturing hinterland and assess for yourself the kind of English being spoken in our fm stations from the north - down south, so ...

• Steve 7 years ago

Of course bro!if u listing to the kind of english their presidents speak one will hardly understand. even Mr.OBASANNJO is better than all of them.

• Dan 7 years ago

Your use of the word joker only goes to show that it's people like you that contributed in Ghana's low ranking

THANKS TO NDC

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Ooh, don't be silly man!

• dd 7 years ago

What is the importance of this?If you speak English and so what?

• NANA USA 7 years ago

speaking English does not solve your problems , the Chinese don't speak English yet they are super power.How many British speak twi , if people have nothing to say they should shut up

• Aj 7 years ago

Thanks dd, Africans are proud speaking their slave masters language whereas their poor to the core.which of the European countries are proud that they speak any African languages perfect hmmmm is like telling Chinese or Japan ...

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

'their poor' should have been 'they are poor'. 'perfect' should have been 'perfectly'. 'is like' should have been 'It is like'.
    What percent of Ghanaians can read or write a sentence in their own language?
    Which of the Afri ...

• Esi 7 years ago

I don't claim to know if Ghana is the best English speaking country. However, I would like to find out the methodology for this ranking. Until we see the robustness of the study, there's no need to be enraged or disappointed.

• BK 7 years ago

yeah this is true, those countries at the top 6 don't plagiarize , originality is their benchmark but Ghana pathetic , even some areas in Ghana university students cannot construct any meaningful sentence...

• Kojo 7 years ago

Many Ghanaians say "good eving" instead of good evening.100 cedi instead of 100 cedis.

• leti 7 years ago

lets rather strengthen our local languages to propel development

• Nun 7 years ago

I am not surprised. Our English language skills will get worse. Why? Just visit and social media platform and read the kind of English Ghanaians write there. We don't know anything but unfortunately, we think we are the best.

• Donald Trump 7 years ago

What do we have to loose.

• Agbedefu 7 years ago

What position is England in TWI, GA, EWE or Hausa? Most Asian countries don’t border with this 'captured mind' stats.

• DIGEST 7 years ago

So what? so bloody what? Which country is the Fanti speaking in the whole world?, Which country is the best Twi speaking country in the world? or which country is the best Ga speaking country in the world? Where will those re ...

• Prince Abibirim 7 years ago

What the hell does it matter. Is English a measure of development? Is China an English-speaking country?Germany,Russia? Is it not englishman education that has turned our so called leaders into thieves? I speak perfect engli ...

• Mohammed Amin Abdallah 7 years ago

This is cherry picking the research has no iota of credibity.

• AMADU A. 7 years ago

And free SHS is not in yet

• Barrister 7 years ago

When we claim that Twi is Ghana's nationallanguage this is what we get.

Twi everywhere. Apuu

I hope the north and volta region are still doing better

• Efo kojo 7 years ago

Kwasia kurasenii ,after sparking English all this while , what does your English speaking region got to show , your poor filth region, kwasia

• Joe Wordsworth 7 years ago

At least President Akofo Addo speaks excellent English.

• Ja 7 years ago

And so what? Is english our mother tongue. Stupid survey.

• Him 7 years ago

Where is Nigeria?

• Philips 7 years ago

Most of the Radio and TV presenters are the ones promoting poor English In Ghana. They must stop the nonsense of coming on air mixing English with Twi, Ga, Hausa, Ewe, etc. They must speak pure English or pure vernacular and ...

• Boss 7 years ago

Is an insult to call a language Vernacular

• Leo 7 years ago

Its really fake what was the criteria used? No country in Africa speaks English better than Ghana

• Mr. Mister 7 years ago

That doesn't say much though, with their totally broken English.

• Abu Dhabi 7 years ago

This is fake ,it is not true at all

• Jacob Azumah Ayam 7 years ago

Go out of the country and listen to people. You will understand the falling standard of ghana education.Is the only country in world that citizens don't know their currency.just a common currency. Don't always argue o ...

• Steve 7 years ago

This is irritating!have been able to listing to the accent of the people from those contries?So we should now send our children to Uganda to study? has this publisher ever spoken to Idi Amin before he was being overthrown,DIS ...

• obi 7 years ago

that is not true uganda been best ,we are with them outside our country and know how they speak .

• Yebo 7 years ago

The Ghanaian people.

• Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 7 years ago

This alternative fact and fake news.Period.Ghana has no size in Africa.Shalom

• O.K 7 years ago

Ghana will be first if the akans will join the Ewes,the northerners and the Gas in speaking English.The problem is from the Twi peoples.

• Abete3 7 years ago

Na lie

• Palava 7 years ago

Oyiwa! O.K just accused the Akans of being the cause but his English writing is really really poor. He just wrote "The problem is from the twi peoples" You see, there's a saying that if you live in a glass house, don't throw ...

• Seabreeze 7 years ago

Just like in football, we Ghanaians somehow believe we're best when statistics prove otherwise.

• Stephen 7 years ago

You're as wrong as you think you're better than Twi speaking Ghanaians in the speaking of English Language. It's so natural that everything best is always hated to core. How on earth do you just spread wide your lips and spew ...

• King of powers(+233547122212) 7 years ago

Powerful spritual man Your better days is not tomorrow us you expect but is just on your on hands Nana red powers spritual center makes it so easy and you will never regret in your life, I help people in the following (1) ins ...

• samuel 7 years ago

o how ?? it cant be possible

• sir Newton 7 years ago

This is interesting.They should come to south African schools and listen to the funny English they r speaking here. Those researchers must come again because this is a fake one.

• Buju B 7 years ago

How many English speaking countries can also speak Ghanaians language's?lets be proud of our language learn how bring out ours.eg Chinese,Korean Arabs speak and write their mother tongue's.

• Joseph in Germany 7 years ago

I am surprised Ghana don't top the African countries that speak good, supperp English. I think the person uncharged of the language ranking is not perfect English speaker

• kwesi 7 years ago

this survey is nothing but a joke.I am currently in school in New Delhi with citizens of those top countries .I mean high ranking citizens .Fellow Ghanaians, you need to hear them speaking English.

• George 7 years ago

I don't think speaking best English is an achievement because it is a language but not knowledge. We better seek for knowledge than learning someone's native language - English.

• Joseph in Germany 7 years ago

Guys but still Ghana is better than some of those top 6 countries listed

• Asantehene Osei Tutu II 7 years ago

Of what use is english in finding solutions to our problems

• Alhaji Musbahu Muhammad 7 years ago

This is incorrect and false.

• kk 7 years ago

Fake news.... I can't even get their accent!

• Kakum 7 years ago

Nobody shd be surprised @ this; 1) We have turned our socio political discourses into the local Twi language. ln our social gatherings we have chosen the Twi dialect to be the lingua franca of the country Ghana;3) Speak Eng ...

• melemele 7 years ago

Oh this is no news after all where is naija?

• eastner 7 years ago

why won't us be number seven when even graduates can't speak English and they defend it with the popular excuse "eny3 mi from Masa"

• eastner 7 years ago

krom Masa*

• TUTUGYAGU 7 years ago

Will all Ghanaians accept that Twi be made our national language?

• akofo addo 7 years ago

what does the writter expect whiles every one is speaking 3suati?yewa people,we are even lucky to be at seventh position.

• DI ASEM PA 7 years ago

Nobody on earth speak a better English on this planet. Even, the so called Americans don't speak a good English. Everybody have accent. There's no way you can speak better as an English man. We should be proud of our own lang ...

• Amevo 7 years ago

English is just a language but not a knowledge so we shouldn't cherish it so much. Knowing English is not an achievement. I advise we should rather concentrate of learning our own languages and choose one for the nation.

• Kwame. 7 years ago

THE COLONIAL MASTER LEFT US CONFUSED. AND WE'RE STILL CONFUSED 'TILL TODAY. WE CAN'T ONE LANGUAGE OR THE OTHER WITHOUT MIXING THEM UP. THIS IS OUR SORRY STATE OF AFFAIRS TODAY. FORGET THE STRANGERS' ALIEN LANGUAGE.

• Prince 7 years ago

This is a joke..... Uganda, how..

• KAM 7 years ago

The number seven position is even higher than expected. Twi is too much in our spoken English, with all the poor grammatical constructions. Nigeria is even better.

• Mr simple 7 years ago

Speaking English doesn't solve your problems as a country, actually it make u doomed, every country that has developed in this modern ages , have their own language, it's a colonial mentality,,, that's why we are still stru ...

• Newkay 7 years ago

we need the English Language. outside Ghana, Ghanaians are not preferred when it comes to hiring of Africans who are very fluent in English.The FM stations are partly to blame.The ENGLISH language is fast disappearing even fr ...

• sammy 7 years ago

who write this booooooooshit

• Ekumfi Akyen- Obamaland 7 years ago

Idiotic article

• Kobi 7 years ago

Our 60 years gesture to the queen. We don't give a hoot about their language. We keeping ours!!

• Abubakati Shaibu 7 years ago

May Allah bless our Teachers Long Live our Leaders Ghana. ,Amen.

• NPPigs 7 years ago

Why should anybody be surprised? Even our Oxford educated ex president can hardly string 5 english words together. He speaks Twiglish (verbatim translation of Twi into english.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

WHATABOUT SIERRA LEONE,GAMBIA,LIBERIA.

• NPPigs 7 years ago

youtube.com/watch?v=lv8iC6b4RwY

• Palava 7 years ago

Ei wagyimi oo!

• NPPigs 7 years ago

Ei wu maame wagyimi oo!

• NON-ALIGNED 7 years ago

We in Ghana and for that matter Africa, are continually shoving square pegs into round holes......and expecting to achieve different results.

When are we ever going to realize that the ENSLAVED-MINDS OF COLONIALISTS EDUCAT ...

• Nuworku Simonson 7 years ago

Is English our knowledge, fuck off

• Yakubu 7 years ago

But what position did you expect Ghana to occupy?. The vast majority of Ghanaians have very poor command of the English language but surprisingly, they think they are the best English speakers in the world. And they won't all ...

• Dave 7 years ago

Nigerians are the most fluent in English. They flow effortlessly. Ghanaians count and don't flow at all

• James Mahmoud Awotwe-Braun 7 years ago

Did you say Nigerians do what? They flow effortlessly?

Yes, they flow but in BROKEN and very heavy 'accented' English.

• Dave 7 years ago

Yes Ghanaians count while speaking while Nigerians flow well with it and every country has an accent including Ghana, SA, Nigeria, US and even the British. This is how u are able to know when ppl from these countries are spea ...

• Akorabs 7 years ago

Kidding yourself!

• Attajko0o0o9o9o9o9oo0o 7 years ago

Are you surprised? Many Ghanaians speak the Queen's language as if they are translating their vernaculars.

• Attajko0o0o9o9o9o9oo0o 7 years ago

Even this forum is full of rotten English speakers.

• Alos Nay 7 years ago

Broken English is at the heart of the problem. Student must stop speaking pigeon English and must stop imitating Nigerians. Did you Nigeria in the list?

• Talk some 7 years ago

No wonder, when we keep watching this sub standard Kumawood plays. Journalist go and interview people who obviously can't speak English and make fun of them, one called the 3 wisemen. The most annoying aspect is those doing t ...

• Efo kojo 7 years ago

You are mad to say that bro , we don't give a fuck about what you think , think about your poor region and your poor family in your poor village , we the akans are not slaves that's why we don't want to force ourselves in Spe ...

• Obuama 7 years ago

The ranking is perfectly in order. It's not about accent, but grammar. Our English is nothing but full of grammatical errors. Vernacular has eaten deep into our English to the extent that our local dialects are literally reha ...

• Tukpleza 7 years ago

Ghanaians now speak English like Nigerians. The Nigerians have so influenced us (films etc) that even newscasters sound Nigerian. A VERY big shame indeed.

• cool 7 years ago

Twi here Twi there Twi everywhere. The Twi speaking folks love Thur language or struggle with English

• T and T 7 years ago

Who cares about English.

• Daniel 7 years ago

Fake news. This is not true and it can be true.

• Robert osei-Berto( osei kyeretwie sec 7 years ago

Horrible English in deed if you're a regular listener of those radio programs in Ghana.(some) ministers and those thinking that they've been to university are,in fact,a big disgrace.Bar those people to speak on radio and on t ...

• Golden 7 years ago

Is true... Every office u go is the Akan they r speaking. Am even surprise they included ghana... Nation full of tribalism

• Zack 7 years ago

We lost our identity. We are not English people,yet we claimed to speak English best. We can't speak our mother tongue correctly and we are not recognized as English speakers. Who are we? Shame.

• Fine boy 7 years ago

Am not surprise Because you school only to see students speaking Twi Twi Twi most of them can't even speak English especially this Ashanti's who are always there claiming ownership of the country as if that will lead them hea ...

• Kwaku Ofori 7 years ago

Blacks should sit there for this people to continue to fool them. We don't need English as a country in order for us to advance. Tell me the English level of China? But look at the way they are advancing. We need thinkers but ...

• Fi 7 years ago

We are relying on past glories

• Nanahemaa 7 years ago

Ghanaians use Lafa when speaking tge language. The original accent was those Of KN and KD. That is the reason why

• Tk 7 years ago

WHERE IS THE LINK TO THE REFERENCE ?