it looks like people have a lot of time to spare. why go on a demo
Zoobie-Zoobie 8 years ago
dumb idea
dumb idea
ATSU, HO 8 years ago
The truth indeed brings freedom and liberation. The women should rather call in the food and drug board to conduct their own random tests and publish the results
Tuffact 8 years ago
Well said, Atsu. Demo is not the answer. Unless these 'koobi' dealers can prove otherwise, there's no need for demo. If they have conscience, they wouldn't be treating as trifle something that is very serious. Are they happy to sell food that has the potential to kill their own people? Sometime ago someone said this: "Even in the animal kingdom where fools reign and stupidity ranks high, common sense which is not common to common people but is often neglected, is very, very essential."
AGBESI KWESI 8 years ago
In this modern age why should we saddle ourselves with the deficiencies of the past and allow some unscrupulous persons to experiment with our lives. This is what happens when people want to stick to barbaric practices, at all cost, in the name culture and tradition. How did Koobi come about. Our elders of old wanted to preserve these commodities for a long time, that is why they resorted to the use of salt to preserve fish. They were right by then but now, with technology, such methods are needless considering the harmful effects that follow its trail. It appears some Ghanaians have added too much of unmerited premium to this unwholesome fish that is why the fisherman is taking advantage of them by using lethal formalin to preserve Koobi for human consumption – something animals like flies are smart enough to flee from. What beats my imagination was when I visited a Fanti Village to see witness how a Fantiman sold a big cock and used all the all the money to buy Kako at the displeasure of his children and wife. I also get irritated when I meet Ghanaians, especially the useless academicians, who fall head over heels to taste soups which have the repulsive odour of Koobi. Some also want to have the salty taste of this rotten fish at the peril of their kidneys. I am using the word rotten because Koobi is not the choicest of fish the fisherman brings to the market. In fact most fishermen who bring koobi to market don't even eat it in their homes. Koobi is gotten from tilapias that have died and are almost getting rotten in water. Some of them die due to the inability of the fishermen to go and inspect their traps in time. Some also die due to natural enemies like electric fish. These are the rotten fish fishermen salt and bring to the market as koobi. Why should Ghanaians risk their health because of this rotten fish.
Sigma, London 8 years ago
The Minister should have shown evidence that, in fact, formalin has been used. The women have every right to sue the Minister. The public, on the other hand, want this matter cleared otherwise no one is going to consume 'koobi' again and the poor women's 'koobi' trade has been thrown into jeopardy.
Isidore 8 years ago
Remember this; It is not enough to earn & carry about a certificate! That's phase 1. Life is about relevance & providing solutions. Someone right now somewhere is looking for someone who can do something for him/her & get paid! Opportunity Meets with preparation! Is your worth only in that paper certificate even though you hardly have a REAL skill? Therefore; While you search for that job(not bad) & keep waiting (very frustrating), DO NOT WAIT IN PERPETUITY! You might consider investing in knowledge-based skill that has unending returns. EACH DAY , YOUR CAPITAL IS YOUR KNOWLEDGE, SKILL & BARE HANDS! Visit Amazon marketplaces, Barnes & Noble, eBay etc today. February just ended!
joe boyy 8 years ago
even animals dont naked themselves these days, if not that ,they could have win world titles.
Nkrumah 8 years ago
Go ahead and demonstrate naked. That will be a free show. We the men will watch different shapes and sizes. Instead of taking steps to change your deadly trade habits, you are talking nonsensense. Go naked; we are waiting.
Blantyne 8 years ago
I heard people use formalin also on grass-cutter meat. Ghana is increasingly becoming a dangerous place to live.
Kaakie 8 years ago
Looool. Masreee saaa!
Concern 8 years ago
Illiteracy at it's highst peak for going on demo just because the truth has been revealed to save souls.
Tag 8 years ago
Naked demo for stinking KOOBI!!!
FCO 8 years ago
How did the Formalin get to the Koobi industry? Investigations needs to done and people involve prosecuted (which l know will not happen.)
AYITEY SABOLAI 8 years ago
UNDERTAKERS NEED FORMALIN FOR THEIR WORK. MORTUARY MEN COLLECT THE WATER AFTER BATHING DEAD BODIES & PUT THEM IN GALLONS FOR THE FISH AND PIG FEET SELLERS. IN FACT, THE WOMEN DON'T EVEN KNOW IT'S FORMALIN. IT'S JUST GOOD MEDICINE TO STOP NANE & KOOBI FROM ROTTING. COLD STORE OPERATORS, SUPERMARKETS ARE ALL USING IT. BAKERIES & COSMETICS MAKERS ARE USING IT. FORMALIN IS IN LIPSTICK, FACIAL CREAMS. IMPORTED APPLES, GRAPES, BANANA & VEGETABLES ARE WASHED OR CLEANED WITH FORMALIN SOLUTION TO MAKE THEM LOOK FRESH & SHINY, ESPECIALLY IF IMPORTED FROM ASIA. WE THANK PROF FOR OPENING OUR EYES. WE NEED THAT USELESS STANDARDS BOARD TO ACT NOW.
Etse 8 years ago
There is no sense to go on demo. To proof your case, do a sampling of koobi for laboratory test. It may be likely pockets of koobi sellers are using the chemical for preservation and so it's up to the koobi sellers association to educate all member traders on that.
Boycott Ecowas 8 years ago
Who cares if the devil decides or threatens to walk in the streets naked?
chief vandal 8 years ago
How does it matter to anyone if you go naked? If I want to look or not it is up to me.
maree stopes 8 years ago
please market women, help flush out 'the wicked ones'.
KOJO 8 years ago
IF ARE NAKED THE PUBLIC WILL SEE YOUR PARTS. DON'T TRY IT, IT IS NOT A SOLUTION.
asem 8 years ago
who cares? when I was growing up, anytime my mum brings koobi from the market, you will see house flies around it. This days we don't see them anymore, what shows that it is not true? tell the truth otherwise no one will buy your koobi.
Naked Kwaw 8 years ago
Please go on the naked demonstration. We will be there to view your pussies. Make sure your breasts are also naked. You should also wear beads. Dr. Frinpong Boateng do not be deterred continue to state the scientific facts. Let the ignorant women go on naked demonstration and men will feed their eyes on them.
AGBESI KWESI 8 years ago
THE TRUTH ABOUT KOOBI
In this modern age why should we saddle ourselves with the deficiencies of the past and allow some unscrupulous persons to experiment with our lives. This is what happens when people want to stick to ba ... read full comment
THE TRUTH ABOUT KOOBI
In this modern age why should we saddle ourselves with the deficiencies of the past and allow some unscrupulous persons to experiment with our lives. This is what happens when people want to stick to barbaric practices, at all cost, in the name culture and tradition. How did Koobi come about. Our elders of old wanted to preserve these commodities for a long time, that is why they resorted to the use of salt to preserve fish. They were right by then but now, with technology, such methods are needless considering the harmful effects that follow its trail. It appears some Ghanaians have added too much of unmerited premium to this unwholesome fish that is why the fisherman is taking advantage of them by using lethal formalin to preserve Koobi for human consumption – something animals like flies are smart enough to flee from. I get irritated when I meet Ghanaians, especially the useless academicians, who fall head over heels to taste soups which have the repulsive odour of Koobi. Some also want to have the salty taste of this rotten fish at the peril of their kidneys. I am using the word rotten because Koobi is not the choicest of fish the fisherman brings to the market. In fact most fishermen who bring koobi to market don't even eat it in their homes. Koobi is gotten from tilapias that have died and are almost getting rotten in water. Some of them die due to the inability of the fishermen to go and inspect their traps in time. Some also die due to natural enemies like electric fish. These are the rotten fish fishermen salt and bring to the market as koobi. Why should Ghanaians risk their health because of this rotten fish.
Arrchipalago - USA 8 years ago
Mr Ayibge man , u have said it all but let allow the koobi sellers the space to go on their demonstrations splee to allow some of us to watch their pussy. We wonder with nostalgia, how disgruntled sellers pussy will smell like the koobi they sell on the market . Their sagging breast and their clotoris has not been tempered for long .
Is time for people to accept the truth and let cat out of the bag so that innocent soul health will not be in a jeopardy. More people re dying unnecessary all becos of the food we consumed re full of chemicals in name of making quick money at the expense of poor ones . The perilous decline nature of human anatomy has become so common that no amount of sensitization can rescue such canker.
A renowned and well celebrated scientist and minister - Prof Frimpong Boateng should be hailed for making such bold information to save the lives of all and sundry before it becomes cancerous to the massive populace.
Equivocally, I urged the Food and Drug Authority to take this matter serious to act on it to save our dear country from such endemic cause . Long live Ghana .
GHANAMAN THE REAL 8 years ago
....if these morons dare to expose their decrepit bodies in public just simply arrest them and charge them with indecent exposure and public nuisance! If something is wrong we should be brave to talk about it and force beneficial change for the future and safety of the Ghanaian public. Your selfish efforts to protect your filthy trade cannot be allowed to threaten the health of the citizenry!
Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 8 years ago
Go on,my phone battery is well charged to record.Change your ways and stop this demeaning threats.Shalom
jabthahxy 8 years ago
we will be happy to see their nakedness. their matured breasts and buttocks
Kwame Twumasi-Fofie 8 years ago
I wonder what people gain by always threatening to do what they know they will never do. I've already lost count of how many times Ghanaian women have threatened to go on 'naked demo' but I don't recall when even one was carried out.
I dare them to go out onto the streets tomorrow or stop disturbing our ears.
Earl Jones 8 years ago
WE CANNOT PUT PROFITS BEFORE THE HEALTH AOF A NATION. THE KOOBI SELLERS HAVE ALREADY BEEN EXPOSED. WHAT NAKEDNESS AGAIN ARE THEY TALKING ABOUT.
GOVERNMENT MUST NOT GET SIDE-TRACKED BY THE ACTIONS OF A FEW. THE HEALTH OF THE ... read full comment
WE CANNOT PUT PROFITS BEFORE THE HEALTH AOF A NATION. THE KOOBI SELLERS HAVE ALREADY BEEN EXPOSED. WHAT NAKEDNESS AGAIN ARE THEY TALKING ABOUT.
GOVERNMENT MUST NOT GET SIDE-TRACKED BY THE ACTIONS OF A FEW. THE HEALTH OF THE NATION IS MORE IMPORTANT. IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE GOVERNMENT TO PROTECT ITS CITIZENS.
IT TERMS OF THE PRESENTATION, THE MINISTER SHOULD HAVE INFORMED THE FOOD AND DRUGS BOARD AND THE PUBLIC HEALTH AGENCIES SO THEY CAN EMBARK ON A PUBLIC HEALTH EDUCATION.
Ampakye uk 8 years ago
There is Another Practice in Ghana Where some Farmers are using Weed killer to Prepare the land. This is also Cancer Causing.
Once weed killer has been Sprayed on the land, nothing should be Grown there for Consumption for T ... read full comment
There is Another Practice in Ghana Where some Farmers are using Weed killer to Prepare the land. This is also Cancer Causing.
Once weed killer has been Sprayed on the land, nothing should be Grown there for Consumption for Ten Years.
G. K. Berko 8 years ago
There is no need for any demonstration against this warning the Minister gave. All the Market Women have to do is reassure the Public that their products are safe and has no such dangerous chemical in it.
The products mu ... read full comment
There is no need for any demonstration against this warning the Minister gave. All the Market Women have to do is reassure the Public that their products are safe and has no such dangerous chemical in it.
The products must be randomly tested in a reputable Lab and the tainted ones removed from the Market. If it is proven that some have the Formalin in them, the Traders must cooperate fully to trace the source of the contamination. It is not only for the safety of the Public but also to save the business of selling that Fish.
Long Live Ghana!!!
FOOLS IN POWER 8 years ago
I NO BE CHANGE THEY WANT??? NOW THEY HAVE IT ... IDIOTS YOU KNOW SEE NOTHING YET!!!!!!!!!!1
Uri Netaker 8 years ago
Tell me what market,
Tell me where,
I want to be there,
When the girls go bare!
Tell me what market,
Tell me where,
I want to be there,
When the girls go bare!
truth 8 years ago
TRUTH hurts but walking NUDE on the streets of GHANA make you obodaaafoo mothers planning to do that.
Paa Kwesi 8 years ago
I will never eat koobi again. Eeeeiii some people can do anything to make money. Let the women go on naked demonstration. If they are not careful people will come out and beat them up. They are killing people slowly with cancer and they have the guts to talk about demonstration. We will throw fire crackers and tear gas into the demonstrating crowd. Most of the koobi on sale are stiff and rubbery.
Dr. Sam, Germany 8 years ago
I am happy that the probem with koobi has now generated discussion on dangers of chemicals in foods on the Ghanaian market. This is because I have been posting an article titled „Check chemicals in fruits“ without any reaction or coments. Since chemicals are being applied in many Food items, Food Control must be combined with environmental education to find a solution. Now my Story:
I am a Forest Research Scientist based in Germany. In 1995, I initiated a Tree Planting Project „Planting of Trees on Ghanaian School compounds“ with 4 Schools in the Central Region but now increased to 75, with school children planting beautiful trees on their School compounds. Solar lamps as incentive have been introduced into the project. A child gets a free solar lamp when he/she plants 4 trees and caters for them for 6 Months. Since every child is eager to receive a solar lamp, thousands of trees are being planted. A modern tree nursery has just been completed in September 2016 where 8000 tree seedlings have already been nursed and distributed. The project is sustainable since it is being guided by environmental education.
After reading an Article 'Dangerous Bananas on the Ghanaian Market', I became a victim when I came to Ghana to supervise my „Tree planting -Solar lamp-Project“ last year (2016). While travelling from Swedru to Accra early morning in July, I bought 4 nice looking pineapples on the road side and asked the woman seller to peel two, one for me and the other for Nana, the Project Manager, who was driving. I enjoyed mine but immediately afterwards lost my voice. I regained my speech after consulting a doctor at Korle-Bu Hospital who prescribed medication for me. The result was that the pineapple was chemically treated and brought for sale. The fact is that if I had no Money to consult a doctor and buy the medication, I will be speechless now. Unfortunately, many Ghanaians patronizing these contaminated fruits are accumulating these poisons (chemicals) gradually in them unlike my body which reacted immediately. I therefore employ Authorites like EPA, FDA as well as Environmental Authorities to combine control of foods on the market as well as Envoronmental Education. This is because bees, mushrooms, snails etc. are disappearing from farms and forests due to uncontrolled application of fertilizers, insecticides and other chemicals. I plan contributing further my quota towards envoronmental education in solving this Problem as I have been applying in my tree planting project with school children. Anyone to join me?. Food for thoughts.
Richard 8 years ago
Stop the act, you are killing ghanaians .we want to acquire wealth through dubious means. Our mindset is evil. That's why the country is not moving forward.
dumb idea
Well said, Atsu. Demo is not the answer. Unless these 'koobi' dealers can prove otherwise, there's no need for demo. If they have conscience, they wouldn't be treating as trifle something that is very serious. Are they happy ...
In this modern age why should we saddle ourselves with the deficiencies of the past and allow some unscrupulous persons to experiment with our lives. This is what happens when people want to stick to barbaric practices, at al ...
The Minister should have shown evidence that, in fact, formalin has been used. The women have every right to sue the Minister. The public, on the other hand, want this matter cleared otherwise no one is going to consume 'koo ...
Remember this; It is not enough to earn & carry about a certificate! That's phase 1. Life is about relevance & providing solutions. Someone right now somewhere is looking for someone who can do something for him/her & get pai ...
Looool. Masreee saaa!
UNDERTAKERS NEED FORMALIN FOR THEIR WORK. MORTUARY MEN COLLECT THE WATER AFTER BATHING DEAD BODIES & PUT THEM IN GALLONS FOR THE FISH AND PIG FEET SELLERS. IN FACT, THE WOMEN DON'T EVEN KNOW IT'S FORMALIN. IT'S JUST GOOD MEDI ...
There is no sense to go on demo. To proof your case, do a sampling of koobi for laboratory test. It may be likely pockets of koobi sellers are using the chemical for preservation and so it's up to the koobi sellers associatio ...
who cares? when I was growing up, anytime my mum brings koobi from the market, you will see house flies around it. This days we don't see them anymore, what shows that it is not true? tell the truth otherwise no one will buy ...
Please go on the naked demonstration. We will be there to view your pussies. Make sure your breasts are also naked. You should also wear beads. Dr. Frinpong Boateng do not be deterred continue to state the scientific facts. L ...
THE TRUTH ABOUT KOOBI
In this modern age why should we saddle ourselves with the deficiencies of the past and allow some unscrupulous persons to experiment with our lives. This is what happens when people want to stick to ba ...
Mr Ayibge man , u have said it all but let allow the koobi sellers the space to go on their demonstrations splee to allow some of us to watch their pussy. We wonder with nostalgia, how disgruntled sellers pussy will smell l ...
....if these morons dare to expose their decrepit bodies in public just simply arrest them and charge them with indecent exposure and public nuisance! If something is wrong we should be brave to talk about it and force benefi ...
I wonder what people gain by always threatening to do what they know they will never do. I've already lost count of how many times Ghanaian women have threatened to go on 'naked demo' but I don't recall when even one was car ...
GOVERNMENT MUST NOT GET SIDE-TRACKED BY THE ACTIONS OF A FEW. THE HEALTH OF THE ...
Once weed killer has been Sprayed on the land, nothing should be Grown there for Consumption for T ...
The products mu ...
Tell me what market,
Tell me where,
I want to be there,
When the girls go bare!
I will never eat koobi again. Eeeeiii some people can do anything to make money. Let the women go on naked demonstration. If they are not careful people will come out and beat them up. They are killing people slowly with canc ...
I am happy that the probem with koobi has now generated discussion on dangers of chemicals in foods on the Ghanaian market. This is because I have been posting an article titled „Check chemicals in fruits“ without any r ...