You are here: HomeNews2017 02 23Article 512775

Fufu is killing Africans - Mensa Otabil

Read Comments Comments (265)

Author:- A.A. Ribo - Bolga .....
    There they go again. For contributing so much to bring the downfall of Mahama's administration you sit down to organise unwarranted and highly injudicious press conference. Who are you decei ...

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 7 years ago

This criminals Otabil , Owusu Bempah and Co will rot in hell, Otabil has acquired properties through hard earnings of his innocent members through offerings and tithes.All this criminals will be exposed

• Newton 7 years ago

It will be wisher not to judge because you yourself don't even know where you will go after this life. Do you have a prove about the offerings and tithes to acquire properties? Don't say things you don't even know. Read numbe ...

• Apraku 7 years ago

No matter how the pastor will describe fufu, whether fufu being unhygienicaly prepared , fufu is one of the healthiest dishes in Africa.Imagine fufu contains calcium,iron,magnesium coupled with the soup that goes with it, a w ...

• kululu 7 years ago

Why? No negotiation on my fufu cos I can't give up fufu for hollow words. If fufu kills, the population of Ghana would have been the smallest in the world. If Otabil don't like fufu, he should leave me alone to do my thing.

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Fufu in Ghana is a very bad food. This is the very food that has made a lot of Akans grow short and instead of tackling the menace some useless academicians are glorifying it by claiming Akans in general and Ashantis in parti ...

• PROSPER 7 years ago

WHAT IS THE COMPOSITION OF FUFU IS CASAVA MOSTLY EVES FOOD AND PLANTAIN THE AKANS, SO IF WE MIX THE TWO BY POUNDING IT AND YOU DON'T WANNA EAT IT DO NOT CONDEMN IT ASHANTIS ARE NOT ONLY SHORT WHY DIDN'T YOU SAY FUFU MAKES AS ...

• SIMON 7 years ago

Very often than not, this man of God veers into secular issues and issues fiats a la fatwa in the Islamic sense and wants people to swallow it as the gospel truth. What prevents Otabil to sponsor one of the Departments in his ...

If you think fufu is a good food why are Ashantis, who eat fufu everyday, very short.

• Umknown 7 years ago

How about the large amount of carbohydrate? What about the over heating and or cooking of the dish as a whole? Usually, there are no nutrients after the long processing or cooking.

• Apraku 7 years ago

The primary role of carbohydrates is to supply energy to all cells in the body. Now tell me if the consumation of carbohydrate is bad.If you live by the priciple energy in , energy out there shouldn't be the problem with carb ...

To derive energy from carbohydrates, they need to be chewed. This is how God has made it. Why do you have to swallow the carbohydrate hook, line and sinker. This explains why Ashantis are very short.

• Kwabena Yeboah 7 years ago

These fabulously rich African pastors who live off the sweat and toil of their predominantly poor congregation, are quick to criticize the lifestyle of these poor folks most of whom cannot afford three-square meals a day let ...

• Nova, USA 7 years ago

This doesn't make sense to me. The key here is washing your hands before you eat. The cooks use their hands to make the food and if they don't wash their hands what good is the cutlery. how about an using dirty cutlery to eat ...

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

Nova, the Whites don't even wash their hands before eating. I live in UK and I have noticed that whenever these white people buy food, they just open it up and start eating without first washing their hands - irrespective of ...

• Henry Mary Ussher 7 years ago

Thank you my brother. Snr man missed the target and misled the congregation. Let him come clean

• Gidi-Makpeza 7 years ago

I concur!!

• Ruachme 7 years ago

Let God be the Judge.
    and dont insult men of God

• More fufu 7 years ago

More fufu more exercise
    You work all your body parts lose fat and live longer

• POOR OTABIL.... 7 years ago

DID MENSAH OTABIL KNOW THAT GRAPES ARE STAMPED WITH THE BARE FEET OF PEOPLE HAVING FUNGI-INFESTED NAILS TO MAKE WINE? DID OTABIL KNOW THAT MILK IS VIRTUALLY LEFT TO ROT BEFORE IT TURNS TO CHEESE? TO ALL THOSE CRITICIZING AFRI ...

• Willis 7 years ago

u have said all
    westernization is whats killing us
    otabil talked cheap

• Kwesi Brenu 7 years ago

The world is moving on but you are stuck with your intense tribalism. You surely need help

• minladder 7 years ago

Stupid pastor

• ASEM BIREBA 7 years ago

Bacterials are every where in every food in this world. BANKU CHINESZ RICE JOLLOF VEGETABLE SALADE can carry bacterials from human hair, dirt, sweets in famous world class restaurants. So what is he trying to say is a myth. H ...

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

Don't mind this fraud. Has he ever been to a place where cheese is prepared. My nan (grandma) died aged around 110 (years) and she ate fufu 2 or 3 times a day all her life. Just because you have become filthy rich with your c ...

• K.Dot 7 years ago

fufu 2 or 3 times a day dierr the old lady try!
    don't mind Otabil the hot soup be disinfectant

• ZILLI 7 years ago

Hmmmm.
    Let not such words cme out of thy mouth. For thou knoweth not who you will be in the future

• Ruachme 7 years ago

How could you bring out such words against a man of God?
    weda he be good or not,remember nt to touch or do harm to Gods chosen servants

• K.K. 7 years ago

Kwasea you eat fufu grow like these talking rubbish......don't eat fufu anymore don't just spew garbage Otabil who at all born you ???????.

• Jake/Accra 7 years ago

I knew it; that people like you would insult the man of God. That's all you know-insults. Continue to live in your ignorance and folly.

• Sense 7 years ago

Neva speak against a man of God.

• Anderson 7 years ago

Pulse! Thou shall not judge but though shall rebuke. Have u read the story of (David and Nathan) and (Ahab and Mecaiah). It depends on whom u are speaking to, how u go abt delivering ur msg and the kind of spirit that is in y ...

• pii gh 7 years ago

help the needy richest pastor in gh

• Grayson 7 years ago

It doesn't have to be finger liking good.
    Its cheap and most poor families raise their children on it.
    It's affordable that's why we eat it.

• ASEM 7 years ago

"Sitting down to a mouth-watering bowl of fufu with hand licking soup is a thing most Africans look to."

WHICH PART OF THE HAND?

• Tachie 7 years ago

Start with the churches
    Teach them the hygienic method of preparing the belly filling affordable food for our families.

• MICHAEL 7 years ago

LOOSE WEIGHT NATURAL.0266351753
    Do you want to lose weight faster?
    Do you want to flush out and eliminate toxins?0266351753
    Do you want to have a nice shape?
    Do you want to do more physical exercise without fatigue?
    Wond ...

• No Mercy 7 years ago

Silly Pastor Mensa Otabil.Speak what is sense.

• rass 7 years ago

This man is just setting fufu as an example . We do similar things in our life that makes us very poor but we still keep to those norms .You guys must make changes in your life for better future .

• Jake/Accra 7 years ago

You are right. They are interpreting what the pastor said literally. Our your thinking caps on, you bunch of illiterates.

• Dogbeda 7 years ago

I can't compare myself to Pastor Otabil.
    So I eat what I have, I sleep in what I have, and I wear what I have. But I understand hygiene.
    I guess; your next topic will stress on sanitation.

• Bobby 7 years ago

Eiiiiii eiii pastor that what your great grandfather eat and your father eat before you were born. Let you have the whole world but don't forget your roots. Yu think you have it all. Stupid

• Kutsii 7 years ago

Exercise is one of the ingredients for good health. Pounding fufu, though strenuous is an art of exercise and pregnant women are even advised to pound a few strokes for a safe delivery.

Our ancestors pounded fufu in the sa ...

Because of BENTOA a lot of Africans were sold into slavery.
    Mahama became popular because of his BENTOA politics in Bole -Banboye Constituency.

• Seth 7 years ago

Hahahaha I like this hmmm

• Yaa 7 years ago

Liar. Where have they writing that pregnant women should pound fufu

• Amoako Gyampa 7 years ago

This is what our elders have been eaten since, n they livelong. What r u trying tell us. Stop eaten our traditional meal n go eat those so called junk foods or what. Oh pastor Otabil. If u dont have any sermon for your member ...

• Umknown 7 years ago

The type they Ancestors ate had no cassava content. He may be right because of the cassava component in today's dish. The carbs are known to cause health issues.

• Tina 7 years ago

Since NPP came to power Otabil no longer has a message. From Ghanaians are lazy to the Fufu eating habits if Ghanaians.
    Rev. Pastor Dr. Mensah Otabil pls talk about the senseless take over of state assets, seizure of Innocen ...

• Kwame denk 7 years ago

Nonsensical

• Tasicall 7 years ago

Is he in the production of neat fufu or he may start one soon?

• Born in Kyebi 7 years ago

What is the cure to this your new found issue killing us. Otabil, Jesus
    gave us answers to our problems if you know tell us don't just jump on the pulpit and tell us what you don't know or have answers. You are getting on o ...

• Allan 7 years ago

Another fool, we are waiting for your burget statement, i heard you are chief consultant for this waste govement.

• Tagoe 7 years ago

Man of God please try and stay away from politics. Concentrate on your call.

• Akosua K 7 years ago

You FOOL!!!! You sit in your million dollar Trassaco house and spew nonsense because you now think you're better than everyone else. The congregations who pay the tithes for your rich house all eat fufu to be strong to go on ...

• Ocansey isaac 7 years ago

Pls be warned because he is a man of God
    This is what Noah told his people and they said he a fool but he wasn't
    Pls the Bible says touch not my anointed and do my prophet any harm.God bless u

• Victor 7 years ago

The only sensible comments I read so far regarding Otabil's speech .I have now realized that Africans are bunch of illiterates .A 5 minutes talk from him couldn't be understood by poor and filthy illiterates with their deteri ...

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

Don't be stupid, it is not our wish or duty to go and do research on what someone has said - we only comment on this platform based on what we read on it (this platform). And based on the article above, this fraud who calls ...

• Katabaley 7 years ago

You are the filthy ignorant cunt. It's in black and white what he said . Your fucking family are the ones who will suffer forever. You stinking stooge!! Aboa!

• Shalom 7 years ago

Ocansey pls revisit ur Bible and quote exactly what is written and ask Holy Spirit to give you the understanding to it if you have one. This is a misfit.
    Pastor is gradually lossing and u and I shd speak the truth not in of ...

Trashing our food culture too? My grand mum lived to 113yrs and her favorite was fufu. She could eat it 3 times a day!!! Pastor start selling hamburgers to your congregation, who cares? After all without their tithes and coll ...

• osei 7 years ago

this is rubbish.
    home prepared fufu is safe. the mortar and pestle used are woods of natural origin and also medicinal. they are always cleaned very well before and after use. if you hv nothing to say then shut up.
    what ...

• H. S. FIRE 7 years ago

I disagree with you on this one, Pastor Otabil: Eating with our hands is not, and will never be outdated. Once the hands are washed completely clean, they are good to go.

The same goes for fufu: once the pestle and the mo ...

• GhanaMan 7 years ago

this is the worst statement ever made by a leader. instead of reinforcing the proper hygienic practices started by the govt, this self made fake god of whiteman is telling us africans to abundon all the natural crops in our ...

• Boadu 7 years ago

That's the problem with Africans. We mask our stupidity with insults. The pastor here makes lots of sense. Isn't it true that fufu pounding is gruesome and very unhygienic. Take a look at those who drive and pound the fufu at ...

• AKRANTIE-BINI EATER 7 years ago

You have forgotten RAT SHIT. People wake up and eat RAT SHIT. Their heads are full of shit.

• prince 7 years ago

Man sorry to Say's you are fool to say Otabil is right in what sense.ask whether was his parent able to his school fees.the same told us his mother's friends contribute to pay his school fees.if his parents have money will pe ...

• Yaa 7 years ago

He doesn't live on his congregations offering and tithe. He has his own job he does apart from preaching

• Kwame assin 7 years ago

Otabil should return all the money he been collecting from his congregations back to them. A self proclaimed man of God is hugely taking an advantage of ordinary citizens whose income is no where near a decimal point. Yet Ot ...

• LL 7 years ago

I TOTALLY DISAGREE.

• Yaw, Germany 7 years ago

Another foooool

• Evans 7 years ago

He's not Jesus Christ! He's also human as we are. He can't be always right. And he's not right on this one.

• prince 7 years ago

This man is not man of God,becos the same man said just last year that the citizens must raise against d government...now is Nana Addo president d game charge.God will surely judge u one by one

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

Pastor Otabil, it seems you have forgotten your own background and upbringing.Preparing and eating fufu never killed your parents and grandparents. You approached the topic from the wrong angle. You should instead have find a ...

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

Sorry for the wrong tense.But I still insist that this Yamoransa Dokono sustained pastor has forgotten his own initial background and upbringing. He has become a multi millionaire out of the sweat of his congregation and is n ...

• KWABENA DWOMOH 7 years ago

DAADY PLS DNT CONDERM WAT UR FATHER FEED U WIT B4 BEEN MY MENTOR

• Dr Panie 7 years ago

My grandmother ate fufu everyday anf she died a centenarian. In my family the youngest eas 74years and they are all fufu eaters. Now your bacteria thing has no prove because my grandma never pounded fufu without pouring hot w ...

• TRUMP 7 years ago

old Soldier the top is about fufu not mahama.stop the hatred

• Rory 7 years ago

Please Pastor do you ever use your fork and knife in foreplay with you wife or the same "DIRTY FINGERS"

What is wrong with you? One can use well CLEANED hands for everything!!

• africa people 7 years ago

pastor otabil,it is not foo foo it is the collection u fake pastors have being collecting from poor men, women,traders and criminals that has collapse africa and ghana, i challenge all pastors to return all poor people mon ...

• Niii 7 years ago

This is absolutely rubbish, how can you condemn your own traditional food.

• Okoodi 7 years ago

Nonsense

• O.K 7 years ago

Otabil, you are mad.If you discourage poor citizens from eating our age old food,what do you want them to eat?So you prefer Whiteman process chemical food to our natural home food.Otabil you are really a foul.

• NON-ALIGNED 7 years ago

Oh! Mensah Otabil.....one of my favourite pastors..... As for this piece, you have failed totally!

Do you know the communal essence and sense of togetherness fufu pounding and its eating brings to AFRICANS? Especially Ghan ...

• FT 7 years ago

No logic is this your statement.The Otabil I knew before that speaks with divine wisdom is not the "Otabil" now that speaks with wisdom based on his earthly riches.Now you feel so comfortable in life that has made you to for ...

• Edwin 7 years ago

FT, I share your view 100%.

Christianity is not all about spirituality and sale of anointing oil. Christianity requires wisdom and knowledge to be applied in everyday life that is why some of the old prophets and patriarchs grew older and came closer to ...

• Kwaapau 7 years ago

Dear Mr Otabil try and concentrate on your sermons and avoid controversial issues. Food processing in all corners of the world has their downsides. I live in London and so many food marts have been identified with food poison ...

• NON-ALIGNED 7 years ago

Oh! Mensah Otabil.....one of my favourites. As for this piece, you have failed totally!

Do you know the communal essence and togetherness fufu pounding and in its eating brings to AFRICANS?

Please DON'T belittle African ...

• Prekese 7 years ago

Pastor tell us to wash the mortar n the pistol well with hot water now????abbyeee aba nsem po nee paaapa otabbbil hmmm

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

Oh ho! Kweku Mensah this is too much!,please beat it down.

• Joddey 7 years ago

Pastor know-all you're wrong here! Fufu is killing only Akans and not Frafras, dargabas, Bimobas, Dagombas, etc. We eat our TZ with 'ayoyo'', 'bera' alafu, etc. We eat when it is hot and the germs can't stand the heat. You se ...

• James Armstrong 7 years ago

Leave our food and rather comment on the abysmal NPP's 2 months in office caterised by corruption scandals, violence, copied speeches and logos,posturing and a Rogate laced with deceitful lies and propaganda

• ERNESTUS SOWAH 7 years ago

Useless pastor

Lying on pulpit,choping tithe,secretly being a leading member of npp,charging higher fees at Central University,living luxurious at poors expense is killing us not fufu

• justice. 7 years ago

what happened or wrong with today's so call pastors! ?. which country he think he's coming from, i think his parents from heaven and his brother's and sisters are angles, and he never eat fufu in his whole life, pastor in agr ...

• Mensah 7 years ago

Papa, as for this one dearrrrrrrrrr, I beg to differ. My mum always uses hot water to wash both the mortar and pestle before we pound ooooo. I would rather you educate us and proper hygiene to make it more safer to keep enjoy ...

• kimathi 7 years ago

Instead of preaching about the coming of Jesus Christ,u rather resort to trivial issues..

• Ernest 7 years ago

How many Africans eat fufu or even know the name? Fufu is traditional delicacy of Akans, though there may be adoptions.The generalization itself is incorrect unless for promotional purposes. To say eating fufu is 'kill Africa ...

• Anomy 7 years ago

Ignoramus! Fufu is an African dish not only akan

• Osonoba 7 years ago

Useless talk. Fufu is eaten in Ghana and Nigeria so it is not so widespread.

• Hell is real 7 years ago

To all those throwing insult to men of God should be very careful. Who are you to judge? Please with all due respect Stop for christ sake, for we are all christians and the body of christ

• DI ASEM PA 7 years ago

This is not about insult but to tell him the fact. Who told you Americans don't eat with their hands? How do they eat cheeseburgers, pizza, french fries,chicken wings,ribs? maybe they eat all these foods with utensils. Did yo ...

• OKESS 7 years ago

FOCUS ON THE GOSPEL AND CORRUPTION IN GHANA. FUFU AND PEANUT BUTTER SOUP IS MY FAVOURITE. YOU HAVE TO EXERCISE THOUGH AFTER EATING A BOWL OF FUFU.

• PADG 7 years ago

Dear Rev Dr. Mensa Otabil , there are many different way and we have moved from the pounding . Just go google and type the different ways of making fufu and you would discover many options . Update your as you are speaking to ...

• Kwame. 7 years ago

This stupid man who collected colection money to be rich always speak stupid

• Kboat 7 years ago

Some people guys criticise and insult without even considering the substance in the article. Is it not true that pounding fufu is very stressful coupled with the sweat and all that with it? I just dont understand why to some ...

• Ab. 7 years ago

May those striking pastor otabil with abusive and insulting words reap what they dish out a hundred fold according to the principle of SOWING and REAPING in Galatians 6:7. Disagreement shouldn't merit Insult.

• Yaw Mensah 7 years ago

open your eyes and stop talking nonsense

• Nana Adusi Opoku 7 years ago

You people should respect yourselves ok .....you respect a politician more than a pastor ..... Please watch what you say about men of God ...judgement awaits all ....

• Anthony, kumasi 7 years ago

Otabil is not a man of god but rather a true business man. open ur eyes.

• Kaka 7 years ago

The mortar we use to pound doesn't go with sterilization at all and only use water to wash it after pounding. Remember that, yam or cassava contain some sugary taste, if we wash it without detergents bacteria will later set o ...

• JANE AKU SIKA OHENE 7 years ago

HA, HA, HA,. OH, MENSAH OTABIL. MENSAH, MENSAH! DO YOU KNOW HOW CORNED BEEF, CAVIAR, SARDINES, BEER AND CHEESE ARE MADE? WHAT A DISPLAY OF IGNORANCE BY MENSAH? THIS IS THE PROBLEM IN OUR GHANA. ANYONE WITH ACCESS TO THE MICRE ...

• Kaka 7 years ago

Read the story to get the explanation, before condemnation, the man is right.

• Ken 7 years ago

Fufu preaching paaaa? Nothing to preach about again? We now don't preach about repentance and salvation. It is now prosperity and the preparation of fufu. Who tells you people are not minded about how best they can keep t ...

• Mr Benson 7 years ago

Is it a research from FDA or from doctors? Please I want to know if possible then I will stop eating fufu

• Evans 7 years ago

He's not Jesus Christ to be right all the time. He's also human as we are. And his impression on fufu is wrong. He should unlearn what he has learned to relearn before coming out again on fufu.

• Paa Kwesi 7 years ago

Bishop, are u aware the hot water that is poured from boiled cassava is used to sterilised the pestal?

• Nana Akuffo Addo 7 years ago

Mensah otabil u r a fool. Stupid myopic pastor with idiotic senses . Go to hell u satanic so called pastor

• King London 7 years ago

Plantain and cassava is cook and pounding at the same time to consume so how could that be infected by bacteria. People have made you rich and if not, you would've ended in chop bar as well Concert talk !!

• George 7 years ago

Never insult a pastor, you bring curse upon yourself and your family.

• Yaw Mensah 7 years ago

@George It is because of people like you that we suffer everyday. If he said something stupid call him out as such and stop saying he is a pastor. I grew up in an era before there was internet access and was made to believe t ...

• GHANA FIRST 7 years ago

When God stops speaking tI you you start vomiting rubbish.

• true npp. 7 years ago

May be Mr. otabil,the way your wife orepares it is not hygienic and that's why you think in every African home the fufu they pound is not hygienic.if you want to tell your wife to be hygienic to say it in public,because commo ...

• emmaco 7 years ago

Pastor you are right on point.
    God bless you. Old fashioned and poisonous food

• true npp. 7 years ago

May be Mr. otabil,the way your wife prepares it is not hygienic and that's why you think in every African home the fufu they pound is not hygienic.if you want to tell your wife to be hygienic dont say it in public,because co ...

• Paa Kwesi 7 years ago

Factually and scientifically incorrect assessment on Fufu, my best food. But who is this Agbesi Kwesi? Why do u always attack the Akans and Ashantis? All the Ewes can not belong to NDC, OK !

• Philip Londont 7 years ago

The first time ,l have heard from Paster Otail hitting below the belt first of all, it's only chop bars where you can find some one sweating when pondering and also eating fufu rather makes you healthier. My dad used to eat ...

• harry 7 years ago

Plus let us discuss his statement and not to attack him.....pastor u know how much some of us like that food....I suggest we as a people fine a way making it preparation simple......pastor can your university think of 1 tech ...

• Agya Yaw 7 years ago

Ps. Otabil please read his Bible well. In heaven, we shall eat FUFU.

As for angel Gabriel, he likes cocoyam fufu with abunu abunu.

He should read what food the people of Israel were fed in the desert. Read from the Am ...

• Sam 7 years ago

There is no evidence in his claim. It's sasad how our leaders and preachers can make ignorant claims and our people just accept it. I have been living in England for over 25yrs and the can tell u with 100 percent certainty th ...

• inercycl 7 years ago

The very conservative protagonists of "the Ghanaian culture" now stand to deny it.What a shame.From religious bigotry to cultural falsification and now a nutrition critic.The late Adwoa Kobi(asantehemaa) lived an outstanding ...

• Kobby Yeboah 7 years ago

please these words are too hash, don't attack his personality, attack issues

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

this fool must limit himself to what he does best- fooling people to dish moneyas tithe to him and his family. He must not pretend to be nutritionist or food hygienist. he knows nothing about food hygiene. having accepted his ...

• tamiyowu 7 years ago

u are not serious.now is no more leadership
    is fufu dat we take eii paster hmmm.

• Yaw Bee 7 years ago

So you will rather eat European food. You have spoken lie a true Fante. A white man in a black skin.

• Kwame asasey 7 years ago

Infact,these insult you people are raining the pastor is unwarranted. U people should exercise decorum here and respect yourselves

• Yaw Mensah 7 years ago

If a pastor says something stupid he should be called out as such.

• Yaw Mensah 7 years ago

Wow!!! People forget that when they are in places of trust, their words are taken suriously at all times. This is a case where his personal opinion, however unwise as in this case, is being championed by him as if it is some ...

• mawriz 7 years ago

Now that npp is in power there's nothing for this man to talk about.

• Yebopower 7 years ago

And gari and banku too.

• k, no problem, a 7 years ago

Silly pastor, stupid fool, idiot like . Not sanitizes indeed!

• Nshyira 7 years ago

That is the attitude of the typical Ghanaian. No wonder we relied on Akosombo Dame for .so many years until it could no more provide the power we need. That's what our ancestors left for us. I am sorry.

• Odikro 7 years ago

My grandfather eat it everyday for dinner; he died at 110. Go eat your salad, watered from the smelly gutters of Accra, or sprayed with DDT to drive away insects. Since when when did you train to become a dietitian?

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

The death and resurrection of Jesus Christ is more important than this issue that doesn't save a soul.
    For how longood have our ancestors being eating this fufu you are talking about,and how long were their live span ? M ...

The man is a man of God so pls no silly comments cos Noah informed his people about the Ark of God and they said he is a foolish man but it was the doings of God.

Pls no silly comments cos he is a man of God

• Ritewing 7 years ago

Pastor Otabil is one of the best all-rounders in the country. His sermons are very good and enlightening. He is one I will find time for in my busy day, to listen to. But I do not agree with him on the question of fufu. Fufu ...

• Yaa 7 years ago

You know Ghanaians are quick to judge and insult. What is wrong with what he said? The fact that you don't agree with him doesn't mean you come out and insult him. Let us grow up and be respectful as citizen. You won't insult ...

• Carlos 7 years ago

The guy is 100% right. There's no way we can clean the mortar and be able to get rid of the germs the gentleman spoke about.

• Kofi Seth 6 years ago

Yes, Otabil is totally wrong and astray!! But, take it easy on him. We hope he keeps in focus and limit pride so as to avoid these kinds of embarrassment. But some of you fellow Ghanains should put on a little RESPECT in the ...

• TT 7 years ago

Last time he preached on an attitudinal change, it was GA kenkey and pepper, today fufu and next time it will be banku, akple or kokonte. Change has really come

• Carol 7 years ago

I disagree with you. Some fingers if properly washed are cleaner than stainless steel that have gone in many mouths. Also dont forget food eaten with fingers have a certain je ne sais quoi element of tastiness to it.

The turning of the fufu absorbs pathogenic microbes and gases. This explains why fufu spoils within a very short period of time after its preparation.

• IBRAHIM 7 years ago

I LOVE OTABIL TEACHINGS BUT AS FOR THIS FUFU, BACTERIA STORY I DO NOT SHARE YOUR SENTIMENT. PERHAPS WE SHOULD BE EATING FRIED RICE AND INDOMINE INSTEAD WHICH IS FASTER AND EASIER TO COOK. I BEG TO DIFFER ON THIS MY MAN.

• Afrika Bravo 7 years ago

Heard this Goat so called Pastor.so Theres nothing to speak about.i don't know how People's understand the word of God.

• ObooAyibayg 7 years ago

Pastor you are right , another thing killing us is when people will empty their pockets and put it in the offering bowl and will have nothing for basic medical check up

• Jim 7 years ago

Please Pastor what you are saying about the way we eat is far from the truth. Just concentrate on preaching the word of God and stop talking nonsense

• Akuamoah 7 years ago

I never supported people insulting him until today.Infact this stupid blocked headed man is a fool!! Who told you stainless steel you talking about don't cause cancer? Ignorant fool!! Bacterials are everywhere around us and o ...

• Kofi Ellison 7 years ago

I'd like to have a debate with this bumbling neophyte,.....

First of all, there is NOTHIN wrong; NOTHING unhealthy about eating with one's fingers.

People do things for its utility value. Have you tried to eat noodles ...

• Wiseman 7 years ago

I don't understand this man. Is he talking about 'home made fufu' or the one prepared outside?? If fufu is prepared unhygienically in his house then he should say so and stop dancing around the place.....

• NPPigs 7 years ago

HE HAS A BEARD NOW? WHAT FOR?

• K. NYARKO 7 years ago

Otabil please you have really failed with your analysis, if you really believe no research has gone in to know the bacteria that get into the fufu eaten, how do you draw the conclusion that the eating of fufu is killing your ...

• star 7 years ago

Excuse me but is this goon really a Pastor? I honestly do not think so

• Yaw Freeman 7 years ago

I have being a memember of ICGC many years before going abroad.
    I have like and listen to DR.. Otabil MANY TIMES.
    THIS MESSAGE ABOUT FUFU HE GOT IT WRONG.
    SOMETIMES WHEN MANY BECOME RICH THEY FORGOT HOW THEY STARTED ...

• JKMo 7 years ago

OH PASTOR YOUR POSITION ON FUFU IS BEING EXAGGERATED.

• osei 7 years ago

this politician who pose as a pastor is always joking.a crook who has gathered crooks and corupt academicians and ignorant people in the name of a church.repent and be save now

Please, listen to Dr Otabil and live longer.

• JH. New York 7 years ago

The Ghanaian African, now branding
    his fufu recipe,a killer!.Pastor Mensa Otabil,with all respect,which coroner's report in the Country and beyond, identified Fufu as the cause of death of any member of your family or
    fr ...

Those who turned round to condemn eating with the hand,Cook with the hands in their privacy except in the Restaurant or Public Catering Services
    It's good to wear gloves, though!.

• Kwadwo Castro 7 years ago

This is utterly nonsense. Because of ill gotten money u are throwing away ur culture. Its ur choice to fufu or not.who cares. Preach what will change peoples lives

• Chinese 7 years ago

I'm a Chinese.
    I ate fufu with goat light soup this afternoon.
    Delightly with my hands.
    It just tastes better with hands.

Pastor, you seem having problems with your ego eco system.

This is below target. Please, senior man come clean. The same hands prepare the food before it is eaten. Preparing any meal for the family is not punishment but an honourable act that requires energy.hmmmm, pastors of today

This is below target please senior man come clean

• Bobo Dialaso 7 years ago

Yes it is Africans because there were Africans in this world before the white man appeared. I am sorry but these pastors need to a good dose of history. What is wrong with eating with your hands? If that could kill, all of u ...

Have you wondered why fufu spoils within a short time of its preparation. It is because of the unhygienic way it is prepared. The turning and turning alone absorbs a lot of pathogenic microbes and gases which renders it unhea ...

I am sorry, you don't know what you talk about! Know that your scientific theories is out of gear or not applicable to the Subject. Fufu could stay fresh for about 24 hours or more without it being refrigerated in times past ...

• More fufu 7 years ago

Pounding fufu very good exercise
    You work all body parts ????

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

WHAT IS THE ALTERNATIVE OSOFO PAYIN.

IS NOT ONLY FUFU, GHANAIAN HOUSEWIVES STILL CONTINUE GRIND PEPPER, ONIONS AND TOMATOES ON ROCKS,AND WHY SHOULD IT CONTINUE, WITH GHANA CLAIMING TO HAVE BIG DEGREES AND PHD TITLES IN T ...

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

look at a usless man of so called man God. You are rather a devil of God not a man of God. A complete hypocrite hiding behind the bible to campaign for political parties. You are already out of your call as a preacher theref ...

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

WHAT DOES THE SO CALLED MAN OF GOD EAT AT LUNCH AND SUPPER.

YAM, KENKEY,COCOA YAM,POTATOES AND VEGETABLES.

HE NEEDS TO ADVISE HIS CONGREGATION AND THE PEOPLE OF GHANA ON PROPER DIETS THAT CAN LENGTHEN THE LIVES OF THE P ...

• fred 7 years ago

Osofo, as for this one, you had it totally wrong.
    In the first place, pounding is a form of exercise.
    Don't forget there are useful bacteria.
    By the way, do you know how long some of the foodstuffs you love to buy from ...

• Don 7 years ago

Let the pastor be told that food is a borrowed word from fufu. Good exercise of pounding before eating! What is wrong. All fufu eaters know how to manage their time.

• Nene Narnor. 7 years ago

As for this one you have failed. Your point is off beat.

• KOFI NTIM 7 years ago

SNAKE IN PULPIT. SPIRITUAL TERRORISTS. TWEAAAAAAAA!!!

• KK 7 years ago

It's amazing how an educated personality like Dr. M.O. would make such a silly comment. Does he or the whites he is trying to copy eat apples with spoon or fork and knife? If not, is it barbaric if the whites eat apples with ...

• African Child 7 years ago

Western countries are accepting LGBT. Should Africa copy? For a moment I thought I was listening to DKB or Basketmouth.

• Kwame assin 7 years ago

It is not the food per say, it could be, how it is prepared for consumption. The cassava and plantain are organic made with no application of chemicals. The good part is that, fufu can't be stored. All what is needed is a goo ...

• African Child 7 years ago

Dr Mensah Otabil, that platform is a privilege one. Show some respect to your audience. An attack on our food, it's manner of preparation and eating, is an attack on our culture.

• Ghanaba. 7 years ago

Is it how you eat a food or weather the food is nutritional enough for the human body!am sure we the people will work out how that food get into the body.

• General 7 years ago

HE IS GETTING MAD. HE HAS EXTORTED US FOR HIS GAINS WHAT IS LET IS TO INSULT US. THANK YOU. FOOLISH

• Sly 7 years ago

This kindly gesture should be on your so called Politicians and other Government officials with elephant belly with wide mouth.

• Biko 7 years ago

The propaganda machinery of NDC has been activated again. After all the debt left, they are on the neck of Nana to perform instantly. Perform probably with water as money

• Evans 7 years ago

With all the condemnation you could not propose any form of solution. Are you a Ghanaian? If Ghanaians could descend, they wouldn't give you the 10/0 of their earnings to put up a Business

• Kwadwo USA. 7 years ago

Go eat Burger. Nd white man food so u can die faster. Nd drink only pup.

• Kofi Kyei 7 years ago

Ghana is NOT Africa! Not all Africans eat Fufu.

• Douglas otoo 7 years ago

The hot soup will kill all the bacterials.... Dont worry.

• Yaaaaa 7 years ago

After he had guffed on the need to celebrate Christmas he is now on An irrelevant issue
    U are irritating

• Evans 7 years ago

What a man of God! Indeed they will be disgraced before their last days. Idiot. We shouldn't eat fufu but patronize the white man's food

• nii yaw 7 years ago

ps i always love ur message, but for this kindly withdraw it right now.aba!!!

• Bobby 7 years ago

Pastor indeed. Yu think yu brains than anybody. Aboowa

• Amfo Kwakye. 7 years ago

This man is seriously ignorant.

• Amfo Kwakye. 7 years ago

Simply tell me how u eat fufuo and goat meat without fingers.

• sam 7 years ago

I don't know what this preaching was about. There is nothing wrong with eating with your fingers provided its washed and clean well. Fufu from cassava and plaintain and cocoyam have excellent mount of fibers and polysaccharid ...

• SS 7 years ago

All that Rev means is fufu is not making you stupid fools insulting him not thinking and you will always lack knowledge. The man said something out of research so why don't you also make your own research and prove him wrong. ...

• Abongo 7 years ago

Otabil, you are a fool an idiot. It is fufu that made you what you are today. Dam fool

• Lawoe USA 7 years ago

Just sit down at one place. If you are hungry just open your mouth and the food will run by itself to enter your mouth and finally to your stomach. Any food at all we eats ,we have to use our energy to prepare it. What a fuck ...

• Okro mouth 7 years ago

Mensah Otabil is seeking relevance...bigotry and pomposity
    Ghanaian OREO...

• AZAA 7 years ago

Then what about those guys who lick pussies, and the eating of sweaty fufu. Which of the two is more hygienic ?

• Nii Joromi 7 years ago

This man of God must produce all the figures from the hospitals to support his stupid message that fufu is killing Africans. Why not attack koobi or kokonte?

• everybody 7 years ago

agent of cultural extermination. they devised methods to improve their culture, not move from them; i expected some wisdom. soon you will move from wearing African attire, speaking twi, ga, ewe, dagbani - that is if you still ...

• Patrick 7 years ago

aaaaaaaaaaah,pastor?pls don't say that?so should we stop eating our own traditional food and follow the foreigners food?Noo,Nowadays Ghanaians are dying jxt bcs of the foreigners food we use to eat.Even fufu that u are saying ...

• truth 7 years ago

asem! Fufu in the pulpit. Joy tell your husband he should visit secondary schools & win souls for Christ & leve fufu out of the equation.

• Xtc 7 years ago

He never said stop eating fufu

• fufu 7 years ago

U sometimes talk bulshit. Y dis piece?

• OSMAN 7 years ago

I now understand why the white man look so down upon we the blacks as they do. Our way of looking and interpreting things is so absurd. What pastor Mesa Otabil has said is very simple and understandable but look at how peopl ...

• Anomy 7 years ago

True talk one food and all your energy is gone into its preparation as for the hygiene I always question the intelligence of people who buy fufu outside

• Isaac Kusi, Bronx, NY 7 years ago

The way of thinking must change. We have been doing things the same way for a long time without inventing new methods.Industrial fufu machines must be made and commercialized for every home to afford just like the blender.

• coolmann 7 years ago

brain wash Pastor Otabil,please can you tell me which method,human being have use to eat chicken?the answer is with fingers.

• one luv. 7 years ago

Stop eating fufu n gain the whole world n gain nothing after u die u only want this world.

• Kwame denk 7 years ago

I particularly don't like Otabil, but he is perfectly right. I don't see anything wrong wit his comment abt fufu. People just hate fact, d preparation of fufu is bullshit n total waste n punishment.

• Emma 7 years ago

Those who are insulting.....are you WISE if you insult even your enemy ???

• Isaac.Italy 7 years ago

I think now otabil is no more a pastor am sad for his church members. Bcs u have abundance of wealth from this now u enjoyed life as u want so u can now insult those who eat fufu.remembered u will never live forever be a man ...

• ALFRED 7 years ago

he is a man of God and needs not to be insulted. It is better to identify the solution on this issue than to be Blaming witches unneccessarily.

• bernice 7 years ago

those insulting the Pastor i pray God open ur thinking to understand the problems sorrounding us and to be able to solve these problems

• Edward 7 years ago

Pastor but our forefathers were eating it in the olden days but they grew up to 100s and 150s years. But now we are not eating it but we don't even get up to 40s

• Diego 7 years ago

This Otabil talks like he is the only sensible person in Ghana. So what about those Africans who don't eat fufu? Don't they die? we are tired of his nonsense. it's Africa which has made him what he is today. Braggart

• Agogo Bismarck 7 years ago

u who uses insults as comments. becareful u don't curses urselfs.saying something else is better. not only insult to everyone. no respect.

• Edi 7 years ago

There is so much hatred directed at the man of God. Well done to all who have shamelessly insulted and disrespected Dr. Otabil: I don't think this attitude surprises him.
    Thank God you are not asking for him to be stoned or ...

• John Akim Oda 7 years ago

Is potato chips better than fufu ? Stupid pastor , you have nothing to preach again since all your preaching was on NDC

• future mp for Ghana 7 years ago

it's only stupid people who insult a man of God Like Otabil. are your parents sensible and richer than him.

• Attajko0o0o9o9o9o9oo0o 7 years ago

Rubbish

• Agyei Manu Emmanuel 7 years ago

Eeeei pls de insult is too much just comment on it depending on ur understand nt insults even with this he was making an example pls watch ur words bcos he is a man of God u people shd learn from David n Saul in de Bible when ...

• Paa Kwesi 7 years ago

Various types of Ghanaian made fufu machines are in the market. All you need is to dismantle and wash it well. No sweats and no bacteria wahala. You can find two types of Ghana made fufu machines at Afariwa near Ashaiman roun ...

• Vic 7 years ago

I don't see anything wrong with what Dr Otabil said. Take it easy with him. He is a man of God. We don't need to insult him. Agree with what he said or disagree with him. God Bless you.

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 7 years ago

MENSA OTABIL, YOU ARE A FOOL ! DO YOU THINK FUFU IS EATEN ALL OVER THE CONTINENT OF AFRICA ? ARE YOU THAT IGNORANT AND STUPID ? WHAT LEVEL OF EDUCATION DO YOU HAVE ?

• Nana Yaw 7 years ago

I love d preaching soooooooo bt i need d reason why we cn nt use our hands in eating pls Rev. Otabil so dat I may serve frm it pls?

• righteous 7 years ago

Ghanaians who are old enough to give birth to Otabil have been eating Fufu since their infancy. Pls. Otabil come again

• BRA 7 years ago

the top-most useless talk and assessment ever heard from self-acclaimed greedy man of God. chai!

• Kwam 7 years ago

How scientific is this your claim, our great great grandparents are fufu and they lived for over 100 years, we generation of today eat fried rice and we die at 40years and you say that eating fufu is killing us, there may be ...

• NANA CASH 7 years ago

May God have mercy on the young man who was bold to write stupid for the man of God. Pls make yr point but be devoid of insults. if nothing at all, the pastor is old enough to be your father.

• Kojo Abbey 7 years ago

Pastor yahoo is saying the Right factual aspe t ofbthe way we suffer before we eat one meal of fufu. Ali is time wasting and unhygienic. Pounding fufu for more than an hour and sweat mixes With the good. Pounding stich corner ...

• Okukuseku 7 years ago

This man is getting mad now can he differentiate mash potato with meat source and fufu with meat soup, you can start eating bread, cheese and tomato imagine and wo cares

• Agyemang kwarteng 7 years ago

This man is tell everyone to change he makes money from the church now he want you to change .he should use the church money to build factories that produce spoons so that don't need buy from foreign country

• Adama Barrow, 7 years ago

Come to England here,is not every food that they eat with fingers,so i dont understand what he is talking about,the whites eat with their fingers with ????,doughnuts,,there are so many foods they eat with their fingers,we alw ...

Is not everything they eat with cutlery set,they yhe white English people use their fingers to eat humburgers and they lick it like something after eating,.

Is not everything they eat with cutlery set, white English people use their fingers to eat humburgers and they lick it like something after eating,.

• dak 7 years ago

pig pastor

• Agyemang kwarteng 7 years ago

No good bishop deceiver

• Afrakoma 7 years ago

This is a sad example of a very colonised mind. Indians still eat with their hands and hold on to many traditons and customs. It has not hampered their progress in advancing on a global scale in the digital/IT world. Hygiene ...

• Jane 7 years ago

My humble advise to this pastor is to concentrate on his calling if really he is. To me he is a man of laughter. He should avoid meddling in things like these because we all know his background. These so called inspirational ...

• Anderson 7 years ago

Teachers teaches the thought of God and that is "the way to eternal life". There are so many acc'ts on wht we eat that are in the bible: wht goes into the body does not defile us, the apostles not washing their hands b4 eatin ...

• Ea 7 years ago

Now that NDC is out no more Auto piloting. It's now about food and soup. God lives

• NII Abbey 7 years ago

Both FUFU pounding and eating is part of African culture which has existed since creating to present. It's a sensitive part of our black African culture that it should not be underestimated. Is there statistics of people dyin ...

• kweku 7 years ago

come again

• Kwame Adom 7 years ago

Mensa Otabil as old as you are, as fool as you be come.

• aja 7 years ago

is this man of God or something else .something that your fore father's have eat till date .you're now wiser than those who invented it.I think your maker will not forgive you , you better come again.

• Ob 7 years ago

This guy is out of his mind and he can migrate to NO MAN'S LAND!!! $$$

• Ob 7 years ago

Shut the funk up, rich affluent foolish man#$$$$$

• Sweet Steven 7 years ago

thank you Pastor Mensah You said it all for me. Each time i pick up a spoon to eat which ever food , my Ghanaian friends laugh at me saying i want to be a white man. Look i am a Welder Fitter who dip my hands in all sorts ...

• Kofi Ketewa 7 years ago

Being the most influential person in Ghana doesn't mean we must swallow whatever you say. What scientific basis did you base your assertion? If what you're saying is true then some of us who have been eating "chop bar" fufu f ...

• BENJAMIN ESSEL.. 7 years ago

Change is good and i agree do disect and know the benefits of our foods. Again the finger eating can be changed to some good tool with the help of all and sundry by delibrerating. Most africans outside of their countries can ...

• Kofi Seth 6 years ago

I agree? on this that our brother is completely missed and totally wrong in his calculations. If he does not care for fufu, it is not a big deal to go so far. Fufu and its pounding has nothing to do with our health, salvatio ...

• Kofi Seth 6 years ago

I agree? on this that our brother is completely missed and totally wrong in his calculations. If he does not care for fufu, it is not a big deal to go so far. Fufu and its pounding has nothing to do with our health, salvatio ...

• Milly 6 years ago

You can make it with a food processor. Go see on Sisi Yemmie's YouTube tutorial. It doesn't have to be a long process and much cleaner.