You are here: HomeNews2017 02 22Article 512456

Founder’s Day, Flagstaff House to be renamed – President reveals

Read Comments Comments (82)

• yaw agyeman 7 years ago

am just surprised why we have so many holidays. honestly founders is not necessary because independence,AU or Ecowas holiday could be used for such purpose

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

President, pls.cut down on the amount of useless holidays in gh. But Founders Day must be celebrated. It's very important, bit the country is losing lots.of money and remains unproductive bcos of the many unnecessary holidays ...

• OYOKOBA 7 years ago

The man Atta Mess was very vindictive Nkrumaist who missed History classes when he went to school. In his brainwashed head Ghana began with Nkrumah and ended with Nkrumah. He worshipped Kwame Nkrumah irrationally and he loath ...

• Sintim 7 years ago

DO OUR GHANA PRESIDENTS HAVE BETTER JOBS TO DO?

THE NAME OF GHANA'S ,NOT PARTY'S, SEAT OF GOVERNMENT HAS BECOME ONE OF THEIR MAIN JOBS, WASTING TAX PAYERS' MONEY IN THE PROCESS ON NEW SIGN BOARDS, STATIONERY, AND MANY OTHE ...

• HHHHHHHHHH 7 years ago

These cocaine barons don't learn. Would they rename it again to Centenary house when we are 100 years? This is nonsense. They changed SSS to SHS but the students are still writing WASSCE EXAMINATIONS not WASHSCE examinations ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

I understand Atta-Mills was a student at the Kwame Nkrumah Ideological Institute during Nkrumah's days.

• ver 7 years ago

You're so stupid what has Attah Mills got to do with this

• l AM 7 years ago

Dumso is back ooo Dumso is back

• GHANA FORAY 7 years ago

Enjoy it while it last. Hahaha

• Ego 7 years ago

WAITING TO BE INVITED FOR A JOB PUTS CONTROL OF YOUR LIFE IN OTHERS HANDS; L(EARN)ING TO EARN PUTS U IN CONTROL!!!

While you search for that job(not bad, keep trying) and time keeps going (we are almost in March already ...

• moyo 7 years ago

This kind of division is not helping the country. this is the time the Nkrumahist should come together and form a strong party for the next election. Rawlings is anti Nkrumahist.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 7 years ago

Do nkrumaist a favor by removing the Nkrumah mausoleum from Accra to Nkroful for our annual Remembrance Day Confab.

NKRUMAH NEVER DIES!

• Ada Boy 7 years ago

I concur, we can stay home every day of the year and claim to on a holiday,but it is a costly junket burdening on the economy. Our population size in comparison to our GDP shows we are unproductive bunch!I applaud Nana Addo's ...

• 21st century boy 7 years ago

GO AND BUILD YOUR DANQUAH'S STATUTE ALONGSIDE THAT OF NKRUMAH IN ADDISA BABA

• GYAMFI 7 years ago

THAT'S A GOOD IDEA. THE COUNTRY WAS FOUGHT BY EVERYBODY BUT THE LEADERS WERE SIX BUT NOT ONE. WE SHOULD NOT FORGET OUR HISTORY

• Adu 7 years ago

The leaders were not six clear off Nkrumah and Gbedemah p3

• DEAR 7 years ago

JB DANQUAH TOOK BRIBES FROM CIA OF USA TO CAUSE MAYHEM IN GHANA WITH A VIEW TO ABORTING OUR STRUGGLE FOR INDEPENDENCE.
    HE LATER WENT TO THE QUEEN IN LONDON AND ASKED FOR HER TO REVOKE OUR INDEPENDENCE. WHY DO WE RECOGNIZE SU ...

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

Wats with ghanaians and always changing things? The current seat.of.govt is named Flagstaff House bcos it is located in the same spot where our first President Dr. Nkrumah hosted heads of state..so why change other to silly j ...

• My Opinion 7 years ago

STUPID REASON NOT TO CHANGE THE NAME !!

• Lixo 7 years ago

Stupid nation. What effect will changing the name of the seat of government bring to the citizens. Black man, wake up and reason a little. For Christ sake, our thoughts and actions as humans is becoming an apology to the huma ...

• APONKYE 7 years ago

What do you expect from a man who is reputed for his divisiveness, hatred, vindictiveness, envy, unpatriotism, rancour, bitterness, and above all for being the worst liar ever?

• ONIPANUA 7 years ago

And the man J,B.Danquah was a CIA agent and he wants him to be honoured all because they are from the same tribe.Why should the Fagstaff House be renamed?He is just being pig headed.Just playing politics to suit his whims and ...

• omanba 7 years ago

Danquah was a CIA Agent working against the interest of the nation and this buffoon president wants him to be honoured.Ghana has gone to the haters of the country.They want to re-write history to honour the criminals who have ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

It appears you are vulture-headed Onipanua

• Odikro 7 years ago

Flagstaff House, Founders day. Those do not bring food to my dinner table. Ghana is in a comma. We do not need to debate what name to give to the medication before applying it. If you know the medication, apply it.

• Paa 7 years ago

There are higher causes than food!

• Available 7 years ago

In the first place why should Mills change the name.Jubilee house should be back period.

• Patriot 7 years ago

So you do not know that it was Flagstaff House before Kuffuor changed the name.Ghana is full of ignorant,uninformed and ill-informed people.You are one of them!!

• My Opinion 7 years ago

Patriot, you're the number one (1) ignorant, uninformed and ill-informed individual on this issue. Most of you idiots arguing about the name for our Presidential Palace don't even think of researching the definition of both ...

• Adu 7 years ago

Idiot even schools name their houses jubilee that name is so cheap.around the globe. If we want to change the.name flagstaff it should be a nationalistic name not a cheap english period of celebration. There is nothing emanci ...

• Paa Kwesi 7 years ago

You be lost the argument, stop the insult and face reality

• Jazz 7 years ago

Nana Addo,you can name it Akuffo Addo house who cares.

• 22-2-2017 7 years ago

All these our greedy corrupt politicians lives within a luxury lifestyle surrounded outside by filth & poor sanitation at the expense of the real needy masses.
    He can better name the Flagstaff House: LAVENDER HILL,
    it fits ...

• Kpogokpogo NADAA 7 years ago

Am surprised ppl complaining soo much abt gh holiday hmmm come America see every month they hv abt 2-4holidays

• True 7 years ago

They does not celebrate those holiday. Monday was a President day but I was at work and seems normal, didn't look a holiday. I know Easter is a huge thing in Ghana but not in US .

• . ..AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Akufo Addo is the devil himself. 666 at the presidency. SATANIC GOVERNMENT. Day is the day

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy ...

• . ..AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Akufo Addo is doing this because of his useless father Akufo Addo, and CIA agent, JB Danquah. Satanic demonic president.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 7 years ago

If indeed Akufo-Addo does what this story says he is thinking of doing I will give up on him completely and consider him a blinking Asshole and a twerp, unfit to be human.

• GH PEOPLE 7 years ago

hi, breaking news, hi my people , HOW ARE U. ,i am going to talk about NANA ADDO SPEECH AND THE YOUTH OF GHANA, , YES, NANAS SPEECH IS THE BEST speech ever given since independent, he will make sure that every Ghanaian is ...

• Joe Canada 7 years ago

Why not name it Black Star House?, that will be more acceptable by both political divide.

• 22-2-2017 7 years ago

Joe,
    I agree 100% with you,
    you're the only one who's come up with this unique comment among all others,
    but one simple primary school question is: How many of our corrupt greedy politicians in this bogus colonial parliame ...

• NENE 7 years ago

He can choose to name it after his father....who cares? on the issue of the founders day...he can choose to declare his birthday as such who cares......but in all he should know that power has an expiring date.

• Sentence1.Gh @mamtech campus .com 7 years ago

is high tym some behaviours need to be proscribed abt how some people respond to actions that concerns de nation wit respect to Leaders

• James 7 years ago

high time right?? stupid fool where were u when they were insulting Mahama

• 21st century boy 7 years ago

COMPARING NKRUMAH AND DANQUAH IS A USELESS VENTURE. NKRUMAH'S MEMORY IS BUILT AT ADDIS ABABA. WRITING DIFFERENT STORY WILL WILL BETRAY YOUR ANTI NKRUMA AND AFRICAN UNITY ENEMY ANCESTORS OF YOURS.

• PEACE Tadi 7 years ago

History has it that the DOMO party ie UP was against Independence in 1957 Dr.Busia went to Westminster to try to prevent Independence.Today we all support the NPP. But pls stop this change today change tomorrow.

• Akploka 7 years ago

Useless ventures!!

What has naming or re-naming got to do with economic changes??

Nonsence

• Rational Opoku Adjei Eric 7 years ago

9ice speech Nana tank u. Agricultural
    wil turn to business.

• kimathi 7 years ago

You are right my president...

• kofi ghana 7 years ago

name changing doesn't address the grievances of the people of Ghana...the name flagstaff house has to be maintained.. it is the original landmark

• Jesus 7 years ago

Jubilee house my foot. What are we jubilation of ???

Kotoka International Airport should also be revisited.Lets call spade a spade,What did Kotoka achieve for Ghana for such great honour? Didn't Rawlings kill Afirifa? Same should have been to Kotoka were he to have been alive. ...

• African patriot 7 years ago

Yes, before any name change, how about changing unsanitary filth in the streets of Accra. What kind of Christian folk with all that western religion but can't clean the streets they live on. Let's have a national debate on ch ...

• Osei kudfour 7 years ago

weak brains .. when our gutters are breeding mosquitos.. 37 hospital next to the president office don't have clean flowing water from its taps .. you are worried about naming buildings.. sad oh Ghana

• Photosy 7 years ago

Christ, don't waste the limited time God has given all of us over a name, just focus on your mandate and promises and stop looking over your shoulder into the past, we can only learn from the past but the future comes one day ...

• King of . 7 years ago

Powerful spritual man Your better days is not tomorrow us you expect but is just on your on hands Nana red powers spritual center makes it so easy and you will never regret in your life, I help people in the following (1) ins ...

• Baba Alhaji de Nima 7 years ago

Instead wasting time on names, the president tacle what he was votre for. Remember: the United Party ( the else sister of NPP) was largely against the idea of "Ghana" that united the Gold Coast into one country. They wanted t ...

• Paa Kwasi 7 years ago

Well thought, but which day will be suitable since the big six have different birth and death days. Already too many holidays!

• Naa 7 years ago

Please then include the Northerners and some Chiefs. Just stop this nonsense of changing names.

• Daakyehene Bimpong 7 years ago

If u secure a parcel of land n someone else come and build on it , then colleagues , who should be praise ? I hope single out one person and acknowledge is false .So Nana Addo has done well for renaming the duo .

• Alhassan Dawuda(karikaribako). 7 years ago

That is Good

• Timpara 7 years ago

The nonsense has begun

• Atoa 7 years ago

Vindictive man. Much ado about nothing. Do we eat founders day or we eat jubilee house? . This goes to show a confused mind who has nothing to offer.

• GOOD FATHER 7 years ago

Do not sing to Ghanians and fix the economy.We are tired of NPP liars.

• Yaw Manu 7 years ago

In the USA, the third Monday of February is celebrated as Presidents' Day. It commemorates the birthday of George Washington, their first President. The holiday used to be called George Washington Day, but a national consensu ...

• WhenIdiotsRule 7 years ago

Of all the things we have to do , renaming buildings and holidays should be the least of our priorities. How many of these visionless leaders are we going to see in our lifetime -- TOO MANY LEADERS FULL OF CRAP !!!

• ONE GHANA 7 years ago

If you are Praised as President alone for good or bad whiles in actual fact lots of people were involved in governance, then if Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is acknowledged for Founder's day then that should be in place and STOP the pop ...

• CAT 7 years ago

What a shame

• Kwesi 7 years ago

Be there sleeping n dreaming of changes names!!! Dumsor is back under ur watch!!!!
    If ur stupid followers don't know, at least i know Mahama solved Dumsor

• OBJ 7 years ago

Those saying this and that were against independent, what is the important of we Ghanaians gaining independent at that time? Independent my foot, are we not still depending on the whites? I think we should call the whites to ...

• BINGGO 7 years ago

PLSE HOW MUCH IS IT GOING TO COST..?

• JH. New York 7 years ago

Yes, "a political football " that's the singular reason, you don't have to go there,Mr President!. Is that one of the Campaign promises and,the priority aspirations of the people, or is it necessary! The fact is,UGCC collapse ...

• JH. New York 7 years ago

Correction: ...just as only the first person in a race is awarded the Gold..

• Fiko 7 years ago

The original name for that place is flagstaff house. Why change its identity

• Kwadwo A 7 years ago

I do not think the name should be changed. Why do we Africans do not want to credit the first government that created the names of places that we are all enjoying in the country right now? The name flagstaff house was in exis ...

• nana Amoako ,cape coast 7 years ago

Please Nana Addo, name flag star house ???? after Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah. Since you have recognized to even change the name on founders day. The place should be called" Osagyefo Memorial House"

• Jeff, UK 7 years ago

That should be on the back burner bcos it is not important. It will not put bread and butter on any table in any home

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

THE NEWLY ELECTED GOVERNMENT OF AKUFFO ADDO CAN CHANGE THE FLAGSTAFF HOUSE TO ANY NAME HE WANTS, DOMBO,BUSIA,BAFFOUR AKOTO,DANQUAH AND JUBILEE HOUSE, NEVER WILL THE CHANGE OF THE NAME MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE IN THE COUNTRY.

T ...

• gina 7 years ago

Changing the seat of government has nothing to do with the state situation give us a break he can even change the name of Ghana.

• GHANA FIRST 7 years ago

People are looking for jobs and he is busy with naming and renaming. Who would have voted for you if all these useless things you're doing were part of your campaign promises. 4yrs will soon be here.

• Kwami US 7 years ago

Branding, naming, and renaming of edifice and symbolic events and places have nothing to do with governance and economic and political advancement of a country