You are here: HomeNews2017 02 16Article 510652

Education Minister should be sacked - Teachers Union

Read Comments Comments (218)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

AUTHOR: AGYA KWABENA------- The British Foreign Secretary, Boris Johnson, who is currently in Ghana was cycling to work when he was the Mayor of London. He never used a car to work but he was a very effective mayor . In Ghan ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

a total misfit

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

member of the Kokofu team with inflated CV

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

They have the men to govern efficiently, remember?

• CORNEY 7 years ago

When I read that nonsense yesterday reportedly said by the new Education Minister I couldn't stop laughing that anybody in his right mind in this modern world will say such a thing let alone a minister,somebody the president ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

That is total nonsense. Does he know what some teachers go through to teach? When at some places teachers don't have chalk and students don't have books and there are no syllabus to use in teaching. Children now have phones a ...

• CITIZEN ONE 7 years ago

Problem solve! Teachers need to be proficient in English before they are allowed to even step in class room. Many of the kids speak and understand English language better than most of our Koforidua/Winneba trained teachers. A ...

• insight to the bone 7 years ago

Nkrumah to weaken and neutralize the corrective positive democratic forces of the Fanti speaking people made sure he divided the natural union into the Western and Central regions.His attempt to establish an autocratic dictat ...

• Atta - USA 7 years ago

Oyiwa, coming events cast their own shadows. Is he really a minister? Long degrees with limited brains to handle sensitive situations. Hammy! We live to see.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 7 years ago

The minister's face looks stupid and possibly is brainless.

• ...AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

It is the hypocrisy of teachers that has brought standard of education low. If you know you have problems why don't you make them known to the public and the public inturn will put pressure on the politicians. You teachers wi ...

• Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 7 years ago

Voting NPP is a good mistake. It will help Ghanaians to differentiate between truth and lies. Their trumpeted competence is being exposed gradually

• kobooh 7 years ago

The major problem in Ghana is the lack of discipline and accountability. Every institution (organization) has problems and that is the responsibility of its management to mitigate or find solutions. Nowhere is it an excuse ...

• ABA 7 years ago

WHY YOU WANT OUR KIDS TO BE FAILING. SOMEONE MUST BE ACCOUNTABLE. WHEN WE MAKE PEOPLE ACCOUNTABLE THEY GET THE WORK DONE. THE GOVERNMENT PAID FOR THEIR EDUCATION SO THEY HAVE TO PERFORM.

• Sigma, London 7 years ago

The minister is right. If the heads have problems causing 90% failure they should let the ministry know and solve. You mean you are happy with 90% failure while you continue to be paid and drop 90% of your pupils out of educa ...

• AYITEY CUBA (Ga Mantse Claimant) 7 years ago

TEACHERS ARE NOT BETTER THAN FOOTBALL COACHES & OTHER PROFESSIONALS WHO FACE THE SACK FOR NON- PERFORMANCE. IF JOHN MAHAMA WAS KICKED OUT FOR INCOMPETENCE, THEN THOSE LAZY TEACHERS HAVE NO EXCUSES.

• Paa Kwesi 7 years ago

The minister should reduce it 30% ffailure. How can you supervise a school with 90% failure

• D DAY 7 years ago

PRACTICE IN MOST PLACES IS MINIMUM 60 PERCENT PASSES, BELOW THAT TEACHERS ARE SACKED OR SCHOOL CLOSED DOWN. HOW CAN SCHOOL EXIST WITH ONLY 10 PERCENT PASSES?????? TEACHERS TO CHOP FREE????
    LAZY TEACHERS HAVE NO PLACE I ...

• D DAY 7 years ago

PRACTICE IN MOST PLACES IS MINIMUM 60 PERCENT PASSES, BELOW THAT HEAD TEACHERS ARE SACKED OR SCHOOL CLOSED DOWN. HOW CAN SCHOOL EXIST WITH ONLY 10 PERCENT PASSES?????? TEACHERS TO CHOP FREE????
    LAZY TEACHERS HAVE NO PLA ...

• D DAY 7 years ago

MINISTER SHOULD EVEN BE SETTING UP A HIGHER 60 PERCENT MINIMUM PASSES FOR HEAD TEACHERS OR SACK OR CLOSE DOWN SCHOOL

• INDEPENDENT CITIZEN 7 years ago

The minister should be interested in solving problems not threats.

• THE TRUTH WORKSHOP 7 years ago

THIS IS NOT A PROBLEM ALONG PARTY LINES. THIS IS A GHANAIAN PROBLEM. THEY ARE CONSTANTLY SHOOTING FROM THE HIP WITHOUT DUE AND LOGICAL REASONING. THEY JUST WANT TO GET THEIR 15 MINUTES OF FAME(ATTENTION)

• DEAR 7 years ago

THIS IS AN INEXPERIENCED AND STUPID MINISTER.

• THE VOICE 7 years ago

FIRED.THE SYSTEM IS ROTTEN.FIX IT FIRST AND GIVE GUIDE LINES FOR THE TEAC HERS TO FF.CUT DOWN INFLATION FOR TEACHERS TO MAKE LEAVING.SHUT DOWN THE WORTHLESS INDIAN MOVIES ON THE NATIONAL STUDIOS.COS ALL OF THE WORTHLESS SCHO ...

• simple asem 7 years ago

So all the other schools which have been passing, have they been from another planet? Isn't is the same system that they are passing from. A failure will fail even if in heaven private school. There's no justification to scor ...

• Adrah, UPSHS 7 years ago

Oh God, we need another job and stop this bullshit job. Because someone decides not to learn, I should be sacked. Asem oo.

• CNN NEWS. 7 years ago

FUNNY,THEN WHY THE ONE IS STILL IN THE SCHOOL?.GO TO VILLAGES AND TOWNS AND SEE HOW TEACHERS HAVE TURNED TO FARMERS.SOME TEACHERS ARE BLOCK-HEADED,THEY DON'T EVEN KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TEACHING.MY FORM ONE MISTRESS MENSTRUATES W ...

• INDEPENDENT CITIZEN 7 years ago

Don't forget there is selection and placement and some schools get weak students to begin with

• sulemana 7 years ago

Kwasia do u know Hw it hurt when u failed . Stop passing stupid comments .
    I rally behind the Minister , some masters are not serious

• pilolo 7 years ago

it has started. the incompetence of nana addo the old clueless dog

• Peace 7 years ago

No, the Education Minister should 'hasten slowly'.We know he means business but that is not the way to go.Why just starting with unnecessary and unfounded threats of dismissals? First, with the police and now to headmasters.N ...

• *********** 7 years ago

Some are achieving 90+% with the same problem ridden education system mate. You should rather come again!

• BUILD MORE PRISONS 7 years ago

SOME PEOPLE HAVE MET MINISTERS OF STATE ON THE TRAIN.
    I THINK GHANAIAN MINISTERS SHOULD CATCH TROTROS OR CAR POOL OR BUS POOL TO WORK.

• Lalata 7 years ago

Why don't you pick up the challenge instead of calling for his head.

• AYITEY CUBA (Ga Mantse Claimant) 7 years ago

IN GHANA, WE BEG A POLICEMAN TO FREE AN ARRESTED CRIMINAL. HOW CAN WE MOVE ON WITH THIS MENTALITY? IF MAHAMA WAS SACKED FOR INCOMPETENCE & COACHES LOSE THEIR JOBS FOR REPEATED FAILURES, THEN THE MINISTER'S SUGGESTION SHOULD B ...

• Jon 7 years ago

I agree with u.

• Axline 7 years ago

You spoke my mind.

when it is coming then it is doing. So soon and Napo is threatening teachers with the sack when no chalk in the classrooms of some schools? There are schools still under trees

• Justice 7 years ago

Find the reason for poor performance
    Provide resources.
    Come out of nowhere to threaten the teachers

• PEPENI 7 years ago

I believe the problem is not only the teachers because there is inadequate resourcing in some schools. But some teachers are also not doing their work especially in the rural areas. So first provide the resources and take act ...

• gjna@hotmail.com 7 years ago

I thought you ndc arshole said there were no more schools under trees. Mahama with infrastucture had solved it just like dumso?

• napo 7 years ago

stupid fool you are, kwasia gyimi gyimi

• Jimmy 7 years ago

Eiiii Ghana, Mr Minister pls resign at once Or dare not

• Jon 7 years ago

Why can't head teachers be sacked for non performance???

• Biyariga 7 years ago

What do you expect from clueless people who have come to power on the wings of chicanery and shenanigans? But you people deserve arrogant people like Mathew, if after years of education you still remain so gullible and vulner ...

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

The minister is right. Any school head who supervises a continuous pass rate of ten percent is not fit to continue to head any school. The head and the teachers should take a good look at their methodology, their logistics an ...

• Heyfront B 7 years ago

Don't threaten them
    Help them.
    It is not a boot camp.
    These Ghanaians have suffered a lot under
    Mahama.

• chris 7 years ago

"any school head who superintends over a failure of over 90% cannot be allowed to stay in office".Mr. Minister, sack us and be ready to pay huge judgement debts.Be humbly and think through the issues confronting education bef ...

• miky 7 years ago

all these people are called Honourable. stupid lawless minister. u gonna do only four years

• affil 7 years ago

This was fine opportunity for the teachers to prove that; they are not the very cause of most such failures. If they were "sensible" enough and really are on top of their profession, they should also demand of the minister al ...

• DB 7 years ago

Hmmm Affil you are bang on point. You couldn't have said it any better.

• Tilayoo 7 years ago

Good discussing but lopsided. The minister should have moved in the direction you are proposing by asking what is needed by the teachers for a100% pass rate. Then provide the resources as much as possible for the teachers inc ...

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 7 years ago

You're spot on, I mean Ghanaians in particular hate the word accountability otherwise what is the problem if the minister is calling for the teachers to be held equally responsible for a dismal students performance. The 90% ...

Thanks mate. You made my day!

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

This minister is bound to fail. Square peg in round hole. He knows nothing about education. He is yoyo arrogant minister.

• ...AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

IS THERE ANY CREDIBILITY LEFT IN THE NDC
    NDC HAS MILKED GHANA DRY: NDC guys are crooks. The other time Dr Apaak, a presidential staffer under Mahama, came out to claim that an amount of $5.9M was rather the cost of the new V ...

• Tilayoo 7 years ago

SHAME NO ONE IS DISCUSSING NDC HERE BUT AN NPP MINISTER. ADDRESS THE ISSUE AT STAKE FOR LEARNING TO TAKE PLACE FOR OWN BETTERMENT.

• Ama Nyarkoa 7 years ago

I agree with with u

• Tachie 7 years ago

Mr New Minister has no idea what the problem is. So the real teachers should come up with ideas. All hands on deck.
    Private schools are passing. Public Schools are failing why?

• kw 7 years ago

Let's face it,the minister may be right but he shd.ve considered certain factors before making such remark.He shd.prefix his remark with, 'all things being equal' heads who supervised pupils or students including teachers to ...

• Kanawu 7 years ago

rather than applauding the Minister for being bold to call a spade a spade and you are making stupid noise. Shut the fuck up and whip your members in line to deliver results. Nkwaseafuo nkoaaaaaaaa.

• good ghana citizen 7 years ago

team coaches are sacked if target is not met the same as students are repeated when failed ,so headmasters must be sacked when the students fail a lot,even parents too must be punished by money ,if their children are mischiev ...

• eddie 7 years ago

Fine.Then after sacking the poor performing headmaster, they should let Napo himself head the same school so that we see another year's results. Should he fail we should not sack him but cut the branch of a nearby nim tree. J ...

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

NAPO SHOULD STOP "CAMPAIGNING" AND SEE HIMSELF AS PART OF THE PROBLEM NOT JUST A CRITIC

• Apapa 7 years ago

There are no brainless children any where in the world, but there are many lazy teachers everywhere, especially Ghana. I schooled in Ghana and I'm working in USA and have children who started school in Ghana and transferred t ...

• NH4 7 years ago

well part of the blame should go to the students . these modern students are so active in social vices at the expense of their studies .no more discipline especially in the basic schools .if u want to discipline a student th ...

• Kareem Starboy 7 years ago

NAPO, wei de3 you were too fast. Aaba! Take time to identify the serious issues confronting the teachers and teaching in general and address them first before threatening teachers. Don't try to bamboozle your way through the ...

• Amidini 7 years ago

Napo don't speak like Hon minister or MP. I wonder if Hon Opoku will achieve his aim if he to use threat to run his ministry. This is Nana Addo autocrat rules

• adanko 7 years ago

Napo You could have done this without announcing it.. what a mistake.

• Koo Nimo 7 years ago

For every orgnisation, staff are evaluated at the end of the year to ascertain whether they contibuted to the groth of the organisation. There are many Teachers especially in the rural areas who do not put in their best. Most ...

• Tachie 7 years ago

How can you educate a child successful when you live in delapidated conditions in a rural area.

• King of powers 7 years ago

5A 5000 YEARS OLD SECRET JINNI FORMULA THAT UNLOCKS THE MYSTERIES OF WEALTH AND SUCCES “THE HIGH POWER JINNI MAGIC RING” A SECRET FORMULA unwritten until now, Remember the KINGS and their fabulous wealth? Even today the t ...

• Zuarungu Atindana 7 years ago

What happened to the school Supretendants that use go from school to School that we use to call them D.O's put them back to work.

• ugly akufo addo 7 years ago

lying for power this is what u will gt , the minister's are all useless

• riot 7 years ago

this is yet another useless man to head such a crucial post. if he want to achieve his aim ,he must make sure that all teachers are paid every single pesewa owned them or forget it. nonsense.

• wandi 7 years ago

u have also started speaking anyhow.time will tell

• princess adofo 7 years ago

koe ehie gbonyogbonyi munu

• John 7 years ago

Did you listen to the minister ,he said if you are given the tools or necessary things and is improvement.

• Kwaa 7 years ago

Instead taken it up as a challenge,and given their all,tohelp improve the education standard i the Country,the lazy teachers are calling for the Ministers release.
    The era where Teachers were just registering their presence ...

Powerful spritual man Your better days is not tomorrow us you expect but is just on your on hands Nana red powers spritual center makes it so easy and you will never regret in your life, I help people in the following (1) ins ...

• sir tek 7 years ago

is dis man se

• sir tek 7 years ago

Is this man serious?

• caliatus 7 years ago

10% pass and u r complaining.I weep for Ghana.

• ONE GHANA 7 years ago

We are watching the Dwarf, his idiot propaganda Vice and NPP apparatchiks who labelled JM and his NDC government as incompetence. Already there is fire on the mountain? Idiots!!!

• BROWN BOY 7 years ago

NOW B4 WE ARE GOING TO EXPERIENCE AND SEE THE REAL INCOMPETENT PPL TO GOVERN US. MORE ARE YET TO COME. JUST WATCHOUT!!!!!

• riot 7 years ago

Mr minister, we want you to pay us our money, and stop this useless threat. you are afraid kuraaa we voted for you guz to come and paid our money to us if you can't pay, start preparing your handing over notes. nonsense.

• Fofo Kosi 7 years ago

I wonder if Napo is a rational being.
    Why won't he equally take up headship of one of the schools in a remote area as some are doing now and change the results? He spoke from his big nose I suppose. Does he know how people a ...

• Dan 7 years ago

The minister shd visit a school in Accra where pupils sit 8 in a class with 2 graduate teachers caring for them and then visit some village somewhere where pupils walk for four miles to the school,arrive at school around 11:0 ...

• Efo Odenkey 7 years ago

Sigma, u can't say the minister is right without finding out the root-cause of the mass failure in those schools. I don't think it is the desire of any head that his students should fail massively.

• Norgbedzie, Ketu 7 years ago

Away with the village arguments. Heads of schools, like managers should be accountable for the performance of their schools. In developed countries like UK,Holland, US, etc. school heads are not left to do what they like. The ...

• nii nuertey abladey 7 years ago

poor talk.is all his mates dr,s ? politicians will never learn.

• Odikro Mununkum 7 years ago

The minister mean to say, head of schools will get 10 percent salary raise /increase if 90 percent of students pass final exam.

• Kofi K 7 years ago

The Minister flip-flopped. But does that warrant a dismissal? Those behind the sacking mantra sounds like NDC teachers whose prime aim is to embarrass the President.

• Kofi, UK 7 years ago

This minister of education has to be careful with Ghanaians, arrogance is what led to the defeat of NDC. He has already started causing defeat to NPP in subsequent elections

• Tony 7 years ago

It is not right as you say. However, he has the right to demand performance. It is better this way than to sit and watch private institutions take over the system. So you shut up and work.

• Danpayipo 7 years ago

what did u guys wanted him to say? That u should be pampered when they failed? U guys r not serious. u betr fasten ur belt else.. .

• Efo Odenkey 7 years ago

Apapa, i don't think u really know what u are talking about. If u had schooled at a typical village in Ghana, u could have seen a clearer picture of the situation.

• KWASI DARLINGTON 7 years ago

The Education Minister should be sacked , I support u 100%

• Concerned citizen 7 years ago

Napo, bring it down to 60%. The head and all the teachers of a school that records 60% failure should be sacked and made to refund a year's salary back into government chest. Such a school definitely would have caused a finan ...

• Agyaaku USA. 7 years ago

No school in any country have everything they need. It is progressive, you use what you have to achieve success. If not you are not performing when others are, it means something is wrong. Supervisors are always accountable. ...

• SAROUK MISSILES/NIMA 7 years ago

HE IS USING AMERICANS SYSTEM . GOOD MOVE

• Kofi Adjei 7 years ago

Yes, i totally agree. he does not seem to appreciate what goes into student success.

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

The education minister was right.Some teachers abandon class to attend to their own business and come back to take salary.Some teachers absent themselves for many days in a month and also receive full salary and guess who suf ...

• tan90sin90cos90. 7 years ago

South Africa is practising this poor strategy. The only result in SA is that principals who do not want to be removed from office, make sure that matric students are helped thro out the examination periods. For, 2015 more tha ...

• CHORKOR SCHOOLBOY 7 years ago

CAN NPP SEE TO ENFORCE INSURANCE COMPANIES TO REDUCE FEES CHARGED BY INSURANCE COMPANIES? THE PREMIUM CHARGED BY INSURANCE COMPANIES IN THE COUNTRY IS TOO MUCH HIGH. LOOK AT THE NUMBER OF CARS RUNNING ON OUR ROADS.

• Nana Ama 7 years ago

U people shd stop talking nonsense, hv u ask urslf dat why de private schools ar passing, n government schools are failing? The de minister will do something abt de problems facing teachers dats why he said that. Bcoz som of ...

• Bill 7 years ago

What are we talking about ?? 90% failure target and you still want to head a school??? These teachers must be ashamed of themselves, we can not continue to allow lazy teachers to have their own way. Smart teachers can manage ...

• godwin 7 years ago

Don't mine this NDC guys here,the r all failures they think we r here to fail like them

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

So why did teachers not complain that schools don't have textbooks and teaching materials during thief John Dramani Mahama presidency?We remember Ayariga was given $44 million to buy textbooks and then teachers did not held p ...

• Alfred, Abelemkpe , Accra. 7 years ago

Is it not a serious issue that children pass through an educational institution and 90 percent of them failing? And who is calling for the minister to be sacked ?

• Opana 7 years ago

Learn to be effective and productive and stop complaining. Why is it that the private school are doing better. Lazy government teacher's

• Big joe 7 years ago

premature minister but what baffled me is when ghanaians are suffering supporters of that party still defense, do we reason like a full human being. Students failing is it primarily from head teachers? stupidity do we see wha ...

• Sigma, London 7 years ago

I am told in some villages teachers don't go to school but attend to their farming work and when they come to school too they drink palm wine in the presence of the pupils so how can a school like this not have more than 90% ...

• Francis 7 years ago

how can you continue to be a head of school, when most of the candiates failed year in and year out. And you still call you self a teacher?, The minister should even reduce the percentage much further and this should be exten ...

• Mamuna Nkwantabisa 7 years ago

Is Opoku prempeh an Ashanti? If he's then I'm not surprised d cuz some Ashantis talk out of pride and self exhortation. That's a porous statement by a new Minister of Ed. What a wrong start for him. Nana, you need to make him ...

• G. K. Berko 7 years ago

Why didn't you apply for the job, if you qualify better? Remember, our stupid Constitution requires the Ministers to be drawn from the Parliament. What sheer crass idiotic requirement! Maybe we should amend the Constitution t ...

• Kind 7 years ago

If Nana Addo promise to provide for Teachers, Why not? Things must change, If Teachers don't teach well they must Sack

• kwaku darko 7 years ago

Njwaseafo) go to e classroom to each e kids how to pass their exams and stop that nonsense

• hehey 7 years ago

kwaku darko you are rather stupid fool. kwasea nye woa

• Sam, Bern 7 years ago

Stop complaining. it is what you voted for. Just enjoy it. The Lord is your strength.

• Akwsoes 7 years ago

Akuffo Adddo if you are not careful Napo will destroy your government for youooooo ayooooo.

FISH ROT FROM THE HEAD. THE HEADMASTERS MUST NOW PRESENT THEIR PROBLEMS TO HIM FOR SOLUTIONS. THEN YOU MOVE ON...BEHAVE LIKE EDUCATORS...BE RESPONSIBLE. WHY SACK THE MAN IF HE WANTS ALL OF YOU TO BE RESPONSIBLE INCLUDING HIMS ...

• Maurice babyface 7 years ago

The minister got it all wrong. I pity this clueless minister. Running a ministry like the education ministry is comes with a sense professionalism and foresight. The minister needs serious technical advice.Is the teacher the ...

• kankane 7 years ago

Napo is 100% right coz if u've being confronted with challenges, report to ur authorities and don't use it as an excuse for their failures.

• Abongo 7 years ago

The Dwarf president is a patapa man so what do you expect?

• BRIGHTi BOADU 7 years ago

THIS EDUCATION MINISTER MUST BE GIVEN A SACK OUTRIGHT FOR GIVEN SUCH A HAUTY KIND OF TALK TO THREAT HEADS OF BASIC AND SECOND CYCLE SCHOOLS. THE PRIDE , BEGINS RIGHT FROM HIS FIRST MONTH AS A MINISTER. DID HE (THE MINISTER) E ...

• prophet of truth 7 years ago

Competence , competence and competence. Where is Bawumia and Nana. The best cabinet in the history of Ghana for you. Threats and Takashi government

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 7 years ago

Who do this Teachers Union people think they're to be calling for this barely one month old MP's head because he disagrees with them with regard to their falling standards? Wake up Guys crying wolf is not the way to go but t ...

• Odikro Mununkum 7 years ago

The question is which one of you would like his /her child attend to a school that 90 percent of students failed final exam. Let's be realistic and truthful such school is a waste and must be closed down.

• G. K. Berko 7 years ago

The Education Minister is absolutely right! The Teachers' Union is only partially right. The only part the Union is right about is the lack of resources for all the Schools which the Government must be fully blamed for and mu ...

• SHALLBE 7 years ago

I don't blame this NAPO,...why should a medical doctor be an education minister?? Don't we have experienced teachers in NPP government? At least, those who prepare the food must taste it first.

• SAM......China 7 years ago

foolish minister, you know nothing about education as l can see by that foolish statement you made.You better retract or ur govt will suffer in 2020.Go to the villiages in eastern region and stop fooling . GYIMII.

• Seaman Toronto Canada. 7 years ago

Children are attending school under trees and you expect to get 100% results. You are just a few days in office, have you address the problems facing the schools? Mr wise minister think twice. Use your big head.

• NAC Oyarifa 7 years ago

Eiiish can't stop laughing kraaaa, as a teacher the inadequacy in the systems are so humongous that if we don't have a plan as a nation we would continue going round about and never find any solutions to problems in the edu ...

• Afrika Bravo 7 years ago

Am

• Afrika Bravo 7 years ago

Am very proud to heard this from Ghana Education Minister , in fact he is Really serious about Ghana Education.we Need a Butter leaders.this Lazy Head masters do not helping our school.90 percent of Ghanaians can not Read no ...

• Twumasi Benjamin 7 years ago

The day is still young dr.napo
    there are various problems faced by ges kindly resolve them but donot use the threat syndrom

• kby 7 years ago

Seriously I don't no why the teachers are complaining. If their are no logistics for them to held students pass their exams, this is an opportunity for them to get a t the back of the minister ...

• Observer 7 years ago

Minister should discuss with heads & unions the problems faced by failing schools first. Performance should improve as the problems get solved.
    Whatever explanations given for any failures could then be looked into

• MPN. Temale 7 years ago

jhuygtfredc

• Gray 7 years ago

Keep quite there. Lazy teachers! U won't teach but seat under trees discussing football.

• inercycl 7 years ago

Instead of seeing what the minister said as a challenge to work harder, they are calling for his head.The minister should stand his ground! Head of institutions should be on contract, renewable every 2 years.Once their perfor ...

• A TEACHER IS ALWAYS A TEACHER 7 years ago

YOU TEACH 10 PUPILS FOR AN EXAM AND ONLY ONE PASSES AND YOU THINK YOU SHOULD BE ALLOWED TO CONTINUE TO WASTE OUR HUMAN RESOURCES? DEDICATED TEACHERS WILL ALWAYS SCORE MORE THAN 10%.THANK YOU TEACHER ANTWI AND MASTER DARKO FOR ...

• Dan @ Somanya 7 years ago

Look at this man;big body small brain. The teacher needs sound mind and sound body to work. The teacher teaches these people and by privilage they they get big positions and claim they know better than the teacher.

• PATAPAA TRUMP 7 years ago

These are the kind of ministers to bring NANA ADO government down,an education minister talking in such s manner?Anyway this is what ghanaians voted for we are watching very well with eagle eyes,when NPP was in opposition,th ...

• Jeff 7 years ago

but why should you be allowed to head a school if 90% are failing??? Either your risk management is very poor. There are early signs to help you avoid or mitigate. That is why you are the head of the school. You must continu ...

• NH4 7 years ago

you are right ! how can teachers teach well where there are no chalkboard under trees . in my school pupils use blocks as desks .teachers sit on motor bikes to mark exercises .Mr minister tackle these problems and the student ...

• Kwabena 7 years ago

Would Medical Doctors be responsible to deaths in their hospitals...... Napo must come again cos there are major stake holders responsible for academic performance. What experience has he in education that he was given that o ...

• SARFO 7 years ago

Why are those teachers union afraid? Have they asked their the reason why Private schools excel in BECE? It is because the teachers's performance are being measured and evaluated even though most of the teachers there are not ...

• U Roy 7 years ago

Foolish minister foolish talk

• Rosemary 7 years ago

He should know how to talk to the teachers. It is not easily to teach.

• Agnes 7 years ago

Sorry you have to accommodate him for the next four years

• BUILD MORE PRISONS 7 years ago

DID YOU DO ANY RESEARCH.
    Most teachers have 3 Jobs.
    No computers.
    Overworked
    Overwhelmed
    Underpaid
    Wrong Statement. Another Trump.

• ishaku ali 7 years ago

this is usual adage in my. distrrict.only to tell u to sit up for the task ahead.

• Kwame London 7 years ago

When great minds are talking, smaller ones must SHUT UP and listen.
    Even your trotro mates and drivers can't haven't gotten the right education to be on road, read signs and how to even use their horns etc. Lazy teachers mus ...

• Papa 7 years ago

TWEAAAAAAAA

• Nana Addo Plagia 7 years ago

then I think school heads must follow our leader"Nana addo plagia. in his plagiarism act so that we the students can pass well.

• P. Osei 7 years ago

I'm so disappointed for asking minister to be sacked for his comment. Are you happy to seeing 90% of pupils failing in the exam?The GNAT should be blamed not the minister who made the comment. Members of GNAT are politically ...

• Abugre 7 years ago

Any idiot that comes to Education ministry steps his or her foot on teachers. I have to stop this work.I thought Napo is sensible person not knowing he is a fruitcake.

• Kwame Obed 7 years ago

He is a big fool.He must not hold the position as a minister

• Aduanaba Yaw,Bronx 7 years ago

I am a NPP staunch member but this comment from my own man.the minister is very unfortunate.Have thought of how some teachers struggle before they get to school,living conditions,logistics to work,accommodation and what have ...

• Me 7 years ago

think is campagn against Jm. continue till you meet your match

• Nana Adu Parko 7 years ago

Honorable minister, please sack the general secretary of Ghana national association of teachers (GNAT). Let him know that it wasn't your time when the said incidence happened. And moreover if he has sense, he should have writ ...

• Nana Asumadu sakyi 7 years ago

Heads roll in NYC and that is not 90percent failure.why did the minister choose this figure and not any figure above fifty . The threshold is too low as far as I am concerned. Pls put out the statistics for everyone to c whic ...

• Komla 7 years ago

The man didnt even say what is being peddle around, he said heads should be held responsible for students performance, why are teacher bodies being "the old lady who shake, when dry bones are mentioned"?

5A 5000 YEARS OLD SECRET JINNI FORMULA THAT UNLOCKS THE MYSTERIES OF WEALTH AND SUCCES “THE HIGH POWER JINNI MAGIC RING” A SECRET FORMULA unwritten until now, Remember the KINGS and their fabulous wealth? Even today the t ...

• Musah 7 years ago

I think the minister made an unfortunate statement and need to retract it immediately. Because as a CEO, u need to understand the issues pertaining to the poor performance of educational institutions before making such a reck ...

• Solomon. 7 years ago

Stupid people who should be sack when you are not doing a good job for your students

• Solomon. 7 years ago

The teachers are fooling too much feeling big is all what they no

• kuuso 7 years ago

Dont mind him.he do not know his left and right.we are waiting for 2020:only talking.minister you over eat last night.

• abdulai jabir 7 years ago

the education minister must always think before such comments are made he is not a minister material

• CHARLIE PEE 7 years ago

We are just in the first five minutes of the first half. Mapo should stop panting.

• BISMARCK ASARE, USA 7 years ago

My Brother,Napo, please slow down and take your time to understand the system. The sector you are heading now is very big and critical because of the Government's Free SHS Policy initiative and other vital policies to be impl ...

• Osman 7 years ago

Exhibition of arrogance at it height, but am not surprise this man utterances has always been pure arrogance.

• Aziz 7 years ago

Sack indeed, then he should be thinking of sacking doctors and nurses because people die in the hospital as well as sacking police officers because there is still crime in Ghana.

• coffie 7 years ago

We hire Coaches to trained our football team to win trophies, when they fail we sack them I believe if head of school known they will lose they job, we will not have private school around, do you known the number of priva ...

• God dey... 7 years ago

Some Ghanaian teachers are lazy n don't make time for students, if 90%of your students fail it means the teacher did not do his or her work well. These same teachers when they go to private schs teach students very well n the ...

• kwaku 7 years ago

lack of supervision at the government schools no body job is on the line.

• ABA 7 years ago

YES THEY HAVE TO BE SACK. THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS IN GHANA HAS ALL THE TRAINED TEACHERS BUT THE KIDS ARE FAILING. WE DON'T WANT TO BE HELD RESPONSIBLE IN GHANA THAT IS WHY THE COUNTRY IS THE WAY IT IS. 90 PERCENT FAILURE MEANS THE ...

• By his Grace 7 years ago

The minister should be very careful about the way he wants to deal with teachers.the previous government disrespect teachers.the government also is walking in the same lane.the minister knew very well that most of the teacher ...

• paul 7 years ago

It doesn't make sense to threaten

• NPPigs 7 years ago

Onapo Napo's nose is bigger than his brain.

• ss villa 7 years ago

Hahaha, NPP government and its loud mouthed characters does not know playing a leadership role is different from the role of campaign propagandist.

• Agbolosu kwaapeebah 7 years ago

well done Mathew Opoku Prempeh u have really said it right.We have some heads who are just lazy and can't supervise their teachers not even procuring syllabus. Let them sign performance concrete.
    Very soon Minister should le ...

• POI 7 years ago

HE WILL BE PART OF THE EARLY CASUALTIES

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

See his face. He looks like a moron.

• Togbe 7 years ago

If as a headmaster, you preside over more than 10% failure rate, you have no business heading the school. You got to make sure you have the relevant logistics to enable you to direct your kids to succeed. Don't continue to f ...

• Nana Asumadu sakyi 7 years ago

Mr togbe u sre asking too much .even here in USA with all d money they don't get 90 pass rate. Some schools do, but most don't

• SAINT 7 years ago

The blame should not be put on teachers only but the government, the students, parents and the teachers

• elements 7 years ago

Patience is the father of everything...

• Agya Yaw 7 years ago

Please Mr Education Minister you have missed the first target. Failure is not the soul responsibility of Headteachers. All stakeholders must be blamed even you

• Akwasi oppong 7 years ago

The education minister must be joking.he must be fired

• Akwasi oppong 7 years ago

u need 70%, 80% or 90-100% whils there is no chalk to teach

• Kobina Mensah, Madina 7 years ago

Why don't you accept this as a wake up call to make sure student pass the exams rather than calling for his head. So how will you the teacher with high failing rate take your salary. Conscience should be your guard and not th ...

• Akoo- London 7 years ago

I feel that Teaching Unions are missing the point. I would like them to look back ans see the waste in their administration before condemning this policy directives. To start with all headmaster and teacher must be subjected ...

• Mohammed Tahiru Dokurugu 7 years ago

The best way to solve the problem is to pay us well, give us good incentives and motivate us as they have been doing for themselves. They take salaries ,car loans, accommodation loans, ex grayisher,3years arrears, committee a ...

• OBREMPON USA 7 years ago

GHANA'S FREEDOM OF SPEECH IS ABUSED. IT IS
    BEING APPLIED UNNECESSARY. THE MINISTER
    HAS MADE THAT DECLARATION VERBALLY.IT HAS
    NOT BECOME A LAW. ANYTHING THAT IS NOT
    WRITTEN DOWN NEVER OCURED. TEACHERS, DO ...

• Nye Bro. 7 years ago

I have some family members in teaching field who are so dumb. I wonder how they got admission to Teacher Training College in the first place. They are so dumb, they can hardly conjugate a sentence. I can say on authority tha ...

• k.k 7 years ago

This minister wants nothing but fame for two weeks... How can u come out without any findings what so ever and just draw baseless conclusion... Are tutor magicians?...
    You. need to make sure logistics and materials for effec ...

• KAY 7 years ago

This is what happens when square pegs are put in round holes. The guys knows next to nothing about education. He does not know about the contributions the various stakeholders have to make before the child succeeds in educat ...

• The Teacher 7 years ago

If you think teachers are people u can threaten and ho Scot free then I've met ur match. The childish arguments u make in parliament and on radio cannot be done against teachers who are intellectuals. Try and see. Wahyiaa Wo ...

• Ama Nyarkoa 7 years ago

I agree with u

• Ado 7 years ago

This is shame to the people calling for the education minister to be sacked, why is it that trained teachers students fail their exams, and those in private schools pass their exams, is it wrong to encourage the heads of gove ...

• Tj Bawku 7 years ago

education minister is an idiot

• Tj Bawku 7 years ago

kanawu your mother is right

• James anwonzo 7 years ago

This minister is not serous

• Appuuuuuu Nonsense 7 years ago

That is his stupidity and nonsensical aspect of his wisdom. Stupid guy, Napo

• Simon Best K. 7 years ago

You must be ready to face what you have opted for

• npp devils 7 years ago

That idiot dwarf brought in this idiot fool to head Education ministry, with his uncultured comments? They would never see the sunrise. Kwashiaa paaa. Your mother. Bigger fool

• azzorsksh 7 years ago

is he educationist ? wat does he know about education. he should go n sack Nyantakyi. gh football is dieing.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 7 years ago

It appear we have a square peg in a round hole for a minister of education.
    Blame Nana Akufo-Addo.

• Emmanuel 7 years ago

is merciful to hear this from Mr minister when a whole shs with more than 2000 Students have only one graph board, lack classroom blocks ,even chalk at times we have to buy it yourself for teaching, not to talk about others ...

• Rich Acts 7 years ago

So the teacher Unions say we should not raise the bar as far as their performance is concerned.

• Kwabena Osei USA 7 years ago

Why teachers are having issues with the minister do your part and government does his part the end result will be okay

• ferg 7 years ago

Kobina Mensah be mindful that when u are given responsibility power, authority,logistics, incentives, etc must be added. the teacher is denied all this and u talking about conscience!!! pls attribute that to your own self

• Afia, Maryland 7 years ago

This issue got nothing to do with the president of the land ,stop saying he is stupid? I don't know what is wrong with people. Is Minister of education who brought the issue not the president. Don't hate the our dear Prez. H ...

Ibwould sack even if 50% of the students fail! Why should maintain your position when no results is being achieved? Accept the challenge and work together. If there are any hindrances to achieving results, communicate and get ...

• Agboh yawo 7 years ago

most of school head masters are not serious toward the students .if the students pass or not the don't curd about it for them the will take their salary at end of the month . the minister of education must seriously solve tha ...