Breaking news: Avram Grant resigns after disappointing AFCON performance

Read Comments Comments (61)

• JAY 7 years ago

Good news and Good riddance if true

• PASTOR ,,OGOGLO QUARTER @ GUNIGUGU 7 years ago

SHAME ON GFA..

• Athlete 7 years ago

I hope Nyantakyi will see reason to also step down rather than face the wrath of sport-loving Ghanaians. FIFA monopoly or not, greedy Nyantakyi must be forced out of the GFA.

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

As long as this payola nyantakyi is gfa president u can bring ancelotti nothing will change

• CORNEY 7 years ago

If we have to continue to blame the coach on everything and think a good coach is only when we win then may be every two years or every year we will need a new coach, because there is no way,no coach will be able to make us ...

• Sam 7 years ago

GHANA TEAM PLAYED LIKE IMMATURE SMALL GIRL THAT IS WHY THEY LOST

• Sinclear 7 years ago

THAT IS WHY WE LOST NOT BECAUSE GRANT FOLKS OUT TEAM HAD NO FIRE IN THEIR BELLY AND REFUES TO WIN ARE YOU GETTING IT?

• PAULO 7 years ago

Good riddance to bad rubbish indeed!! He was indeed a bad choice for our national team. Bye-bye oo, Onaapo Avram! We shall not miss u one bit.

• JAY 7 years ago

Avram Grant is the SCAPEGOAT, why not Nyantechi,the technical director Oti Akenten etc

• JAY 7 years ago

KONADU MUST ALSO RESIGN

• oooooooo 7 years ago

the gfa should not accept the resignation. they should appoint him for life. did they even consider our pleas to remove him? stay on and attend the afcon so that he will collect twice what the players collect at every stage. ...

• DIAMOND 7 years ago

Nobody likes to be disgraced.
    I guess you fired the fools first, huh?

The arses should go do themselves.
    Thieves!

A few days from now, some Ghanaians will start saying you quit on us, just as they accused Milo.

Whe ...

• GIDIGBA 7 years ago

Not enough! Nyantakyi and everyone at the GFA must follow-suit or be sacked, but that will never happen because of obvious reasons.

• Edem Kojo 7 years ago

Never again such a moron

• Aponkye B33 7 years ago

Nana addo is a bad luck president hence Ghana's failure to win the cup. Please leave Grant alone and condemn nana addo.

• K Man 7 years ago

Ndc supporters like you need to stop with the politics. Manama lost and you're still bitter. Try putting Ghana first and leaving this nonsense out of the SPORTS section

• Kwaku 7 years ago

Football and politics is what is not helping the team

• Kwaku 7 years ago

Football and politics is killing the team

• Amik 7 years ago

Very stupid person like u, what Hass nana has to do with football. Stupid idiot fool like u.

• porpis 7 years ago

u ,u not talks good thing before. ur father is a bad luck

• Armyson 7 years ago

Kwasia ba wo maaame tw3 s3 ndc headquarters.

• joko 7 years ago

Nonsense... did d blackstars win d cup under Mahama..

• Ray 7 years ago

Useless comments.The way you are behaving, you may be an NDC supporter. Think positive, you swine and leave Nana alone.

• Edwin Aldrin 7 years ago

It looks like you are really living up to your name Aponkye.
    No matter what you do NDC is not in power.
    Time to get your "horns" together for something meaningful. What has luck got to do with football.

Have u ever ...

• Dx 7 years ago

Thank you, Mr. Grant for your service. You tried your best. Good luck with everything!

• Conrad Bolgatanga 7 years ago

Thankyou Mr.Arvan Grant for stepping down as head coach of the senior national team. You are a true sportsman/professional. Mr Nyantakyi and his colleagues should take a clue in this and also step down with immediate effect.

• Dr Henry Clark 7 years ago

Is this breaking news? His resignation is long over dued tweakai

• Menfele 7 years ago

Bye bye bye with shame. You have not achieved your contract terms.

• SeThooO 7 years ago

Politics in football is killing Ghana

• K K 7 years ago

2015 squad was there before he took over the team, and now let's compare that to the 2017 squad he presented and the outcome

• babs 7 years ago

Did kwesi appiah qualified us to final?
    Learn to appreciate people.even those nations tipped to win afcon performed worse than us.

• truth 7 years ago

Nyatakyi leave we dont need u anymore u are a disappointment to Ghana Football

• Yebopower 7 years ago

Dissolve GFA too.Fire everyone.Conduct an investigation.Suspend all the players.Start from afresh.That is the only way to begin afresh. Hire competent and independent managers to handle the affairs of the Stars.Hire problem s ...

• Kweku 7 years ago

Thank God, good news, Black stars job is not for retirees, go and enjoy your retirement bye bye

• Abdul 7 years ago

Go away from Ghana

• Paa Kwasi 7 years ago

Thanks for your service. You did your best in the face of 'politics' surrounding the handling of the Black Stars.

• FOYOOSIS 7 years ago

This is good gesture. Avram Grant should move on as a professional trainer and seek another job with a different club/country, unlike useless Nyantakyi and his cohrts who thinks the FA is their bonafide property.

Nyantakyi ...

• KOOFORI 7 years ago

NY LOVE FOR GHANA ALONE, I WONT TAKE ANY PAYMENT.

• Tuga 7 years ago

We thank God that he has resign,if not, we should have nock him out. Fire burn the Nyantekyi and his people. Aponkye b33 you see your face like aponkye noooo.

• Akua 7 years ago

He should have been the first to resign with his foolish team and he is rather accepting resignation letter. Nana should ensure this Nyantakyi and his fools are removed from office as soon as possible.

• Nyaga 7 years ago

The team was already built when he came.His "Credit" is this current 4th Place and our none qualification for world cup

• Kobby@ usa 7 years ago

Ghanaians are always fools been taken for ride, a whiteman idea of resigning in good fate to prevent further destruction of his CV. He knew he will be fired and could get impact on his CV and job search he has come out on hi ...

• KOFI TIBAA 7 years ago

Ghanaians we should be grateful sometimes. We always have problems with coaches, players, administrators,
    even an ant that is passing by. It's not easy putting yourself out there to serve. Those who always make noise are tho ...

• Kwame, USA 7 years ago

That's what the people of Ghana want. The whole management and technical team should be overhauled

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

Coach Herve Renard is the best for the Black Stars now because he can introduce attacking game.
    If you look at the way the Stars play these days,it looks too defensive.
    Attacking football is where every player is capable to ...

• Jackson 7 years ago

THAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN BLACKS AND WHITES.THE WHITES KNOW WHEN TO QUIT IN TIMES OF SHAME BUT MY FELLOW BLACKS DON'T KNOW WHEN TO QUIT;THEY WOULD RATHER PERISH IN SHAME WITH THEIR SELFISH AND GREEDINESS CHARACTER.Kwasi ...

• SAM......China 7 years ago

Foolish talk ,foolish talk how can this be a breaking news.bring proper breaking news.

• kini forjo 7 years ago

Good news but Nyatakyi ,sani Dara,George Afriyie,should hime,

• Alhaji USA 7 years ago

So what is Maxwell Konadu waiting for? This GFA paaaaaaa

• Luze 7 years ago

Please say Avram Grant resign without wining even a cement paper. Nyantakyi and his corrupt GFA new very well that this idiot wouldn't win a toilet paper, yet they wasted Ghana's tax payers money on him for two good years eee ...

• Donwaazum 7 years ago

Some time i don't just can't understand these media. What is surprising about this avram quitting to coaching till the end of february. He's a disgrace. He can't even get bauxite not to talk of bronze. Is good he leaves for t ...

• HANATU 7 years ago

THE MAN WAS ALWAYS BEEN IN EUROPE LOOKING FOR JOB.HE WAS NEVER IN THE COUNTRY TO WATCH OUR LOCAL TEAMS WHERE HE COULD MAKE GOOD SELECTIONS.HE TOOK THE GHANA JOB BECAUSE HE COULD NOT FIND ONE IN EUROPE.GOOD LUCK TO HIM

• Big Brain 7 years ago

Now is nyantakyi's turn to resign. The voice of the people is the voice of God. We are tired of corrupt gfa.

• PLE 7 years ago

Gh ppl detest BLACK COACH BUT GFA PREZIS BLACK PLS THIS TIME AROUND WE NEED WHITE MAN AS GFA BOSS.. since you don't believe in your fellow brother then we don't trust you either.... Sika die basabasa

• OM 7 years ago

#StepDownNyantekyie #ChangeMustComeAtGFA
    #StepDownNyante ...

• Santaclausian, Croydon 7 years ago

Thanks very much Mr Grant but you had no choice but to call it quits. You've probably done your best. It it does not seem as if it is good enough. The hunt must go on for a tactically astute coach with the hunger to win. Let' ...

• Faster Faster 7 years ago

Avram Grant is gone; another obstacles to cross.

• mayor 7 years ago

sack his deputy maxwell konadu too he has no leadership quality skills

• MARY MARY!! 7 years ago

KONADU MUST DO THE JOB NOW. ENOUGH OF ALWAYS LOOKING OUTSIDE THE BOX WHEN IT COMES TO COACHES FOR BLACK STARS. GHANA WON THE CUP WITH GHANAIAN COACHES IN THE PAST. OH MY PEOPLE LETS APPRECIATE WHAT WE HAVE

• Abdul-jaleel 7 years ago

Avram Grant , thanks, u have shown us how selfless u are, u came with a mission of giving Ghana a trophe.But God said it is not yet our time. Ur resignation shows that u didn't come to Ghana for money but to build the game f ...

The news says he is paying heavily for the defeat in Gabon. There is nothing to indicate the Black Stars' job was his dream job. Could have been just another means to an end.