You are here: HomeNews2017 02 01Article 505860

$13.9m saga: 'Alarmed' Amissah-Arthur stopped payment – Apaak

Read Comments Comments (132)

• ATSU, HO 7 years ago

if 5,9 was allocated it does not mean that 13,9 cannot be sent dubiuosly

• Nyameke 7 years ago

Sickening. Even $5.9m is way too much. Apaak must be ashamed of himself. In the UK where average monthly wages is over £1,200 Proper mansions are built for less than £1m. Fools. Rise up, rise up fellow Ghanaians!

• Kwami 7 years ago

he knew or should of known

HE'S TOO CORRUPT

• AGBESI. KWESI 7 years ago

Assuming what the NDC is saying is true $5M is equivalent to GHS20M. How can this be when a whole 2000 capacity complex fitted with chairs and metal books shelves costs GHS7M.

• Tundele 7 years ago

How many Asamoah Gyan mansions can this amount build?

• Ewurade Kasa 7 years ago

Mr Bawumia should stop giving another empty lecture. We dont need that. We need arrests, prosecutions, and sentencing to Nsawan. Until criminals are punished, no amount of lecture can save Ghana.

The Obamas were considering buying a sophisticated 9-bedroom retirement house in affluent Washington DC suburb for $5.3mill. You guys see what is wrong with Ghana and John Mahama???

• BA 7 years ago

In as much as I will agree that the figure is too much, we shouldn't forget that the two countries use different materials in building houses. Ghana houses are built like industrial buildings in the US and elsewhere, which ma ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Even the 5.9 for a house in Ghana is too much,what kind of a house is it to cost that much,not even cedis,dollars, what kind of material are they using to cost that much?

It was well over priced even for that 5.9.

Regardless of quality, building a home cost more in the US. Cost of land, labor, permits, taxes and everything is more expensive in the US than Ghana. Yes, poor quality materials but it is more expensive than in Ghana.

• OB 7 years ago

But you also have to factor in labor cost my dear brother. it is cheaper in Ghana than in the united States of America.

• Kay 7 years ago

My brother at times I get worried because figures that are quoted for government projects are just mind boggling and I don't know maybe I don't have much that's why I surprise. The house for the Vice President will have a lot ...

• GHANA 7 years ago

And 70 million for Ghana@50 is less? Bawumia is mischievous and a liar

• NDC 7 years ago

The 70 million was spread throughout the whole Ghana. You can see at least one project in every region for that...

• Adjah 7 years ago

Where is Amissah himself? He needs to speak up. There should be a trail of the transaction somewhere. Government employees ought to start talking and exposing the rot. This is how as a nation we keep our politicians straight.

We need to know who is the contractor so that he could be arrested and charged for conniving with politicians to steal public funds. Ghana will never prosper if these thieves are not in jail.

• Alhassan 7 years ago

5.9 million dollars is crazy for a house

Ndc has ruined Ghana

• KOBBY 7 years ago

If Mr. Amissah Arthur became alarmed and stopped further payments it simply confirms that some people were using the building project to steal money belonging to the state. May be they planned to spend all the USD13.9million ...

That could be true. Try engaging your own kinfolks to build a house for you. You almost always end up spending about twice as much. What Bawumia is doing here is important and attest to his credibility. Bawumia should be stat ...

In the article, Bawumia never said that $13.9 was paid. He said that was the amount earnmarked for the project, shouldnt have cost that. Why use $13.9 and $5.9 instead $14 and $6mill? Bcos they are thieves. Only crafty salesp ...

• Adjah 7 years ago

Bawumia needs to provide more info. We need to know all the corrupt, inflated transactions and who were the recepients of these juicy contracts. Let them pay back to set a good example for future generations. Bawumia, yes kee ...

• GHANA 7 years ago

Who will take this Bawumia seriously? He is looking for an escape rout with his lies and baseless promises. Confused Bawumia. How much did Ghana@50 cost?

• Adjah 7 years ago

Agree Ghana@50 was a waste of money and think @60 not necessary but Ghana can't continue with these thievery, we need to draw a line somewhere and the time is now. Very disappointed in Mahama and NDC and hoping NPP would do b ...

• kojo 7 years ago

Stupidity. So when the former Vice President realised the so called overpayment and stopped further payments for which reason the project also stopped , what did he do about it? The President, Mahama in his quest to remain ...

• inercycl 7 years ago

Let's assume bawumia is a liar.But in their usual rebuttal, the NDC through Apaak claims it was 5.9 million dollars instead? Seriously? That amount for a vice president? Schools in some regions don't have roofing or leaking o ...

• spiderman 7 years ago

bawumia want to kill the bribery allegation against agya ko and his gov

• Rockefeller 7 years ago

How can majority bribe toothless minority who can not stop majority decision. Think again

• Adu Phillips .Toronto 7 years ago

Because Agyarko brought a fake documents to support his claim when he was asked to do so.

• Joseph Quarcoo. 2505 Nanticoke, Colum 7 years ago

It happened. Just keep ur cool and wait. Just 1 month away

• Blantyne 7 years ago

Ei NDC....

What a shock! NDC in looting spree. Is this the party which was founded on the principles of probity and accountability after people have been shot and others murdered in cold blood? This is incredible. The stea ...

• Nyameke 7 years ago

NDC needs a complete overhaul of personnel. Total change from president Mahama to the last footsoldier on the street. The stealing was too much. Vice president residence for $5.9 m? Nonsense

• Lawrence 7 years ago

TO HEAR THEM MENTION USD5.9M FOR THE HOUSE AS IF IT IS PEANUTS IS MOST SHOCKING. NDC HAS REALLY RAPED THE NATION. ONLY GOD KNOWS THE STATE OF THE RAPE OF THIS POOR NATION. GOD'S JUDGEMENT ON THEM IS STILL ON THE WAY. NOT TOO ...

• Joe Pasasah 7 years ago

NDC and Mahama are dirty thieves. A private man can build 5 mansions with this amount. When Ghana serious housing deficits, why would you spend such an amount on the house of just one government official?
    It another create,l ...

• ALIMI YAO 7 years ago

I can build 20 modern mansions in Ghana with 5.9m USD, at 295,000 USD per mansion. With a little bit of cost management, there will even be spare money for lavish house-warming parties. The absurd inflation of public expendi ...

• GHANA 7 years ago

And I can build same with 20,000 US dollars so will that mean you are a thief? Reason up, use your brain, all buildings quality are not the same

• ALIMI YAO 7 years ago

Thieves defending the indefensible. God help Oman Ghana.

GHANA, Criminals and hopeless idiots like you are the reason why Ghana is not develop. Alimo is right but criminals souls like you dont waste time to defend NDC criminals. Go live your life as a thief.

• Butch 7 years ago

You can build at $20000 but it won't be a mansion.

• Cq U.S.A 7 years ago

Bawumia is still on point though cos here is the case the house still not completed so how much is it going to cost in totality? God help mother ghana

• Peter Dogbe 7 years ago

Bawumia never said NDC had paid $13.9m for the house!

He stated "....the house is supposed to cost $13.9m."!

These NDC goons can't read and they can't think far!!

• Amotia hene 7 years ago

Amotia hene powers0547122212
    This is a man who can bring back your life about all your spiritual problems spiritual diseases spiritual attacks problems madness child Barrens or you want to get quick riche search for position ...

Even $5.9 is a lot of money for that building or house.

• Kareem Starboy 7 years ago

I agree my brother. How much did Asamoah Gyan build his house on the hill overlooking the Weija lagoon?
    So much with sole sourcing.

• Dziko Kwame 7 years ago

So what could Dr Mahamadu Bawumia be up to?

Could he really still be in the campaign mood?

I really can't easily let go of the Bawumia allegation that the Voters' Register had 76,000 foreigners in Volta Region.

It pa ...

• Paa 7 years ago

Kwasia, Bawumia is the reason NDC couldn't stuff the numbers in the Volta Region this time!

• is me the one 7 years ago

This guy forgotten that he also would x_vice tomorrow,in US president house for Barack is $50 million dollars but don't tell US hv money this Npp guy making as if they are only intellectual in your Ghana well long live Ghana ...

• Adjah 7 years ago

Stop lying the Obama's from their own pockets paid less than 7 million for their house though house is valued at about $7 million. Note that in the US presidents are not pampered and giving houses and rewards for being presid ...

• Adjah 7 years ago

Stop lying the Obama's from their own pockets paid less than 7 million for their house though house is valued at about $7 million. Note that in the US presidents are not pampered and giving houses and rewards for being presid ...

• Jesus vaz 7 years ago

Obama house is $ 5m not $50 check your facts right. And he paid for it not the state.

• Paa 7 years ago

• SARPONG 7 years ago

So how come Ndc received less than 600,000 votes in 2016 but in 2012, ndc received over 900,000 votes, what happened to the 300,000 voters? Don't tell me voter apathy. There was no voter apathy but rather the Togolese were wa ...

• #OnaaaapoJM 7 years ago

Dr Apaak, please does it mean that had the building being completed, Ghana would have paid the $13.9 million. We should be Dr realistic as a country. Just like the Bus Branding saga (sole sourcing), the $13.9 million would ha ...

• Kojo Abeka 7 years ago

The NDC government negotiated an inflated price of $5.9 million for the VP residence. The contractor, after he had started the work, stopped and demanded $13.9 million. You are telling Ghanaians that the Veep when he was ma ...

• CHIEF vANDAL 7 years ago

Apaak you are really pathethic person. So you think $5.9m for an uncvompleted hjouse for the vice president of an impovirisdhed countryb like GHANA I is ok? by what strch of imgination.my persopnal house of 7 bedrooms which i ...

Mahatma is the most greedy useless wicked president ever. After all we already have accommodation for the Vice President why build another house while u cannot pay workers and no medicine in hospitals. What Stupidity and love ...

• Kome 7 years ago

Somebody, help me here. Is apaak admittng that the cost of the house is 13.9m usd?. Eiii! In ghana? Wow, you are rich.

• kb 7 years ago

Even if you give me 50000 dollars I will get profit on the renovation. If I furnish the house with trassacco furniture ,Spanish tiles, security doors , cameras, emirate stadium grass it won't cost 500,000. Aaa ba Ghana !!! We ...

• Efo Red 7 years ago

5.9 million dollar accommodation. Very uneconomical and outrageous . Go to East legon and other places in Ghana where very durable and magnificent mansions have been constructed for just 1 million cerise if not less.

• RPG 7 years ago

1. Was the contract sole-sourced?
    2. Who was it sole-sourced to?
    3. How much was budgeted for the contract?
    4. When did Amissah-Arthur realize they were overpaying or had overpayed for the project?
    5. What did Mahama and ...

Final amount will be 13.9m but 5.9m so far paid. Fine. Though all 13.9m not paid it will be paid so therefore agree with Bawuah's that cost is 13.9m which is too much

• My Opinion 7 years ago

For a Dusty Stinking City like Accra, with no good drinking water in most part of the City and very poor Sanitation with very poorly paid Police Officers and Mahama and NDC got the nerves to dish out ($14mil) to build this S ...

• good magic 7 years ago

black ghanian indian spiritualist
    professor in science divine
    protection how to gain promotion
    black magic money rituals
    position o244908520charming others
    the great amal hamzad temple ready to help you to solve call th ...

• anna 7 years ago

ndc theives u will nevwe come to power adain

• Obuama 7 years ago

You people have suddenly forgotten that the NPP built the so-called presidential palace at over 120 million dollars. It's incredible that people who cannot justify why that ugly building should cost anything more than 20 mill ...

• Kojo Abeka 7 years ago

The Flagstaff house is not "a presidential palace". It is primarily the seat of government and houses the Executive Branch of government, including the residence of the President. Please compare comparables!

• Paa 7 years ago

If looks like a duck, quacks like a duck, then it is a duck! If the commenter sounds brain dead then s/he is NDC!

• NDC 7 years ago

The flagstaff house is not just a residential building... It's a huge office complex with the residence of the president at the back, on the same compound... You can't compare an office with hundreds of workers to a single ho ...

• Ras 7 years ago

Apaak is an idiot to even suggest that $5.9 million is a paltry sum. This is hard earned sweat of the ghanaian being poured into a single mansion that will be of no economic benefit.

Let me educate u Apaak. $5.9 million d ...

• Kwadjo Kwadjo 7 years ago

If it was only $5.9 million allocated why were they overcharging? Why did Amissah Arthur stop payment. These NDC folks are liers indeed

• Kim 7 years ago

If asamoah djan mansion is 4 million dollars then that money can build 4 with a balance of one million to build schools for kids going to school under trees. Oh NDC ! You did not think that children are the future of a nation ...

• Kojo Abeka 7 years ago

He was obviously responsible for supervising the construction with friends at national security. He urinated in his pants when their "comfortable lead" vanished. He then ran and asked for all payments to be stopped, knowin ...

• kodua 7 years ago

Uncompleted how much work is left and what is done for that amount. Still massive even a million dollars too much for a poor country like Ghana. Need to investigate all projects .

• walter 7 years ago

The Evil That men do always live after them.

• Abena 7 years ago

Otiko Djaba, this is ur stone. Building a residence for vice president is costing a 3rd world country $13.9m. For what? Is that what UK, US, Germany, Spain, Canada, Australia, Sweden do with their money. When Yaa Asantewaa Ot ...

• Ola Nordman 7 years ago

$5,9 million to renovate a house in Accra? even Hollywood starsdont have mansions of this nature. Gosh, what is happening in Ghana. This calls for a probe.

• Kwo 7 years ago

Our politicians are simply wicked. What Kind of house is that?

• AMATX USA 7 years ago

Who is saying the truth Bawumia is saying $13.9m Klutse is saying $3m nd Apaak is saying $5.9 m let the truth come out ndc when will your yes be yes nd your no be no

• , ,. 7 years ago

HERE WE GOOOOOO! THERE ARE SOOOOOOO MANY REVELATIONS ABOUT THIS STEALING SYDYCATE THE NDC COMING OUT SOOON GHANAIANS WILL BE SHOCKED TO HEAR AND SEE HOW THESE THEIVES HAVE TREATED THEM AND THE COUNTRY GHANA ....THEY SHOYLD ...

• Nerzyn 7 years ago

So called Dr Apaak is an idiot. Did the $5.9 million complete the building? At that price, it is even in excess of a sensible price range. These NDC govt looted Ghana. No wonder Julius Debrah grew fat like a pig. He bought th ...

• the New Ghanain 7 years ago

So after confiscating an official Vice presidential bungalow, you dupe this nation and extra $13.9 million to put up a new one. how can you be this wicked to the nation. what did Ghana do to deserve this. I now get why you wa ...

• Nana NewYork 7 years ago

Is Dr Apaak claiming that $5.9 million is the right amount to be paid for the project ?These NDC thieves would have collapsed Ghana .A developing country spending $5.9 million on one person"s residence?Criminals Bandits loot ...

• Prof. Issifu, USA 7 years ago

The amount earmarked for the Veep's house tells me the NDC must have spent a lot more on Rawlings' re-built house. We need to probe it. The NDC milked Ghana dry!

• T-mens NYC 7 years ago

Look at this corrupt fool of an MP trying to defend his kleptomanic party!! Weren't you guys defending the chief kleptomaniac, mahama's decision to steal the Vice President's official residence by inferring that a new residen ...

• inercycl 7 years ago

I wonder why Nana Addo is not talking at all.I guess we have to be patient! These NDC crooks should all go to jail....No pardon this time

• inercycl 7 years ago

I thought the opposition was going to deny it all! $5 million to build a house for a vice President? Why do we have to build a house for anyone in the first place? We have acted so irresponsibly in the past!

• Sly 7 years ago

Even the $5.9 million dollars was bloody hell much for the taxpayer.

• Nana Yala LD 7 years ago

Please google what a $5.9 milllion house looks like in Florida or North Carolina? Then you decide for your self back ward people with small brains .

• Odikro 7 years ago

Mahama's target was $13.9 million to his bother, Ibrahim, until his vice saw it and stopped payment, period! By, the was, how much was paid before payment was stopped? Who was the contractor?

• Nana boakye 7 years ago

Even 5.9 million US $ is too much for a house for the vice president when Ghana can not pay our loan interest.

• Kofi Boat. Kaduna, Nigeria. 7 years ago

Granted. The former VP stopped further payments. The question is: how did the S13.9m come about? The NDC should just watch and see how good governance is all about.

• AGBESI. KWESI 7 years ago

How are my people of Zango Kataf. My greetings to all of them. Ghana politics is very huhuduos.

• ATYCO #ONE 7 years ago

We are wasting time. Just get it investigated asap and let's get our balance back. I don't know when Nana Addo will start the Special Prosecutor job get going. I hear article 56, 57 or 58 of the constitution makes it clear th ...

• KWESI 7 years ago

TO LET : ENSUITE APARTMENTS & ROOMS WITH MODERN FACILITIES IN TANTRA HILLS .

CALL OWNER ON : 026 471 6238

Bawumia is saying what the building will cost if completed, and Apaak is saying what has been paid on the uncompleted. now the question to Apaak is how much will the completed building cost?

• KWESI 7 years ago

FOR SALE : JAGUAR GENUINE PARTS AT LOW PRICES- BOTH NEW OR HOME USE.

CALL OWNER : 026 471 6238

• SPECIAL PROSECUTOR. 7 years ago

WO TANGWA DA HIGH GO TO OBESSEY OKAI TO SELL YOUR JAGUAR GENUINE PARTS BUT NOT HERE WHERE NDC CORRUPT ACTIVITIES ARE BEING DISCUSSED.APAAK TALKS AS IF FAECES ARE FILLED IN HIS SKULL.NDC PARTY IS FULL OF THIEVES AND WE THANK G ...

• K.Nimo 7 years ago

Mr.Apaak even the $5.9 million house is very very expensive knowing well that there are a lot of unemployment and workers who were not receiving their pay for months and years.

• K. Wiredu 7 years ago

The VP said it's going to COST $13.9m. He did not say the 13.9m has been PAID . Please folks note the difference.

• Kissi 7 years ago

Dr Apaak should be ashamed, if ammissah stopped the payment of $13 million, then,it is true that the house was billed $13 million in the first place . who gave the contract under mahama's watch should be the question?

• Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 7 years ago

Even $1million is too much for a country trotting around the world for budgetary support.We are not a serious nation.

• Obibs 7 years ago

The lying toad that Apaak is. Who approved the amount of $13.9m in the first place ?

• NOW 7 years ago

Why is Mahama still in the Cantonments Residence?
    A new impetus is needed to restore responsibility to the governance of this country and it must happen now!!!

• Dan Ofori 7 years ago

This is the reason only 47 of the E Blocks were built. If the NDC were serious about infrastructural more schools could have been built, projects completed and better life for Ghanaians. So sad for Mother Ghana. Forensic aud ...

• Navrongo Man 7 years ago

Is 5.9 a small figure? Granting your figure to be true. How much did Asamoah Gyan even built is plush house? Oh Mother Ghana weep no more

• apuuuu 7 years ago

In the first place why building new house for the Vice President when there's one for already blame this on dead goat President John Ford Drama Mahama and his incompetent ndc administration apuuuu

• AMA BEAUTIFUL 7 years ago

Ghanaians must petition the UN Secretary General to terminate Mahama's appointment. He does not have what it takes to have the job. He is very corrupt

• Fool kofi adams 7 years ago

What is the different

• AMARIYA 7 years ago

He was blind to enomous mismanagement during Mahama's got. He was always in support of Mahama's NDC.
    I think he wants a new position from this NPP got that's why is he putting a blame of overspending on contractors.

• kwame 7 years ago

$13.9m saga

• ERIC 7 years ago

OH LORD OF GOD PLEASE COME N SAVE US FROM THIS WICKED POLITICIANS.MY MIND TELLS ME THAT ALL THE POLITICIANS IN THIS COUNTRY ARE NOT A TRUE GHANAIAN. WE ARE HAVING SCHOOLS UNDER TREE, POOR ROADS,POOR INFRASTRUCTURE ETC BUT THE ...

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

Apak the house in question is it a completed house if not what may be ndcs final cost?we know you,do you lot have concience at all?do you belief there is creater above watching his creation every second how it goes?.Eye asem, ...

• Fiifi Barnor 7 years ago

How can a country with such a sorry GDP even consider building a residence worht $13.9 million? The only possible reason, was for those in power to 'chop' big before leaving office. Shame with regards to sole-sourcing literal ...

• SAROUK MISSILE/NIMA 7 years ago

IF NPP DON'T ARREST ALL THIS CORRUPT NDC THUGS, WE THE ZONGO YOUTH AND THE ENTIRE GHANAIANS WILL VOTE OUT NPP.

• xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 7 years ago

black ghanian indian spiritualist
    professor in science divine
    protection how to gain promotion
    black magic money rituals
    position o244908520charming others
    the great amal hamzad temple ready to help you to solve call th ...

• Agyedu 7 years ago

Greedy bastards at work. This is an example of how NDC is financed. Ghanaiana awake !

• Michael,Osu citizen 7 years ago

We cannot even get "saatso" in our government hospitals and we are building a supposed $5.9m dog house for our vice president? What a foolish and incompetent NDC government?

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

You people are talking nonsense. Even $1 million got a house in Ghana ia too much.when people are sleeping on street and people can not have 3 meals in a day.
    And you NDC thieves are saying is not $13.9 but $5 million are ...

• common sense 7 years ago

until poor people like us keep on being fool by the politicians Ghana will keep on surfer. Bawumia was talking about the cost,he never said they have paid all the money. Now Dr Appaak said it was true but the vice then stop t ...

• kiki07 7 years ago

This mumu thing called bawumia is just a stooge being used by his pay masters to spew such rubbish. A whole phd holder complaining about sole sourcing in the construction of a national security installation. If not for polit ...

• maximum 7 years ago

massa forget of them say them say vice president.copy copy president and them say them say vice president

• Katawire 7 years ago

One of the most dishonest men at the former presidency is Apaak. I do not know where he got his doctorate degee. his arguments are always senseless and malicious. Always trying to put dust in the public eyes. Dr Bawumiah did ...

• P.O. Addai 7 years ago

So if payment had been stopped and by implication the project had ceased why did the previous government say they were building a new residence for the Vice President? How?

• semantical 7 years ago

wat he saying ? every tin abt u was just a mess.

• NPPigs 7 years ago

Yes you stopped it but did he take the apin to investigate how we got to $13.9 million dollars?

• asempaye 7 years ago

Should a single home a vice president even cost $ 1million? What kind of argument is this man trying to make? Why should a poor country like us spend so much on a house for one person why school children attend school under ...

• Oburoniba Fitafita 7 years ago

Why are prople still riding around in Gvt vehicles ? The past political appointees still drive the V8 cars, park them at home and charge the gvt. unreasonable petrol consumption. I thought measures would have been put in pla ...

• SEMAANKOKA. 7 years ago

WHEN WE DID NOT KNOW WE HAD OIL WE DISPLAYED OUR IGNORANCE IN FACTORS OF PRODUCTION BY BEING MINORITY SHAREHOLDER EVEN THOUGH WE OWN THE OIL.THAT NOTWITHSTANDING WE GAVE THEM THE OPPORTUNITY TO EXPORT FOR REFINERY WHILST WE F ...

• asem 7 years ago

do you know what $13.9 million can do in America? the Ghanaian tax payer is suffering

• MAAN 7 years ago

NPP STOP THE NOISE AND FIX UP THE ECONOMY. WE NEED FREE EDUCATION AND REDUCTION IN UTILITY BILLS NOW.

• Frank 7 years ago

In a poor country of ours where per capita income is less than $700, unemployment at almost 50% and schools under tree so common we could afford to spend $5m-13m on a house for a politician. To make matters worst this housed ...

• Kwaku A. Danso 7 years ago

The key issue here is "PASSED WITHIN THESE 100 DAYS"
    If Nana and Bawumia are able to pass the Right to Information Bill, edited to make sure it is not too cumbersome to protect any crooked office holders, then there will be ...