You are here: HomeNews2017 01 27Article 504456

Wrongly jailed teacher seeks GHS10m compensation

Read Comments Comments (120)

• Shc 7 years ago

Only Ghc10m ?

• KOFI YESU 7 years ago

Oh massa lawyer...look at how much Woyome took for judgement debt...like if Woyome had been wrongfully jailed and he had spent 15years,then he would have claimed the flagstaff house as his compensation.......the amount should ...

• kwaku saeed 7 years ago

Good one there I second.

• AYITEY MALAWI (Ga Mantse Claimant) 7 years ago

THE TWO WOMEN WHO TOOK THE GIRL IN SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED WHERE WAS THE GIRL STAYING AT TIME OF INCIDENT? THEIR HUSBANDS, SONS ARE POTENTIAL SUSPECTS.

• seee oooo 7 years ago

GHC10m = 100billon oil Ghana cedis

• Concerned Citizen 7 years ago

The relity is tht this mn will be lucky to get 200,000 cedis compenstion.

• Dave 7 years ago

Fact that he is not responsible for the pregnany does not mean he did not sleep with the girl....

• Runnable,US 7 years ago

Exactly, that was my thought too.

• Stinky Finger 7 years ago

The teacher was accused of statuary rape which resulted in a pregnancy.Let me put in a way even dickheads like you can undertsand.The girl got pregnant and when quizzed she mentioned the name of this teacher.There was a rush ...

What happens to mother who obviously must have lied?

• Nana Yaw 7 years ago

Muslim Bitch. Typically

• WHO BE YOU 7 years ago

The judge who presided over the case, wrongly judged and subsequently sentenced the teacher must be punished for misjudge. I am sure he / she either took bribe from the girl's parents or there was some hitch that prevented h ...

• apokye judge 7 years ago

may be the judge took a goat

• babs 7 years ago

Fool.

• trueth on Jemuary 272017:09:55 7 years ago

Nana yaw. Muslims are rare in this typs of bad behaviors. if she were a Christian no need to mention because is their trade mark. they impregnate the girls and they become their wifes.you also remind me somthing in Capetown ...

• Sam 7 years ago

@ nana yaw: have u forgotten the rape case involving Asamoah Gyan captain of Ghana black star team and Sarah Kobla? were they muslems? sometimes u have to leap b4 u look. what would you say about that case too, meaning Christ ...

• Y. A. W... 7 years ago

Stop fooling. I believe your mum conceived you through prostitution. Other religions are saint isn't it? Foolish boy.

• Muby 7 years ago

U need to respect ur self and share ur opinion what has her religion got to do with this??

• aziz 7 years ago

the fact that the person has a muslim name thus not mean she is a muslim.
    don't be naive

• Aba 7 years ago

Will probably be forgiven. Everybody will say the guy shd forgive n forget

• Nana Kwaku 7 years ago

She was a teenager and might have done so under pressure & fear.It was the duty of the judiciary to have gone beyond what the small girl might have said.Why was scientific analysis ignored in the trial?

• APONKYE 7 years ago

How can we be this unfair to other like this? I believe the prosecutor and the judge must have been Akyems.

• shout out. 7 years ago

I'm not an Akyem, but this is very bad. How can u exhibit this "hyperhatred" for your fellow human being? Because of someone or some issues connected to Akyem, any negative thing is from akyem. Don't visit what was done in t ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

Oh no you forgot, they were actually 2 aponkyes that's why they arrived at that idiotic judgement against this fine gentleman. Idiotic like you

• SD 7 years ago

Nonsensical contribution

• Kweku trouble 7 years ago

Don't be stupid. What has tribe got to do with this?

• Kafui 7 years ago

No wonder you are Aponkye. From your behavior you might be the Billy goat type of aponkye. I rest my case

• Atinga Frafra 7 years ago

Not being the biological father of the child does not prove your innocence in the case of defilement of a minor. Where did a 14 year old get the nerve to accuse her teacher of such a crime if you never slept with her?

• Yoofi 7 years ago

Excatlymy case! Some of these Supreme Court Judges should be investigated if anybody has seen a goat bleating in their households!

• Doe 7 years ago

AM WITH YOU

• AK47 7 years ago

You are totally displaying your ignorance. He was convicted based on the defilement and the pregnancy, and since it has been proven that the child was not his, it obviously means that the girl in question is not credible an ...

• king???? 7 years ago

They never said the defilement lead to pregnancy

• Amarteye 7 years ago

You are rather displaying ignorance. one can not be charge for pregnancy. obviously,the charge for which the teacher was convicted was defilement and not the pregnancy. However, the pregnancy could be used as evidence. But th ...

• Muby 7 years ago

The girl is suppose to be his student so endolging in sexual act with the student alone unprofesional

• JT 7 years ago

The supreme Court jugdes are not stupid. Judgement is based on factual evidence not hearsay. A girl claims I've defiled her and that defilement resulted in a pregnancy. This girl being 14 years and a muslim might have claimed ...

• babs 7 years ago

"And she is a muslim" what is the meaning of this?

• koo 7 years ago

my brother come down. some of our students are bad and evil. similar incident happened to me. A student lied against for causing her dismissal because she claimed i proposed to her n she refused so i failed her n the school s ...

• Efo Ben 7 years ago

Wait till it happens to you ok

• Chief New York 7 years ago

Atinga Frafra you said it all, I don't think he was jailed because he is the father, but for sleeping with a 14year old girl.

• happy 7 years ago

stop that this girl and nation has unfairly punish the teacher and you are saying. he too did it. are you not African and Ghanaian?

• AK 7 years ago

God bless Lawyer Sasu .

• Yoofi 7 years ago

If penetration occured, regardless of whether the child was his or not , he committed an offence at a time the child was 14. That should be the focus not the child born!

• Gletsu wisdom xceedin grace 7 years ago

Only God can settle this man,I was his student by then, this amount requested for is jux a token, he cud've died becoz of the trauma and emotional torture. Thank Jesus for his mercies on my teacher. Our justice system must be ...

• John Musah 7 years ago

Mr. Asente is a criminal. The fact that he is not the father of the child does not exonerate him. I believe he slept with the girl and mind you, the girl is 14 years old, a minor. No compensation for you Mr Asente.

• JAY 7 years ago

So it was a crime by then, what are they going to do to the father of the baby ?
    Is he also going to be jail for 15 years ?

• Aj 7 years ago

John musah,Mr Ashante case is a bit difficult to assess be'cos the same thing happened in Chicago Illinois when a white lady accused a black man of rape in 1981 but in the year 2015 the black man was found to be innocent and ...

• JAY 7 years ago

I really fell sad for teachers because, any issues corncerning teachers the media houses are able to get their photographs but they don't get the photographs of other professionals who committed the same crimes.

• Nana Kwaku 7 years ago

Every profession has its own risk its up to you the individual joining that profession on how you behave & conduct yourself.Even adult female students at the university level can be manipulative.What about the male gynaecolog ...

• Muby 7 years ago

So far this is a rational comment on here

• Muby 7 years ago

So far this is a rational comment on here

• Reason properly Mr Musa 7 years ago

You're calling somebody been in prison for wrongly jailed a criminal? I pity you but pray and pray that such troubles comes on your way. God have mercy on you okay

• stephen abanga. 7 years ago

Hmmmmm, Defiling a person is not the same as impregnating her. Who says if u have sex with a lady she must automatically be pregnant. I'm at a loss as to how the presiding judge came to the conclusion that the convict is not ...

• koo 7 years ago

the lady got pregnant and the case was in court. based on her age it was termed defilement. the court based its judgement on evidence and not what one think. if the lady was in court that the teacher defiled her that would h ...

• John 7 years ago

Ghana must catch up with the rest of the world in technology. This is a blatant miscarriage of justice by our courts.

• Kafir 7 years ago

Aponkye
    You sound like you have a personal hatred for Akyems. What have they done to you.
    What have this case got to do with Akyems?
    God will punish you well well

• ALBERTA 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0575898128
    1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy ...

• JUSTICE MUST PREVAIL 7 years ago

it's just clear that justice in Ghana increasingly unfair, the young man should review his amount and make it 50m?this is annoying?thanks to lawyer Francis xavier

• kojo 7 years ago

guys he had da same name as da actual criminal n taut in da same sch,so it's obvious da actual criminal coneived wit someone 2 mafia dis guy cos da guy said he neva knew da gal

• Ayi 7 years ago

He could have defiled the girl anyway. Meanwhile the girl had been sleeping with somebody else

• Waja Dominic 7 years ago

What a country are we living in, why didn't they did the test initially in the beginning of the matter before taking the teacher on. In fact this is unfair. I strongly blame the court. What amount money can compasate him.

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

10 million GH Cedis for 12 years ??? Crime that u didn't commit ??? Anyway

The Justice system should probe the matter and come out with the biological father of child. Whether the teacher had hand in it or not the victim was a minor and the father of child had defiled her

• Owusu kofi 7 years ago

The DNA only showed that he wasn't responsible for the pregnancy but it doesn't free him from the rape.
    So he should keep quiet and remain there. The girl might have been having a boyfriend who was responsible for the pregn ...

How much do you know about the case to reach this conclusion? The girl's credibility is on the line because the gentleman was not responsible for the pregnancy. The fact that the child is not his removes him from the case. Th ...

• Dizzle 7 years ago

Pls the facts of the case does not include rape... When a 14 year old gets pregnant from a sexual intercourse... It is termed defilement cos she is a minor.. so it doesnt mean she was raped.. The teacher has been exonerated f ...

• babs 7 years ago

At kafi,just be praying that such thing never happen to u.r u jealous of the man?

• Katawire 7 years ago

The Court should have done the test before sentencing. However the fact that Mr Asante is not the father does not exonerate him from having sex with the girl. I thought Mr Asante is going to deny canal knowledge of the girl. ...

• Aba 7 years ago

Why did they wait for this long to do a DNA test? Oh why didn't the teacher insist on this early? Efie abayifoo

• NANA KWABENA AMERINO 7 years ago

Oh just Ghc10m p3. Is even small cos he has lose his job, respect and a family as well

• GHANA FIRST 7 years ago

This is how a lie can change the course of a man's destiny. The NPP lied just to win power, you can imagine when this will do to many destinies.

• babs 7 years ago

Did NDC say the truth before winning?

• Hardi 7 years ago

Unfortunately we more of Mr Asante's kinds who are languishing in our prisons as a result of wrong accusations and poor work or for want of the right word permit me to say LAZY work on the part of our prosecutors and Judges. ...

• Pastor Alex Kufuor 7 years ago

DNA technology is used universally in most countries of the world It is grossly negligent on the part of the state not to have applied this basic technology to ascertain the innocence or guilt of Asante.
    It is incumbent on ...

• Facts Check. 7 years ago

He was released in 2015 and proceeded to court in 2012?

• defilement 7 years ago

the minor claimed her teacher defiled her and besides her teacher denied it but what is the evidence to back it so he was jailed for an act he did not commit.DNA test proved that the teacher was innocent which means the minor ...

• BRIGHT BOADU 7 years ago

IT IS A BIG SHAME AND DISGRACE ON THE JUSTICE DEPARTMENT AS WELL AS GHANA AS A NATION. THIS UNIVERSALLY COMMON TECHNOLOGY COULD NOT BE USED ON TIME TO ASCERTAIN THE TRUTH ARE WE SERIOUS AS A NATION TO PROGRESS? .

• BRIGHT BOADU 7 years ago

IT IS A BIG SHAME AND DISGRACE ON THE JUSTICE DEPARTMENT AS WELL AS GHANA AS A NATION. THIS UNIVERSALLY COMMON TECHNOLOGY COULD NOT BE USED ON TIME TO ASCERTAIN THE TRUTH ARE WE SERIOUS AS A NATION TO PROGRESS? . IF. THERE WA ...

• tetteh-tsu tema 7 years ago

Atinga u have a point, I don't think that the girl out of no contact with her teacher will accuse him of such act. Maybe he also had sex with her but might not be the one who impregnated her. Moreover the girl might be such a ...

• koo 7 years ago

if a student want to put you in trouble massa she will make you small. lots of politics in the teaching field, pull him down etc. i had similar experience bro. i had no knowledge on her claims. hmmm. only God knows the heart ...

• dankwa 7 years ago

This lawyer be class one lawyer paaa gh10m p3 oooo why lawyer?

• AZAA 7 years ago

The girl should be prosecuted for deceiving public officers. (2)After a compesation have been paid to the teacher for wrongly imprisonment the girl should again face charges of causing financial loss to the state.

• Hmmm Papabi. 7 years ago

I think that the lady in question who is now about 26years must be jailed for at least 5years.

• DDDDDD 7 years ago

charge moree he deserve it women! hmm

• Paulus 7 years ago

Bt the details given here still doesnt show witout all doubt he didnt do it... He not being de father doesnt mean he did chop de girl.. Anaaaaa am i lying... anyway, sorry for him tho

• DOOBIA 7 years ago

So just because the DNA proves the child is not his means there was no rape? If he were sentenced for impregnating the girl, then the clearance makes sense, but if he was sentenced for rape or sleeping with an under-age, then ...

ths guy was my mate in JSS. Very decent guy

• Zavu 7 years ago

This guy called Aponkye must stop thus behaviour on Ghana Web. His utterances are not the best. Please Mr. Aponte hold your fire.

Never mind, cause he is a retarded N D C foot soldier.He hate akans

• Afrakomaba Nana Kwame Agyapong. 7 years ago

Don't be kind to Ghana ooo! Ericus. Be a Billionaire out of this injustice.

• Kaakie 7 years ago

Yestee Ghanaweb said the man is 36yrs today he is 40yrs. mmmmn

• FlyBird 7 years ago

This is to all the guys here. Lets try and control ourselves. If you can't go to Ashawo line. Because a mere claim of sexual assault can ruin your life forever. The law is always flawed to favor the woman. So please I beg you ...

• babs 7 years ago

U were accused of defilement and impregnating a girl which automatically makes the child urs.u have spent 12 year out if 15 years with only 3 years left to come for ur child,u r now being told the child is not us.have u gone ...

• GHANA BA 7 years ago

masa go look for Tuo zaafi go chop and start teaching work .

• ISSAH ABDUL-SAMED 7 years ago

Only Allah knows what will happen to these so called seasoned lawyers. 10m ghc is too small for mr. Asante

• NJK. Accra 7 years ago

juhygtfrdesw

• Zavu 7 years ago

So does it mean many first kids have questionable fathers.

• EMPEROR 7 years ago

If Jesus were the judge,what would he do???

• Azameti 7 years ago

GH10,000,000 = $234,000 is too small for been in jail for over 10years,Lawyer please increase the money,and I don't think any money given to him can compensate him in anyway,but the 10,000,000.00 is too small

• Luze 7 years ago

This is stupid, DNA test? idiots, is it not a machine, why this time? Ghana paa, any away let's see what Akufo Addo and his Npp government would do about it.

• Mashud 7 years ago

The truth can't be hidden forever

• Isaac.Italy 7 years ago

Hmmm, Mr Asante give everything to God, I hope a judge who handed him that jail sentence is among those who collected yams n goats, the judge shd be brought to book to pay that money but not the state bcs he shd know better e ...

• Muby 7 years ago

Guys lets be rational in our way of thinking,the first question is was the teacher in a sexual relationship with the girl in particular??..he is not the only male on campus how come he was the only one accused? Its really bad ...

• Osman Yakub 7 years ago

Hear we go again.
    Who caused it and who created it.
    What do we tell our technocrats, magistrates, judges and other civil servants who keep creating this burden for the nation?
    Should they go unpunished?
    My heart bleeds f ...

• Lillo 7 years ago

Masa, how could you say a thing?

• 3dem 7 years ago

Why was he convicted based on the expectation that the baby would be his? The fact that the baby is not his doesn't mean he didn't screw, does it? No body convicts based on the hope that a pregnancy belongs to someone. You co ...

• NHYIRABA 7 years ago

AH TEACHER AND LAWYER WHY DIS SMALL AMOUNT,ARE U NOT SERIOUS EXCUSE ME TO SAY 15YRS IN JAIL AND DEMANDING JST 10M CEDIS? WAA HW3.

• Yaa 7 years ago

Yes they should pay!!!! Pronto! It's time our authorities were held to account for some of the stupid corrupt lazy practises. They have ruined his life and now he needs money to pick up and live again. What a travesty of just ...

• Papaa 7 years ago

We are all ghanaian but we love to talk but till now cant the court themselves proved Dna all this time

• K twum 7 years ago

OMG so what are the (ourt reactions toward the Parents of the so (all defiled girl ?

• HASSAN, Tamale 7 years ago

Was the guy jailed for refusing to accept paternity or for defilement? The DNA test only proved he was not the father od the child; did it prove he did not have sex with the then 14-year old, which is a crime and could rightl ...

• aziz 7 years ago

i think is never fair to treat our follow humanbeings like this?
    i think the 10million is too small for the intergrity he lost. very gentle guy.
    for me he should be reinstated and all the years he was in preson's salary pa ...

• mindy 7 years ago

A lesson to the so called social workers and lawyers who jump to conclusion when they hear defilement...sorry man 10mil ain't enough.

• am me 7 years ago

what compensation does he want?whether de child is his or not,he still had sex with an underage...she was still a child when he had sex with her...

• Asafo Boakye Junior 7 years ago

Eric deserves more than he asked for..
    that will make the court very mindful in dealing with such cases.

• Ekow Biney 7 years ago

There are a lot people with similar stories just like Mr Asante's.
    so what is the Judiciary service doing?

• mutawakil 7 years ago

muslims are not the way you think.be wise.

• Agama lizard,U.S.A 7 years ago

Even though he's set free for not being the father he can still be charge for sleeping with a minor,so he have to keep his mouth shut and thank God that he's free.

• koft 7 years ago

why didn't the court perform DNA and paternity test before sentencing the poor and innocent teacher. this is also part of financial lost or judgment dept we have being talking about. the lawyers should be made to pay for comp ...

• MAAN 7 years ago

MR. FRANCIS SOSU GOOD JOB.PEOPLES LAWYER.

• ama 7 years ago

If they were able to conduct dna on the child why dont they look for the mother of the child to make her confess the truth.Most kids in school like telling lies against their teachers.To d teacher in ques, 10million wont b a ...