You are here: HomeNews2017 01 25Article 503950

Confirmed: Asante Apeatu is new IGP

Read Comments Comments (133)

• BB 7 years ago

akufo addo no good at all!!!!!

• Sigma, London 7 years ago

Congratulations Sir Apeatu on your appointment as IGP. I hope you will overhaul the whole stinky Police Service to be one of best Police Service in Africa. Congratulations IGP Asante Apeatu!

• KORSI 7 years ago

One Soviet trained gone another Soviet trained comes Soyuz all the way thanks you Soyuz

• insight to the bone 7 years ago

Kwasia pepeni Mahama, you lost because of nepotism , hegemony , tribalism and your hidden agenda of anti Akan hatred. We are happy the youth listened to our cry in the wilderness of your corruption and realized that your rhet ...

• Dr. J.K. Bokor 7 years ago

Fact is, John Kodalor or "Kubolor"...whatever the real name is, can't measure with the new (Gentleman)IGP, COP Asante Apeatu...you are warmly welcome, Sir!

We hope Kofi Boakye in Ashanti Region, Kumasi will soon follow sui ...

• GEORGE 7 years ago

Because he is Ashanti/Akyem? fool

• C.K. ANDY-K 7 years ago

George, it's all because John Kudalor was corrupt and bias!

• THE REAL C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

Low mentality NPP Scumbag, using stolen names to write posts and answering them yourself!

I have no interest in who becomes IGP of the rotten Police Service in Ghana.

I am intrigued though he is a product of the Univ. ...

• £earn_$martphones_Repairing 7 years ago

Helloooo! January is almost gone. Are you yet to start something? Still confused about what investment options to choose for the year to maintain steady cash flow? Think about it -everyday, both the employed and the idle are ...

• AAA 7 years ago

They confirm the ministers & even the regional ministers who were appointed ? If Yes , then U're wryt..& if the answer is NO...then bro , consult ur dokta....U may need to upgrade ur brains... ..

• afoko 1 7 years ago

Have you thought of more cocaine in our streets and arm robbery ? Asempaa nie .??

• AYITEY MALAWI (Ga Mantse Claimant) 7 years ago

ALTHOUGH THEY'RE IN THE MAJORITY, NDC REPEATEDLY IGNORED THE AKANS WITHIN THE RANKS FOR THE IGP POSITION. ANYONE IN DOUBT CAN CHECK FROM RAWLINGS TIME.

• Nana Appiah 7 years ago

No way, an Ex Director of marine? That's the gateway for Drug trafficking....Ghana is finished under Akuffo Addo

• Akuko kofi 7 years ago

Some people are very idiot and biggest fools in the system. ..After drinking wee akpeteshie. .then they go so stupid. .I pity those people

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

NANA ADDO IS TOO MUCH, VERY VERY INTELLIGENT, HE IS INFACT VERY FOCUS BRILIANTLY, REGIONAL BALANCED, NDC CAN GET A JOB AT GHANAWEB AND POUR FILTS ON NPP ITS STILL ONAAAAAAPO HAHAHAH YOU NDC IDIOTS HAS DONE IT FOR THE PAST 8 ...

• GA MAN 7 years ago

There is going to be a tribal conflict if this Akan thing continues. Remember Rwanda what brought about the conflict

• Omanhene 7 years ago

he is very well qualified. now work hard, and diligently.

• ???(DarkerThanBlue) 7 years ago

have you read his profile?i hate mentally sick people.Go to civilized world.you bushrat.We all possess something called 'intuition'. It's an inner "knowing' which, when paid attention to, will help us make decisions and even ...

• afoko 1 7 years ago

More cocaine ..... God help Ghana.

• peeeeee 7 years ago

Thanks,,the profile is above the iq of fools shouting tribal,,,am ewe btw

• Alhassan Walla 7 years ago

My friend, don't bite more than you can chew. What can a few of non-Akans do to Akans who are overwhelmingly in the majority.

If the Akans, who are in the majority, were callously oppressed and suppressed during the NDC r ...

• Kwasi Asante RI USA 7 years ago

Alhassan
    We never met but I like your sense of thinking.
    If the President makes unqualified appointment I will be first to scream.
    I am watching his appointments. This IGP appointment is dignified.
    So far I have strong ...

• Kwaadede 7 years ago

Ga Man, You are a Fool. Asante Appeatu is an Akwapim man and he qualifies for the post. You don't know that Kudalor who is over 65years and passed retirement age was compensated for his role in teaching the NPP demonstrators ...

• GA MAN 7 years ago

I really do not know why you people can not make your point without insulting anyone, I thought you are the learned ones so why not demonstrate it, I will not be drawn into your attitudes, I hope common sense will finally com ...

• Rene - london 7 years ago

NOW LOOK AT THIS TRIBAL-SENSITIVE WARP HERE: WE'RE TALKING AND LOOKING AT COMPETENCE AND CREDENTIALS, YOU'RE THERE INCITING TRIBALISM! ASANTE-APEATU IS MORE THAN QUALIFIED FOR THE POST! GOD HELP YOUR MYOPIC MENTALITY.

• GA MAN 7 years ago

Polical correctness does not brood war mongering my friend, I will not insult you, because you are following the crowd, i know you can do this with out insrutls

• suley 7 years ago

womaame twe

• GA MAN 7 years ago

No problem insulting my mother, because you do not know her. I am listening to your arguments, please no insults lets be real ghanaians like Kofi Anan.

• mahama is a th1ef 7 years ago

Bring it on! We are ready for tribal war!!! You stnky rat! Just a year ago, the only thing that qualified one to get a government appointment was a nothern name. Was there a tribal war then? Are Akans not Ghanaians? Use the b ...

• GA MAN 7 years ago

I am not here to fight you, and I will not insult you, thats not a real ghanaian, we bring ideas and debate on them, ghanaian do not just insult so please stop, and bring on a good argument

• Kojo Abbey 7 years ago

This have been going on for a long time staffing the hovernme t whoever isbtge president so Its no new. E dry president want his royal to make his WORK easy if only nana w/o to it repeat corruption but I know nana will delive ...

• AkanLand 7 years ago

We're the Majority, what do you expect? To ruled by minorities? Sorry not again and againg.

• NATIVE 7 years ago

Stupid GA Man. Yes the Akans have taken their country back. If don't like it go colonize the sea !
    As a GA man think far about how your political leaders, chiefs and elites can put your lands in trust for future generations ...

• GA MAN 7 years ago

No problem insulting me, I will not draw myselt to your league, just lets be civilised on the forum, we can do this without insults you know. I like you man.

• innocent 7 years ago

You are spook stupid to the nonsense degree to attack GA'S. Abuwa like you,. Goat

• Salifu Adams 7 years ago

Mr,Ga Man no nation can develop based on Tribalism.may be you have never travelled beyond your village.Mr.Asante Apeatu is qualified.What can you do for Ghana mr.Ga Man?Sad that Ghana has too many "Empty headed "people who ha ...

• Albert Johnson 7 years ago

Best choice made. I worked with Mr. David Asante-Apeatu as the first police officer to be appointed PRO at the CID Headquarters. He is a fine man, able when supported to create a positive and the desired change in the Ghana P ...

GA MAN, Zoobie- Zoobie, BB, Aponkye, Socrates, BBC news, OGYAM, NPP SENIOR CITIZEN, Will Smith, they Say they say and many other non-existent names been used by this stupid NDC man. Mr idiot, stop using different type of nam ...

Who is going fight stupid You thing war is near thigh

• Nseble Tamale 7 years ago

Ndc nkwaseafo will get heart attack and die because Nana Addo is focus, im from North but Nana Addo has shocked me, see how many Northerners in his govt, Shame unto my ndc , Nana forever

• Patrick 7 years ago

Foolish man

• Stan 7 years ago

Kwasiapayin. When taani Mahama was appointing only ntafour from his gonja homeland and number 9 people,where we're you?Akans form the largest ethnic group. Shut the fuck up and enjoy majority rule. Would kwasia se hwoa

This has nothing to do with party or president.sorry to ask where did you came from?have you read the guy's profile? with this profile my bro don't you think something is wrong with your coconut(HEAD)please please..If you bel ...

• GA MAN 7 years ago

Calling anyone does not make you wise anyway, you really think he is the only one qualified in the police service, do you not think the president should be conscious of the tribal element in our society. Tell me, you think Ak ...

• MANGO MANGO 7 years ago

YOU KNOW NOTHING.WE HAVE YOU READ THE GUY'S PROFILE.LET ME TELL YOU BEFORE GOD AND MAN,MAY GOD FORGIVE ME.I HATE THE AKANS.BUT IN THIS CASE IS QUALIFICATION.

• Akyire twa Animu twa 7 years ago

What did you say when the Kudalors,Kweteys and the Ablakwas was ministers?Try any nonsense and you will see who is the strongest in this country.How come the few minority who has no resources in their region came into power i ...

• Langa-G 7 years ago

how many people do you think has his qualification?you should've congratulate the Presi for that.please try to put tribe aside.i know where you are coming from.do you want a job done?

• Rene - london 7 years ago

TRIBAL ELEMENT? EXCUSE US ALL GHANAIANS, BUT ARE YOU THEN SAYING THAT BECAUSE OF TRIBAL "BALANCE", IF YOU WERE IN THE PRESIDENT'S POSITION, YOU WOULD HAVE GIVEN THE POST TO SOMEONE LESS QUALIFIED THAN ASANTE-APEATU, EVEN WHEN ...

• Nana will win 7 years ago

Where you able to advice John Mahama when he surround himself with northerners alone. Stupid fool.

• GA MAN 7 years ago

Iam a little surprise you know how to insult people, can you not put your point accross with out insulting anyone. I am not temptered to be like you so stop the insults and argue your points. You did not read my quote or you ...

The only thing to do to repent is to sincerely say, I'm sorry.I don't live my life regretting yesterday.I Live my life so tomorrow I won't regret today.SORRY

• GA MAN 7 years ago

Apologies accepted.

If the world had more people like you it would be a better place. You do make a difference.Thanks

• GA MAN 7 years ago

I will not tell you who, I am I worked with UNHCR, in Geneva, Switzerland, and I spoke and chatted with refugess, and there was one thing I realised, and that was all the conflicts originated from tolerating each others tribe ...

• CHAMPION ATTA 7 years ago

YES BB NANA ADDO IS NOT GOOD AT ALLLL!!!! CONSTITUTION OF GHANA CHAPTER 15,ARTICLE 202(1) READS:(1) The Inspector-General of Police shall be appointed by the President acting in consultation with the Council of State.GHANAIAN ...

• Socrates 7 years ago

Ghana due due due be amanihunu

• suley 7 years ago

sad day for ur mother kwasia twe

• Kofi. 7 years ago

Is there any psychiatric doctors in Ghana who will be willing to treat Socrates for his brain dead disease.? I will pay for

• afoko 1 7 years ago

Kofi because your mouth stint's , it has also affected your brain so you write nonsense .

• koku 7 years ago

There is nothing sad about this appointment ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

You think by continually say all these idiotic things about Nana anyone would believe you. You're only exposing your psychopathic state of mind. You really need help asap.

• Salifu Adams 7 years ago

Empty headed.Tribalism will not help.

• HON SHAMO 7 years ago

MR BB NDC, YOU ARE POURING ALL YOUR SORROW ON GHANAWEB HAHAHA, THE DEFEAT HAD SHOCKED YOU PAPA, NOW YOU HAVE A JOB ON GHANAWEB BRAVO BUT DONT GET HEART ATTACK OO HMM

• julo 7 years ago

more coke in ghana

• Koby 7 years ago

Akan people chaw papa...

• Norgbedzie, Ketu 7 years ago

I'm an Ewe but I understand Nana for appointing many Akans & few Ewes. Remember Akans include the fantes, ashantis, brongs, ahafos, nzemas, akwapems, sefwis, akyems, denkyiras, adansis, efutus,krachis, jasikans, etc. They for ...

• Ethnologist 7 years ago

@Norgbedzie, Ketu; point of clarification. We have Ahafo; this group is not a sub-group of Akan. In fact, there is no the Ahafo group. They are Ashantis. If ask anyone from that area of their ethnic identity, the person will ...

• PREMATURE FORMER PRESIDENT AKA MAHAMA 7 years ago

But its not about akan check the mans profile. The minority have blame on mahama. He should have clear the way for the northerners instead he messed up our whole institutions. Corruption there corruption there

• Kwaadede 7 years ago

Norgbedzi, This is the first time I have seen an Anlo man stating true fact about Akans. Some ignorants will tell their tribes men that Akufo Addo has appointed an Ashanti as IGP. I am afraid NDC might not be able to make a c ...

• Kofi. 7 years ago

Norgbezie Key I God bless you if we have reasonable person like you from other tribes Ghana will be blessed.Thank you for your insight

• SCHEMER 7 years ago

CONGRATS sir. Be firm and fair in executing your job please. Don't favor NPP or NDC or in short any party. Am NPP but discipline them if they break the laws. No one is above the law, including you.

• OGOE 7 years ago

Well Done Nana. Another good appointment of a highly competent person as IGP. NDC SHOULD BURY THEIR HEADS IN SHAME. THIS TIME THERE IS ROOM ONLY FOR TEAM A PLAYERS.

• BABATUNDE 7 years ago

Prez Nana Akuffo Addo, thank u for appointing this man base on merit. appointment worth noting and celebrating. Mr. Apeatu, remain a professional. May the Almighty Allah be your guide.

• Ansah Owusu - Tafo 7 years ago

Abaa !!!! Nana are Akyem the only people who voted for u?

• efo 7 years ago

Please update yourself this man is an akwapim not an akyem

• nokware 7 years ago

BACKWARDS. After 60 years of INDEPENDENCE this attitude gets GHANA no way.

• KKK USA 7 years ago

CONGRATULATIONS MY BIG BROTHER MR ASANTE APEATU YOU DESERVED THIS ONE PAAAA

• Amidini 7 years ago

Congrats Mr IGP, hope you will perform beyond reasonable doubts. You must be fair and firm

• Kwaku Gyau 7 years ago

CEPHAS ARTHUR MUST ALSO GO BOTH MEN ARE AGENTS OF NDC CRIMINALS.

• GEORGE OSEI 7 years ago

It has finished.

• CTK 7 years ago

You stand tall among all your peers,very upright, unassuming, patient, hardworking professional and trustworthy. May the Almighty grant you success in your new position.

• ooh nooo 7 years ago

Even though i am an akan . I hate how tribal we are and that is what akuffo addo has done

• Alhaji 7 years ago

Graduate nurses and biomedical scientists are still in the house since 2013 wasting human resource please do something about it so they can also contribute their quota to our nation development

• KWAKU KYERETWIE 7 years ago

PLEASE WE THE GRASSROOT SUPPORTERS OF THE NPP WANT TO ASK THIS FIRST POLICE OFFICER TO END KOFI AWOONOR REVOLUTION. THE LATE KOFI AWOONOR WANTED THE MILITARY AND THE POLICE FORCE TO BE RECRUITED AND FILLED WITH NON-AKANS TO ...

• Simon prebi 7 years ago

Nana well done this man is good person for Ghana police well done Nana

• TULA 7 years ago

All these EWE/Ayigbe with criminal minds should start changing their names because all of them including northners holding responsible positions will be cleared out ; we do not need these CROOKS in Ghana ANYMORE !!!!!!!; IF y ...

• Sekojo 7 years ago

I wish him well, good news for the service

• AZIZ TIA 7 years ago

ROT AT PUBLIC UTILITIES REGULATORY COMMISSION (PURC)

The NPP government headed by H. E. Nana Akufo-Addo must check this rot currently going on at PURC if credibility is to be restored to the regulatory process and by exte ...

• Ed 7 years ago

Well done our President for appointing a competent IGP.

• afoko 1 7 years ago

Eii more cocaine will flow. God help Ghana and our mental homes doctors.

• GHANA FIRST 7 years ago

Which council of state approved of his appointment? Nana Addo where is the rule of law? Are we now under a dictatorship? I think the NDC lawyers should take this up at the supreme court.

• Ghanafirst. 7 years ago

Pls u can help them go to court...u talk as if those there dont know wat they ar doing....hv u forgottn the pres. Himself is a lawyer....keep quit if u dnt hv beta things to say..

• maame 7 years ago

Thank you Mr President for appointing Mr Asante Apeatu as the new lGP.God bless you

• samuel azumah 7 years ago

the officer holds good records.based on our public administration history,the igp can nothing different.

• Fatima 7 years ago

Akans are supposed to dominate all state institutions due to their numbers. About 70% of the population are Akans and no one can debate that.

• nimdee2k 7 years ago

70% AKans, How did Mahama Win?

• Akyire twa Animu twa 7 years ago

How come the few minority came into power if not rigging of an election or staging a coup?

• Nana adu 7 years ago

Through rigging and atuguba

• Jj 7 years ago

Start it now kwasia

• nimdee2k 7 years ago

And what happened to the Seized Coc?

• Kojo 7 years ago

Wow!!!! Impressive appointment based on merit. Damn right Mr. Presido

• Ben 7 years ago

Congrats Mr Apeatu you deserve it

• inercycl 7 years ago

Ghanaian politics seems to be heading international standards.Where have we been the last 6 or so years.Kofi Adams, Oti bless and the Mahamas at the realm of affairs.Read the guy's CV.So impressed

• Sefwi Polo 7 years ago

Even we the people of Sefwi who has Cocoa,timbers and others are not complining but this Ewe's without nothing in their region are making too much noise.Barking all the time like a hungry dog.Spare us our ears ,please because ...

• Ras kophy 7 years ago

wao!!! what a competent president we are having.

• KKD 7 years ago

Most handsome president ever. And intelligent too.

• AZAA 7 years ago

But where is the 558 kilos of the STUFF?

• Danny Boy, Tema 7 years ago

Which of the Council of State did Akufo Addo consult? Flouting the Constitution with gross impunity. Mi9nister designate giving orders here and there, terminating appointment. What happens if their appointments are not approv ...

• Akompreko 7 years ago

COP APEATU CONGRATULATIONS. YOUR PATIENCE LIKE HE NANA ADDO IS WORTHY TO EMULATE. HOWEVER PERFORM YOUR DUTIES AS A PROFESSIONAL

• wow the best 7 years ago

Mahama so this man was there and you by passed to select that kudorlor or watever da name is as igp. Hier. God bless you Nana Addo

• Bill 7 years ago

Why not check thing before publishing, instead of confusing upper west with upper east region

• Ghanafirst. 7 years ago

War for were....my frnd mind ur words...Pres. Nana Addo is choosing competence people to work u ar thinkn abt tribalism....if u dont know wat to say shout n watch him...wat do u know..see smome talkn abt tribalism...all wat u ...

• KANAWU 7 years ago

B4 appointing him IGP did you asked him where is the missing cocain when he was director general CID

• oppong 7 years ago

THANK GOD EMPTY KUDALO IS GONE

• Omanbapa 7 years ago

Has nana forgotten paa kwasi nduom?

• kumah 7 years ago

Article 202 (1) of the 1992 Constitution : "The Inspector General of Police (IGP) shall be appointed by the President, acting in CONSULTATION with the Council of State."

There's no Council of State but there's an appointm ...

• Nana Ama 7 years ago

U guys shd stop dis tribal nonsense, all the workers in golden tulip in kumasi ar occupied by ewe n northern people, not only der alone, most of de institutions, hv u see any Ashanti complain before? even when u go der, bcoz ...

• tom 7 years ago

yes sir ooo yes sir.
    congratulations u deserve this more than any one else.

• Kaakie 7 years ago

Congrats Sir! May you serve the country with all your heart and all your strength. Be patriotic and a just man. May God help u.

• Rude Bwoy 7 years ago

I hope he will clean up the C/R police department. thier too poluted with corruption. The central regional police department is corrupt to the bone and very dubious. Some of them act like legal armer robbers.

• GHANABA GASHIKPONG 7 years ago

SHOULD ONE BE SURPRISE, THE TRIBALISYM CONTINIOUS, ANOTHER ASHANTE NAMED, SORRY FOR MOTHERLAND GHANA, WITH THIS AKAN PARTY AND THIER LEADER NWHEN WILL HE CHANGE FOR GHANA TO SOMETHING ASHANTI. HMMMMMM SOON IS 2020.

• O'melly 7 years ago

The man is "Acting IGP" for now, since the position will require the opinion of the counsel of state (whose members are yet to be selected)

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

Congress Mr David,may the good Lord lead you through as our nation have been made too much rough that the real professional and the truth Ghanaians disgust and abhors.again congress,patiece and faith pays

• kanawu 7 years ago

Congrats Snr Poyo .Sutesco is proud of you.

• kanawu 7 years ago

He was my senior at Suhum Sec Technical
    he was a discipline ,hardworking student and I am delighted that he has reached this level in his profession.
    Mr Asante Appeatu I wish you long life and sucess.Oyiwa Pinto.

• Rutical 7 years ago

Pls investigate the corrupted police officer such as cop Kofi boagye and the pass igp kudalor for looting quantum amount of money . Kofi boagye rised a fun to build police hospital in Kumasi but as off now not even a single ...

• AMATX USA 7 years ago

Hypocrite all this tribal politics must stop nd let's think about competent pple who can work to move the nation forward enemies of progress

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

Concratulation to you for the post of IGP since Mr. Kudalu is in the retier and we hope you will be the best for your appointment to help for eliminating the corruption which is not lawful and the crime in it,God bless you an ...

• Sakyibea. 7 years ago

WELL DONE NANA TO CHOOSE SUCH A HUMBLE PERSON FOR THIS PRESTIGIOUS IGP POSITION. INDEED HE AN EXPERT WITH A HUGE INTERNATIONAL. EXPOSURE.
    OUR BOSS, WE ARE ALL BEHIND YOU. YOUR TERM OF OFFICE WILL BE SUCCESFUL.

• Sly 7 years ago

He seems to be a good smart guy.

• John Ghanaba 7 years ago

Totally qualified for the job.The right choice has been made.very impressive credentials.our president, 'NKA' is super smart and more than capable.

• Nima Boy 7 years ago

Pls pls stop all those insult on social media..... Ghana Web is not your playing grounds I salute you Mr president you've made a better choice he's the best police officer good luck Mr IGP may the almighty Allah help you.

• David Anarkwah 7 years ago

Ooh I thank u God. Go away kudalor