You are here: HomeNews2017 01 24Article 503469

Ghana ranked 2nd in open defecation

Read Comments Comments (48)

• cha 7 years ago

The law must be applied

• Yaw Botah 7 years ago

Gas shit anywhere. And they call Asantes bush people.

• Kwadaso 7 years ago

Sanitary conditions in Ghana is bad because of lack of town planning and bad cultural practices.If we refuse to tackle this head on we risk becoming one large refuse dump with pockets of livable spaces.What is ailing Accra an ...

• WISE-TALK, UK 7 years ago

I pray that supper idiot ROMANO read this and waiting to read his trash,hahahahahahahaha ghana peopleeeee.

• Amugu 7 years ago

I totally agree with you.I think solving these problems will also provide employment to many Ghanaians through private companies.

• SIMPLE SOLUTION 7 years ago

ALL WE NEED TO DO IS, ARREST TWO PEOPLE, GIVE THEM PRISON SENTENCES AND THAT WILL BE THE END OF DEFECATION ESPECIALLY ON OUR BEACHES.

• KOLA, INSIDE LONDON 7 years ago

Lets see if the Npp with their numerous promises can solve this disgraceful problem. Already I learned NPP is causing confused .com among themselves going as far as McKenzie to solve defecation in Ghana..hahahahaha

Eiii N ...

• Joy 7 years ago

1st in open sewers.its a shame as a country

• kofi adu 7 years ago

wow,officially gh. has accepted this ranking. akuffo, mahama built schools,roads, hospitals. what do you have for gh?

• kululu 7 years ago

This bottom power. ghana be full of 'shit-bomb' people.Woaw

• Pelicles 7 years ago

This practice is as old as Ghana herself and as long as we have refused to grow, it will continue unabated. I blame how the foundation of our dear nation was set up. As we speak, we are building houses with "manhole" instead ...

• Naa Ayorkor Sophie 7 years ago

This is soooooo sad

• GUTTER JOURNALISM 7 years ago

So let's see what's up the sleeves of "WE HAVE THE MEN."

• Kofi Adjei 7 years ago

Mahama did his part by moving us from 1st to 2nd?

• Fur/Coat Asiedua Nketia 7 years ago

This is what happens when we have a President who doesn't understand development. Mahama thinks development is all about an interchange called Dubai and the cutting of sod for hospitals and the building of an International A ...

• manuel 7 years ago

hoooo ghanaweb,ghana is 2nd in africa without telling us
    de country dat is 1st in africa,how did we believe dis.

• HAMCHAM 7 years ago

What a shame and Disgrace! Mother Ghana, this is an embarrasment

• Kaba Tim 7 years ago

It always saddened me that my beloved people from Northern Ghana are always interested in talking big English on radio and TV and pretend to know all best for Ghana but nothing for their own people shame. And my brothers and ...

• Kofi Adjei 7 years ago

That is the fulfillment of the better Ghana agenda.

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

And these lazy lots turn to insult Ashantis,is it so difficult to dig out latrines?what does this take?shaaaame.from them you go those gov. this gov.that coasters always bragging of education,what about simple hygen?shsaaaaam ...

• endz 7 years ago

my brother live them they think speaking big english is the way to go they sit there and let ashantis take thier city now twi is the dominant language in accra hahahhahha they dont know hygiene if accra wasnt the capital i do ...

• MAAN 7 years ago

TOO MUCH EATING MORE PUPU.

• Kee 7 years ago

The first year should be devoted to building KVIP toilet facilities across each town in every constituency. The second year can take care of water supply. Thanks Nana and NPP

• AZAA 7 years ago

This is where the beautification of the zongo ministry would come to play. Come on Akufo Addo the ball is in your court.

• Atsu 7 years ago

Northerners and Gas you've proved that you have cow brain aboki and ganyo ohi3 ebo waaa . Ga people just eat Kenkey and shit all over the place instead of building shit holes ,they are working as land guards.

• Odikro 7 years ago

Watch them march to Labadi beach each day shitting in the face of the same "god of the sea" they don't want Ghanaians to disturb with drumming. I guess the gods are okay with shit but not music.

• My Opinion 7 years ago

Mr Odikro, leave the Gas alone, that's how they Feed their Sea God, with all kinds of SHIT!

• GEORGE BUSH 7 years ago

stupid Ashanti fool odikro , who told the people shiiting on the beach are all GAS let me educate you ashanti bush man accra is the capital and all sort of Ghanaian come and live there for better life so there are many no ...

• Akwasi Kyei 7 years ago

Open defaecation is NOT about Kuffour, Mahama, Nana or the Law. IT IS ABOUT INDISCIPLINE OF THE PEOPLE. The people have a responsibility to properly dispose of their waste. This is simple common sense !!

• APONKYE 7 years ago

How wrong you are, Akwasi Kyei! Self discipline is not the issue here. The point is: HOW CAN PEOPLE BE ALLOWED TO BUILD HOUSES WITHIUT TOILETS? The inability to enforce this is the beginning of the problem.

Next is our res ...

• Onipanua 7 years ago

Exactly Aponkye!!!!.How can the authorities allow houses to be built without toilets?Are we dogs to shit in the open?POLITICIANS AND THOSE CONCERNED ARE ONLY INTERESTED IN AMASSING WEALTH FOR THEMSELVES.

We allow people to build without sanitation facilities.

• Onipanua 7 years ago

Yes, all of them along the coastal towns especially in Accra.So many houses in Accra have no toilet facilities.Isn't it disgraceful?

• ABDULLAHI MOHAMMED 7 years ago

This is common in Ghana, in Kumasi, people do it even in the central market. They usually go behind their shops and do it in a plastic

• ashanti apegirl 7 years ago

In Ghana Ashantis are in the lead. They use human shit to trap snails, so for them open defecation is not an issue.

• akambila 7 years ago

we r better dan ur tribe...we hv gr8 men in our tribe wat abt u gas. we soon accra frm u gas

• ABDULLAHI MOHAMMED 7 years ago

This is common in Ghana, in Kumasi central market people usually do it and throw it in a gutter or in the rubbish. About sanitation in Ghana please forget it.In We have two ministers by name but in reality they ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    *1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy ...

• Victor Hugo 7 years ago

The authorities are to blame. If more toilets are constructed around the country, nobody will be tempted to defaecate openly. The same goes with waste bins.You buy water which are in sachets.After drinking, you find nowhere t ...

• dd 7 years ago

Yes insults Everybody knows it and nobody cares. A nation which defecates on streets is no nation. It is a shame to mankind. Without insult ,shame and punishment nothing will change. We were better in the 60s

• Ken. Mike 7 years ago

I don't know the responsibilities of the authorities of the district and municipal assemblies. All they know is to write on buildings produce permit or face demolition. They are those who should put check on those things. The ...

• YARO 7 years ago

A REALLY FAILED PRESIDENT, SHAME. ONE WONDERS WHAT HE DOES HIMSELF

• Divine 7 years ago

It is very simple to understand that persons when building a house mostly for renting purposes do not make provision for toilets and he/she is given a go ahead to build.So is the attitude of Ghanaians can't change!

• KWAAMPONG, TEMA 7 years ago

Indeed SADA money could have been utilised to build toilet facilities in the districts in the North to help alleviate this issue of open defecation with its attendant hazards. Mahama and his wicked cohorts denied the people o ...

• Kwami US 7 years ago

When you have an elite government whose foot soldiers claim they can take over from public latrines, where do you expect the public to defecate? Silly policies by violent political activists

• AZAA 7 years ago

This is where the beautification of the zongo ministry would come to play. Come on Akufo Addo the ball is in your court.

• ghanaman 7 years ago

AM WONDERING IF THESE N P P LEADERSHIP UNDERSTANDS THE IMPORTANCE TO HAVE STRONG AND ENFORCE ENVIRONMENT AND SANITATION LAWS IN GHANA, NOW THAT WE HAVE NPP IN GOVERNMENT, WE SHOULD ALL BE READY FOR MORE FILTHY AND DISEASES I ...

• Sefah-Amankwaah 7 years ago

Politicians and governments should urgently step actions to improve sanitation across the entire country by providing public as well as private toilets across the nation.