You are here: HomeNews2017 01 17Article 501786

One shot at Asantehemaa’s funeral

Read Comments Comments (45)

• Ozymandias 7 years ago

Which one be which, massa ?

• TEL:0302948484 fsconsult2012@yahoo.co 7 years ago

Study And Work In Finland & Sweden

PROVINCIAL & UNIVERSITY SCHOLARSHIP POSITIONS IN: DEGREE,MASTERS & PHD COURSES:
    1. Food Science and Engineering
    2. Ecology
    3. Power Engineering and Engineering  Thermophysics
    4. ...

• francis kwarteng 7 years ago

Why would gun firing be allowed ´when paying last respect? But the barbaric and backward Ashanti will take the laws into their hands to misbehave.

(Francis Kwarteng, Columnist Ghanaweb/Modernghana)

• k two 7 years ago

I was abt to insult you and your parents but I've stop.....I can see your parents didn't teach u manners on how to talk on public platforms....or ...u didn't take their advice bcos of arrogance and stupidity....if I wer u i w ...

• Okonkow 7 years ago

These primitive peole have already so many people to bury with this old woman.
    Ashanti Barbarism and Human rights abuse must stop now.

• Sarfo 7 years ago

You are just a fool. Which tribe doesn't fire musket at their royal funerals? Useless boy

That's the problem with some of our countrymen. A little knowledge, they spread it like something

• ME 7 years ago

Seriously. Come to think of it. Is firing at funerals our natural tradition?

• Kap 7 years ago

Off course it is. Asante nation was built on military conquest. 21 gun salutes in western countries testify

• Sarfo 7 years ago

It is part of royal funerals in almost all the tribes of Ghana

• Abongo Boy 7 years ago

You wanted something evil to comment on it but there isn't one. Shame on you.

• Giant northerner 7 years ago

Shame on Ashanti for backwardness and calling somebody a king in a Republic. Human sacrifice backward people.

• Butch 7 years ago

The dagombas were also there with their guns. Much louder than the Ashanti's

• Sarfo 7 years ago

Hahahaa, I saw the war mongers there

• Sarfo 7 years ago

Who was that ya na? Kwasea

• Abongo Boy 7 years ago

Shame on you and the company that employed you, evil mindset

• barima akyem tenet agyekum 7 years ago

Culture as the saying goes is dynamic not static. The use of live bullets at functions with cultural traces must stop.after all the essence of good governance is to protect live and property of citizens.

• Osei 7 years ago

Drinking and passing out!!!!!! 600 people
    Mmmmmm where else in Gh.

• Ana 7 years ago

Look at those primitive bare-chested Ashantis standing out there in this dusty humid cold harmattan season in Ghana.

I really do not know when the black man will know that all humans are created equal, regardless of socia ...

• Nana Bawuah 7 years ago

Mind your own business! Without Asante you would still be fighting for independence. Looking at judicial systems, creation of wealth, social formation and good governance our so called illiterate ancestors were far more advan ...

• Okonkow 7 years ago

These liars again, Nkrumah was not Ashanti. And so dont even lie that Ashanti gave us independence. Infact you people told the British not to give us independence.

Where did I state that he was an Asante?Nkrumah didn't give you anything. We Asantes are objective if something is wrong we will say so even if it affects our own. We are not blinded by political hatres like you. Asanteman wa ...

• Giant northerner 7 years ago

Thank you, Ashantis did not like independence. None of the big six was Ashanti. They wrote their own history full of lies. Evil Ashanti's with human sacrifice.

• Kap 7 years ago

What a primitive self-hating idiot! Cold at 35 C

• Sarfo 7 years ago

Another lost one. Cold humid harmattan what?

• Nancy 7 years ago

God have mercy on you, you want to copy western culture which is just full of garbage. America is the most stupid country anyone can live in. Africa is the best place on earth

• Alibaba 7 years ago

The ashanti chief is an accomplice in the crooked corrupt Swazi chief's parading of peoples young innocent girls naked to use them as Sex property and couple of years ago on one of those degrading treatment of the African gir ...

• Akua 7 years ago

Brofo paa ni..do u really have to comment ?

• Lula. Nooooo 7 years ago

OTHER COUNTRIES ARE MOVING FORWARD. SEE WHAT AFRICANS CALL CULTURE

• Yo 7 years ago

what a joke?

• BB 7 years ago

what kind of stupidity is that firing live bullet if this was from the north the media and Ghanaian will have condemned it but Ashanti is normal but remember Ghana is for all of us

• truth on Jemuary 17:2017:19:03 7 years ago

thak you God their not northerners the hold platform was going to dehumanize and demonize evereone including all muslims even the problem of Syria Yemen Libya were going to be part of it. some ll just be talking as if they f ...

• Nana b3 ba 7 years ago

Eeiii haters of ashantis... Hmmmmm. See how u are suffering just to insult us. Observers are worried.....

• Okonkow 7 years ago

We feel sorry for your primitive people. You are so barbaric for the 21 Century. Ashantis contributed to slavery and suffering of African Americans today. You alone sold more than 1 million slaves. You have no pity for anyone ...

Asantes did never work together with the colonialists, except for the Dutch! Asanteman was not created on basis of a master servant relationship. Many joined us voluntarily and conquered states were not called defeated states ...

• Okonkow 7 years ago

Here tyou go again wiht your fake history just to glorify yourselves. The best thing you did was sell a million Africans into slavery. The suffering of black people today is all down to the Ashanti and their endless desire to ...

• Akwaah 7 years ago

So sad you weren't sold. So much hate for what?

• Charles Bedel 7 years ago

This useless cultural must stop who is the Asantihemaa when will we be wish for God sake is she be the mother of Jesus Christ t
    People of Ghana have to voice about it because I no they will kill more people for ritual

• Kojo Yankee 7 years ago

I'm not Asante but our mothers are the the mothers of civilization,the original women of the planet earth ,therefore they are greater than the mother of jesu obroni who just born 2000 years ago. Leave the Caucasian culture an ...

• Sarfo 7 years ago

You are one of the lost ones. You believe in someone's culture so much you feel your own is evil. OK. Colonial mentality still dey reign here

• ezeco sam 7 years ago

I don't even understand this story, 400people pass on to where? Are they dead or drunk .hmmm Ghana

• Kobby 7 years ago

What is all this bullshit from people who should know better.

• Sarfo 7 years ago

So you only saw the negative? I've been there for two days and I have seen nothing like 400 people collapsing. You just sit somewhere and concoct stories.

• Sly 7 years ago

Are they having gun licences in order to trigger it in the public. The organisers need to be questioning by the Authority. Brainless.

• A Mawuto 7 years ago

The culture would have been nice but the gun firing had spoils every aspect of it.
    At the first place why should they be gun firing when people are paying their last respect