Youth group rejects plans to create new region from Volta

Read Comments Comments (117)

• mahama 8 years ago

listen to this 19th century jokers

• Truth 8 years ago

U have have failed from day one, send back the bribe given to you by your sponsors because if creation of another region from current volta will kill you then start preparing for your funreal.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 8 years ago

AKUFO AND INCOMPETENT KOKOFU TEAM

AKUFO's HIDDEN AGENDA

ask the Akyem mafia

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 8 years ago

Who owns those akpese-dancing stray-dog molesting miscreants calling themselves concerned volta youth ?

What makes them think that the creation of another region out of the volta region will automatically result in the die ...

• william 8 years ago

Wait and vote! When we vote you will be bound by the outcome whether you like it or not! Stop this narrow thinking!!!

• Nobleman Emmanuel 8 years ago

Voltarians need to resist any plan to split the region into 2. What is the logic for creating two regions from small region? How did Akuffo Addo and political cohorts arrived at that unwise decision? Volta Region is not 'Ko ...

• Bossman 8 years ago

Hey Ayibge people and smelly tribe . If ewes feel insecure and not ready to accept the creation of new Volta , they should packed and move to Togoland . No body will force them cos that's were they migrated from . GHANAIANS r ...

• AUTHENTIC C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

It is a pity these misguided boys had given another opportunity to these mentally jaundiced and warped Akan NPP scumbags and hoodlums of no consequence to unleash their vile and odious insults on "Ewes."

Their post is maki ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Andy,this is not the first time Togbui Gabusu said that,during Kufour regime he was doing the same thing and even said it at CEANA Convention in 2007 at the Auditorium of Ho Polytechnic,something Togbe Afede who spoke in the ...

Corney,

I am yet to be convinced that it is not a good idea, and I have given it several years thought.

Yes, it is something we from the region know so much about already. That's why those ignorant boys should not have ...

• OJO 8 years ago

Now if another region is created, won't they still belong to their PARTY, and also will the people there move to GREATER ACCRA region, I don't get it FOOL Zoobie-Zoobie.

• Mama 8 years ago

You're a big fool to insult all ewes. Do you think it all ewes who have time for this nonsense. Mind your choice of words. Instead of as to come together as one black monkeys as we are known of in the world we are here callin ...

• agbeli kaaaklo 8 years ago

the wisest statement so far

• ddk 8 years ago

Kwasia

• Afua 8 years ago

For ur information volta region is not part of Ghana it rather belong to Togo so don't insult ignorantly we are transvolta Togo land that portion of land does not belong to Ghana so respect yourself .Everyone is suggesting an ...

I think it is appropriate to refer all the ignorant fools and bigots alike who think Ewes are from Togo to this article again.

www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/features/How-Some-Ewes-Become-Part-Of-Present-Ghana-235371

• Dr. Alhaji Awuni Dauda 8 years ago

Ok. Take your article and shavel it down your arse. You can choose to bend the truth anyway you like but you can't create your own facts.

1. No ewe has ever owned cocoa farm before 1979.
    2. Prior to 1979, ewes served as f ...

What another moron with illiterate parents who has acquired some writing skills. Btw, stop pretending to be from the North with that fake moniker. You're a bloody ignorant Akan NPP supporter.

I am waiting for your garbage. ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Andy, I hope we can meet this animal calling himself Dr Alhaji Awuni Dauda to pump some sense in his coconut head,even I personally own a cocoa farm before 1979 as a result of what was shared among my siblings left by my lat ...

• Esther 8 years ago

Asovi gbemela that is what you are
    Why can't you mention those from your region
    GBEMELA

• Believe in God 8 years ago

We are separating Akans from Ewes

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Does these trokosis always have to bring Asante into their agitations? Is Volta region only for Ewe speaking people?

The agitation for Oti region is a demand the Akan people of Volta region have been demanding for because ...

• Whatever 8 years ago

You are one of the most intelligent contributors in the forum. It is the Northern part of the people of Volta region who want a separate region called Oti region. It is not Nana who wants to divide Ewes. Ewes always see every ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

First of all, it is not true that the agitation of the Oti region is demands by Akans in the region,the Akans in the region are very small,just Worawora and less than 5 villages and few villages in Kadjebi area,even Ewes in K ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Don't say crap you have no idea about. There was no agitation from anybody to divide Ashanti region especially not from the Ahafos to be separated from Ashanti region.

Do you even know that Tepa in Ashanti region and some ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

I'm not saying the people have no right to demand a new region,they have the right to demand a new region, but what me and others are saying is that we do not need a new region,that region is too small to be divided, unlike t ...

• Nunu 8 years ago

You have failed to realize that unlike the Asante region, Volta region is culturally heterogeneous. Indeed ewe speaking ends at Hohoe. Beyond Hohoe is one of the most culturally heterogeneous regions in ghana. It is made up o ...

• Nunu 8 years ago

Voltarians are not ewes but ewes are Voltarians. It is a heterogeneous regions.

• Dickson.Danquah Andrews 8 years ago

Iam a Ghanaian resident in the USA but from the Volta Region of Ghana. I think is a very good idea to split the region into two regardless of its size.for,it's very unfortunate is not everyone in the region who is an Ewe ...

• Dickson.Danquah Andrews 8 years ago

Iam a Ghanaian resident in the USA but from the Volta Region of Ghana. I think is a very good idea to split the region into two regardless of its size.for,it's very unfortunate is not everyone in the region who is an Ewe ...

• ghanani 8 years ago

I say Nana is clueless.He does not know what he is doing.I advise him to be very,very careful.

• Appepesu 8 years ago

Watch your words
    Nana we the Northern Volta people are with you all the way
    Creating a Region simply makes admission easier cooperation with other Regions continues
    Most of the houses in Accra belongs to people from other ...

• Ray 8 years ago

Not only Volta region but all the regions across Ghana. He should fix the economy which he said is broken and leave the regions as they are.He will face big fight if tries to disrespect Ghanaians on this issue. He needs to di ...

• Obournana 8 years ago

What is the basis in dividing a region with less than one million people? Ashanti is the most populated region in Ghana, why not Ashanti. This is the dumbest thing to be done by a government. So less than five hundred thousan ...

• Mawusi 8 years ago

Volta is not united and therefore it is good to divide the region for development!

• Cash 8 years ago

As a Voltarian I pray for the best and only the best for the region. I therefore, put he matter of the region in the LORD'S hand. I do however, ask the good people, including the youth, of the region to put the region about ...

• Osei Kwame 8 years ago

Well said... Youth group.. Let shortman start with my region to curtail the rowdism

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 8 years ago

It is rather preferable to abolish Volta Region and rename is as;;
    SOUTH EASTERN REGION
    Volta is a river and should, in the first place, not be a Region. Volta river starts from Southern Gold Coast Colony(now Rep. Ghan ...

It is historically clear that the Ewes do not own Volta River; it was there before they arrived:The simplest solution is to rename that region and not to split it!!!

• Ketaboy 8 years ago

My brother what is your point. Volta Region is not Volta River and does not follow the river as you can see on the map of Ghana.
    This is a diabolical plot to divide and conquer. They will dare not divide the Ashanti Region ...

My point is very clear!! What is the meaning of VOLTA, and its relation to the Ewes.

• master atsu 8 years ago

I wonder who the so call youth are... many regions will welcome the idea to break it into smaller chunks to hasten development but because these fools who have been used by politicians over and over still think of party inste ...

• Fine boy 8 years ago

This guys don't know what their talking about . when Mahama said he will create another region out of Volta if he win, where were you guys by then?? So you prefer to be one region undeveloped than to divide it and developed??

• Tee 8 years ago

Just start with Ashanti Region...tell your president

• serwaa aka Mrs Jasikan 8 years ago

We're not agitating. You are.

• Mahama Deadgoat 8 years ago

why should people entertain these imbeciles. just leave them and lets think about how to make new Ghana great. they should go the sea and get drowned, because whether they like it or yes, the region will be divided. Useless p ...

• Odikro 8 years ago

There is no group in the Volta region called Concerned Youth ... of whatever" and they could not have been speaking on behalf of anyone other than themselves. They only represent themselves for their parochial interests. Ther ...

• Sensay 8 years ago

Jean-Claude? Sounds Togolese... hmm

• Akyire twa, Animu twa! 8 years ago

did you idiots saw anything wrong about that? You can leave to Togo if you don't understand. This few minority tribe are nuisance to Ghana's development. Leave if the kitchen is getting hotter for you. Idiots! !!

• kalaanga 8 years ago

pls president Nana Addo. pls do not even try creating anotger region out of the Volta region if not we will be forced to go the Cremean way by way of secession. thanx Mr president .

• Naniama 2 8 years ago

They shld slit the Ashante and Eastern Regions or the Northen Regions first.

All over the world, countries like in the EU are forming large blocs to retain economic power but in Ghana, we keep dividing the regions instead ...

• Sam, Bern 8 years ago

It's long overdue for the region to be separated folks. The stretch among others is too long for our kits and kins to access services at HO. Beside the will be Oti Region is culturally deferent from the rest of the south.
    A ...

• Appepesu 8 years ago

Speak for your self The Northern Volta is the least developed party of the region since everything goes to the south and creating the Oti Region will give the Northern Volta equal footing as all other regions
    There is a ...

• Katakyie 8 years ago

These people will continue to lag behind in terms of development. Don't they kmow that Brong-Ahafo rdgion was carved out of Ashanti? Ignorant and tribal bigots

• Kpolu 8 years ago

This is the most tribalistic idea to come from Akuffo Addo.He should pay attention to the economy and stop divide and conquer ideas.This guy is suffering from lack of good ideas.He is talking too much about trivial ideas.Pay ...

• Teacher Ebo 8 years ago

How can one develop this country with such illiterate minds calling themselves CVY. Reading politics even in their food.

• Asem se be 8 years ago

The people who lives in that of Volta are the ones demanding a region of their own, so what the heck is this writer talking about? Asantes have not asked any government to divide our region. Inferiority complex will kill you.

• Appepesu 8 years ago

Yes the EU example you forgot to mention the various countries or blocks moved together still mentioned their identity and names
    ECOWAS is also working for cooperation and that will not earasr the identities of the countries ...

• George Abizy. Citizen of Volta Region 8 years ago

The writers of this shallow minded piece of article should do a little bit of study in basic geography, history and the 4th republican constitution. Your of Volta Region and Ashanti Region in this respect is like comparing ap ...

• JARA 8 years ago

the so call concern group , calling yourself . all of you who are writers of the so call concern voltarians are all typical Ewes. remember he is not dividing Ewes , secondly volta doesnt consituent only Ewes . Are Nkwanta , J ...

• KWEKU OMAN 8 years ago

These can't be true voltarians.is a pure ndc propagandist.You can't say you know better than the volta chiefs who made that clarion call for the creation of the Oti region.

• CD 8 years ago

Blame your chiefs not the government The chiefs from the northern Volta Region are advocating for the creation a new region.

• mohammed lssa 8 years ago

why this ndc supporters are fooling themselves, mahama said he is going to create another region in volta and name it oti ,now mahama lost the election they against that.Ashanti state was divide into two by nkruma regime . br ...

• Jones New York 8 years ago

My uncle Yaw Donkor a sub-chief of Asukawkaw in the Volta region who died in 1995 was one of the architects fighting for the creation of this new region,so folks it's not Nana Addo who wants to divide, but it's rather a dem ...

• JARA 8 years ago

this are one or two individuals around the Ewe chief ,who decided to stop the other Akan side of volta to remain deprived, sidelined, and less developed. They are not Ewes why box all of them us dividing Ewes ?. . That shd be ...

• Kwasi anthony 8 years ago

Creation of another region in volta will bring a lot of distractions and war.stupid

• Appepesu 8 years ago

The people who want the region made the request
    Stop trivializing the problem of lack off development in the northern Volta region by using Ethnic sentiment
    There are Ewes in every town , village, and City in Ghana so crea ...

• Benedictus Allupo 8 years ago

Who are these fools, Don't compare Ashanti kingdom to Volta. Osei Tutu rules over a geographical area of twi speaking ppl known as de Ashanti kingdom. Do we have such in Volta?
    Tell me, is Tirgbui Sri or Afede chief over d ...

• Appepesu 8 years ago

Stop trivializing the problem of lack off development in the northern Volta region by using Ethnic sentiment

• Benedictus Allupo 8 years ago

Who are these fools, Don't compare Ashanti kingdom to Volta. Osei Tutu rules over a geographical area of twi speaking ppl known as de Ashanti kingdom. Do we have such in Volta?
    Tell me, is Tirgbui Sri or Afede chief over d ...

• Appepesu 8 years ago

• JKMo 8 years ago

MR PRESIDENT SINCE WE ARE GOING TO ELECT MMDCES NEXT YEAR, THE SPLITTING OF THESE REGIONS ARE NOT NECESSARY. EFFECTIVE DECENTRALIZATION WILL BE ENOUGH. YOU JUST FOCUS ONE MILLION ONE CONSTITUENCY, ONE DISTRICT ONE FACTORY, FR ...

• pin 8 years ago

From aAcheapong time they have tried to dismantle the volta by taking parts away into the eastern region etc.Let there be war and a separation from ghana.

• Nunu 8 years ago

It's not about size. Asante region is culturally homogeneous. Same cannot be said of the volta region. Indeed if you know the region well you will realize that ewe speakers end at Hohoe. Beyond Hohoe is one of the culturally ...

• NATIVE 8 years ago

Inward looking fools. What has geography got to do with national developments and local governance?
    If you want to reduce poverty in the Volta Region see NADAA as god sent. Besides just by saying he wants to create a regio ...

• Appiah S 8 years ago

How can this man present such a low esteemed and shabby argument against the creation of the Oti Region.
    The Buems,Bowiris Krachis,Nkonyas,and the Tepas as well as few Akans owes no alliegence to your paramouncty as you clai ...

• Mama 8 years ago

If the people from that area wants a new region, they should go ahead and have it . Who cares

• Prosper 8 years ago

I see no reason why our ewe brothers are crying foul over this brilliant decision taking by the president H.E. Nana Akuffo Addo. Why are we politicising this move ? It's very unfortunate. We are pleading with you all to take ...

• Abdul Karim sawla 8 years ago

Thanks so much for the bold decision by the youth of volta region we the Gonjas too are not happy about that stupid ideas to make Yendi as the regional capital. Ashanti region why not dividing it making it two. Unqualify pres ...

• Oluwa 8 years ago

Divide Eastern and Ashanti first.evil

• Marcol 8 years ago

Voteran are proud of their region. no need to split.

• May Yaw 8 years ago

You guys have made yourselves mouth pieces of people in northern Volta. We completely reject your nonsense. Northern Volta is Not Ewe and will never be! Saying our population is very small does not sense since it does not c ...

• duke 8 years ago

this idea of splitting the Volta Region is not the answer to the developmental deficiency in the Region. The government must better think bringing good policies for growth

• kenneth 8 years ago

Don't try it, fix the economy as you promise we are waiting for the jobs people need jobs that is why Ghanaians voted for you

• Bishop tc 8 years ago

In as much as i aggre with the writer of this article, i also wish to draw the attention of the writer that Torgbui Sri III, Torgbe Afede are not the kings of volta rigion, we have many prominent paramount chiefs as well. No ...

How can a split in the region weaken it as the stronghold of the opposition? Can you please educate me on that. If the whole region is a stronghold then it will continue to be a stronghold and besides our elections are unlike ...

• jim 8 years ago

The Volta Region has other groups who are not ewes or ayigbes. It is time to separate the ewes from the akans in the region to foster development and thinking process. Kudos to Nana Addo.

• Afua 8 years ago

Volta Region is indivisible we shan't allow that to happen how big is volta region compare to Ashanti region he must leave us alone after all they said we are inwardlooking people we appreciate it we one family therefore can' ...

• Alberto 8 years ago

Ashanti region is also large so divide before you consider volta

• zeno 8 years ago

Division of volta land wont be accepted . Period.

• Robert 8 years ago

He should fiirst create another region in the Ashanti region which is bigger than Volta Region. Jokers

• Michael komlan 8 years ago

Please read what thèse m'y parents are saying they say ,volta région is a string vole of ndc therefore spliting it will reduce the vote margine ABAYII!! My peine stop this primitive thinking n sence

• Jehu Jnr 8 years ago

This narrow minded people have come a long way to exhibit the characters of these Ewes.
    The creation of the Oti Region is simple to bring government close to the people hence developments ..What is the problem with this exce ...

• Anthony 8 years ago

I am so disgusted about who is bringing this stupid idea of creating another 6 region. Ghana as a country does not need any region period.Instead, more districts are needed to facilitate speedy development of deprived areas.

• Paul 8 years ago

THE TRUTH BEHIND NANA'S DETERMINATION TO CREATE MORE REGIONS
    There have been suggestions, lately, to have the capital moved from Accra because of congestion. Should that happen the viable candidates are, likely, Takoradi, Ta ...

• Villager 8 years ago

Where is Port Abuja, Paul? A port should not be a conditionality for a new capital. I however agree completely with you when you mention the division of the UPPER REGION into East and West. In addition to the increase in admi ...

• Georgina Serwaa Boateng 8 years ago

Tee

Have you witness any tribal war in the Ashanti region before? At least we all speak one language!! U can't compare your Volta to Ashanti... Nkonya fighting and the rest kill yourselves who cares

• Kwaku kyeretwie 8 years ago

Ok the Ewes can stay alone but not with the Great Ajan tribes in the northern part of Volta. It is very important for such a region to eliminate hardship on the people coming down from the northern Volta to Ho for administrat ...

• Dr. Alhaji Awuni Dauda 8 years ago

Ok.
    Kwakume can take his article and shavel it down his arse. He can choose to bend the truth anyway he likes but he can't create his own facts.

1. No ewe has ever owned cocoa farm before 1979.
    2. Prior to 1979, ewes se ...

• Georgina Serwaa Boateng 8 years ago

Why you dragging Ashanti region to this and not the Northern region which is also bigger than Ashanti? What's wrong with you people or is it jealousy after all Nana Addo is not an Ashanti, grow up

• hor 8 years ago

It can be split into three separate regions ie. Northern, Central and Southern. Realignment whether for political or tribal reasons should be considered if that is what will ensure peace.

• kwame - Buem 8 years ago

Not all pole from the Volta are ewes.... We up North want our own Region. We have been neglected for far too long. " WE WANT OUR OWN REGION"

• Skin Pain 8 years ago

Thanks to Nana for the idea of creating Oti region out of Volta. The people in this part of the region( northern volta) have been yearning for this for a very long time. Their reason is simple, they have been marginalised in ...

• Fo Johnny 8 years ago

Idiots and morons Ghanaians, very sad that you are insulting each other with tribalism words. Please grow up and talk like civilised people with brains not with hatred towards your fellow Ghanaians . Creating new regions it' ...

• kingsley 8 years ago

Dividing the region is very positive move ,we from the north strongly suupport the move,

• United Ghana 8 years ago

Keep on dreaming, the new region out of voltage region will never happened, simple reason being Ndc will not support it. You folks should remember when rawlings tried to create a new region out of gojoland and he failed miser ...

• kingsley 8 years ago

To us ,a light is coming to the northern Volta .Over the president laudable initiative of splitting the region into two,this will bring massive devolpment to us and Moreover reduce the number of hours one has to travel to ho ...

• Citizen 8 years ago

Jean-Claude Koku Amenyaglo,
    Be objective, is not good when we start condeming and making wild statements.
    dividing a region has nothing to do with culture, with once background etc
    it does not reduce the a kingdom.
    it sa ...

• Citizen 8 years ago

What are talking about Dela and cluade
    am from Volta but not an ewe...
    where is tribalism in creation of region.
    for yur inform Torbge Afede is not King of Volta Region.
    Be positive Leaders
    I wiil like to attend yur meet ...

• ashes 8 years ago

Look at this madness. Who told you creating a region will weaken volta region. Are the electorates not Ghanaians. You can burn in hell, the region will be created by hook or crook. Madness

• IGWE FELIX GRANT BEAUTIFUL 8 years ago

Voltarians should rise up in unison and reject the idea of creating a Region out of the Volta Region.The size of Volta Region does not merit a Region to be created out of it.The NPP should go and create a Region out the Ashan ...

• Hafad 8 years ago

Splitting Volta Region will not bring any development as purported.
    Upper East and West are still ranked among poorest regions even though their split came as a result of this same reason.
    Enough is enough Voltarians had be ...

• Kweku Osei Tutu 8 years ago

PETITION AGAINST THE SPLIT OF VOLTA REGION-REJOINDER. BY KWAKU OSEITUTU
    I was very much surprise when I read a press release on the above mentioned subject by a group claiming to be concern citizens of Volta. But their conce ...

• Gomido 8 years ago

If Akufo-Addo wants to create new regions in Ghana for rapid development, I advise him to start from his Eastern and Ashanti regions first and leave Volta region alone. He can create even 10 new regions from his two world ban ...

• B.L.K. 8 years ago

You the so called youth groups are not the entire Ghanaians. Ghanaians voted for the NPP based on what was said during the campaign. If you Volta youth are not interested fine, but don't generalize it. Perhaps, you're not awa ...