You are here: HomeNews2017 01 14Article 500944

Think of affordable houses instead of private homes for fmr. Presidents – Pratt to gov’t

Read Comments Comments (49)

• Concerned 7 years ago

Only president and vice should be given accommodation.
    Serving ministers should pay for own accommodation. No official should be given state property

• Rene -london 7 years ago

FOR THE VERY FIRST TIME IN MY LIFE, I AM SEEING MYSELF AGREEING WITH MR. KWESI PRATT JNR!

INARGUABLY, THE REMUNERATION PACKAGE FOR THE SO-CALLED ARTICLE 71 OFFICE HOLDERS, IS BY FAR ENOUGH COMPARED TO THE AVERAGE WORKING ...

• ok 7 years ago

you know the reason why the guy (pratt) is writing something senseable now? he has taken the advice of his doctor to take his medicine

• MR OBJECTIVE 7 years ago

VERY SOON or already KWESI PRATT WILL TAKE COVER IN NANA ADDO government.A VERY SHAMELESS MAN IN NATURE.

• CORNEY 7 years ago

There is no sense in what he said,it is senseless to say they should have the former presidents housed in affordable houses,very stupid,former presidents need to be respected,we can't have them living with crowds as ordinary ...

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

As far as I'm aware Canada, United States do not award private homes to out going haeds of states. Infact, obama according to my sources in the capitol Hill area in Washington d.c. Obama and his family are renting a home. Unt ...

• Judas 7 years ago

Stupid Kwasi Pratt he was the forefront of demonstrations when president Kuffour started building all these affordable housing around the country. Since when did he see the light. Foolish man. Enemy of progress. Stomach poli ...

• Jacks 7 years ago

Please, this is not sustainable. Being president should be a motivation to SERVE and not to seek for "pecks". Even developed countries with far better economy are not providing accommodation to ex-president.

• What 7 years ago

Tell that to Jerry as well Pratt

• K Quarter Awutu S 7 years ago

Am glad affordable housing is becoming a national debate.
    Ghana web. Thank you for giving Ghanaians a forum to help in nation building.

• Moses 7 years ago

THIS IDIOT KWESI PRATT TALK TOO MUCH ..... ABHAAA

• Garibaldi 7 years ago

This has been my thought which I express in silence. One should not become a president of Ghana because of what they would gain after end of term.

• £earn_$martphones_Repairing 7 years ago

January is almost gone. Are you yet to start something? Still confused about what investment options to choose for the year to maintain steady cash flow? Think about it -everyday, both the employed and the idle are hooked to ...

• Pops 7 years ago

ANOTHER PRATTISH IDIEA. YOU HAVE LOST YOUR WAY. NANA ADDO NOW HAS BECOME THE PRESIDENT, YOU FAILED IN YOUR AIM TO STOP HIM. YOU HAVE NO POWERS TO STOP TO STOP HIM. HATE FOR NANA ADDO CANT HELP YOU.

• Chief amankwa 7 years ago

Arest them and probe.them instead
    Not.pamper them
    The.people.get.what
    African leaders.can.only deliver mass poverty..fools.
    Ignore typo error ..I know

• Owura 7 years ago

This is true, Nana Addo need to scrap this package of former presidents. There is nowhere in western to be given EC president home. Once your term ends you pack your things and go example UK.

• NPP-bought-Government-property-in-200 7 years ago

THIS AKAN NPP is full of Lunatics, imbiciles, bigotism, partisanship, nepotism, tribalism, over-rated, qualification-buyers, cocaine-dealers, fraudster, con artist, visa connection,old-maggot-zombies all the above is associat ...

• Nana Ama 7 years ago

You should have lecture your Corupt NDC guys.

• Fine boy 7 years ago

Pratt I totally agree with you.. There no sense in taking ordinary taxpayers money to build houses for ex president who can build their own houses .

• xxxxxxxxxx 7 years ago

black maGIC GHAINAN SPRITUALIST FROM INDIAN O244908420 COME, AND SEE WONDERS
    BLACK POWER FOR CHANTING BLACK MAGIC MONEY RITUALS
    HINDI KAVACHA POWERS
    CHURCH POWERS POSITION HEAL SATAN AND YOUR AIDS WILL LOST FROM YOUR ...

• anna 7 years ago

eeeiiiii ur back from ur rat hole shamme u said i know Nana Addo for a lng and he cant be a president for his divisive behaviour now what aboa how much were u paid to spew that rubbish

• Dickson 7 years ago

You're right, you poor African countries pretend to be wealthy ag the expense of the tax payers. Why can't you ministers stay in ur own homes. Why should we tax payers pay for the cost of building house for every ex presid ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

Pratt shut up!

• Mega pixel 7 years ago

Paa Kwesi ...
    I support you fully.
    The law should even allow president to pay tax.
    How do you allow kaya ye to pay tax and a whole president avoiding tax.
    God help us

• Yussif 7 years ago

It's only when the Npp comes to power that this good for nothing old journalist finds his brains and begin to make sense,where was Pratt when the request was made?hes part of the NDC,you can't blow hot and cold air,not only i ...

• JJ 7 years ago

Kwesi Pratt is a fool. Why didn't he advise the previous government?

• Jacks 7 years ago

Did I read right? Well, it's good that we are being objective now. I guess the call for us to be responsible citizens is sinking in.

• Alex London 7 years ago

The state should provide 24/7 security for ex-presidents and houses

• Kwaku Ghana 7 years ago

I do agree with mr .Pratt.Since Presidents A:Mills,and Kuffour did not get a house each from President Mahama,no other President should be given a house by the State.All these Presidents had houses before becoming Presidents.

• amma ba kwadwo 7 years ago

Pratt i am with you and hope Nana Addo will understand your stand,May God bless you

• kwame 7 years ago

Tell mahama

• TWEAA dc 7 years ago

'WHAN NIE'?.....KWASI PRATT?

• Tukpleza 7 years ago

Kwesi Pratt is right in saying that providing private residences for ex-presidents should be scrapped. It is absolute nonsense to continue use state funds to provide such accommodation for past presidents. Their pension and ...

• JAILO 7 years ago

EI HHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

NA YOU DEY THERE

• TOM MBOYA 7 years ago

This idiot has surfaced after he suddenly vanished from Peace fm. This no. 1 stomach politician is also the foremost professional hypocrite you can find in West Africa. Shaaaalo. Shut up you twit and m.......f...er.

• SALIFU Acheampong 7 years ago

How about the Mansion built for you in Mampong by Jospong of Zoomlion which cost $1.2m? Is it because the $1billion contract you secured for from the then Local Government Minister Julius Debrah?
    You think we don't know all ...

• Evans A 7 years ago

for the first i support this man 100%, All these laws must be scrapped, bcos if a teacher, petty trader and so on can build their houses then how much more a whole president who buys nothing from hair to toe

• OBINNA 7 years ago

WHICH OF THE RICH & CIVILISED COUNTRIES PROVIDE ACCOMMODATIONS FOR EX-PRIME MINISTERS AND EX-PRESIDENTS? THE IRONY IS THAT WE ARE A POOR COUNTRY AND WE ARE CREATING A BURDEN ON OURSELVES WITH THIS PROMISE. DO WE OWE THESE EX- ...

• KOGYAM58 7 years ago

ASK YOUR NDC PEOPLEWHAT THEY DID TO TAMPER THE COMMISSION ON PRESIDENTS EMOLUMENTS. IT ONLY RECOMMENDED 40PERCENT HOUSING ALLOWANCE TO BE PAID TO FORMER PRESIDENTS BUT NDC USED ITS MAJORITY TO OVERTURN IT AND INSERTED A HOUS ...

• Nana Yala LD 7 years ago

Mahama has stollen money from Ghanaians to build two personal homes so why is he still requesting for another house from Ghanaians? He even has a five star hotel in Dubai so what else ? Mahama has had free education. Free sc ...

• Saporowaro 7 years ago

Listen to that idiot, Mahama shoe shine boy, your job have come to the end.

• Ama 7 years ago

Camelion Bratt has already changed sides.. oh sorry Pratt..

• Kwabena 7 years ago

When did you Pratt thought this? Hypocrite!

• Mununkum 7 years ago

You are absolutely right, Mr. Pratt. The provision of residence for outgoing presidents must be scrapped. It is unfair and unjust for the state to give houses to presidents after their tenure of office.

It is beyond compr ...

• Connie 7 years ago

Women want money from united state

• G Boy 7 years ago

I like this sense of patriotism, although u lost that in the latter part of the previous administration.

• trapp 7 years ago

Kwasi on this issue, I do agree with you to the hilt. Drum it hard from now on and this is what I expect to hear from you. Well said.

• ABENYE 7 years ago

OOOO today you have MADE MY DAU,,,,, YOU HARDLY SPEAK THE TRUTH, BUT TODAY, I THINK,YOU HAVE SAID IT ALL. KUDOS!!!!!

• Kwaku kyeretwie 7 years ago

Kuffour started to build affordable houses for the people but Kwesi Pratt govt of NDC never continue the housing project. Mahama went for loans to build STX houses through China but instead he exchanged that with Brazil plan ...