You are here: HomeNews2017 01 10Article 499889

Huge pay, ex-gratia for MPs

Read Comments Comments (19)

• sam 7 years ago

In the USA,the average salary of a doctor is more than a senator/congressman right!!!!.
    In Ghana this MPs earn more than 3 times what an average doctor gets. God have mercy on the laborer.
    What a system.

• worldwatch 7 years ago

That is why healthcare in America is so expensive that so many americans cannot afford it.The poor die needlessly in America because of the expensive medical care there.

• Chief 7 years ago

Ex gratia is backdoor legitimization of create and share. Scratch my back I scratch your back. The president approves of parliament and parliament approves of the president.
    The key question is 'How many Ghanaians make i ...

• LUCKY 7 years ago

IS HE NOT THESAME PRESIDENT WHO SAID SALARY ARREARS SHOULD BE THREE MONTHS

• patriot 7 years ago

So the speaker of parliament is paid more than the president and yet the present speaker Prof[?]Ocquaye had the audacity to tell Ghanaians that MPS and minsters must be paid more than they receive now.I rest my comment.

It is high time the civil and public servants stand up against the greed, the cheat and corrupt practises of the polical class. The political class should know that one day this would backfire.

• Omanhene 7 years ago

(1) How the hell do we have such a "crocked and corrupt system in Ghana?"

(2) Why should each president set up his own damn corrupt commission to determine salaries and pensions for MPs, presidents and others under the so ...

• De Wise 7 years ago

i am believing that our taxes are only meant for politicians

• KAY 7 years ago

Part time workers of the Electoral Commission ie. Returning Officers, Deputy Returning Officers, Presiding Officers (POs) Verification Officers (VOs) Name List Officers (NLOs) and the Ballot Issuers have not been paid their p ...

• Abdul-Latif 7 years ago

So at the end the politicians make it appear as if is token given to the ordinary worker that blots the wage bill.

• Obroni 7 years ago

Nonsense, nobody is forcing anybody to be an MP. MPs have been paid for serving as MP why any other payment? Presidents ex gratis, houses cares same unnecessary greed. You could all have chosen to stay out of politics. Politi ...

• Abdul-Latif 7 years ago

For this no minority or majority, they are all one. This african for u instead of serving they are robbing. Greedy politicians.

• Ckk 7 years ago

Why this nonsense n workers are quite on it. Workers shd start the agitation to earn exgratia n improved salaries. Article 71 holders are not the only people building Ghana. That is why both parties(NDC n NPP) do not fight i ...

• Ali 7 years ago

OOh Ghana and her pple.

I am short of words...

• geo 7 years ago

Its unfortunate the politician do not care about productivity. Soon the doctors will leave and their offices ( in lecture halls, hospital) will be occupied by non professionals for the meagre salary

• Dr 7 years ago

Seriously.
    No wonder the young doctors are leaving and the patriots who stayed are regretting.

When they politicians get sick they go abroad for treatment.
    N mess up the system for the poor man to die .. Is bad. I know ...

• BurgerDee 7 years ago

Are we not been cheated as workers,it is time we get Arab spring here,shame unto our parliamentarian.Where are the soldiers

• Nii Nmai, Dallas,TX, U. S. A 7 years ago

Now you will understand why I call these people leeches and scavengers.

• Ray 7 years ago

This is what the media need to talk about,Where is Ken Agyapong? Ghanaians should know by now this politicians are stomach politicians. In this case NDC and NPP both agree,this is the only time they agree and none will cough, ...