You are here: HomeNews2017 01 10Article 499801

Government rejects Mahama’s request to keep official residence

Read Comments Comments (119)

• BB 7 years ago

Start the fight against corruption now. The building is an official one and must be used as such.

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

Ghanaians are angry and awake. Nana Addo should not take that bait, otherwise the youth of this country will descend on his government.

• GHANA IS RICH 7 years ago

***"State coffers are not the spoils for victorious political parties. I promise to protect the public purse". *** President Addo Danquah Akuffo Addo***

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

The Spinning continues.... even after Jake's death.
    Wahala, Akwaaba

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

.....will not go out of State hands;
    So says the Powers that Be.

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

NANA AKUFFU ADDO'S LEGACY 8YRS: PLS, MAINTAIN THE NAME FLAGSTAFF HOUSE
    1. MOVE THE CAPITAL AWAY FROM DIRTY ACCRA. 2. WE NEED STREET NAMES, NUMBERED BUILDINGS, VERTICAL AND HORIZONTAL STREETS AND POSTAL CODES FOR ALL CONSTIT ...

• ...AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Mahama's request is a ploy to court public sympathy. He is creating the impression that he has not amassed wealth whilst in office. The guy is a crook.

• OBAA YAA 7 years ago

Why resettlement of ex-president has become an issue?
    I thought it ceased when NDC failed to resettle KU4 after his presidency.
    JDM wanting or requesting to keep a residence assigned to him while he was vice president is w ...

• Socrates 7 years ago

Go to hell thief

• Bitter Truth Pill 7 years ago

Let us for the sake of argument that we are a nation of homeless Presidential candidates. What is wrong with going back to the housing market with $2000 a month in your pocket to shop for rented accommodation. That would get ...

• Adjah 7 years ago

Nana Addo better start listening to the people instead of his political friends other wise NPP will be booted out in 4 years. Do not reward thieves fight corruption. If not then what is the difference between Woyome getting a ...

• AYITEY SUDAN (Ga Mantse ni Onaapo) 7 years ago

IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A TERRIBLE DISASTER FOR NANA TO LET THE CORRUPT MAHAMA CORRUPT HIM. NANA HAS NOTHING TO LOSE APPLYING A STRICT RULE BUT HAD SOMETHING TO LOSE BIG GIVING THE ESTATE TO MAHAMA.

• Kanawu 7 years ago

FIGHTING CORRUPTION ON DAY 1. Very good

• Amidini 7 years ago

If you live in a glass house you don't throw stones. We re watching them (npp)

• Justice 7 years ago

Outfit for first day in office not good at ll
    Bawumia was perfect.
    Nana please check what you wear. All Ghanaians love you.

• Ogyam 7 years ago

Come and see, even in US Banks , jeans, shorts, t-shirts are worn.
    Disabuse your mind of this strict dress code.
    In a hot weather at Nana's investiture, some people wore suits with ties and sweated profusely. Are we okay?

• Kukua 7 years ago

Don't mind those ignorant fools.Suits should be banned in that 'scorchy' Ghana.

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

SUIT N TIE IS NT OUR TRADITIONAL FORMAL WEAR. WE ALSO HAVE ISSUES WITH THE HOT WEATHER. IF U WANT TO DRESS SUIT N TIE FINE. BUT IN GH I DONT THINK ITS REQUIRED. HOWEVER, IF U GO OVERSEAS TO WHITEMAN CONTRY THEN U ARE OBLIGATE ...

• Emma 7 years ago

Why ?, when JDM was dashing houses and cars to idiots to insult his opponents, didn't he know that he would have to commot from his official residence one day ?. He should go and take the house he gave to Akua Donkor back an ...

• Honestina 7 years ago

Why are you saying? Was Nana wearing bad attire? Any time I see the new president on Ghaweb he is well dressed

• KO 7 years ago

He can get a house but not the cantonment, official residence for VP. If we give in to such requests, one day somebody will request for the flagstaff house.

• Gary 7 years ago

Affordable housing Affordable housing please.
    Nana Affordable housing for Ghanaians please. Thank you

• Honestina 7 years ago

Good comment

• Mahama Deadgoat 7 years ago

you make my day, right on point

• Member 7 years ago

President Mahama was the champion of infrastructure development. So where is the house's he built for past Presidents

• Avitor 7 years ago

Hell with the so called Green Book which was a testimony of the suffering of the average Ghanaian. The babies with sharp teeth can now complete their University theses with the Green Book as their major reference work and the ...

• Rockefeller 7 years ago

Good job done. The fight against corruption must be hesitated,hence the rejection justified the confidence the people of Ghana have reposed in you.Having said that , all of us have resolved to fight against this very canker ...

Sorry must not be.tnx

• Lawrence 7 years ago

THIS IS NOT JUST THE DECISION OF NPP BUT THE ENTIRE COUNTRY. GHANA SAYS NO TO JM's REQUEST TO KEEP THE STATE PROPERTY.

• BOB. 7 years ago

You denied former President Rawlings his privileges, so, it not a news to us. Go ahead and deny Mahama too.

• Adjah 7 years ago

Yes please get your facts right it was JJ who started all the government property grabbing. All civil servants have the same housing problem after retirement if you fix economy then houses will be affordable. Build house for ...

• David-USA 7 years ago

Bob,put your thinking cap on. That is a State property and should,and must be preserved as such.He can be housed somewhere else.Put partisan politics aside and let us apply the laws of the land irrespective of who you are. Th ...

• Evans Dzamefe 7 years ago

I love to read you candid, unbiased opinions. Please continue. We need such balanced ideas.

• Selfless Nkrumah 7 years ago

Jake took one of the State Bungalows but could not live in it, rather God gave him a bigger accommodation at Awodome where he's the master Landlord, All dubious acquisition of landed property left behind by Kwame Nkrumah's go ...

• Obaatanpa 7 years ago

That is not fair... Rawlings must also quit his Ridge bungalow, Kufuor must pay for the renovation and refurbishment of his personal residence..... we live to see!!!

• No Nonsense 7 years ago

You are FOOL. Understand that the purpose of leadership is to improve the system and correct wrongdoings, not to repeat them.

• Yakubu 7 years ago

"The letter is fake, but the content is true"!!! What kind of journalism is this????

• Papa 7 years ago

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

• Fayol 7 years ago

This Reply letter is fake and I wonder how people cannot get details right. How can the referencing be done in pen ink but the signature can not appear. I believe this is a scanned document. Just look at the referencing numbe ...

• Simon prebi 7 years ago

Thank you Nana this is what we want you to work change is here

• ONE GHANA 7 years ago

RATHER DISGRACEFUL POSTURE OF NANA ADDO'S GOVERNMENT. ALL DIE BE DIE INDEED!

I must admit if this very decision is turn to be nothing but the truth,that in itself would send a strong signal to those who intend to circumvent the laws of this country for their parochial interest. However,for once let's ...

• k ayi 7 years ago

is this letter plagiarized?

• Bytheway 7 years ago

Now we can find out the skeletons hidden in closets there

• Manchester 7 years ago

Please stop this childish behavior Mr. President. You are just exposing yourself as a corrupt leader.

• Naa 7 years ago

That thing called house is not up to standard. And those POOR minds are sreaming their head off saying no. My hometown house is more classy that that house.

• Georgina kwaw 7 years ago

Bravo. U did not let the dead goat ex president turn u into a bull dog. 100% for this test. Wait for the next one. U are a wise president dobnt let sir john pressurise into ianyrhing.. One day when he becomes the president ...

• Bawa 7 years ago

Why will you refuse to vacate a house that was vacated by 3 veeps before you. This beneath your status Mahama.

• Cee Usa 7 years ago

What about Kuffour useing the states money to renovate his residence

• ODA 7 years ago

Yes thats the difference. Many of the presidents and ministers loots to decorate their homes and own more. Ask asiedu nketia et al but not a state property which officiating ministers and presidents are supposed to use.

• Kwaku 7 years ago

Plx Cee...all they ar sayin is dat particular house belongs too veeps, so he can't demand it as his personal resident BUT will be provided a new one as the CONSTITUTION demands

• Akhnaten 3 7 years ago

The law of karma is still in effect it will be your turn next. Idiotic vindictive party will surely reap what they're sowing today.

• God Father 7 years ago

Mahama bought a house for Akua Donkor why can't he buy one for him self. Indeed Mahama is wicked.

Nana please we are Watching you. We voted for you just to change corrupt practise like what Mahama is doing. He came t ...

• PHOTOSY 7 years ago

it would be ridiculous if Government had heeded to this ridiculous request. I am not a fan of Akuffo Addo for only one reason only, been my choice against Kuffour in their primaries when he was 56 years old and conceeding to ...

• market woman 7 years ago

why does he want to own a property that has been passed on from our ancestors. Rumours are that he has purchased a has in Dubai; can't he conveniently afford one in Ghana. Please no goernment property should be sold to any po ...

• BUB 7 years ago

Great work done. This is a pass of the litmus test.

Its common sense that a JSS boy would even deduce that we dont buy buildings designated for public office. Its sets bad precedence to future ministers and Presidents. Who ...

The outgoing President points at and takes what he thinks fit him. That is a fact.

• AZiz 7 years ago

then let him point the flag staff or even jubilie house so we can build another as a country.

is that how to run a country

• PRONTO 7 years ago

Ghana demands Mahama vacates, not steal, vacates the state asset within the next 24hours.
    Bawumia should move to Australia Hse, permanent residence being constructed at Switchback road, etc, etc.
    Who gave Maham the authori ...

• KOJO MENSAH 7 years ago

Please Mahama quit honourably to safe your image.

• Gerald Quayson 7 years ago

I heard of flagstaff house. Yes, one day it could be me who will request for that. And if i request that, what will happen?
    Those on top, please and please open your eye

• SAMUEL AGBEVI 7 years ago

8 YEARS AFTER LEAVING OFFICE, THE EVIL JDM AND ATTA MILLS REFUSED TO GIVE HIM A PLACE TO LIVE BUT RENOVATED JERRY RAWLINGS' HOUSE FOR HIM. NOW THIS SAME EVIL MAHAMA WANTS TO KEEP HIS OFFICIAL HOUSE. NOWAY.

• Kwabla 7 years ago

We don't have to be that vindictive. JM served Ghana diligently as the first gentleman of the land. Let us give it to him, fro what goes around comes around.

• Ali 7 years ago

So tell us that Mps and minsiters /vice presidents who used state house actually moved or were suppose to move because they didnt really serve Ghana diligently.

Lets be wise and constructive for the progress of our own all ...

• OYIWA 7 years ago

HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN WHAT THE GA YOUTH DID TO KUFFOUR WHEN HE WANTED AUSTRAILA HOUSE FOR HIS OFFICE? GA YOUTH STAGED A DEMO AGAINST IT LED BY DERRICK ADJEI OF THE NDC PARTY. VICTOR SMITH AND CO. ALSO TOLD KUFFUOR HE CAANOT CHOO ...

• Newest 7 years ago

Maybe he has buried juju in de house. So he doesn't want to live there

• Felibaby 7 years ago

Who cares.....Mahaama should move to his village and i guess they will reject him too . shameless people?All what NDC people knows is wasting money anyhow.....buying houses for other people,you couldn't think of buying house ...

• Alasah Amidu GERMANY 7 years ago

Iam very surprised àbout sir john, if care is not taken, one day an x president will be demanding to take the flagstaf house as his exgria

• WIND 7 years ago

!!!!

• FiFi 7 years ago

This is not fighting corruption, this is stupidity. Ghanaians show some respect. Mahama is our former President for heaven sake. Things that we cannot say to our Parents, we think because He is a public servant we can say any ...

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

Wise up Fifi, We're all citizens and leading the country doesn't make him anymore a citizen than others. That's his citizenry contribution. Honorable contribution but that's it. Respect every citizen sir!

• Nana Boateng -London 7 years ago

When you are chewing the fingers of the monkey you should have look at your own fingers.That is the beauty of politics, you loose power you loose choice. The residents should be for the vice in power not the previous if is wi ...

• Akboat 7 years ago

Nana has started well for refusing mahama what he prefers.Ghana is not a family property.Discipline is needed.

• Alice Kyei 7 years ago

Why are sources within government leaking information to Manasseh Azure Awuni he's not a credible journalist.

• THE PEOPLE SAY NO 7 years ago

THE TRUE TEST OF THE FIGHT AGAINST CORRUPTION AND INJUSTICE IS NOW. JDM MUST VACATE THE RESIDENCE OR WE MEMBERS OF COALITION AGAINST PROPERTY GRABBING 'CAPG" WILL HIT THE STREET

• kar 7 years ago

he'll never think far

• Sam 7 years ago

Well done Nana

• Grid 7 years ago

Now we can see his true color.Only in Africa do former presidents demand this kind of nonsense. Obama like other presidents buy their own homes.

• Isaac 7 years ago

Dwarf Nana monkey face take the official resident from Rawlings too idiot

• akwasi Agyei, adenta 7 years ago

As a natîon we should handle this issue very dispassionately as a further cup in our democratic credentials. It is prudent to find Pres Mahama a temporary accommodation pending his settlement in a permanent place. He is cur ...

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

You don't understand democratic government. Google it :-)

Ghanaman u could do well to educate me on democratic governance as by measure I am ignorant.

Ghanaman u could do well to educate me on democratic governance as by your measure I am ignorant.

• Kojo B 7 years ago

Good one there. We will settle Kufour's house first. And after 8 years we settle Mahama's.

• Ana 7 years ago

These fucking Ghanaian leaders are hoodwinking Ghanaians.
    I wouldn't be surprised to know they are building that fucking PEPENI a new house like they did for fucking Rawlings.

Our fucking leaders our taking us for Fools.

• kotoua Selira 7 years ago

This is a man who served the country and worked tirelessly to make Ghana a better place for us and we cannot do him a favor like this? Shame on us and our government

• Mariam k 7 years ago

No no no point of correction mahama did not served de country he only came to steal,killed and destroy.if u want get him a room in ur father's compound or the house he give to akou donko

• Mariam k 7 years ago

No no no point of correction mahama did not served de country he only came to steal,killed and destroy.if u want get him a room in ur father's compound or the house he give to akou donko

STOP THE LOOT THAT KEEP ON LOOTING. The rapping of Ghana has to cease at some point. People just can't take what they choose. Even affluent America doesn't rain these luxuries on its ex_presidents.

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

"Official Government Use Only", Why is he failing to understand these simple words.

• ADANKO 7 years ago

LET US FOLLOW LAID DOWN RULES AND THEN NOBOBY WILL FIND IT DIFFICULT TO IMPLEMENT WHAT HAS BEEN LAID DOWN!

• Kwaku 7 years ago

If is x true HE came to serv the country, ma question is do people hav de mandate to ask for what dey want afta servn their masters???? Why x de President settin dix deadly trap 4 de new administration??

• nana addo 7 years ago

It is now very clear where your bread is being buttered.
    With time you will get to know your Npp friends better.

• Abdulai Mahamadu 7 years ago

Whether government approves or rejects John Dramani Mahama's request using State Bangalo ,it is the responsibility of the State to house the gentleman. But my warning and not an advice is that, everything you do in excess of ...

• mark adams 7 years ago

this is a big disgrace we know the wife's house and others.he just want to take everything the evil man does follow them

• EKUA 7 years ago

Journalists LOVE sensationalism!!!! Why embarrass the out-going government? It is a constitutional right for former Presidents to be appropriately housed by the prevailing government. So what's the beef?

• Kwaku 7 years ago

The BEEF is ex president dnt take what belongs to de state..specifically what was used by thier pre-decessors & supposed to be occupied by de current veep

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

Ekua, have you read the Ghanaian constitution? Kindly quote where you read this please.

• Balobbo canada boy 7 years ago

This guy was dumb not to build himself and his family a mansion in the affluent neighborhoods of accra ghana. Shit i guess it's too late now. How could Ghanaians be so cheap what is a fucking bungalow for our former president ...

• King 7 years ago

Akuffo Addo will fail in government trust me
    This is a basic test for him,let see how it's goes because he will listen to those illiterate in NPP and act accordingly NPP fooooools

• Kalim Baaba 7 years ago

Mr king, who are u to be trust,and to hell is the wide hole TEST of ur poor mother which has failed every penis!ur only an Ewe fool on a pay roll,BUT dear,the AKANS HAVE T-A-K-E-N their COUNTRY BACK,so go look for job as a Ki ...

• ERIC 7 years ago

WHO IS THIS MAHAMA AFTER STEALING FROM POOR GHANAIANS ? WOABODAM.

• Kalim Baaba 7 years ago

IMPOSSIBLE go ask the corrupt JUDGE kpegah!

• TIME WILL TELL 7 years ago

BECAUSE OF PROBE THAT HE IWN NO ASSETS IN ACCRA. MAHAMA IS A LIAR. EAST AND WEST LEGON MAHAMA HAS MORE THAN 37 HOUSES YES

• 0554892108 7 years ago

BECOME A FLIGHT ATTENDANT(AIR HOSTESS) WITH A MAJOR AIRLINE IN THE WORLD, WORK IN FLIGHT AS YOU FLY TO DESTINATIONS AND GET PAID.

Applicants will receive admission from our partner school in Canada on protocol for the flig ...

• Afua 7 years ago

I am curious. Was President Mahama in Parliament in 1992-96? That group requested and were allowed to buy MP flats they occupied at Sakumono and since then there are no official residents for sitting MPs. That Parliament had ...

Fyi sister Afua, JDM entered parliament in Jan 1997 and exited in 2008.

• Ali 7 years ago

Sack him from the house, Mahama the thief .You and your family wants to take everything why?Lordina be careful, you are behind all these things

• Koo 7 years ago

Good useless greedy Mahama.

• Noah Harrison 7 years ago

Upon all the stealing from Ghanaians u still want to have a bungalow belonging to government officials. Go and live in the hotels in Dubai. Your time is up Mr Former president.

• Paa kwesi 7 years ago

Which is cheaper, allowing him to keep his current resident or building Mahama a new house.

• Adus 7 years ago

Wonderful.Thank you president for rejecting Mahama's request. Such unlawful and disgraceful attitude should not be tolerated at all in Akuffo Addo goverment. Well done government for taking that decision

• Knockout 7 years ago

Will be done to you

• TRC; BRO DAN 7 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, NOBLE PEOPLE OF GHANA; WE ARE HUMBLY INVITED TO “NEWLY POSTED” VIDEOS ON THE FACEBOOK PAGE; “TRC” FOR WE CONTINUE THE MISSION BY THE GRACE OF GOD ...

• Ali Mahama 7 years ago

That's better. Mahama owns a chain of houses and hotels in Ghana and Dubai through Looting from the Taxpayers Purse and it would have been an insult to Ghanaians if Akuffo Addo adds that house to his properties. Nana woye Bui ...

• Honestina 7 years ago

Nobody former president should be allowed to keep the country's provided housing. That house be there for any incoming new president for years to come. Gha cannot continuously build new house after house any new president. It ...

• Bugbil Anthony 7 years ago

The president residents is a state property so it remained as such

• Mariam k 7 years ago

He can have different house and not dis particular house,if not dis will continue as traditions goes on.in any case mahama have houses all over the world why don't he move into one of them if he really love Ghana and stop dis ...

• Kumah James Kwabena 7 years ago

I am very happy that Nana Addo reject the pledge of the former prez. about the house matter .