You are here: HomeNews2017 01 09Article 499652

Withdraw President's 'plagiarised' speech - Minority in Parliament

Read Comments Comments (50)

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

You aren't seen nothing yet, NDC. You borrowed GhC 120 billion and you thinking about president's speech? No wonder you were humiliated at elections because you don't think far. You'll not know what hit you bloody thieves.

• Socrates 7 years ago

You can just put Ghana into a big shame like this.

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

Nothing worse than a government that made the flagstaff house the hiding place for thieves.

• Fools at NDC 7 years ago

When you printed a whole Independence Programme, with Heads of State present, and referred to Kenya's President as President of Ghana, you didn't refer to it as shameful.

• PK 7 years ago

SHALLOW THINKERS. THAT DISGRACEFUL ACT SEF STAN DOGBE WAS STILL AROUND. JAIL BECKONS FOR PLENTY OF U . U CAN RUN BUT THE LONG ARMS OF THE LAW WILL GET U

• Gyambibi 7 years ago

NDC members haven't come to terms that they no longer have clout. Therefore they haven't overcome their arrogance. That's why they have started communicating with the new administration through demands. The minority demands t ...

• AYITEY CUBA (Ga Mantse ni Onaapo) 7 years ago

A ONE-SENTENCE STATEMENT LIKE "AS GREAT STATESMEN HAVE SAID" ..... IS ENOUGH TO ACKNOWLEDGE WHATEVER IS TAKEN FROM FROM BUSH AND CLINTON. THE SPEECH NEEDS ONLY A LITTLE INSERTION. THAT'S ALL.

• Adu Phillips (Toronto) 7 years ago

Ohk so it's no more USD120 billion again? The campaign language has changed so fast.

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

WAYOME LOOTED GHANA'S $50 MILLION BUT THE THEN NDC MPs NEVER RAISED IT IN PARLIAMENT

• aze 7 years ago

Idiots go and delete it we thinking how to fix the bad economy u left behind n u talking about plagiarism ,its better than u ndc saying Kenyatta is the president of Ghana..

• Biyariga 7 years ago

Moron, if you are thanking of how to fix bad economy must you steal sentences to do that? Your incompetent imbecile thinks ruling a nation is about talking. Now look at the embarrassment has brought upon a hitherto very res ...

• NDC-NATION WRECKERS 7 years ago

COMMENTS FROM NDC SUPPORTERS SUGGEST THEY ARE DAZZED BY THEIR HEAVY LOSS.

WHEN THE FOOLS IN NDC PRINTED A WHOLE INDEPENCE PROGRAMME AND REFERRED TO THE KENYS PRESIDENT A SPRESIDENT OF GHANA, THEY DID NOT SEE IT AS SHAMEFUL ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

Well written...the evil shall follow them.

• PEKI TUMU 7 years ago

The Minority Party in Parliaments must resist this temptation to politicise everything. The speech was delivered by The President Nana Addo.If it is being found wanting that is his responsibility It has nothing to do with the ...

• KOJO LEE 7 years ago

I HAVE SUPPORTED NANA UP TO THIS POINT. NO AMOUNT OF SPIN CAN EXONERATE HIM FROM STEALING OTHER PEOPLES' IDEAS AND PASSING THEM ON AS HIS OWN IDEAS. THIS IS EXTREMELY SHAMEFUL AFTER ALL THE NOISE HE HAD MADE ABOUT THE NDC AND ...

• KOFI SIAW 7 years ago

MENS REA is defined as: the intention or knowledge of wrongdoing that constitutes part of a crime.....
    Clearly Nana Akufo Addo had the intention of deceiving the whole world that the plagiarised materials were his original t ...

• Villager 7 years ago

This brings to question the issue of his lost cert again. He mangaged to live with it and profited from it. Now modern technology will not any of such cheating.

• Abena 7 years ago

Do you know who Obama copied from and failed to acknowledge? Those shouting plagiarism dont even know its meaning

• Wonua 7 years ago

You must be ignorant that a speech made more than 70 years ago need not be cited by subsequent users. Go to the U.S. presidential library and you will find out that President Bush copied from President Woodrow Wilson without ...

• Haruna 7 years ago

Didn't Mahama do the same thing? He used JFK's words in his speech. Why didn't anyone jump on him then? Go check on this and let sleeping dogs lie. We have bigger fish to fry. Parliament could not pass the RTI bill in 10 y ...

• KOJO LEE 7 years ago

THIS STATEMENT BY THE MINORITY IS IN ABSOLUTE ORDER. THE MAN SYMPLY STOLE PEOPLES' IDEAS AND AND IRRESPONSIBLY PASSED THEM ON AS HIS OWN IDEAS. NO AMOUNT OID SPIN AND EXCUSE CAN EXONERATE HIM.

• Biyariga 7 years ago

The minority then was incompetent and so couldn't detect it. But now that we have a very competent and vigilant minority I can assure you nothing of that sort will slip through.

• not a begger 7 years ago

Just like Kenya president became Ghana president on the independence day. Oh Ghana ,start taking about issues confronting the Nation and it's citizens.

• Kanawu 7 years ago

You lost big time so keep quiet in opposition where you belong till thy kingdom come..

• Ben 7 years ago

The NPP is becoming lazy. Pres. Woodrow Wilson who originally uttered those words died over 50 years ago. According to the copyright rules his words can be used now without attribution so Nana did no wrong. NPP PLEASE EXPLAIN ...

• nii george 7 years ago

Much as I aggreed that 'plagiarised words' must be acknowledged. We maybe find ourselves in unknown waters because almost all sermon/prophesy by most Ghanaian pastors/reverence ministers are extracts from prominent men/women ...

• Kobi 7 years ago

This is what the President has said, you can take it or leave it. There's no withdrawal whatsoever in his Speech. English does not originate from Ghana, it's a LEARNERED Language that can also be plagiarized. This is not the ...

• Edem 7 years ago

Who is the owner of the speech?certainly neither former President Clinton nor Bush.look no further than the minority leader for plagiarism

• Naa Ayorkor Sophie 7 years ago

Why are they making noise?

• Naa Ayorkor Sophie 7 years ago

The NDC should let Ghanaians be

• AKUFO, ALL DIE BE DIE UGLY DWARF. 7 years ago

NANA IS NOT THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA
    NANA ADDO DID NOT TAKE THE FULL OATH OF OFFICE CORRECTLY. SO TO ME HE IS NOT THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA UNTIL THE OATH IS ADMINISTERED AGAIN! Taking an oath of office is a serious business and ...

• Ghana 7 years ago

Stupid Minority. They should have spoke of the NDC curruption. Now they have the energy to talk about pliagirism. Talk about John Mahama's occupancy of the VP's residence if you want to be a responsible opposition

• AKUFO, ALL DIE BE DIE UGLY DWARF. 7 years ago

DONALD TRUMP USED NANA ADDO'S INAUGURAL SPEECH TO JUSTIFY WHY HE IS ALWAYS HARSH ON AFRICANS

The president of the United States of America, Donald Trump said he will continue to hold the neck of Africans if they are not r ...

• Man 7 years ago

NDC W NEED FREE EDUCATION AND REDUCTION IN UTILITY BILLS.FORGET ABOUT SPEECH, THEY SAID THEY ARE WISE MEN AND COMPETENT. MORE LAZY SLANG'S SPEECHES WILL BE COMING.

• YAANAA 7 years ago

I think most people make such mistakes; it makes me feel bad as a Ghanaian to read this from BBC website. Please let us be ourselves when it comes to critical things like these. There are a lot of "Smart Asses" in this world. ...

• Amega 7 years ago

Minority, use your energies to talk about Mahama's illegal occupation of Bawumiah's bungalow.

• NDC ZONGO BOY 7 years ago

Even US prez.feel proud that H.E.N.A.D.A.ADDO has their phrase quoted in his speech.because every learn democracy from either US or UK,so no one is taken off any portion of the speech ndc can go and burn sea.

• NDC ZONGO BOY 7 years ago

Even US prez.feel proud that H.E.N.A.D.A.ADDO has their phrase quoted in his speech.because every learn democracy from either US or UK,so no one is taken off any portion of the speech ndc can go and burn sea.

• Simple 7 years ago

Didn't president Mahama in his inaugural address on 7/1/13 at paragraph 16 plagiarise president JF Kennedy in his inaugural address on 20/1/61 at paragraph 22?

• Kofi K 7 years ago

The NDC lost miserably because of mediocrity. As minority, they still continue to live in mediocrity. Ghanaians need jobs and look at them wasting their energies on a useless debate. How does a speech bring jobs and food to G ...

• Bush Elephant 7 years ago

What we heard was Akufo Addo's COMPETENCE; Npp's COMPETENCE. You cannot mock The Only True God..

• Ben 7 years ago

Even President Bush is quiet so why is the NDC crying and crying?

• PK 7 years ago

iDIOTS WHY DIDN'T YOU LET YOUR MINORITY LEADER LEAD THIS? THATS CAUSE HE PLAGIARISED SOMEONES WORK. YOU GUYS ARE SO PETTY ITS NOT FUNNY. i GUESS WHEN I SAY ALL THAT GLITTERS IS NOT GOLD I NEED TO SAY BY THE WAY ITS SHAKESPEAR ...

• the capitalist 7 years ago

And insert the picture of the ford expedition ?
    Nonsense

• Kojo B 7 years ago

Hahaha. How come the statement was signed by the Deputy minority leader and not the minority leader? Asem ooo

• Uncle Pee 7 years ago

To err is human! If NDC can't understand that they can cry all they want, Ghanaians don't care!

• nana asenso 7 years ago

Is this the kind of responsible opposition NDC is going to give to ensure that the Npp does not loot state coffers? If Nana doesn't give in to your demands then what else?

• Samyl 7 years ago

Thieves bcoz u were unable to rig and steal voters vedict this time u still will not learn why u lost. Ndc do not waste your time on trivialities. Jugdeme nt day has come. Thieves Remember u stole 2012 election. That i ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

NDC fools can go to hell and burn it will not bother us at all.Nana Ado will not apologies or redraw his speech today or tomorrow.The cars you fools are driving is a disgrace because it belongs to somebody and the language yo ...

• PHAMOUS ANONIMOUS 7 years ago

These NDC will never learn from what took them to opposition, we need a better minority than these.