What’s wrong if Akufo-Addo plagiarized his speech - Majority Leader asks

Read Comments Comments (130)

• TEE 8 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG IF U COPY WAEC EXAMS

• Zoobie-Zoobie 8 years ago

another dumb MP

• GHANA IS RICH 8 years ago

"State coffers are not the spoils for victorious political parties. I promise to protect the public purse". *** President Addo Danquah Akuffo Addo***

• HONESTY 8 years ago

What example is the President setting school children, 1. getting someone to write his first most important speech and secondly not checking for plagiarism.

I would not take him on this though, but this is a warning, that ...

• Etse 8 years ago

Honesty, you have so soon forgotten about the grammatical errors and wrong references that were in last year's independence brochure. This time it is not erroneous sentences and references but rather citing of good examples a ...

• TRAMP 8 years ago

HERE'S ANOTHER SO-CALLED GHANA LEADERS WHO DOES NOT KNOW THAT PLAGIARISM IS A SERIOUS CRIMINAL OFFENCE.

INTERNATIONAL LAW RECOGNISES THIS.

• KOFI ACHEAMPONG 8 years ago

Nothing is wrong with using an adage to present a case, President Obama once use the words of a Massachussetts GOVERNOR Duvall to deliver a message.The President was given those inspiring words to appeal to the nation . N ...

• Son Of Man 8 years ago

If you use somebody's words, you simply acknowledge them in your speech. It is intellectual dishonesty and you don't want your President looked upon that way

• Adjah 8 years ago

They also have started being defensive. When something is wrong it is wrong. You apologize and move on and don't repeat. Most news stories die when you acknowledge wrong rather than defending it.

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

Very soon Ghana will be 60 years and her President cannot formulate his own words and ideas? Majority leader and you say what is wrong with Akufo-Addo plagiarizing? I thought Akufo-Addo is a very knowledgeable man yet still h ...

• HHHHHHHHHH 8 years ago

For these primitive tribal supremacists because it is tha NPP leader who committed that academic blunder, THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. This is DISHONESTY.

• Komfo kesi3 8 years ago

I wish you could come forward with a sensible name instead of hiding behind that smokescreen, you coward of a bogot!

I want you to tell Ghanaians where you were when John Mahama plagiarised from JF Kennedy's speech when he ...

That's no exams or academically exercise where plagiarism is an issue! It was part of a speech crafted to send a political message to the people.

Can someone tell me why John Mahama's copying of part of JF Kennedy's speech ...

• Spinas 8 years ago

This is just too soon to be true. A plagiarism being defended by a topmost NPP who should know better. Where lies your educational credentials as an intellectual lawyer!!!. You have lost my respect, Majority leader.

• Adom 8 years ago

May God have mercy on us.

same, no change

as dumb as the rest

• NANA YAW SARKODIE NEW YORK NY 8 years ago

I JUST WANT TO KNOW ''WHETHER THOSE WORDS ARE BONAFIDE PROPERTY OF CLITION OR BUSH''.

• Angel 8 years ago

EVEN IF THOSE WORDS ARE NOT THE BONAFIDE PROPERTY OF CLITION OR BUSH, THEY USED THEM BEFORE. PLAGIARISM IS UNACCEPTABLE IN THE ACADEMIC CIRCLES...Nana and all his ministers know this. The whole world watched and listened to o ...

• NANA YAW SARKODIE NEW YORK NY 8 years ago

MR ANGEL DO YOU THINK GHANAIANS AT THIS MOMENT THINKING OF THIS ANIMAL WE CALLED PLAGIARISM

• Zara 8 years ago

I totally agree with you Angel. Plagiarism is a big offence globally. This is not something we should politicise; if we do it will show our level of mediocrity and may go a long way to affect the president. The one in charge ...

no no no

Didn't the whole world watch John Mahama in 2013 during his naugural speech where he plagiarised portions of JFKennedy speech? Is it again because he is a northerner and with other bigots like 'Mr Angel' that should not be ne ...

• Esi 8 years ago

This arrogance will not help your government, Mr. Majority leader. Plagiarism is considered to be dishonest, in certain cases even a punishable offense.

Your attitude should be not be questioning why we think there is som ...

• Concern citizen 8 years ago

Esi ofui, go and punish him

• OPNINPA 8 years ago

Alot wrong Mr Kyei.I feel ashamed that my President could not find hi own words to express what he really felt but had to plagiarise others to impress his own people. It raises the question of how real he is. Are all the beau ...

• Philip 8 years ago

''I feel ashamed that my President could not find hi own words to express what he really felt'' great point!
    That is a deeper level of analysis,. one may even question whether the President just meant to impress or he really ...

• BB Brown 8 years ago

If this is how you want our president to handle issues then you are misleading him. So there is nothing wrong with if some one takes your idea as his? In his speech so few days ago he quoted Kwame Nkrumah, and that is the nor ...

• Kinsley 8 years ago

Go to UCC and you think you can take your certificate? Mr. Osei Kyei, this is a big shame to Ghana. Now you see what we call incompetence.

• Issifu 8 years ago

Everything is wrong. National shame and disgrace in the longer national press. The Nigerian President did the dignified thing bhai firing his speech writer when he plagiarised Obama. It is dishonesty of the highest order for ...

• Zuuku 8 years ago

Please respect yourself and let us carry on . Wrong is wrong and the right was done by the apology.

• TRUTH AND WISDOM 8 years ago

This is from another platform :

Copyright laws allow people to use other persons work 50-100 years after their death without quoting them.
    The statement was first used by Woodrow Wilson who died over 70years now.
    Bush ...

• OPNINPA 8 years ago

THE ARROGANCE OF A THIEF ASKING: I STOLE, SO WHAT.? PLAGIARISM IS INTELLECTUAL THEFT

THERE IS NOTHING NEW UNDER THE SUN ACCORDING TO THE BIBLE AND THE GREATEST PHILISOPHER.

WHY ARE GHANAIANS WASTING

READ DARWINS THEORY IF SURVIVAL BY IMITATION AND THROW
    COPYRIGHT LAWS OUT IF THE WINDOW.

WHO OWNS T ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Best brains don't go around plagiarising speeches from others. That, Mr. Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu, is the beef with your newly sworn-in babies with best brains as touted before the world at large by your boastful Kukurudu bunch ...

EVERY THING IS RELATIVE.
    WHAT YOU CONSIDER TO BE THE BEST BRAIN IN ANY COUNTRY MIGHT BE THE WORST BRAIN IN ANOTHER.
    This should be an eye opener that Ghanaians are watching

• Sameboy 8 years ago

Mr. Majority, there is problem for not giving credit to the original writers. For that matter republish it in the papers and your documents with the corrected mistakes.

• Ghana Baby 8 years ago

Ghana people lets move on and pray that our nation will improve... Ghana people like to dwell on things too much... They apologize and corrected the mistake... Tell me are we all so perfect?

• Philip 8 years ago

it is precisely because we are not perfect that we apologise when we go wrong. So why the arrogance from these people? Do not be simple-minded!

• Angel 8 years ago

THERE IS EVERYTHING WRONG!! IT IS PLAGIARISM!!WHY? A PREZ STEALING, AND YOU SAY THERE IS NOTHING WRONG?? IT IS ALWAYS IMPORTANT THAT YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING. PLAGIARISM IS UNACCEPTABLE IN THE ACADEMIC CIRCLES...Nana and a ...

• KD 8 years ago

PLAGIARISM: A CASE OF VERY SERIOUS INTELLECTUAL DISHONESTY. ALMOST A CRIME IN ACADEMIA. RECOMMEND SPEECH WRITERS FAMILIARISE THEMSELVES WITH AT LEAST APA

NANA WAS NOT WRITING AN ACADEMIC PAPER.

• Philip 8 years ago

same lame excuses all over!! Are these people that stupid?????

• Boat 8 years ago

This guy will never see anything wrong with plagiarism. Politicians will never learn. They have started like their predecessors. Very soon elections will come. Arrogance has started already. Rather in the days of their t ...

• Samson 8 years ago

EVERYTHING IS WRONG PLEASE.

HE WILL TELL YOU THAT YOU CANNOT BE SERIOUS.

NANA ADDO WAS NOT WRITING AN ACADEMIC PAPER. He does not have a Masters Degree.

• Son Of Man 8 years ago

This is not a copyright issue. It is intellectual dishonesty. For someone who professes to clean up corruption, this plagiarism issue is bad. Intellectual dishonesty is a sympton of a lazy mind. All he had to do was to ac ...

• Adam Husein 8 years ago

Woodrow Wilson and not George Bush first used "I WANT YOU TO BE CITIZENS,CITIZENS NOT SPECTATORS, CITIZENS NOT SUBJECTS". Nana Addo cannot therefore credit George Walker Bush with that statement.

• DELA 8 years ago

INCOMPETENCE

• Yeboah 8 years ago

This guy is threading on dangerous grounds.a mistake was made the culprit thought it wise to move on. Shut up with your arrogance and ignorance Mr Majority leader. This sort of pride and machoism is what going to down this g ...

• Kobi 8 years ago

What's wrong with ghanaians if the president uses someone else's words.all over the world we copy from each other everyday.the bible says in Ecclesiastes chapter 1 verses 9 there is nothing new under the sun.Ghanaians should ...

• Spinas 8 years ago

Kobi, I am happy you quoted Ecclesiastics chapter 1 verses 9 as reference to your quotes!!!. Nana should do same by crediting where he found the quotes.

• Joe 8 years ago

Stealing from not one but two American Presidents is very wrong. Majority leader Kyei Bonsu is a disgrace to Ghana and Npp.

• Micosbi. 8 years ago

Honorable. Why worrying about this NDC people's. I mean what is wrong with the speech. And if they don't understand Nana has copy formal President Bush so what. Are we not learning from the first world countries. Pls . Observ ...

• Karas 8 years ago

How can Babies with sharp brains copy some one speach for their President,it is a disgrace to mother Ghana

• WhenIdiotsRule 8 years ago

Our previous leaders had no vision, except Kwame Nkrumah; however the speech refers to some vision of our leaders. When you steal gloves, they usually don't fit, STUPID !

• 007 8 years ago

Adult with sharp teeth.

• Ataa 8 years ago

Really? Like seriously? It is a shame that we have such people in this country. Plagiarism is an offence and you sit there and say what is wrong? These people called the New Plagiarism Party have no shame, no principle and ar ...

• Kwesi 8 years ago

This man is completely ignorant and very inept. Was he ever educated? Does he understand plagiarism. Plagiarism has a very serious implication and there was no need for him to argue the way he did. It is shame on him

• geni 8 years ago

. Vice President Joe Biden, 1987: During the 1988 Presidential election, the then-presidential candidate was accused of mimicking a speech that British Labour Party Neil Kinnock delivered just four months prior.

Kinnock's ...

• ONE GHANA 8 years ago

Look at the idiocy of NPP and the foolish and arrogant question by the Majority leader!

• Ebo 8 years ago

What the president did was reckless stealing of individual's words and ideas and there is no excuse for that. The best thing for the Majority Leader to have done was to apologise, but to come out with such infantile argument ...

• Richard 8 years ago

I respect Bonsu so much but this question he asked should rather be asked by someone who hasn't been through academic work.

• Kwadwo 8 years ago

That part of the speech was made by either the 14th or 15th American president (which I can't recollect it now) who died in the 18th century so by copyright law President Akuffo Addo can also say it; Clinton and Bush also quo ...

• Kwami 8 years ago

here is another idiot, educated illiterates

• Kwaku Akoto 8 years ago

It is arrogance bordering on ignorance and even stupidity if the Majority Leader thinks there is nothing wrong in plagiarism. Please grow up and accept what is right and what is wrong. We do not need this type of arrogance in ...

• Efua A. 8 years ago

As a majority Leader, your comments shows how uneducated, unintelligent you are, copying someone else's original work, WORD FOR WORD without referencing is a SERIOUS INTELLECTUAL DISHONESTY, it carries its consequences, it g ...

• Sipole 8 years ago

Equally what would have been wrong if he had credited the owners. Or he had not not said that at all?

• Aluilui 8 years ago

I cannot believe this is coming from majority leader of parliament. So is the dishonorably saying its okay if students sitting for WAEC exam copy. Whether a word or a sentence copying is copying. I thought you supposed to be ...

• Paa Kwasi 8 years ago

Honorable, you are simply pretending not to see what is wrong. As a graduate of English you should encourage originality of thought and not just copying. Ghana has more than qualified professionals to write excellent speeches ...

• Tweeea 8 years ago

Here we go again. Display of arrogance to the electrode. The majority leader does see anything wrong with plagiarism. The same way money will be stolen and they will not see anything wrong with that.
    Nana should sack the com ...

• Kuma 8 years ago

Stop your foolishness and be truthful for once OK

• PHOTOSY 8 years ago

it simply means its not from the GUT,NOT FROM THE HEART and definitely NOT FROM THE BRAIN to be believed in by the people and for the people. GHanaians hoped for something original from his heart, mind and his gut, something ...

• Musah Baba 8 years ago

In fact, any level 300 student of Public Administration would confirm what the Majority Leader is saying. The key tenets of the New Public Management (NPM) include elements of what the President is accused of plagiarizing. H ...

• I _Told_you_so 8 years ago

Beyond what that honourable and courageous Speechwriter, Eugene Arhin, has done in this saga? Only so-called political leaders, with a parochial mindset, like Kyei Mensah Bonsu, keen on showcasing their non-existent bona fide ...

• Mc 8 years ago

Most of u doing this blablabla can not even plagiarized not to talk of forming ur own simple sentence.Total hatred.

• Mc 8 years ago

Stop sending ur children to skull because they are leaning somebody's write up.Why do we have to take this thing so high as if it has never happened?

• Mark 8 years ago

U don't apologize to something which is good,the person who wrote the stolen speech has come out to apologized so please shut the hell up and think of creating the jobs for the youth so that they stop asking us money abroad.

• Abdulai Mahamadu 8 years ago

Good people of Ghana, what is the Majority Leader,kyei Mensah Bonsu arguing about the plagiarism exhibited by the President at his inaugural ceremony?. If Osei Kyei Mensah Bonus knew that government did apologized for plagi ...

• I _Told_you_so 8 years ago

Utterances of this 'lifetime' MP?
    Here is a guy, who just about a month ago, served noticed that he was tired, and needed a break from a position he has always coveted, that of being the Majority Leader during his parliament ...

• KK Tuffour (Adjringanor) 8 years ago

A lot! Are you a blockhead? Its like
    1. cheating in exams
    2. not been original
    3. lack of vision
    4. in academia, your thesis will be rejected and your certificate revoked
    5. in the creative art industry, it means a lot ...

• Sam, Bern 8 years ago

Just as there was nothing wrong with the Sadine saga at school

• Ponnu 8 years ago

Ghanaians focus so much on little issues that are irrelevant to our development, thereby over shadowing the important things we should be talking about. We will not move forward as a country with this attitude.

• Philip 8 years ago

stop pretending to know what is relevant when you clearly have no clue. You mean it is ok for the president to teach young people how to steal? This is basically and fundamentally a development issue in every regard! what are ...

• George. Central University 8 years ago

Plagiarism is an intellectual dishonesty to the highest order in academia. So I don't expect the majority leader defending such a gross anomaly. Please let's call a spade, a spade and stop the pretends.

• danny 8 years ago

Its simple,plagiarism is an intellectual crime which is equivalent to robbery.

• Kkd 8 years ago

Kyei mensah did something worse in boarding school so he does not have the moral right to condemn his boss. I learnt he broke into someone box

• Efo Nii Ghanaba 8 years ago

Already NPP guys are showing their arrogant and ignorant asses to Ghanaians. How stupid can they be? What is wrong with plagiarism?? Is this guy serious? Everything is wrong with plagiarism, you dumb fuckhead! 4yrs is not far ...

• Leo Abdul Nasir 8 years ago

law maker n he doesn't even understand the laws

• NII NOI 8 years ago

What's wrong indeed? I hope he listened to the expert on BBC news this dawn to know what's wrong. ASSHOLE.Are we beginning to see their arrogance?

• Nii Okai 8 years ago

The morality of language is what is at stake, not politics that you guys have foolishly engulfed yourselves with and therefore choose to argue without sense of correction like the Ashantes have been doing in Ghana.

Our pr ...

• Plagiarism is obnoxious 8 years ago

When a mistake is made, a smart politician will man up, own up, apologise and move on. No amount of glossing over will make it look like nothing serious happened. If that is the kind of ethics we want to inculcate in our yout ...

• Nii Okai 8 years ago

Ashantes take foolish pride to answer questions and that is what Kyei Mensah Bonsu is displaying here to disgrace the Ashantes of their primitivity in all things. On the international level the president has caused a politica ...

• kwami 8 years ago

WAEC exams are testing of your skills which is guarded by rules. Speeches can copied provided they don't infringe on copyright laws.

• Gee Gee 8 years ago

Wow! Wow! I cannot believe a minister of state will say such a thing about plagiarism...He has not seen anything wrong with it? Wow! What is this man's level of education. Wow! shocking! Ghana, you are in for something else. ...

• Yakubu 8 years ago

Infact the number of fools in the country are gradually out numbering the wise. Out of jealousy pragialised sentence is a source of this fools determination of speech failure.

• Philip 8 years ago

I will assume that you have never undertaken post-graduate studies and so do not understand what is at issue. But why do you not spare people your ignorance? Are you trying to excuse the arrogance and downright classlessness ...

• Odikro 8 years ago

There's everything wrong about plagiarism. To say that there's nothing wrong is stupid and dishonest. It's just arrogance. But agree with you; it's irrelevant and we must move on.

• Bee 8 years ago

The last time I check America was tapping all communications in the world just to get an edge on trades and politics.the last time I checked China was stealing technology rebuild it and sell back to the world. The west steal ...

• Kwamoko 8 years ago

Yes, the hue and cry about plagiarism is absolute thrash. I wrote elsewhere that the writer did not publish a book for sale to profit from. And agreeing with Mr Bonsu, who the heck could vouch that the lines were the prerogat ...

• Philip 8 years ago

why are you ignorant lot talking such rubbish!! 'Perhaps the detractors should search'? are you serious?You should have done the search before arguing that there is nothing wrong!! whom do you think you are fooling? Then you ...

• TWEAAA dc. 8 years ago

'I CAN'T THINK FAR'......NDC IS NOW CLAIMING OWNERSHIP OF ENGLISH WORDS FOR CLINTIN AND BUSH.....WHAT WILL THE ENGLISH PEOPLE THEMSELVES SAY? EH! NDC AND THEIR ANTICS........THEY CANNOT THINK OF ANYTHING IMPORTANT TO THE COU ...

• Philip 8 years ago

Another hopeless illiterate wading into matters of great weight. I have no problem with people not knowing something. But it is highly annoying when people don't know and pretend and insist that they do. All those making nois ...

• Philip 8 years ago

“If Nana Addo used that, what is wrong with that”, What?!! Am I dreaming? This man does not know that plagiarism in academi is like a coup d'état??? Could he really be that ignorant?? Or is it sheer arrogance?

• Deri 8 years ago

This is the most ignorant question I ever heard in my entire life. It is like the majority leader had never been to school. An NDC minister was accused by npp functionaries that parts of his theses was plagiarized. His entire ...

• ######## 8 years ago

IF YOU SAW NOTHING WRONG, YOU SHOULDN'T HAVE ISSUED AN APOLOGY. NPP FOOLS.

• dandy 8 years ago

Fool. I don't blame you because you even understand what plagiarism is all about

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

I guess the Majority Leader, Kyei Mensah, does not know what plagiarism means. Or, he is so criminally minded he cannot discern what is criminal from what is decent and honest? I would like to have his background seriously lo ...

• Kofi ba kofi 8 years ago

All those who are talking about Presiden NANA ADDO are the NDC what they are doing is AHOYAAAA KWA that is not going to destroy our president by the grace of god

• shakespear 8 years ago

what is wrong? Your bold face hypocrisy is what wrong. A so called leader plagiarize and you ask what wrong. go tell that to university students

• Bishop tc 8 years ago

You are a disgrace with that question...

• Oppong Manu 8 years ago

Just listen to BBC, ALJAZERA,THE INTERNATIONAL PAPERS AS HEADLINES and don't talk from the wrong part of your mouth.ONE SPEECH,ONE APOLOGY!!!!!NPP MUST ACCEPT THEY HAVE DISGRACED GHANA BIG TIME WITH THEIR BABIES WITH SHARP BR ...

• Asem Beba Dabi 8 years ago

Why the holabalu about this, coz I think it was not an academic research so why strictly shd it be in quotes, do these things bring bread and butter to our tables?

• Teiko Tagoe 8 years ago

"Nyansa foo no WO hii?" Shame on u. So u don't know the consequences. Babies with sharp brains and the wise men are now in charge of our destiny. The man with big big English in our legislature.

• Withheld 8 years ago

Exactly, it was premature of him to have rendered that apology because Bush and Clinton are not the original users of those statements

• Yakubu 8 years ago

"What's wrong with that"? EVERYTHING.
    If you don't know that plagiarism is illegal then we have a problem, don't we?. These are people who go to any length to convince Ghanaians that they (NPP) are the educated elites !!.

• Ato Brown 8 years ago

Seriously! God save Ghana, for the country is full of the likes of ofosu kwakye etc. The NDC clueless babies with sharp teeth will be vindicated sooner than later.

• joe 8 years ago

if its not wrong then theres something wrong with you, thats why you are talking about something that is not wrong.

• K Anim. 8 years ago

Just finished reading my copy of today's Washington Post daily,and right on it's World News page is piece about Nana Addo's inaugural speech captioned " Uplifting speech lifts from 2 US presidents - Address by Ghana's new lea ...

• Dignity 8 years ago

Copy Copy President ohh yess we are in free world ooii

• Dignity 8 years ago

its a very big shame on the part of Nana because He must own his own words not to be drinking water on someone's food

• yendi boy 8 years ago

If you copy somebody's speech you have to acknowledge or give reference, recognition to the original owner where that speech came from. It is like a pattern right. Didn't he quote Busia and Nkrumah in his speech then why not ...

Ghana must move forward,and not waisting their energy on voices on incompetent ndc's.Action speaks louder than words,let's be serious and ask the Almighty to help us repair our nation.N P P be focused.

• BRA 8 years ago

@kofi ba kofi
    what of those defending the wrong? Who are they... NPP or PPP?

• Plato 8 years ago

When respected and honorable people like the Majority Leader make statements of this nature, they set our teeth on edge. Far from politicizing this issue and trying to argue that others did same and so it's not an issue, let ...

• zsdx, Accra 8 years ago

hgytfrdesw

• #### 8 years ago

bonsu, you are as fooooolish as an asante whale washed ashore.

It's okay to use an inspiring quote in one's speech==== Nana was using the inspiring words of past American leaders to inspire the Nation --Just like JFK once said 'ask not what Ghana can do for u but rather Nana is asking ...