You are here: HomeNews2016 12 30Article 497761

Economy has shrunk by 5% – NPP

Read Comments Comments (56)

• James 7 years ago

Ooo ho! Bawumi I was expecting you to tell us that Ghana's Economy has retorgressed into the reds. but only 5% with all the internal and external factors that shook this economy I think you decieved ghanians.

Only 5% you say.Mahama is a disgrace.loot,share borrow and beg president.

• joe 7 years ago

we are yet to see the real incompetence. who is really incompetent

• Dave 7 years ago

Mahama was incompetent. Period

• James 7 years ago

Lets wait for the competent team. It's not as if they came from heaven . 2020 will judge.

• AKYEM- KOTOKO 7 years ago

YOU SAY YOU KNOW BETTER SO FIX IT !!!
    TOO KNOWN-MAN -PEPE NI LIKE YOU !!!

• Mahamoud 7 years ago

The real problem of Ghana's economy under Mr. Corrupt and Incompetent is the incompetent and corrupt use of our resources.” The guy was just building inflated disco-lights interchanges to deceive gullible voters.

• Dave 7 years ago

Ndc was incompetent. No 2 ways about that. They are now afraid someone is going to do what they couldn't. Shame!!

• Efo Kwaku Canada 7 years ago

Dr you have to work hard thank God that Ghana has wise educated men like you to help building this great country, there is still hope for our blessed Nation

• YAW 7 years ago

You were voted into power for that reason. Don't disappoint us then!

• Donrich 7 years ago

This cannot be an excuse for under performance. We know it already from your economic preachings. Fix it and stop talking.

• Dave 7 years ago

He has given no excuse. Read it well

• jj 7 years ago

This guy is not stopping this nonsense. Politics is over so stop those dirty things. U made us aware n we voted against that so allow ndc to do propaganda not u who is in office. Or u are repeating this opipiipiiiipi Gentle ...

• george 7 years ago

It is not true that the economy has shrunk. I will agree with you if say that the economy grew at a decreasing rate. But that is not tantamount to shrinking economy. Check the growth the economy in nominal term and you will a ...

• joe 7 years ago

i dont know if this man will stop those words and prepare ? he talk too much, or he is getting scared already? if so then his liers will prove here

• handing notes not real 7 years ago

Check all handing notes to reduce errors and propaganda from ndc

• Sankofa 7 years ago

How can the economy be shrinking when it is growing in real terms?

Quackery from the NPP!

How can they manage the economy if they cannot get such basic analysis right?

• Jackson 7 years ago

stop making noise over der u said u can do de work so do it and stop making politics over u think is easy for JM to do all these things for Ghanaian's and u just throw dust into Ghanaian eyes and u use ur propaganda method to ...

• santana 7 years ago

we voted for change, stop this criticism. we don't need it anymore.

• abu 7 years ago

U and who have u voted for change? nnn.

• joe 7 years ago

whether drink or strunk, you made us to understand that you have the solutions, so we waiting, that you not come and make stories, we are not onterested in that, mr bawumia, pink sheets

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

now the ball is in your courtyard ,you will feel it , how to be a president with good heart and intention, to meet global economic challenges
    prez mahama was just unlucky to meet world economic recessions which Ghana was ba ...

• Abraham 7 years ago

Thank you very much.

• Dave 7 years ago

Massa npp will work. Stop your long explanation

• Amaki 7 years ago

Well said. I like ur message. It's spot on. Bawumiah deceived Ghanaians to vote for NPP. We are waiting for the miracle he promised us. Thank you .

• kwam 7 years ago

l think Ghanaians don't want to be hearing this type of campaign messages, what we want for you to quickly take over and fix the economy, that is the reason why majority of us voted you in, some of us are not aligned to any p ...

• NANA YAW. 7 years ago

Mr Bawumia enough of this. You preached this un countable times and we voted for you. Now that u are the vice president what we want from u is the way forward NOT complain again.

• yajim adjei iddrisu 7 years ago

the same npp in 2000 said ndc has destroyed the economy and we have to opt for the hipc, now are to opt for highly shrunk economy or what?

• NPPigs 7 years ago

You said you can fix it now you have the opportunity to fix it so just do it.

• yajim adjei iddrisu 7 years ago

tell Ghanaian what you have put in place so far to manage the country rather than blaming the outgoing government

• kurt 7 years ago

abi you are the economic expert so why are you still complaining....just fix it to prove your competence and give us a break!!

• Forson 7 years ago

We are confident that you have the ability and capacity now to fix it. In any case it is still important that we know how much in reality the economy has shrunk. They are the same pple that lead the economy to be declared H ...

• Assempa 7 years ago

Well the people have to be made aware of the state of the economy, so that those NDC THUGS don't come back to take credit once the problems are fixed.

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

Go to HIPIC again and bring back the Colombian mafias and ofshore bankers in Ghana.Thank you.

• James 7 years ago

Do you mean economic growth had shrunk by 5% or the economy has shrunk.a shrinking economy means we are in a recession which we are not. If you want to see a shrinking economy go to Nigeria. Daily guide if you do not understa ...

• kwaku darko 7 years ago

Massa the akasa akasa be too much.you have been given the mandate now just prepare to step in and lets see what guys can do and stop the daily lecturing of us about how bad the economy is.
    Monfa mmo nkwaas3m sor ho

• Samson 7 years ago

Enough of the NONSENSE. It is time to stop talking and get down to working. Bawumia must get it into his head. Or is it a case of preparing the ground for mediocre performance? Tell us what you are going to do. No more critic ...

• Nana Addo 7 years ago

Be ready to start work and stop talking plenty hope your so called economic preaching were not lies or await our wrath. This time we won't give you chance to show us how sweet power is

• Nk 7 years ago

Bawomia you de talk too much

• NPPigs 7 years ago

Double Arrogance = Bawumia + Nana.

Someone tell them the economy is now their baby, whether it's crying or laughing, it is their responsibility to fix it.

The economy shrunk only because commodities prices like gold, oil and cocoa prices are down right now.These are the back bone of the Ghanaian economy, and there is nothing any government can do about it. The new government sh ...

• Matete 7 years ago

Self acclaimed best economist in Africa, with the best brain. We elected you to solve these nagging headaches because Mahama is INCOMPETENT AND CURRUPT. Ghanaians are waiting very impatiently for you put things right. There i ...

• mass 7 years ago

the talking is becoming unbecoming.fix it and stop the fooling.

• Assuah 7 years ago

This is not the time to preach about problems which we know your very good at.fix it.So only 5%? with all the world economic shocks?Bawumia your a muslim honesty,honesty,honesty, Allah is watching.

• never say die 7 years ago

We hope, they are not planning to come and give us excuses. Ghanaians are waiting. Talk is cheap.
    If Ghanaian students pay fees next academic year,I will laugh at them.

• Abdulai emmanuel Haske 7 years ago

We trust u that u gonna make it better and better.,

• Mark 7 years ago

I weap for this beatiful nation called Ghana. They have started complaining very soon they will resort to harrasment of political opponents to score points to cover unfulfilled promisses. God save Ghana

• Kwamina Rockson, DE, USA 7 years ago

Look, Alhaji Bawumia Ghanaians voted for change as a result of the precarious nature of the economy. Meanwhile please cease this dirty campaign and rather concentrate on a meaninful strategy to reform the economy. Ghanaians a ...

• Papa G. 7 years ago

With all the economic turmoil throughout the world and Ghana's economy has shrunk by 5 per cent then the economy under the NDC government has done MARVELOUSLY WELL. Please I am not speaking rhetorically.

• frank 7 years ago

You r still in campaign mode eh!!
    Stop the joke cos we r not ready 4
    any cantata business.

• Omanbapa 7 years ago

God will punish you for your lies. The economy you and your fulani wife condemned with insult had now grown from 28billion in 2008 to 40billion in 2016. 4years is too long for your exit.

• HONESTY 7 years ago

Dr. All knowing. Shut up. You too much aabaaaaa.

• pocket lawyer 7 years ago

Dr."nkonta buo" Bawumia,only 5%shrunk by the state of the economy is what you made ghanaians believed that the country is in total messed up and therefore we need to change the government?"Eii monhwe ne yiye oh! hmmm!!!

• kwesi tarkwa 7 years ago

Nana and Bawumia do you two the promiser's know the definition of ZONGO if yes then fine but if not then you guys are big trouble. To my best knowledge a place there is a mosque and with an Imam then that community must also ...

• Papa Nii 7 years ago

GDP grew by 40% between 2008 and 2015 but the economy shrank by 5% ! What kind of reasoning is this ?

• Papa Nii 7 years ago

GDP grew by 40% between 2008 and 2015 but the economy shrank by 5% ! What kind of reasoning is this ?