You are here: HomeNews2016 12 29Article 497530

GHC6bn blown on public sector allowances - IMANI boss

Read Comments Comments (51)

• ghanaman 7 years ago

MANI has shown that it exists to analyze public policies from a truly objective economic perspective. No government with economic awareness would do what the Mahama did! Period

• Socrates 7 years ago

They have destroyed our nation, no wonder Mahama brother have a private jet while Bole Bamboi people suffer, you call this sense? Nkwasea chopping our money waawaa

• Nii 7 years ago

Article 71 workers emoluments are covered by law and it's a commission that determines their allowances and salaries. For a review to be made it's parliament that has the sole duty upon submission of a document to parliament ...

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• James 7 years ago

Nii educate these bunch of political illiterates! They make the most noice yet with nothing to show. Why won't they vote for an incompetent deaf.

• Ac-Man. 7 years ago

You are part of the problem. Yes, Article 71 is in the constitution placed by corrupt pndc/ndc officials. The law has a huge conflict of interest issue. The corrupt president and his cronies set up a commission to determine t ...

• ..... 7 years ago

Mahama's brother accumulated his money during NPP looting spree, public officials should be investigated, but the citizens are mostly thieves its not an NDC , NPP thing, the average Ghanaian is a thief

• sam 7 years ago

Do u understand what the issue is. Ignoramus like u are why the npp won.

• Dessie 7 years ago

Your are exhibiting cherry picking; this wasn't exist today or yesterday :it is being there decades and it must be rooted out: Ghana instutuitional heads are greedy and something must be done to curve that situation

Author:- Ewugyadze desperate John Mahama .....
    Fool.Get over ur embarrassing defeat.You expect him to get to work even when he has not been sworn in yet.Why?? Because you know you still have a dumb ass president who has wre ...

• sam 7 years ago

Akuffo addo can do.

• Nii 7 years ago

This is not about Mahama. It's about the laws related to emoluments for article 71 workers being reviewed. Mahama has no control over that and no government solely does. Parliarment has to do the review upon the article 71 em ...

• Danny, London 7 years ago

Hey thank you Ghanaman.

Now, for all these years what has IMANI being doing in the country? It is so much shame that they have not commented on this worrying issue than when a sitting Gorvernment is about leaving the scene ...

• Telepathy. 7 years ago

Danny, London, what English is this? So many faults at so many places. Like: "he and his colleagues has*... " Do you drink? Your comments are however good.

• BigMan 7 years ago

TWEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA SEE WHO IS TALKING!

• TAVIE 7 years ago

IT A SHAME JOHN MAHAMA UNDER HIS WATCH COULDN'T REDUCE THE WAGE BILL WITH SETH TERPKER FINANCE MINISTER. IT SAD SAD STATE OF AFFAIRS. LOOK AT ZAMBIA

• # MAHAMA IS OUT ! 7 years ago

The BNI,CID,SFO and CHRAG are all Sleeping. Who is getting arrested for this vomit of public Corruption ? Unbelievable !

• k, no problem, a 7 years ago

Idiot. He should coe and work in the civil service before spewing this nonsense. These are the kind of people who shout to be heard using wrong premises for their arguments and encouraging governments to take bad decisions wh ...

• Socrates 7 years ago

Ghanaians will consider them after Nana 8yrs then Dr Bawumia 8yrs, Then when we see tha all their babies with sharp dog teeths has been wipe out and make Ezenator Rawlings their flagbearer then Ghanaians can consider them, th ...

• Paul 7 years ago

Foolish boy! Has Akuffo Addo rejected his Ghc22,809 monthly salary? Has it not rather gone up from around GHc15000 to that Ghc22,809?

• Baby 7 years ago

Boot licker. I bet you are hungry but singing someone's song.

• serwaa aka Mrs Jasikan 7 years ago

Increased by who???

• yeboah papabi 7 years ago

mahama is a thief nd needs to be arrested nd prosecuted bt he is hiding behind rawlings nd ndc fucking constitution dey wrote God save dis country

• Tony Anakwa 7 years ago

Absolutely......Cyber Hacking. The 2016 elections were not the true reflections on the ground. Be it in USA, Ghana etc . Life goes on . Mr IMANI boss , If really you are independent and a Christian, come out ....

• Salifu 7 years ago

We need performance based contracts for all these waste pipe public sector institutions. All public sector staff should have performance based contracts and aggreements with performance targets. The gravy train mentality shou ...

• Francis 7 years ago

I agreed. This wastage include public university lectures scheduling unnecessary meetings just to earn as much sitting allowances as they could grab.

• kofiGhana 7 years ago

10% paa Mr.Akufo Addo prepare fr more demonstration in your administration,because we wnt allow DAT at all... I heard sometimes ago you served Ghana without taking a salary

• kofiGhana 7 years ago

10% paa Mr.Akufo Addo prepare fr more demonstration in your administration,because we wnt allow DAT at all... I heard sometimes ago you served Ghana without taking a salary......

• KB 7 years ago

Great work - Keep it up!!!

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

IF POLITICIANS STOP THINKING ABOUT THEMSELVES ALONE, THE WORLD WILL BE A BETTER PLACE AND NO ONE WILL BE ON THE STREETS. WAKE UP GHANAIANS, WE ARE BEING TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF. HOW CAN THEY BE EARNING SUCH WHILE COMMON SUBSIDY TH ...

• owureku 7 years ago

Mahama is a fool

• Uncle P tem 7 years ago

do you know how ghanaians

• HONESTY 7 years ago

I know a lady who worked in the Civil Service for about thirty five (35) years and retired last year 2015 as a Senior Typist and her monthly salary was less than Five hundred (500) Ghana cedis. I have always wondered who were ...

• 123 7 years ago

The real beneficiaries were staff of the Audit Service, Ghana Police, BNI, Fair Wages, Ghana Health Service, and Ghana Revenue Authority. Civil Servants and Staff of Controller and Accountant General's Department were disrega ...

• Uncle P tem 7 years ago

And so what?

• Nana Yala LD 7 years ago

Reward for no extra work done. This is nonsense why 10% when you don't pay based on actual performance that's what happens . If a doc at korlebu gets paid from accountant general in Accra then performance does not count . Dec ...

• God Knows 7 years ago

Why do you think the Profs are leaving the class rooms for the ministries? Corruption everywhere.

• 123 7 years ago

Keep quiet IMANI. Allow us to chop the money.

• Avoka 7 years ago

Let us start with cutting out or the unnecessary and fancy, all-expenses-paid 4-wheel vehicle government officials are driving for their private use most of the time. The Presidential motorcade is too long in fact much longer ...

• Baby 7 years ago

I have not had my allowance as secretary for the whole year.

• Papa G 7 years ago

With all these salaries and allowances for these men, there is still corruption. So what do you expect the ordinary man to do? Why wouldn't there be absenteeism, laziness and the rest at the work place? Pay the worker well wi ...

• RAZAK 7 years ago

NPP clone analyst, nothing new!!

• Yaw Nyamekye 7 years ago

Waaaa look!!!!
    "I think it's about Ghc 6bn." Are you giving us facts or you are telling us what you think? And the stupid journalist is sitting there laughing without probing questions.
    This IMANI guy should give a little ...

• HARRY BROWN 7 years ago

I FIND IT HARD TO READ GHANAWEB ARTICLES AND COMMENTS BECAUSE IT LOOKS LIKE IT'S A FOOLS PARADISE
    DISCIPLINE IS LACKING
    RESPECT FOR INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS IS LACKING AS COMPARED TO FACEBOOK WHERE ABUSES AND MISS TREATMENT OF OTH ...

• James 7 years ago

I dare this IMANI boss to put his credibility on the line and proof to Ghana that he is not a surrogate of the Npp with the sole motive to discredit The Mahama led govt. If you think you're the only one who reads then think a ...

• Appeadu 7 years ago

For ONCE, we have to act as a serious nation! NADAA-Bawumia have the opportunity to right so many wrongs ... that it would seem as if it is a whole do-over! Yes, we have so far been JOKING as a people!!!
    Please remove the WA ...

• PEKI TUMU 7 years ago

WILL THIS HAPPEN IN GHANA?

The Coming Exodus of Career Civil Servants

Research shows many professional staffers leave when a new president takes power—especially one with whom they don’t agree.

Jo ...

• PEKI TUMU 7 years ago

FROM 28 Dec 2016 Issue of Atlantic

https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2016/12/the-coming-exodus-of-career-civil-servants/511562/

• Nana Promisy 7 years ago

So tell your Nana Addo to stop those allowances when he takes over. You think governance is a walk in the park. Good luck.

• Bismark from Dededo 7 years ago

Ghc60billion?.It is too outrageous.The next govt.should reduce it with immediate effect.Massing wealth to the detriment of a poor taxpayer.God will judge them one after the other.

• Moro 7 years ago

IMANI Ghanaians workers were promised better wages by Nana Addo so please keep your thought to your self, Moreover how much money do collect from donors monthly without any useful result. Nana Addo promise better wages and we ...