You are here: HomeNews2016 12 21Article 496057

Trader gets 10 years over 'wee' jollof

Read Comments Comments (32)

• aban 7 years ago

foolish judiciary system; woyome is walking a free man go give him 100 years

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

THIS RECIPE HAS ALL THE TRAPPINGS TO RIVAL IF NOT OVERTAKE CONTINENTAL AND ORIENTAL DISHES LIKE FRIED RICE, PASTA, JERK RICE, CURRY RICE ETC

• Abban 7 years ago

Nonsense,10 years for wee jollof,too harsh and Lordina the mother Christmas is walking around freely with her stinking bum

• McKeens 7 years ago

Believe you are transferring some frustration on to this man. Is this the worst crime or have you lost your senses?

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

THERE WAS NO POINONING HERE. THE WEED SIMPLY MADE THE GIRL SLEEP. NO ONE SEXUALLY ASSAULTED HER. SO WHY 10YRS. IF THIS IS THE TRADERS FIRST OFFENCE THEN HE DESERVES A LENIENCY. 10YRS FOR THIS? THIS IS DUMB. GIVE HIM 6MTHS IN ...

• Harsh 7 years ago

Why 10years for First offense ???

• ghanaman 7 years ago

too harsh...ten years!aba!

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

HE IS A FOOL. NANA ADDO, DO SMTHING. TOO MANY PPL HAVE BEEN MESSED UP THESE ARCHAIC N DUMB JUDGES IN GH. U STEAL PLANTAIN U GET 10YRS. U SMOKE WEED U GET 20YRS. U STEAL 1 KENKEY OR CHICKEN U GET 10YRS..WTF! IS THIS. HOW CAN G ...

• Niiniisam Sam 7 years ago

Nonsense system, what's weed. Go and arrest the real thieves

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

THERE ARE MURDERESS WHO GOT LESSER SENTENCE THAN THE TRADER.
    THEY SHOULD RELEASE HIM.

• Odikro 7 years ago

And his unborn child will be fatherless for 9 to 10 years, and possibly be out of school and become a wee smoker by the time this guy comes back from prison. Some punishment for wee, only wee.

• BEN 7 years ago

BAD

• David 7 years ago

Should be given not more than 2 months sentence. The judge is simply crazy. In the US and Canada wee is sold by the government. So it makes no sense to jail the guy for 10 years.

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

Backward system. ten years for what?

• Concerned Ghanaian 7 years ago

This is absolutely disproportionate and a clear miscarriage of justice. The proverbial one for them and one for the others. What are the effects of the rice on the little girl compared with the impact of the government's acti ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 7 years ago

last sentence should read "senseless handling of"

• Gb 7 years ago

10 years for a man that pleaded guilty? So what will the actual sentence be if he did not plead guilty. ?
    Ghana !! When will we catch up with the world. ?

• Mr.ymparthy messenge 7 years ago

10 yrs for wee seller and 2 yrs for who produce guns to arm robbers. What a wrong judge?

• Mr.ymparthy messenge 7 years ago

This uncivilized judge, is a fool and greatest sinner, he needs medical check up

Foolish country and Mr. Woyome is walking freely

• Why prison is too full for such nonse 7 years ago

Too much waist of public funs...
    Wicket judge...could have been less just for the lessons...

• Agbo 7 years ago

What about people that have stolen state money but are walking free. This is injustice. Selective amnesia.

• Which lay firm are these product? 7 years ago

That judge should review this case because nobody sides that...something tell him to read Ghana Web

• Ayaroo 7 years ago

It is about high time Wee is legalized in Ghana.Ministers,MP's,even the president is involved in it.Why are we been hypocrites?

• OPIUM WARS 7 years ago

I do not know about you, but as reasonable adults do we need those in so called positions of authority dictating to us, what we can do and and what we cannot do?

How did Marijuana - a natural herb become illegal in Ghana? ...

• edem 7 years ago

That.s harsh for a first time offender

• peter 7 years ago

10yrs is too much for this offence.They sentence people anyhow.

• ISSA CAMPORE/ALABAR 7 years ago

TO BE HONEST , THIS IS TOO MUCH FOR THAT CRIME. I'M SURE NANA WILL USE ARTICLE '72' TO RELEASE HIM. EVEN MUGABE WHO TREATING TO KILL AND RAPE JUDGES GOT ONLY TWO MONTHS. NANA PLEASE STEP IN BECAUSE THIS IS YOUR HOME BOY

• Koojam 7 years ago

I'm signing for his release. JDM, I beg you, use your last days to release this man. The sentence is too harsh. Montie 3, Mr. President, remember montie 3? Join me fellow country men to sign for his release.

• Paa Nicho 7 years ago

Ghana needs to set up a sensible sentencing board which would from time to time look at the various sentences meted out by judges. There are no guide lines to sentencing in Ghana so every judge decides what he or she thinks i ...

• Odt Germany 7 years ago

That is the reason why Ghana prisons are congested.

• Opataw 7 years ago

I think these judges must be taken to psychiatric hospital.
    send somebody to prison for 10yrs just because he has used "God-given-natural herb"to prepare food?