Read Comments Comments (94)

• NANA 7 years ago

TRUMP TRUMP TRUMP TRUMP TRUMP TRUMP TRUMP TRUMP TRUMP TRUMP TRUMP TRUMP
    TRUMP ...

• JOHN 7 years ago

THE MEDIA HAS NO NEWS ANYMORE. THEY WILL WRITE AND WRITE NONSENSE CONCERNING THE PAST ELECTIONS TILL 4 YEARS ELAPSE

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

The densely populated areas are the Akan regions and NDC is lucky that they don't vote en-bloc like the Volta region does, if they did the NDC would find it difficult to ever win.

I would say the enthusiasm was on the NPP ...

• naana 7 years ago

BAM!

• Anonymous Coward 7 years ago

Arrogance, corruption and incompetence did the trick. Ghanaians are by nature very corrupt, dishonest, liars, wicked, ignorant, deceitful, lazy, thieves and hypocrites according to Her ladyship the chief justice. The level of ...

• akonoba 7 years ago

JDM has no message. Npp=change. JDM=interchange

• Kofi, Ketu 7 years ago

Stop this trash for the voters just don't exist. This clearly tells everyone that the register is bloody bloated. The answer to low turn out is simple; vigilance kept the ghosts away.

• Ken Ntiamoa 7 years ago

3 million of the 5 just don't exist. They are ghosts who rose up during elections to come and vote for NDC and then disappear into thin air.

We stopped them from waking up from the dead this time around. PERIOD.

Ken

• Agadzi 7 years ago

Yes, yes. Vigilance kept the ghost voters away. There are still some phantoms lurking in the shadows. They should be chased away back into their graves.

• EBBY 7 years ago

That's exactly the reason why NDC lost the elections. They had pinned all their hopes on the bloated voters register, hoping to use it to double-vote, and also to pull in numerous foreigners from Togo and surrounding countrie ...

• master 7 years ago

This is what I've been saying all along. The court case in 2012 is what opened our eyes. Now a better analysis will show that the NDC lost an almost constant percentage in most areas. These were added during transmission of t ...

• SARPONG 7 years ago

I don't think the Experts are facing reality. There was no voter apathy and if the Ndc believe it was due to voter apathy that is why they lost, then they are going to be in opposition for a long time.

The 2012 vote was bl ...

• kweku 7 years ago

My worry is that only NDC's mistakes are being published. Though NDC made mistakes which are unpardonable during campaign but NPP did not get everything right. They also made mistakes. NPP must review and revisit their campai ...

• Pelicles 7 years ago

Mahama's arrogance led to NDC defeat. He became too power-drunk thinking that no one can remove him from power. Which of our civilian presidents ever don a military uniform and buying a gun despite being the commander-in-chi ...

• Phasmida 7 years ago

You didn't account for a bloated voter role

• Maxwell Majeed 7 years ago

great!

• ACCRAMAN 7 years ago

NPP found a way to rig the election and that has left the NDC dumbfounded.

NPP simply did double, triple and quadruple voting at their strongholds at the blind side of the NDC. The NPP polling station officers carried out ...

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

@ACCRAMAN: Instead of accepting defeat and brainstorming how you do better in 2020, you are talking about multiple voting. The stats show that voting was low even in NPP strongholds,the only place that had positive participa ...

• Mutala Mohammed Bawa 7 years ago

you call yourself an educated person. how can you write to the public like that. an intellectual like you, come again. Ghana is wiser than you.

• hihihihi 7 years ago

HAhaha.....eeei neva tot ndc would say dis. This tym u guys saw ur real numbers in our stronghold...u cudnt steal your way through..duhhh...

• Ojam 7 years ago

A fair number of Ghanaians have commented on the fact that our electoral register is bloated. This was supported by the NPP chairman in the Volta region going to Togo on 16 occasions to plead with non-Ghanaians not to cross t ...

• Efo Kwaku Canada 7 years ago

NDC criminals inflated the 2012 numbers , the votes doesn't exist, NPP was smart now for NDC criminals to massage the numbers as planned by NDC , NDC criminals can not win elections without rigging trust me ,2012 elections wa ...

• Alostingbine 7 years ago

NDC can never win an election with a bloated register any longer. People are now wise and discerning toward the issues. Ple who come to the urban center turn to increase in knowledge and cannot be deceive like their folks in ...

Please ask your selves is it possible to have a potting population of 15 million with the total population being 27 million?. An absurdity

• Benny 7 years ago

Rudeness, disrespectful, overanxious, confidence. harshness, egoism, downtroddingism. riggingmindedness no matterwhat chancess. onetouchism

• KANAWU KASABA 7 years ago

FORGET ABOUT ABOUT ANY FACTORS.

INCOMPETENCE, CORRUPTION AND ARROGANCE

• Son of man 7 years ago

Graphs and numbers don't lie but they don't tell the real feelings of voters. Bob Marley once said " A hungry man is an angry man". This is the bottom line and the real reasons why NDC lost the elections. NDC arrogantly ignor ...

• ghanaman 7 years ago

Simple analysis. This time , ghosts did not vote. Do you get the cord?

The data on voter turnout cannot be trusted because the register is not reliable. Some of the names are fake,some are dead and others are illegal. Any analysis based on the register starts on a wrong premise.

• Kofi Adams ndc organisoosmal 7 years ago

The low turnout is because many cursing. Everyone is afraid.20,000ghs given to exchange my life and my family is a big blow to everybody. You have to think before you go and vote.
    Only foolish people would do that. The cursi ...

• KPODO PHILIPS 7 years ago

ndc CAN NEVER WIN A CREDIBLE ELECTIONS. AFARI GYAN AIDED THEM TO STEAL OUR VOTES. NOW THAT THEIR STEALING AVENUES HAVE BEEN BLOCKED, YOU LET'S WATCH OUT WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO THEM. BESIDES, THEY BECAME TOO ARROGANT AND INSULTIN ...

• KWEKU AHIN. 7 years ago

NPP cheated in the election but due to democracy, we have to keep cool.

• KKD 7 years ago

Stop this nonsense and let us think. NDC could not stolen this years elections because NPP were vigilent then last 4years .No rig . N D C can not win election In Ghana anymore they finished

• Williams 7 years ago

The God of the Heaven and earth who abhors sin, who is righteous and divine punished John Mahama and it is not finished yet. They (NDC,) thought time belonged to them, they thought the Ghanaian presidency was the centre of th ...

• Akua Mansa 7 years ago

Due to NPP vigilance the ghosts could not come out to vote pure and simple

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

SHARING CASH FOR VOTES DID NOT WORK FOR MAHAMA, SHARING OUTBOARD MOTORS DID NOT WORK FOR HIM, VOTERS FROM TOGO, BURKINA DID NOT WORK FOR HIM. REMEMBER, ALL THE COMEDIANS PUT TOGETHER DID NOT WORK FOR JOHN MAHAMA - BUKOM BANK ...

• Kiku 7 years ago

This two journalists because of their stomach and v. 8 gave NDC wrong impression that they are winning hand's down and they went to sleep.

• francis 7 years ago

Pelicles, you hit the nail right at the head. The man was power drunk and very arrogant . A civilian President wearing military uniform . Hmmmmm, its serves him right. The thievery by himself and his close family was another ...

• apuuuu 7 years ago

Deny deny the election is over Ghanaians has made their mind so let ndc go figure it out how they lose the election aouuuu

• Prof. Issifu, USA 7 years ago

Your analysis isn't complete if you fail to raise the possibility of a bloated register. Ghana's population growth rate is 3% meaning the youthful population far outweighs the adult population. Total population is 27 million ...

• JETMONEY 7 years ago

the fact is in 2012 they had allot of double voting ...one name had appeared twice or more...they had not clean the voters system since 2000...I bet u in the next 4 yes if election is going to be genuine.. This figure won't ...

• dogbe 7 years ago

i dont know why scholars are worrying themselves to put up non exixting findings. there was nothing like low turnout, 2012 election was cooked by EC &ndc. they inflated figures. but there not able to do this much due to the h ...

• Biko 7 years ago

There is much more enthusiasm with regards to the voting. The only difference is that people are not able to vote twice or thrice as it used to be. The register is bloated

• wiseman 7 years ago

The data shows people didn't vote yes, but is it true that those non voters do exist?.... ndc only depends on rigging elections. This time NPP was smart not to allow such rigging to go on. For instance NDC brought down some T ...

• Yakubu 7 years ago

We in NDC in our next term in office will chase peoples to their villages so that they will vote for us.why do u vote against us when u leave your village to come n see Dubai?

• Ibrahim3 7 years ago

It is absurd for anybody to suggest that the npp rigged the 2016 elections. Ironically, with whose connivance are they going to rig the elections? Madam Charlotte Osei who was appointed by JM or Amadu Suleimaan who is known ...

• Sola Gh 7 years ago

Those claimed votes for the ndc in it strongholds could have gone in favor of npp n could also be 50 -50 but to assume there could have been votes for the ndc is inappropriate.

• kr 7 years ago

u peoples n gyimie de3!!!!! how do u expect NDC to win with this fill ur belly government!!! borrow build n brag system of government!!!! teacher n nursing training allowance slashed,we can't pay light n water bills,giving of ...

• Nana Sarfo Ameyaw 7 years ago

In one's analysis, one should consider the fact that, this year, it was very difficult for foreigners to vote. There were a whole lot of challenges of foreigners inflows in the border towns before the elections. This prevent ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    *1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy ...

• Agadzi 7 years ago

Please note. Ghanaians did for themselves what the Supreme Court failed to do for them. They sent the fake president away, one touch. May the Almighty God bless Ghanaians for their patience. God can turn the wisdom of the cou ...

• gh people 7 years ago

hi .this are men and who help nana addo to win election 2016 and their percentage rate, this people contributed big part to make nana and n,p,p win election, they are, as follows
    1 kennedy ayeapong 70%
    2, chairmman wontimi, ...

• Mawuli Kobla 7 years ago

The data analysis is can't be complete without bringing to the fore ghosts on the register.
    Why was NDC and the EC strongly against a new register? That is where their votes come from. The vigilance of NPP frustrated the eff ...

• Luze 7 years ago

Ghanaweb, election is over focus on Akufo Addo's campaign promises to Ghanaians and stop this senseless publication to divert attention of NPP's promises.

• koo tw3stina paady 4m Apam 7 years ago

I believe Nana can do almost 80percent of his promise n seek of that i dont no when NDC is comming on power with thier lies again

• Yakubu 7 years ago

What are they coming to power again to do? P/NDC has rule us for 27 years almost half the years after independence and have shown they are the real impediment in our countries development.

• TWEAAA dc. 7 years ago

TWO THIRDS OF YOUR 1.2 MILLION VOTERS YOU CLAIM TO HAVE NOT VOTED ARE NON EXISTED VOTERS AND FOREIGNERS. THE VOTERS REGISTER IS BLOATED.......PERIOD.

• ZAKARIA NURUDEEN DENKERI 7 years ago

the analysis is very good . i also saw it. other issues include
    1.the organization of the buses to send voters to their destination.
    2.teachers and nursing training allowance.
    3. unemployment.
    4. mahama official appointme ...

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

Have you also forgotten that crossborder voters in the voltage and Northern region were stopped those from Togo and Burkina Faso.
    My question is do people from Ghana cross border to these nearby countries
    Something h ...

• MAN 7 years ago

NDC should take care of their strong regions. North, Volta ,Bong Ahafo & C/Region fail NDC big time.

• À Abu 7 years ago

Since you know how npp rigged the elections voting twice and thrice, the opponent NDC must do something about it, bring out evidence or keep quite for ever

• Twumasi ksi 7 years ago

WE all know that NPP rigged the election at their strong hold and it work for them,so now they are going to use it 2020.I voted at bantama and i saw what happened, is not good for our democracy at all,those Police men and EC ...

• Kwaku Broni 7 years ago

What I find interesting with the data analysis presented is the denial of the obvious. Why is it that in elections after 4 years on incumbency voters enthusiasm spike ( '96, '04,'12 ) but after eight years of incumbency voter ...

• Abdul-mumin Abdulai 7 years ago

The voters register is over bloated with names of deceased persons, foreigners, minors and ghost names who could not show up on 07th December 2016 to exercise their duties because of the vigilance of the New Patriotic Party. ...

• RASPUTIN 7 years ago

Mahama and the NDC were voted out, ( FIRED ) because they took we Ghanaians for fools. Now the joke is on them. "We refused to be what they want us to be." We have rebelled to their shock. Infrastructure projects, V8 and mone ...

• Ade Coka 7 years ago

these things are the real reasons why NDC lost the election.... these i think is the reasons
    1 A lot of people were enlightened of the lies of the NDC
    2. mahama did not respect the people of ghanaians
    3. High rate of ...

Simply put the register is bloated. The NDC cheated by ballot stuffing to make up for the bloated numbers in their strong holds. That is the cardinal truth. No amount of propaganda and cock and bull reasoning will explain the ...

• KOFIVI 7 years ago

The conclusion that low voter turn out is partly responsible for NDC's loss is fair. But what caused the low voter turn out?
    1) LOSS OF CONFIDENCE in government - ue to unfulfilled promises and lies about things getting bett ...

• nii 7 years ago

IT WAS NOT A LOW TURN OUT. 2012 REGISTER WAS INFLATED

• ODARTEI 7 years ago

ALL THE HUGE HUGE FIGURES YOU SEE FOR NDC IN 2012 WERE RIGGED. THAT IS WHY WHEN THE NPP BECAME VERY VIGILANT IN 2016 THEY COULD NOT ACHIEVE THOSE FIGURES

• Jibril 7 years ago

Bogus analysis in respect of the low voter turnout. First, we do you assume that the low turn out represented actual living or qualified persons on the register, when there were hues and cries aboit the register not being cre ...

• KAKABO 7 years ago

Whiles I agree with the writer in many respects, I think the point on the so called lower turn out is questionable.It cannot be true that a third world country like Ghana with a population of some 25m could have a voter regis ...

• WISE ASANTE 7 years ago

President JDM wanted peace that is why he conceded defeat because EC identify over voting in over 200 polling stations from NPP strong hold which needed to be canceled but EC did not because JDM conceded defeat.
    The collatio ...

• ben 7 years ago

Until we get a National Identification System that shows potential voters in each region analysis means nothing . Can we ignore allegations of over cheating and voting in Ghana since 1992.Why did NDC resist new voters registe ...

Turnout was correct. There were no room for rigging and so its not an issue of turnout. The register is bloated so turnout was correct.

• nii 7 years ago

BECAUSE THEY WERE STUPID & THIEVES. THEY OVERCHARGE FOR EVERY ONE OF THEIR STUPID PROJECTS AND CRATE DEBTS FOR GHANIANS.

• Berchie 7 years ago

This is quite bogus and unscientific. The truth of the matter is that the voters register is bloated. The vigilance of the NPP and Ghanaians in general prevented the NDC in collaboration with the EC, from playing the usual ...

• Agbo- Ghana International Airways Vic 7 years ago

You didn't have to be an EXPERT to know why he lost the election. He led a band of CORRUPT, INEFFICIENT INEXPERIENCE, CALLOUS, INSENSITIVE individuals who never cared about Ghana, All Ghanaians should have seen it coming. Fir ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 7 years ago

ALL WHO ASCRIBED REASONS FOR THE NDC LOSS OF THE 2016 ELECTIONS ARE DOING ONLY GUESS WORK,
    I FORGOT SOMETHING AND THAT WAS WHY I SAID NANA ADO CAN NOT WIN , HE WILL NOW GO ON TO WIN AGAIN IN 2020. SO PREZ. MAHA SHOULD NOT C ...

• kweku 7 years ago

My worry is that only NDC's mistakes are being published. Though NDC made mistakes which are unpardonable during campaign but NPP did not get everything right. They also made mistakes. NPP must review and revisit their camp ...

• Asmah 7 years ago

Add this Mr Agbo so that some ignorant NDC supporters will know that Ghana International Airways was guaranteed by Ghana Government and therefore it was Mahama government responsibility to see that all passengers were given t ...

• Tekonline.org 7 years ago

Very refreshing to see a DATA-based post-election analysis.

However, this analytical breakdown is still missing a key component: what was on the MINDS of the voters as they cast their ballots.

To get such data requires ...

• Ewugyadze desperate John Mahama 7 years ago

The Togolese illegal voters failed to turn up.They were scared stiff because they had been found out.Secondly the register is bloated and we said it.Now Npp with overwhelming majority in parliament are going to introduce Nati ...

• gaddafi 7 years ago

I thought ford thieve mahama was going to win because he is tall and handsome. You peaple are stupid in intensity. You don't have the good of the nation at heart.All you worry about is your stomach. God punish all of you no ...

• Steve 7 years ago

We don't want to hear any nonsense reasons NDC lost the election simple because soo called mahama and his ndc don't respect Ghanaians period so shutup and give us a break.

• Steve 7 years ago

Even if it is one reason Ghanaians don't want mahama anymore so we don't want to hear any reasons.

• JM BA 7 years ago

WE WILL NEED JM COMING 2020.... BECAUSE AKUFFO ADDO WILL SURELY FAIL GH.

• Philip 7 years ago

It is simple,the reason is in the urban areas the people can not be decieved but it seems the ndc party has succeeded in propagating their lies to those in the rural areas.That is the reason why they are not performing in the ...

• Naadaa 7 years ago

After akuffo addo swallowed frogs n won the election, he's gone to nigeria for thanksgiving. What an evil diabolic murderer monster of a president elect. Nppfrogs. Tweaaaaaa.

• Goatbaby 7 years ago

The analysis is missing something, "the success in preventing ghosts to vote as well as the Kululu that did not work this time."

This was a clean election. Clean the register

• Kwame Mensah 7 years ago

The people who did not vote indicated that the register was not credible.
    It was not apathy to vote for NDC

• goodman 7 years ago

Ghanaian are watching very move by those political party who are seeking for power to satisfied them self and their family only leaving us in tension

• Saviour 7 years ago

No mention of the numger of "illegal" voters from the neighbouring countries?Double voting?the illegality in the Results Transmission?

• CITIZEN 7 years ago

THE MAIN REASONS WHY PRESIDENT MAHAMA AND HIS NDC LOST THE 2016 ELECTIONS WAS THE RULING BY THE SUPREME COURT ,ORDERING THE ELECTORAL COMMISSIONER TO GIVE BOTH THE PARLIAMENTARY AND PRESIDENTIAL PINK SHEETS TO THE PARTY AGENT ...