If you have incompetent people ruling a country that is what happens . This woman C**t Osei from day one showed her mind was made up! No common sense at all!
APONKYE 9 years ago
What about EC that has prevented them of their constitutional mandatory? Policing is not outlawed therefore punishing them is just a mere threat and nothing more.
DR TRUTH 9 years ago
MAHAMA HAS PROMOTED THIS LADY MRS CHARLOTTE 3 TIMES WITHIN JUST 3 YEARS. 1ST HE PUT HER ON STATE INSURANCE COMPANY NOW GRC BOARD, HE LATER PROMOTED HER TO CHAIRMAN OF NCCE AND NOW EC CHAIRMAN. WORSE STILL SHE WAS BORN IN NIGERIA TO A NIGERIAN MOTHER. TYPICAL ANAGO SHE THINK SAY SHE BE SHARP PASS EVERYBODY SO SHE DEY DO YEYE
$AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 9 years ago
NDC UNDER MAHAMA HAS BEEN FULL OF SPELLING MISTAKES AND LIES. GET THE FUCK OUT N TAKE THAT FAT BITCH HARLOT OSEI WITH U...
Branaboy 9 years ago
This is just part of the NDC's suppression of vote exercise. It is well rumored that the Ghana Police and Armed Forces personnel are voting against the NDC, especially the older officers, therefore the exercise to introduce the New Recruits into the Special Voting Register at the last minute.
This last minute move allowed the IGP to inflate the Voter Register will enabling the EC to remove names of older officers from the Special Voters Register.
Another move in the vote suppression exercise is the intimidation going on in the Eastern and Ashanti region and in the Volta Region the doubling of efforts to bus in Togolese and Beninois (yes citizens of the Republic of Benin - I met one last week driving a Fifi Kwetey painted campaign car. He barely spoke English).
Dessie 9 years ago
Foolish analysis:Eastern region and Ashanti region are NPP base..how will voter suppression happens: if you gonna make analysis make tengible analysis to score points
Mr. Wise 9 years ago
This may be a strategy of the ZU-ZA National Destroyers Congress(NDC) Party to create tensions in the system to frustrate the citizenry.
NDC has deployed people to sew EC Officials attire at Tesano and other places in Accra ... read full comment
This may be a strategy of the ZU-ZA National Destroyers Congress(NDC) Party to create tensions in the system to frustrate the citizenry.
NDC has deployed people to sew EC Officials attire at Tesano and other places in Accra to let people wear and change ballot boxes at polling stations on the voting day. Opposition parties must snap pictures or record any mishappenings about the voting to link officials and lodge complains at Police stations immediately such incidents happen. Thanks.
Dessie 9 years ago
Issues were in USA elections: stop that foolishness
Betty 9 years ago
Dessie don't be silly must we always compare ourselves to the wrong thing
Dessie 9 years ago
N Bett, there is always gonna be incident in general general election that don't score negative points on EC: people must be confidence in our electoral system else we can't move forward
ERIC 9 years ago
STOP THOSE SENSELESS COMPARISON.WHO COMPLAIN OF HIS NAME MISSING IN A REGISTER ?
Dessie 9 years ago
If we don't compare with other we can move forward : remember we are still third world nation.those high advanced nation there were series of voters suppression so if that incrdence occurred stop playing blamed game
Opare 9 years ago
Readers must be wary of ghanaweb. Stories may always not seem as told. It is unfortunate media houses play political gimmicks. Peacefm and affiliates on one side and radio gold and others on the other.
Lets ask ourselves: t ... read full comment
Readers must be wary of ghanaweb. Stories may always not seem as told. It is unfortunate media houses play political gimmicks. Peacefm and affiliates on one side and radio gold and others on the other.
Lets ask ourselves: the youth intending to destroy peace are the very ones who benefit less. Even the people in uniform are the real beneficiaries of political connections which got them there.
Look any candidate who would not accept a result, we should set up a fight to the death one-on-one with his opponent. Winner takes seat. Then lets see how many MPs or prez candidate would declare violence. You cause chaos and whisk your family abroad earlier. We are goats to fight abi?
George 9 years ago
Punish the EC not the security men,Mr Yeboah
DR TRUTH 9 years ago
AKAN NAMES ARE SUSPCIOUSLY GETTING MISSING FROM THE VOTERS REGISTER. NDC & EC KNEW WHAT THEY INTEND TO DO WITH THE OLD REGISTER THATS WHY THEY FOUGHT TOOTH & NAIL TO KICK AGAINST A NEW REGISTER. THEY WILL BLAME IT ON THE OLD REGISTER AND FAILURE OF VOTERS TO CROSS CHECK THIER NAMES
Danjuma 9 years ago
Auntie Charllotte what is going on.I heard you saying you are fully prepared for this election.
Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago
Had anyone vandalised voting materials, the police would have arrested the person. Police officers are public officers and should know better, so why have they not been arrested for this criminal act? Police officers are not above the law and the IGP should order the arrest and prosecution of the officers involved without any further delay. They should be kicked out of the police because they are a disgrace to the service.
Kweku 9 years ago
When police officers are being robbed of their constitutional rights to vote,what do you expect from them?
CORNEY 9 years ago
Well,when police arrest civilians for election misconduct they don't do anything to them,they are released immediately so arrest is not the issue here though their conduct was not right,this EC is a disaster,they don't know what they are doing,this never happened before,if a special election is like this what do you expect on Tuesday,chaos.
Either the officials are doing something to sabotage the election or their boss or the boss does not know what she is doing,they have no excuse for making the same mistakes that they claim they have corrected,hence today's voting.
Dessie 9 years ago
Exactly Corney: There must be "Conspiracy theory"played out there: IGP must investigate immediately
Point 9 years ago
the police and the other security personnel submitted their names to EC very late. Even some people's names not submitted at all. Again, if those who cannot find their names on d-day, it means they used NHIS Card and per the Supreme Court order to EC to delete them
kofikofi 9 years ago
The NDC is bent on cheating their way to win the election and you talking shit in the comfort of your council flat. Foolish Atta.
George 9 years ago
All the appointees of Mahama are incompetent,himself, EC boss and his ministers.
Kwasi London 9 years ago
To arrest who useless man is that the EC of UK behave? The police are Ghanaians. How can this useless woman like to take this nation to. If you are NDC guru mind your fuk words. Bush man
JJ 9 years ago
ALWAYS THROWING NEGATIVE NEWS INTO THE ATMOSPHERE.
Chris CO2 9 years ago
Stupid, stupidly, Stupidity FOOL you don't THINK about GHANA EC AND NDC are THIEVES now people Will understansd
NPP
Stupid, stupidly, Stupidity FOOL you don't THINK about GHANA EC AND NDC are THIEVES now people Will understansd
NPP
Citizen 9 years ago
JJ I guess you don't know what constitute news. If a dog bites a man that's no news but if a man bites dog that's news. Or if a police officer arrests civilian that's no news but if a civilian arrests a police officer that's certainly a piece of news.
Niibi 9 years ago
Incredible
Incredible
Ghanaba 9 years ago
GHANA PEOPLE SHOULD NOT SIT DOWN AND LOOK. DO SOMETHING FOR THE VOTING PROCESS TO GO ON. EC HELP OUT. NDC VOTE THIS PARTY OUT. MAHAMA AND FAMILY ARE RICHER THAN THE NATION GHANA. VOTE NDC AND MAHAMA OUT OF OFFICE
Bbb 9 years ago
Good,give Charlotte Osei a damn slap she is only good at giving press conferences.
abu 9 years ago
OWIWA. Ken Agyepong Said itoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo. Ken God blesss you
Alhaji 9 years ago
Madam Charlotte
Kweku 9 years ago
The grand scheme of rigging the 2016 general elections has just begun.
H1j6je8q6 9 years ago
I don't want to believe this, but if it is true, they have to arrest them immediately, because is a criminal offence.
Toronto fire Nankese 9 years ago
Dia shallotte osei tumi y3 part 1n 2
ZACH 9 years ago
So what is excuse of Charlotte Osei this time? Mahama and Charlotte Osei plans are to rig the election for Mahama.
GPS 9 years ago
you can't do this basic job what is wrong with the EC? why they can't find their names? useless EC
Dead goat 9 years ago
Bogus ec chair. All these could have been avoided if new register was initiated, all other alterial motives will fail. All these happening under mahamas rule thief will always be thief and now he is caught. Bribing all instutuition not posible mahama cunt. If you want war you will get it. Swine
Gid, USA 9 years ago
EC Boss must resign immediately
Peace council , religios body u ve shut your mouth for this lady to destroy ghana
Dessie 9 years ago
Haha..Gimmik
Warrior 9 years ago
The signs are really bad if these reports of missing names and its attendant rowdy behaviour from security and other ''specialised voters" are true !! Its a recipe for disaster on the 7th of Dec and all must pray for the motherland !!
7B 9 years ago
A position which is awarded without due qualification thus the outcome. Incompetent appointments what do u expect.
PAA Kw 9 years ago
God intervene for your country Ghana, it is been hijacked by some few incompetent, vision less and clueless leaders and thus dragging the country into a ditch.
Mama 9 years ago
I will suggest the EC paste copies of the register at all polling stations on the day of voting so that voters can check for their names before joining the queue. Due to pressure on EC officers on voting day, they may skip people's names and wrongly tell people their names are not on the register. Alternatively the various parties can also create desks close to the polling stations to assist voters identify their names on the register in their strong holds before they proceed to vote. This will help the process move quickly and peacefully. EC can, in conjunction with the mobile companies create a short code where voters can check their status. If what has happened to these security officers repeats itself on voting day, I can just imagine the chaos.
Dessie 9 years ago
Haha: that must be heck of work
Eddy 9 years ago
Sometimes we wonder whats the essence of independence, we all know the right, but because of corruption and greed, a blackman will never do the right thing. Why on earth will anybody dissaprovea new register hmm oyiwa
John Mahama 9 years ago
They should destroy all
bryt 9 years ago
i think bawumia said it all , this ec registry is bloated. every 4 years we need to register new and fresh for elections. this EC is nothing but corrupt
Genesis kwakye-Adjei 9 years ago
commander to punish which personnel. nonsense. they should have beat them mercilessly to serve signal to the entire country that is their constitutional rights to vote . something that has never happened in the history of before .
Again 9 years ago
My fellow Ghannias we have to ask why some of us, voting names are not logged into the system meaning that the EC is not doing much better than only confusing us there will start with problems.
Eddie 9 years ago
Someone must go to court immediately.
monto 9 years ago
I am expecting to do that asap. Why are u asking someone to go to court? Are u not a Ghanaian?
Chris CO2 9 years ago
ARE THE SECURITIES PERSONALS REALLY POLICE OFFICERS, WATCH OUT OOOOO EC and NDC, YOU ARE NOW CREATING TENSIONS
Adjeiwaa 9 years ago
All EC workers including Charlotte should be sacked
ERIC 9 years ago
JIMMIII MAHAMA AND EVIL ALATA OSEI MUST BE JAILED.IDIOTS.
Hassan 9 years ago
What a disgrace. Ghana is disgraced. Even non-educated counties are able to do right things. Look at how we are disgrace before the all nations in the world through Mahama. Now what? With Mahama nothing will work in Ghana.
bashings 9 years ago
My stupid brother. Which country is non educated?
Prince 9 years ago
All discrepancies emanating frm de Special Voting indicates that, even de figures brought out by de Commission concerning de 72% voted persons in de ongoing Special voting exercise x fabricated. De NPP executives shud always follow up wid deir computation nd calculation to serve as a check against wrong calculations nd manuplation of results. E.C boss wil recuse herself soon.
Mr Vigilant 9 years ago
Our dear Motherland Ghana has become a banana republic since the NDC took office up to Atta Mills Administration. The country faces high range corruption, nepotism, incompetence, theft, selling of national resources like forest reserves to foreigners, etc. A very important institution like the EC cannot compile and produce a valid voter’s register which contains the names of everyone who has registered to vote. Even though Ghana is politically independent but we cannot organize our own affairs as a nation because the country’s administration is INCOMPETENT! It is a shame to have an EC Boss who claims to be a lawyer but cannot deliver what is expected of her! Apart from ARROGANCE, the EC Boss has NOTHING to offer!! Dear Ghanaians please VOTE THIS INCOMPETENT NDC ADMINISTRATION FROM OFFICE!! Ghana should be handed over to a foreign administrator for a period of 10 years to get things right. My team is ready to take over the administration of the country to get the pertaining problems of the country fixed. Contact me on this platform!!
Pastor MK 9 years ago
Mahama & EC every Ghanaian blood spilt is on your heads
Mr. Wise 9 years ago
The voltarians must go ahead to curse the EC and the President J.T.Dramani Mahama (John Thief=J.T.)for disenfrachising them. They have deliberately done this to cause disturbances so that they can steal the votes
samuel azumah 9 years ago
security officers should be calm although they have not found their names for the second.as explained by the,they will have the chance to vote on dec 7th.i learnt they will be sent to areas they registered officially and given preference to vote early.calm
rasdonnoble 9 years ago
Hmmmm!
As a matter of fact
am just disappointed in the bhv of the security offices
Hmmmm!
As a matter of fact
Sir Alexander Ferguson 9 years ago
When a thief gives birth, the child is expected to a thief or have some part of thievery. Mahama gave birth to EC boss, we must see NDC on her. We are ready to face them, Nana Addo must rule Ghana Insha Allah
dennis 9 years ago
this is uncalled for how can peace officers do such a thing . the police officers must be brought to book . am ashamed
METWEEEEW 9 years ago
Only ndc idiots who hate the country are condemning the security officers, the EC and their boss must be punished for lying to Ghanaians. IGP Kudalor and Oje must be careful for playing politics in the security forces for all coup d'etat in Ghana were staged by junior officers,their behaviour is not helping the country at all. If they want to be politicians nobody is forcing them to be where they are ,but, they can't wear that uniform representing Ghana with ndc T-shirt under. These 2 people are putting too much tension in our country,they are frustrating and annoying our security forces. First of all,they collected their ID cards which some forces on duty abroad refused to hand theirs over to them,now the special voting was Dec.1 which had so many discrepancies and the same problem is being witnessed on the 2nd voting. Kudalor and Oje stop angering our heroes we need peace in Ghana. NDC whatever bad intentions you've planned against this nation will never happen but will turn back on you. You will forever be disgraced until the 'D' day when you are sent home forever. Papa JJ must be careful of the sweet talk Nkrumaists who are always haunting for the vulnerable party to join and destroy because they only live on their stomach,lies, vilification of others, denigrate,deceit, propaganda and all the evils which are against the will of God. They did that to their own party which was once one party state,the did that to PNP NOW PNC and now ndc is collapsing because of these people. Everybody hate ndc in Ghana like cpp which nobody wants to join. Papa J try to drive them out,don't fall to their sweet words they all evil.
akwasi Agyei, adenta 9 years ago
Ghana is in real trouble if indeed the incident happened. How can Iaw enforcement officers be Iawless? No matter the situation they are to act lawfully while solutions are found for any challenges there may be. Indiscipline at its highest Ievel by the officers involved irrespective of the avoidable mistakes of the EC.
Dessie 9 years ago
"Walking misinformation machines":An attempt to discredit EC by opposition serrogate
Agbo Ghana International Airways Vict 9 years ago
No matter what Mahama & Co do, we have to get them out. They have lied us, cheated us and stolen our money. Get them out
Asonaba production 9 years ago
In case of any violence in Ghana after this election we should. Hold Charlotte Osei. And IGP responsible for that
BERNARD 9 years ago
LOOSE WEIGHT NATURAL
Do you want to lose weight faster?
Do you want to flush out and eliminate toxins?0572174551
Do you want to have a nice shape?
Do you want to do more physical exercise without fatigue?
Wondering how t ... read full comment
LOOSE WEIGHT NATURAL
Wondering how to loose stomach fat?
Searching for tummy sharper?0572174551
The Unique thing about our products is that, It has adaptogenic properties that allows it concentrate at areas where there is high fat concentration in your system and fights it out, so if you have more belly fat or arm, etc it gets rid of it.It helps to control your appetite by Acting as an appetite suppressant, it helps you to inhibit the production and storage of excess fat in your system, it also helps you to Block carbohydrates and fat absorption in your system and aid excess fat burns.0572174551
Perp 9 years ago
The EC boss is incompetent why this problem at this time she should be careful of what is happening
Victor A. Young. 9 years ago
This elections should be postponed until the EC can correct all mistakes. There's obvious sign or plot to disenfranchise many eligible voters. Charlotte Osei should resign. Because she has proven beyond doubt that she is not fit for the job as EC boss.
PK Papao 9 years ago
Everyone is human first and has emotions.
efo 9 years ago
president mahama should just step down becuz everybody in the country want a change and tired of your bullship. Go and punish Wayome before punishing these police men. Aboa like that. Arrest and punish who
Patriot 9 years ago
I weep for my dear country GHANA. I am scared of the spectre of what await us on Wednesday. If security men are themselves behaving like this what could you expect of the wider civilian population. MAY GOD HELP US.
DANKWA DAY 9 years ago
DO YOU BELIEVE CHARLOTTE BLUFFED AND FAILED TO LISTEN TO THE NIGERIAN PROF EC CHAIRMAN WHO WAS IN GHANA TO NARRATE HIS EXPERIENCE IN NIGERIA'S POPULATION MORE THAN 150M
Yussif 9 years ago
The police service has no respect for their junior officers,one of them was on tv yesterday threading to punish those who spoke to the press and registered their worries over the December 1st fiasco.How many re police officers in Ghana that we can not count them,they should've made simple for all of them to vote on the main register which every party has a copy,all the EC had to do was to let everyone not at their constituency where they registered do that various parties agent could tic their names before they take their respective eloctoral postings so we continue from there on the 7th.But for good reason to disenfranchise them police service decided to make the process more confusing together with the EC.John Mahama,Kudalor and EC thinks we re fools,all of a sudden we can't count policemen and military on this country,why don't we ve the right to vote against a sitting goverment anymore?is Ghana for one person,if another party did not lose would they come to power?why re we doing this to ourselves?
Charles Amable 9 years ago
The EC should allow the Security Personnel whose names are not in the register to Vote ones they show their ID Cards or votess ID cards. All the security personnel are Ghanaians and obviously above 18 years. So EC allow all of the security personnel to vote even if their names are not in the register.
Edensu 9 years ago
Common sense was ignored. Why did the Government kicked against New Voters Register? Now Policemen who are supposed to uphold the Criminal Code, Act 29/60 are infuriated and destroying electoral materials. We need God's Intervention, either than that if the same problem pups nationwide up on election day, mmmmmm.
OKOROMANSA 9 years ago
A VERY GOOD OR BUSY MARKET DAY IS SEEN BY THE EARLY HOURS OF THE DAY. OUT OF SOME 126,000 IF ABOUT 90,+000 WERE ABLE TO VOTE THEN JUST CONSIDER THE RATIO IF ABOUT 15 MILLION PEOPLE ARE GOING TO VOTE ON DECEMBER 7. WE TOLD YOU SO!
Yahaya Hamidu 9 years ago
These police officers may be the fake ones. If they are not then DCOP Ken Yeboah we expect you to go by the Police disciplinary code. A sad day for the Ghana Police Service
KWAME 9 years ago
The incompetence of the EC chair is to blame. Birds of the same feathers flock together. This lady is the same as his boss who appointed her.
KWAME 9 years ago
I was absent from the platform yesterday as promised because my daughter was admitted at the hospital from Friday dawn throughout Saturday.
THE EC HAS BEEN PREPARED TO RIG ELECTION FOR JOHN MAHAMA
President Mahama made se ... read full comment
I was absent from the platform yesterday as promised because my daughter was admitted at the hospital from Friday dawn throughout Saturday.
President Mahama made several promises in 2012 during the heat of the campaign to the Ghanaian people which he did not fulfill. After he was elected he chose to do his own wishes not taking into consideration the ‘’social contract’’ he hadsigned with Ghanaians. We have now arrived at the point of accountability and he has been found wanting. We cannot allow people seeking the highest office of the land in particular to lie and go scot free. They must be held to their words to know that we cannot be taken for granted. Telling lies is not acceptable in our cultural settings and as a kid I remember to have received flogging anytime I lied. The Bible says the child should be trained in the Lord so that he/she will not depart from it when he/she grows. The President should be reminded that it is more critical to be honest and truthful in the position he occupies.
The fact that the President lied to the Ghanaian people does not mean Nana Addo will also lie. He refers to the promises by Nana Addo as empty ones as he did in 2012. For him there is a record to compare to and that cannot be equated to someone who is yet to become the president. Nana Addo should also be put to the strict test of honesty and truthfulness as was done to him.
In the past banks which operated in the country had to build huge and imposing buildings before they can open their doors to the public. In this light one will realize that Ghana Commercial Bank (GCB) owns most of their branches and they all have similar design to proof this point. The story is not the same this time. A factory should not be an imposing figure before it qualifies as one. The most important thing is that depending on the capacity based on feasibility, an average factory is capable of doing the same things that an imposing factory will do; provide employment and generate value for shareholders as well as employees. The fact that President Mahama did not have the vision to do it, nobody can do it. Depending on the choice of Nana Addo’s Government this is easily achievable. I believe this is another area the President wishes he could latch on as he did in 2012 after the NPP promised free education, which he has woefully failed to deliver. It is too late for him. This was one of the main reason the NPP delayed launching their manifesto because the NDC was preparing to plagiarize.
The heinous assassinations which have happened in this country did occur during the administration of the NDC. The examples abound for us to recall. They did the same thing to their own Professor Mills, the President of Ghana at the time because of disagreement that he will contest the 2012 elections. I am sure if this had happened during the tenure of the NPP they would have used it as a huge campaign issue. Their unmatchable propaganda ability would have been unleashed on the NPP.
The death threat to the Political Science lecturer is a normal thing they do if they disagree with you. Do these people believe in democracy and free expression of thought? They have shown this character in the selection of their flag bearers. The adoption of democracy is not in line with their primary belief system. The appeal by the President at the gathering of UN that ‘’one fit all democracy’’ should not be imposed on Africa was a subtle appeal for dictators as he is, in Africa to use state institutions to terrorize innocent citizens of their countries to fall in line to their parochial interests. The death threat cannot be wrong knowing the background of the NDC and the President.
The over 98,000 people who are on the ‘’special voters’’ list who are also on the main register is one of the ploys of the EC to rig the elections for the NDC. If the NPP had not done the reconciliation which exposed this revelation, the EC will over look it. I believe that many of these people are known sympathizers of the NDC or they have been specially selected and given money to vote twice for the President. All the calls by the EC that they are ready to conduct free and fair election should be taken with a pinch of salt. If anybody believes them and go to sleep, that person will have the greatest shock of his life.There is one thing I know for sure in Accounting Controls; and it is the fact that it is very effective except people connive and condone. But if one can be vigilant and not trust operatives of the system, malfeasance can always be exposed. This is exactly what I expect the NPP to do and I am very much impressed. I will continue to assist in providing leads to all the ploys of EC in cohort with the NDC. This is what God has assigned me to do in this election so He has deliberately denied me work which would have taken my time.Despite the fact I live on handouts from friends to support my family I am proud to be engaged in this laudable job.
Our courts should understand that they are there for matters of law principally and not matters of common sense as exhibited by the Supreme Court in the recent case of declaring the votes after the special voting. The reasons advanced for which they did not grant the request of the plaintiff make common sense; it was not based on law except to say that votes are supposed to be secret. Voting in Ghana is not done on the basis of profession and the framers of the Constitution did not anticipate so. Voting is individually based and should not be linked to profession. Their ruling was premised on common sense since their refusal to grant the request did not hurt public sanctity. I expect where the matter in contention is torn between public sanctity and the law, the law should have preeminence. In my view common sense and wisdom are important as stated by the Prophet James in the Bible. But God who is the creator of human believes in the law so He gave the 10 Commandments to Moses for the Israelites. The reason I am saying all these is that the EC failed to meet the timeline for compiling the special voting list and this could have been litigated and it is right to do that. I am sure the court would have been on the side of common sense judging from what I have discussed. It is important to make people live up to their responsibilities.
It was sad that the EC who have been claiming they are ready for the election cannot supervise the special voting without the sort of complains that came out considering the number involved. I believe this lady chair of the Commission was appointed not based on her competence but for the singular objective to assist the President win the election through foul means. I believe strongly that others were also contacted for the job but they declined it based on principle. This woman accepted the job first and foremost for the reason that she is a woman so society would be considerate on her. She is willing to compromise her integrity based on whatever promises made to her or the benefits she has already received
The people whose names were submitted to the political parties but could not find their names to enable them vote should not be assigned for duty on the day of the general voting. These people are likely to leave their posts to go and vote thereby compromising the security situation at the polling stations. This is likely to embolden truants and bigots to engage in election malpractices. The current condition could be deliberately created to facilitate the execution of the plots hatched.
I wish to use this opportunity to call on the international community especially the Advanced Economies that the sovereignty of the state is under threat. This sovereignty is expectedto be exercised for the benefit of the state as a whole but a section of the society, specifically the ruling party and the President want to abuse this sovereignty. As a stakeholder, I call on this community to show interest in developments in the country to help maintain the peace the world through the UN have strived to maintain after the World War. For this reason, I will ask that they send military and security personnel to beef up the numbers at our polling stations across the nation in case our security personnel cannot meet the challenge based on my description of the situation in the earlier paragraph.
In Mathematics there is nothing referred to as fifty-plus-one percent (50 + 1 %). What I know in Mathematics as majority is fifty point 1 percent (50.1%). Since this is a ratio it means there is a numerator and a denominator. In the context of vote cast, rejected ballots carry a zero value so they have no impact on the numerator and the denominator. So we can only consider those votes which have values and they are those which have been accepted. Computing the percent for each competitor we should limit ourselves to those votes which have values or better still those votes which have been accepted. To load the denominator with rejected ballots means we are intending to reduce the percentage of our count. Depending on the objective of the computation, this can be accepted. But where we want to declare the winner of an election it is only accepted votes which should be considered. As someone who read Advanced Level Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry I have the competence to discuss a matter of this nature. I am also proud to have studied General Mathematics (Calculus) for my O Levels. This has been agreed to be the most difficult Mathematics compared to JSP Mathematics and Modern Mathematics, ever taught at this level.
Those of us who are not properly educated on certain subjects should not ‘’poison’’ the minds of the public. We have had all kinds of half baked individuals appearing on radio especially to discuss matters which require professional competence. What these people seek to do is to try common sense on purely professional subjects.
I am glad Nana Addo listened to good reason and did not appear on the GBC/NCCE debate organized recently. There was a deliberate ploy to gang up against him. And this was hatched by the CPP and NDC. One will notice that there were glimpses of this ploy against the PPP candidate to destabilize him but the flag bearer was on top of his facts. The decision by the EC to deny the PPP from participating in this year’s election was all part of the ploy to single out the NPP for this ploy. Imust say that God has been good to Nana Addo and I do believe from all the developments that have occurred he will sweep the election by a wide margin to the amazement of analysts. I don’t engage in projections but I can stick my neck out on this.
Looking into the President’s face, I can find disappointment that the NPP flag bearer was not part of the pack. The face was sullen and he wished he was not part of the debate himself. If he had not committed to it already and the disgrace his withdrawal will bring to himand his party he would have call it quit. JM, your time is up and nothing under the sun can save you.
I must admit I tuned in late to the debate because I returned quite late from church but I will comment on some of the responses of the President to some of the questions. The questions were related to corruption and unemployment. For corruption, the President referred to an Act passed by Parliament which was supposed to speak to corruption. It is true we have this Act and another like the Procurement Act. Have the President and the Government abided to these laws? The sole sourcing the President has constantly engaged in, what does the law says about it? Are these laws not there whiles contract costs are inflated? Are these laws not there whiles monies are given to party members including Woyome, Gyeeda, Bus branding and the rest? The scriptures say we should not be hearers of the word but doers as well. These laws are just passed to give the impression that Government is against corruption. The saying that ‘’actions speak louder than words ‘’ is very relevant.
The President and the Government deliberately collapsed the private sector for their selfish end thereby depriving the Ghanaian people from getting employment. The President admitted it is the private sector which should throw out the jobs but said that jobs are created but there are not qualified persons to fill the space using just a single situation in the oil and gas sector. How long has the oil and gas sector been with us? He should come out with examples in the long existing sectors to make a convincing point.He seeks to suggest that the statistics he provides are the right ones. Unfortunately the contestants did not take advantage of the opportunity provided for follow up questions and rebuttal. The debate was just a waste of everybody’s time and did not live up to expectation.
Nana Addo has always spoken against tribal politics and this can be confirmed from the Daily Graphic of Saturday, December 13, 2008 by the following quote: ‘’The flag bearer of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Nana AddoDankwaAkufo-Addo has repeated his call on Ghanaians to resist tribal politics because it does not serve the good of the nation. He said the voting pattern of the December 7 polls particularly in the three regions of the north indicated that the NPP was breaking into those regions which had been the stronghold of the NDC’’. The propaganda and lies of the NDC will never go away. They always seat to strategize on how to destroy and tell lies about their opponents. They present lies to appear as truths and like I have always maintained these are targeted at the less discerning segment of the population. If we continue making these people the custodians of our resources, this country will continue to bleed.
KWAME 9 years ago
THE BIG PALYERS WHO MATTER IN ELECTION 2016
Ghana has always been referred to as the beacon of democracy on the African continent because of the successful elections held in the past. The 2012 election was fraught with several infractions and this country could have gone into flames but it took a peaceful and good mind of the leading opposition leader, Nana Addo to let go after the Supreme Court upheld the results as declared. This further consolidated the view of many that Ghana was in deed a beacon of democracy. The desire to become the President was not that compelling to him than the peace of the country. This is not just talk but was exhibited in practice. Unfortunately, the President and some hawks around him think that as incumbent they have to use fair or foul means to win this year’s election. They have succeeded in the past and they think they can adopt the same strategy this time round. The vigilance of the NPP has been a major set back to the NDC. The threat to this year’s election will be the desire to push their unholy agenda by force. This is where the danger lies because nobody will allow them. The Supreme Court have made the point in the previous election petition that election can only be won at the polling station so nobody is willing to give in to any trick to gain advantage.
INTERNATIONAL COMMUNITY
The International Community should take very keen interest in Ghana’s election if they truly believe we are the beacon of democracy in Africa. They have been supportive financially and logistically to the country in several areas of the country’s developmental efforts so they have a stake in what happens here. Aside these supports they also have various investments in the country which they need to protect.
Ghana is not an island and any negative development is likely to affect our neighbours and the international community a large. The international community has to adopt a proactive attitude in the developments happening because it will be much more expensive to adopt a reactionary attitude. In the activities leading to the elections it is becoming clear that the sovereignty of our nation is being threatened by the ruling party and the President who are competitors. The President is using state institutions which are expected to be non partial and fair to all citizens to terrorize anybody with a divergent view in a democratic state like ours. The Constitution which is the fundamental law regulating our relationships as a people is being threatened of being rendered ineffective. For these reasons I wish to speak on behalf of the millions who believe the contest for presidency should be fairly conducted on a level ground for everybody and use the occasion to invite the international community to engage in the process leading to the election of theperson the majority of the people want to administer the country for the next four years.
Our sovereignty can only be respected when the President and his party believe in free and fair elections. Anything aside the so called sovereignty is under threat for which we invite this community to paly an unbiased and independent role in our election. Any blood that drops in this year’s election which will be traced to anybody or organization, account should be demanded from that person. If we allow irresponsibility to take over elections other people will be encouraged to do similar things but the signal must be sent clearly to all that the world’s community will not tolerate it.
SUPREME COURT (SC)
We believe the SC will be a fair arbiter as we go into this election however we know they are constituted by individuals aside their professional duty to the state. The Government has proved time and gain they are capable of influencing people with money to do their bidding and the members of the SC are not exonerated from this. Like I have said before the SC is there for matters of law and not common sense especially when they are faced with matters of common sense and the law. I believe that if we are to deal with matters of common sense there are many other people in our country who if not more deserving, should be in the SC. On top of my head names like the great Asantehene, Pastor MensahOtabil, Kofi Annan, New Juabenhene and many others who are not involved in partisan politics should be on the bench. The seven members of the SC are there because of their professional competence and nobody can take that away from them. They should be guided by the rare opportunity granted them by God to be fair and to strictly apply the Law as expected from them. I say all these because of the observations some of us made in the Election Petition of 2012. The pieces of evidence produced were not taken into consideration which I think did not help matters. During this period of litigation I did not take much interest but many believed the final judgment was not convincing enough. In areas where the Court do not have the professional experience others can help to clarify matters better.
The signs are clear that some matters will have to be resolved in the Court looking at the way and manner the EC is going about things. The lady chair of the EC appears to be primarily appointed to assist the NDC to win the 2016 elections through foul means. This is not going to happen because we are all determined to prevent any illegal action by the EC.
THE GHANAIAN VOTER
It is important for the Ghanaian voter to understand that the only direct means created for us as ordinary citizens to be involved in the governance of the state is choosing the President and Parliamentarians. This has been done once in 4 years and our choice can make or unmake our lives for this period. The NDC has been in charge of the administration of this country since 2008 and we as voters can individually testify to our conditions of life and the realization of our aspirations. What ever it is now, we the people chose it. Another opportunity has come again to make this critical decision and again our choice will determine our conditions and aspirations as individuals and nation for the next four years. It is very sad that many of us make this very important decision not considering our conditions and aspirations but are swayed by flimsy issues like tribalism, personal attacks and physical infrastructure which is a legal demand on any President who is voted for to deliver.
In the past the issues which have driven our elections are the living conditions of the people and corruption. The deliverance of infrastructure has never been a debatable matter because the 1992 Constitution demands of any president to do that. This is the reason many of us supported John Mahama as Vice Presidential candidate when he pointed to President Kufuor’sadministration that campaigning on infrastructure was an act of mediocrity. President Kufuor’s party lost the elections in 2008 not because of its inability to deliver infrastructure but it was largely on corruption. In fact John Mahama himself conceded that President Kufuor has delivered many infrastructure so what has changed this time? To make matters worse this time has been the high levels of unemployment due to the deliberate collapse of the private sector by the Mahama led administration. For his administration the issues are daunting and very bad that Ghanaians cannot ignore them. Without jobs, the living conditions of the people have become debilitating and our aspirations have whittled away. How long can we live under this situation, fellow Ghanaians? In addition to this the so called deliverance of infrastructure which has been described as an act of mediocrity has been bathed from head to toe with massive corruption never witnessed in the history of the country. What we have seen for the past 4 years have been MASSIVE MEDIOCRITY, MASSIVE CORRUPTION, MASSIVE UNEMPLOYMENT and MASSIVELY WORST LIVING CONDITIONS.
Fortunately for us, God has offered an incorruptible person to lead the country to recover the loot as it happened in Biblical Israel who was lead by King David to recover the loot by the Amalaekites. Nana Addo is the David of the moment who is offering an opportunity of hope. Let us not make the mistake of letting it go for another 4 years of difficult living conditions.
In 2012 prior to the elections, John Mahama and the NDC were engaged in profligate spending on the elections and after it we have to go through difficult times. We are still in that difficult time to date but it will be worse from next year as more profligate spending continue. There are also IMF conditionalities waiting to be unleashed on us after the elections.
Fellow Ghanaians, God has given us our free will but He says we have to account for everything we used that free will to do. He will not force us to do anything but we are accountable for our actions and inactions. The choice of CORRUPTION, MEDIOCRITY, UNBEARABLE LIVING CONDITIONS, UNEMPLOYMENT against EMPLOYMENT, INCORRUPTIBLE LEADERSHIP, BETTER LIVING CONDITIONS AND COMPETENT MANAGEMENT OF THE ECONOMY await us to chose.
God help us to make the choice which will make us recover the loots by President Mahama and the NDC Government, AMEN
Nayaki 9 years ago
Useless EC.this simple job comparing names to represent a particular place u can't do it.foolish EC of our time. School profect of any basic schhl can do this on his computer
Cool 9 years ago
EVEN THE US HAS ISSUES WITH VOTING. BE PATIENT AND STOP BEHAVING AS IF THE POLICE THEMSELVES ARE PERFECT
THOSE WHO VANDALISE THE EC EQUIPMENT SHOULD BE ARRESTED PROSECUTED. POLICE NOT ABOVE THE LAW
EVEN THE US HAS ISSUES WITH VOTING. BE PATIENT AND STOP BEHAVING AS IF THE POLICE THEMSELVES ARE PERFECT
THOSE WHO VANDALISE THE EC EQUIPMENT SHOULD BE ARRESTED PROSECUTED. POLICE NOT ABOVE THE LAW
Jim 9 years ago
Jail them and let them pay for any damage. They must be dismissed as well. Fools
Cool 9 years ago
YOU ARE SUCJ AN EVIL LIAR.. HOW DOES THE NDC KNOW HOW EACH POLICEMAN OR JOURNALIST WILL VOTE AND FOR WHOM?
JH New York 9 years ago
I think the EC office is ill prepared to conduct the Election so far as the Voters Register is concerned. Therefore, the general Election on the 7th Dec should be postponed for the EC office to correct their mistakes. To send electoral materials to the Constituencies on time does not implied Readiness .A Voters Register which disenfranchised many people across the Country is a recipe for Chaos.This anomalies could be attributed to Charlotte Osei's(EC) incompetencies or administrative blunder of immediate retirement of the old hands,when She took Office. I have said several times on this forum that, any experienced administrator could handle the EC Office.One do not need to be a Lawyer by profession to manage the EC Office,in my personal opinion.Anyway
Tutugyagu 9 years ago
The general election must be postponed for sure. I don't remember things were this bad the last election.It looks like Charlotte Osei has either overlooked or been blind sided by consequences of many of the reforms she claims the EC has made. The atmosphere in the country leading to the election is very tense and issues like this at the polling stations can lead to chaos and unrest in the country.
Menfele 9 years ago
Your director of operation was on news files warning you guys about your code of ethics.
Goodman 9 years ago
So far i have not heard any election observer saying anything about all these. The EU observer team have been in this country for some weeks before this early voting started and it is looking as if they are not in the country. Where is Mr. Thabo Nbeke and his team? are they truly observing all what is going on concerning this early voting.? Please some of us will like to hear their voice.
Seth prince 9 years ago
I think that EC will address this issue before 7th December.
True talk 9 years ago
Remember no one pays for their lorry,thier time is also precious to them ,what kind of frustration is this? Ghanaians are hypocrate.
oko 9 years ago
Get them out now. Foolish govt in power, buying everything and our freedom and rights.
Opalanku 9 years ago
Talk about the Electoral Commission rather than blaming the security personel
Opalanku 9 years ago
Talk about the Electoral Commission and stop blaming the Security Officers
KOJO 9 years ago
NDC EC ARE LAUGHING AT US BECAUSE THE HAVE BUS THE YOUTH EMPLOYMENT AGENCY BOYS AND GIRLS TO VOTE ON THEIR BEHALF EXAMPLE IS THE BOYS AND GIRLS THEY CLAIM TO TRAINING IN THE REGIONAL MARITIME UNIVERSITY STAYING AT RAVECO HOTEL IN NUGUA ON DECEMBER FIRST THEY SENT THEM TO GO AS SECURITY OFFICERS ASSIGNED FOR THE SPECIAL DAY VOTING, ,THE MOST PAINFUL PART AFTER THEY WILL COME AND TELL US THAT THEY WON THE ELECTION BY FAIR MEANS THIS IS A DISGRACEFUL ACT,
Yaw Mahama 9 years ago
What Ndc and Charlotte Osei are doing l Nell something bad for Ghana in the air.....
KILL ME SOFTLY 9 years ago
tweeeeaaaaa
tweeeeaaaaa
Kwaku Louis, Mankranso, Ashanti 9 years ago
Why should police officers meddling themselves seriously in the EC misconduct? How come the officers of security agencies cheapen themselves in this country? If EC and the government do not respect we the civilians what about the security agencies and the media? If this treatment mated to the security agencies and the media were to happen in 70s,trust me,the junior officers in security agencies would have rebelled against their officers and the government punished severely let alone are ranting about. This disgraceful action put up by the EC what do Amadu Sulley, the worst commissioner and his boss implied?
ABIBA 9 years ago
THIS WOMAN HAS REALLY MADE UP HER MIND TO RIGG THIS ELECTION.I HAVE NERVER HEARD THIS BEFORE.
THE LORD IS IN CONTROL.
THIS WOMAN HAS REALLY MADE UP HER MIND TO RIGG THIS ELECTION.I HAVE NERVER HEARD THIS BEFORE.
THE LORD IS IN CONTROL.
Man 9 years ago
EC SHOULD ARREST ANYONE WHO VANDALIZED ANY EC PROPERTIES.
KWEKU JK 9 years ago
In-fact it sounds stupid and madly for that police officer to threaten the aggrieved personnel of any punishment and this tells how some of our officers like the one in this article are, instead of looking for a solution and probing so well to know the cause of an action they idiotly do exhibit such insane attitude to please their original pay masters in the NDC government.
Mr senseless man, rather analyze the problem to get a solution to avert it occurrence again than kissing the ass of your demonic master by pronouncing this stupid threat on the innocent ones.
Go kiss you wife's ass to become sensible you hopeless for nothing man who dances to the tune of your masters.
No matter what your NDC is going and gone for good.
MAHAMA HAS PROMOTED THIS LADY MRS CHARLOTTE 3 TIMES WITHIN JUST 3 YEARS. 1ST HE PUT HER ON STATE INSURANCE COMPANY NOW GRC BOARD, HE LATER PROMOTED HER TO CHAIRMAN OF NCCE AND NOW EC CHAIRMAN. WORSE STILL SHE WAS BORN IN NIGE ...
This is just part of the NDC's suppression of vote exercise. It is well rumored that the Ghana Police and Armed Forces personnel are voting against the NDC, especially the older officers, therefore the exercise to introduce t ...
NDC has deployed people to sew EC Officials attire at Tesano and other places in Accra ...
Lets ask ourselves: t ...
AKAN NAMES ARE SUSPCIOUSLY GETTING MISSING FROM THE VOTERS REGISTER. NDC & EC KNEW WHAT THEY INTEND TO DO WITH THE OLD REGISTER THATS WHY THEY FOUGHT TOOTH & NAIL TO KICK AGAINST A NEW REGISTER. THEY WILL BLAME IT ON THE OLD ...
Had anyone vandalised voting materials, the police would have arrested the person. Police officers are public officers and should know better, so why have they not been arrested for this criminal act? Police officers are not ...
Well,when police arrest civilians for election misconduct they don't do anything to them,they are released immediately so arrest is not the issue here though their conduct was not right,this EC is a disaster,they don't know ...
the police and the other security personnel submitted their names to EC very late. Even some people's names not submitted at all. Again, if those who cannot find their names on d-day, it means they used NHIS Card and per the ...
NPP
JJ I guess you don't know what constitute news. If a dog bites a man that's no news but if a man bites dog that's news. Or if a police officer arrests civilian that's no news but if a civilian arrests a police officer that's ...
Incredible
Madam Charlotte
Bogus ec chair. All these could have been avoided if new register was initiated, all other alterial motives will fail. All these happening under mahamas rule thief will always be thief and now he is caught. Bribing all instut ...
Haha..Gimmik
The signs are really bad if these reports of missing names and its attendant rowdy behaviour from security and other ''specialised voters" are true !! Its a recipe for disaster on the 7th of Dec and all must pray for the mot ...
I will suggest the EC paste copies of the register at all polling stations on the day of voting so that voters can check for their names before joining the queue. Due to pressure on EC officers on voting day, they may sk ...
They should destroy all
commander to punish which personnel. nonsense. they should have beat them mercilessly to serve signal to the entire country that is their constitutional rights to vote . something that has never happened in the history of bef ...
All discrepancies emanating frm de Special Voting indicates that, even de figures brought out by de Commission concerning de 72% voted persons in de ongoing Special voting exercise x fabricated. De NPP executives shud always ...
Our dear Motherland Ghana has become a banana republic since the NDC took office up to Atta Mills Administration. The country faces high range corruption, nepotism, incompetence, theft, selling of national resources like fore ...
security officers should be calm although they have not found their names for the second.as explained by the,they will have the chance to vote on dec 7th.i learnt they will be sent to areas they registered officially and give ...
Hmmmm!
As a matter of fact
Only ndc idiots who hate the country are condemning the security officers, the EC and their boss must be punished for lying to Ghanaians. IGP Kudalor and Oje must be careful for playing politics in the security forces for all ...
Ghana is in real trouble if indeed the incident happened. How can Iaw enforcement officers be Iawless? No matter the situation they are to act lawfully while solutions are found for any challenges there may be. Indiscipline a ...
LOOSE WEIGHT NATURAL
Wondering how t ...
This elections should be postponed until the EC can correct all mistakes. There's obvious sign or plot to disenfranchise many eligible voters. Charlotte Osei should resign. Because she has proven beyond doubt that she is not ...
The police service has no respect for their junior officers,one of them was on tv yesterday threading to punish those who spoke to the press and registered their worries over the December 1st fiasco.How many re police officer ...
The EC should allow the Security Personnel whose names are not in the register to Vote ones they show their ID Cards or votess ID cards. All the security personnel are Ghanaians and obviously above 18 years. So EC allow all o ...
Common sense was ignored. Why did the Government kicked against New Voters Register? Now Policemen who are supposed to uphold the Criminal Code, Act 29/60 are infuriated and destroying electoral materials. We need God's In ...
A VERY GOOD OR BUSY MARKET DAY IS SEEN BY THE EARLY HOURS OF THE DAY. OUT OF SOME 126,000 IF ABOUT 90,+000 WERE ABLE TO VOTE THEN JUST CONSIDER THE RATIO IF ABOUT 15 MILLION PEOPLE ARE GOING TO VOTE ON DECEMBER 7. WE TOLD YOU ...
President Mahama made se ...
Ghana has always been referred to as the beacon of democracy on the African continent because of the successful elections held in the past. The 2012 election was fraught with sever ...
I think the EC office is ill prepared to conduct the Election so far as the Voters Register is concerned. Therefore, the general Election on the 7th Dec should be postponed for the EC office to correct their mistakes. To send ...
The general election must be postponed for sure. I don't remember things were this bad the last election.It looks like Charlotte Osei has either overlooked or been blind sided by consequences of many of the reforms she claims ...
So far i have not heard any election observer saying anything about all these. The EU observer team have been in this country for some weeks before this early voting started and it is looking as if they are not in the country ...
NDC EC ARE LAUGHING AT US BECAUSE THE HAVE BUS THE YOUTH EMPLOYMENT AGENCY BOYS AND GIRLS TO VOTE ON THEIR BEHALF EXAMPLE IS THE BOYS AND GIRLS THEY CLAIM TO TRAINING IN THE REGIONAL MARITIME UNIVERSITY STAYING AT RAVECO HOTE ...
tweeeeaaaaa
Why should police officers meddling themselves seriously in the EC misconduct? How come the officers of security agencies cheapen themselves in this country? If EC and the government do not respect we the civilians what about ...
THE LORD IS IN CONTROL.
In-fact it sounds stupid and madly for that police officer to threaten the aggrieved personnel of any punishment and this tells how some of our officers like the one in this article are, instead of looking for a solution and ...