You are here: HomeNews2016 11 28Article 490508

Children of Agorde swim across two rivers to get to school

Read Comments Comments (52)

• Nocturnal 7 years ago

This is the better NDC agenda. Ghana shine your eyes.

• Teacher under Tree 7 years ago

Instead of buying a new V8 for the Chief, and instead of paying the salaries of 100s of people who do no work, build a school in the village. Pay the teachers well and motivate them to work there. Teach the kids how to make a ...

• CITIZEN ONE 7 years ago

People chose to live and breed in the harshest corners of our poor country, do not behave like intelligent specie, then some ignorant finds this a worthy documentary. Nomads, wanderers, squatters and all sorts of adventurers ...

• CITIZEN ONE 7 years ago

CHEEEW !!!

• AGBEVE AGBENYEGA 7 years ago

Our brother Woyome alone has stolen GHC51M. What did he do with it that our children are suffering so much?

• Enemies Are Not God, New York Boy 7 years ago

Your mental faculty is too low to do any good thinking. Your brain is skewed and it seems you are not living on earth. Shame on you for trying to twist incompetence of your disgraceful president John Mahama and his criminally ...

• Abui 7 years ago

Did this happen only now? What have other govt done about it. No one govt can solve all the problems in this dear country.

• METWEEEEW 7 years ago

Abui you are part of those people who have come to settle in other parts of Ghana and don't care a hoot about your people. Ain't you ashamed of yourself? Don't you have compassion for these kids who if taking good care of can ...

• Senior kofy 7 years ago

That's Village was not Exist in 8 years of Npp in office?

• Konkonte 7 years ago

This is no news do u know what I went through to go to sch but today living in the US?so JM should go there n every little village all over Ghana to solve these problems in 4yrs?
    Ghana will regret if they just want any kind ...

• Man 7 years ago

So what. Dont they have MPs.

• Akokraba Akwasi Adu Acheampong 7 years ago

After 60 years of independent this is Ghana for us all shame unto our leaders

And Mahama is talking about his developments,infrastructure and achievement.Where are they?

• Socrates 7 years ago

Fool you same people say infrastructure is not good. You need money in your pocket or in your Mom stinky pussy

• Akokraba Akwasi Adu Acheampong 7 years ago

They have only the spirit of deception to deceive people to get their vote and that is all

• Sodji mic 7 years ago

This is not true l used to teach in tsavanya for 7 years and nothing of that nature exist.

• SCHEMER 7 years ago

Goon! They are talking about Agorde and you are saying something different. You used to teach there but do you still teach? Did you ask any of these pupils how they got to school? This is not NDC, NPP matter but one of nation ...

• This is Ridiculous 7 years ago

Are you sure you have ever taught there?
    Don't bear false witness. The teachers there have fled the school in the community, because there's no accommodation and the can't swim and walk for more than one hour to get to the t ...

• Abiba 7 years ago

These children and many like them all over the country are seeking a brighter future. Can you the Minister of Education and the President address this situation. Many vulnerbale parents have been silent for so long as NDc del ...

• Abiba 7 years ago

Betty Mould Iddirisu conducted a research when she was the Minister for Education but what did the findings achieve up to this day. Practically nothing concret.

• ezeco sam 7 years ago

Heavy burden in my heart,what a shame to Ghana expercially the leaders after 60 years of freedom noting to write home about, it should have been better if we are still under colonialism compare to what our leaders are doing.

• Theo 7 years ago

GREAT WORK, GREAT JOURNALISM

• VOTE 7 years ago

People in Accra are happy because they had fully air condition trotro.Where is the mp for the area?And they will stiill vote for him

• Bless K. Augustt, Tema 7 years ago

I commend Alice Ayitey and GHOne for bringing the plight of the children in Agorde to light. Reading the story however, it seems to me Agorde is in space as the story did not say which district or region Agorde is. The neare ...

• This is Ridiculous 7 years ago

It is in the Akatsi South District of the Volta region. It was stated clearly...the DCE of the area was even interviewed in the story.

• Kojogah 7 years ago

No sympathy 4 them. They were given lands near Akatsi to relocate but they refused!

• Butcher 7 years ago

HOW MUCH MONEY GOVERNMENT AND OPPOSITION ARE SPENDING ON THEIR CAMPAIGN FOR BETTER GHANA?

• Abeiku SW 2 London 7 years ago

Very Sad ....

• JOHN MAHAMA THE THIEF MAN 7 years ago

NDC THIEVES/NDC LIARS/NDC KILLERS,.-

• Musa 7 years ago

Ghanaian Muslims who are in Ndc are hypocrites why because .,Ndc are telling them that John 3:16 is what they using to win their vote.I'm asking ghana Muslims Did God have a Son.I need answers from my Muslim brothers and sis ...

• sam 7 years ago

it will be surprising that people from this community have bee voting one way becuase our political leaders take advantage of pure communities and entice them with lttle things to get their votes.

• ERIC 7 years ago

IS TALKING ABOUT GREEN FAKE BOOK. VOTE WISELY GHANA

• AKPINI 7 years ago

Funny world of Ghana

• Agyeman 7 years ago

Akpini, don't misfire! All teachers are not members of the NDC.

• Ahima Agyeman Badu 7 years ago

I would crave on the indulgence of the government to give the annual teachers award and other incentives to teachers who would accept to teach in some of these areas (with deplorable conditions) rather than concentrating on t ...

• Paa Nii 7 years ago

Ghanaians need to bow our heads in shame. This government is not fit for purpose and we need to CHANGE it now.

• Kyere 7 years ago

I could not watch this. I cried. Mahama should be brought to the street and lay him for people to see. Modern Ghana nie Mahama? I could not watch all. God will help children of the area. Better Ghana nie hoo?

• Ama Texas 7 years ago

Going through all this things still their parents will vote for ndc nd leave in this dangerous life is part of Volta region they have mp boasting of better Ghana agenda

• Franc?s 7 years ago

Mahama why all th?s , your st?ll try to lead Ghana as a pres?dent

• Komla Nutsukpui 7 years ago

This challenge can easily be solved through a pro active approachand this is how. Get the students and faculty at KNUST School of Civil Engineering to go as case study design a bridge and then partner with Ghana Army Field E ...

• Odikro 7 years ago

If the DCE himself is not well educated, how do you expect him to take education serious? The cost of one V8 vehicle for the Assembly should be more than enough to build a decent and safe footbridge for these villagers.

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

The symparthy must to do somethig immediatly to enable this school children to have their education as well ,concerning the harship for being and getting to skuul and they must to do as posible as ,immediatly for the children ...

• Asoreba 7 years ago

Who are these people voting for and unable to DEMAND that their children be educated in their own communities?

• FACT 7 years ago

And Mahama creates, loots and shares and insults the intelligence of Ghanaians with bigotry, tribalism and ethnocentrism.
    John Mahama has ballooned Ghana's debt to over $40billion dollars with just a little over $7billion do ...

• GPS 7 years ago

All these criminals politicians should be investigated. Africa leaders wicked. What did mahama do with all these borrowed money?

• GPS 7 years ago

All these criminals politicians should be investigated. Africa leaders are wicked. What did mahama do with all these borrowed money?

• KOO NIMO USA CT 7 years ago

We have the most stupid president ever in the history of ghana. Woyome judgment money stolen from ghana coffers could have been used to construct an access road for these kids. Stupid president ever, stealing, stealing, steal ...

• obi 7 years ago

u see not thinking about people but when it get to time to vote u ll go and lie to them to vote 4 u 4 the good work u ve done

• Innocent 7 years ago

IS A SIGNAL TO THE NDC WORLD BANK VOLTA HAHAHA. NDC FOR YOU!!! STILL IF YOU WILL FOLLOW THEM. WHO BUILT ALL YOUR HIGH ROADS FOR YOU? U ENDED SAYING YOU CAN'T ROADS, THE CHILDREN ARE GOING TO BE ILLITERATES.

• Carol 7 years ago

So the villagers can't organise a ferry or something to take these children to school or better still build them a school nearby so they don't have to go through this ordeal???
    People have to start helping themselves instead ...

• Kyekyeku 7 years ago

Ghanaina are lazy. They want the govt to dp everything for them

• Aubyn 7 years ago

This is a damn shame!!. Money is being squandered left and right by the the government for personal reasons while children in Ghana are still forced to get to school as if they are living in the 1400's. This is 2016 for heav ...