You are here: HomeNews2016 11 19Article 488171

Manhyia ban on drumming, funerals to be enforced in other regions

Read Comments Comments (104)

• Araba Thompson!!! 7 years ago

How long is this ban?

• Eko 7 years ago

Stupid idea about dead bodies. That old lady is dead we Live.

• OMANHENE 7 years ago

1. BE CONSIDERATE OF OTHERS WHO HAVE DEAD RELATIVES IN MORTUARY FOR MONTHS.

• T and T 7 years ago

Everything is about them, women, children, the aged, the sick don't matter to them.
    This is a primitive culture that needs to be removed to the museum to pave way for better management of our lands and its resources.
    We ca ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

Backward nonsense. He says "we will deal with anyone who disobeys". Just how do you intend to do that exactlt? Unless you send vagabonds to beat up that person under the cover of darkness, any action you take can successfully ...

• Togbega 7 years ago

No way. You mean we can't have fun because a certain centenarian feels she has had enough of this corrupt planet and has decided to call it quits? Away with your backward looking customd and traditions.

• Kwame frimpong 7 years ago

Foolish ewe he goat.does it apply to you.odwan ba.

• Rodriguez 7 years ago

this is primitive from this bush people
    Anlos are enlightened.we met the white man first.where were you? chasing opro in the bush.

• Cq 7 years ago

Who is the white man?

• Alberta Brew 7 years ago

Decorum please, no more insults on this platform. If you can post a comment, it means you've been educated so write like "akrakyefo and nwuraba". Season your words and refine your language. Someday, our children will read ...

• Maame Akua 7 years ago

You are lucky we are not beheading ewe'shead to put on top of our queen's coffin.
    Tradition must prevail!

• judichrislam 7 years ago

This was the cause of the Yaa Asantewaa war of 1900 and you lost so went down with this practices.

We live in a new times where there is no longer a pure bred Asantes. We are all mixed up. Your men are marrying Northern ...

• omotuo 7 years ago

Total stupidity.

What is your problem. Does it apply to you.gyimiii.odwan ba .son of a bitch

• OMANHENE 7 years ago

I'M AN ASHANTI, AND I HAVE A DEAD UNCLE TO BURY. HE IS IN THE MORTUARY FOR 2 MONTHS NOW. KWASEA OTUMFUO.

ARE THERE ENOUGH MORTUARY IN GHANAN TO HOLD ALL DEAD RELATIVES TILL OHEMAA IS BURIED.

• Cq 7 years ago

You can bury him but no noise making period

• Wise man Truth 7 years ago

Backward mindset.. Who are you to take someone's freedom? You can only ban your family. Don't bring that nonsense to the Northern region

Illiterate human been.animals .does it apply to you.is only in the Asante man area.son of a bitch .third class people

• Rodriguez 7 years ago

this one de333,total primitive and bogus culture.i know you people eat akranti3 shit soup and you are calling somebody third class.no wonder your head is full of shit.

• judichrislam 7 years ago

That shit contains very useful enzymes that help in human digestion.

• Da bi asem 7 years ago

please u are going too far

• Will Smith 7 years ago

A monkey king ruling over monkey-like people have lost their queenmother. Now they are calling us toliet cleaners. We are better off being humans than monkey-like tribe like you.

• Adele P 7 years ago

Will, is it true that northerners continue to carry the shits of the Ashanti people? If this is true I think you should spend your energy fighting this outrageous act instead of wasting your energy in this forum. That is a pi ...

• Will Smith 7 years ago

Any good-looking Asante has a toilet cleaner father. Otherwise, he is sure to be too ugly for words.

• A A B 7 years ago

We clean toilet n u people eat toilet so re we nt better ? We re 3rd class n u re last class there too we still better

• Adele P 7 years ago

Human faeces has all the germs and disease causing agents, with the potential to affect the brains and its cognitive process. At best, there's a difference between animal and human shits. Which one do you prefer to mess with? ...

• Da bi asem 7 years ago

remain in Northern Region coz this is our customs

• Ofui 7 years ago

Tani aboa. Northerner's were made as animals to be eaten buh because u stints that's why we don't eat . Taniii

• Kofi K 7 years ago

Who is that old woman? Is she God?

• Nana kogyan 7 years ago

Who the fuck are you? Fuck you.!!!...that's my mother you talking about.

• Hubert Akrong 7 years ago

Let us do all in moderation. I guess this assembly advocate for moderate funerals. Is there any conflict?

• Yy 7 years ago

Keaseasem..is Ghana for that old woman and Asantes ?

Son of a bitch.does it apply to u .otan hunu ara kwa

No respect muthafuka. T

• xxyz 7 years ago

where will Ghana be without Asantes, odwan like you

• Kpoliatenukpo 7 years ago

Foolish people culture! Bcoz your mother is dead we should not breathe in our regions? Nonsense!! Even when the whole prez of the Republic of Ghana lost his mother ,not everybody knew about it. And bcoz your vodoo mother is d ...

• Da bi asem 7 years ago

STUPID u ARE. Give respect to those who deserve it

She is more important than your president. Show some fucking respect. And go fuck ur self!

The illiterates are insulting .read the article well.it applies to the Asante man .so stop insulting your colonial masters.

Listen to the ewe goats,people who sleep with their daughters,the fools fantes and the animal nor ...

• Rodriguez 7 years ago

you are insulting all the tribes.this shows your level of maturity and primitive asanteni kokoasini kumasini kurasini.

• Issa 7 years ago

Bro, you're stupid I'm a Fante and I support the ban and no fante person on this platform has spoken against it but you're insulting the fantes! You're probably illiterate and ignorant. Let me tell you, Akans need to work tog ...

• Zoro 7 years ago

Fantastic, my brother! You've said it all. I'm also an Asante but I totally disagree with Kwame Frimpong's attitude towards others in this regard. In any case, couldn't he have made his point, devoid of insults? This attitude ...

• P Rock 7 years ago

Forgive him, he went of Rader because of the tempo of the insults, I think ????!

• Wil Evans Accra 7 years ago

This Manshyea or what ever they call them and Asantehene Osei Tutu are all fools and primitives. They can't hold the entire nation at ransom.

• Da bi asem 7 years ago

Learn coz it is only in Ashanti Region

• Da bi asem 7 years ago

Learn coz it is only in Ashanti Region and where they pay tribute to ashanti kingdom

• Rodriguez 7 years ago

Eeeiiiii...
    Kumasi people will kill me oo...
    I just heard an Ashanti man say donut trank. I asked what he meant n he says de newry erected US plesident...
    Bueeiii mawu????????????

• Edem Peki 7 years ago

I laf enter manhyia palace

• Rodriguez 7 years ago

Eeeiiiii...
    Kumasi people will kill me oo...
    I just heard an Ashanti man say donut trank. I asked what he meant n he says de newry erected US plesident...
    Bueeiii mawu????????????

• Kaakie 7 years ago

Nonsense. Backward n useless culture. Let d dead burry d dead. Life goes on. U cnt stop d living frm running deir daily activities. mtcheeew

• kwajang Apetu 7 years ago

We mourn with our Ashanti Region mothers and brothers. However modernization has come along. These tribal extractions should not be entertained. We share in your grief but you cannot impose things onto us.

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

see manhyia see I respect tradition a lot but for this no way with the funeral side sounds nonsense to me

• Yaw Adu-Asare 7 years ago

We disagree with this nonsense from Kumasi.
    Tribal backwardness died with arrival of independence in the 20th century.

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

you foolish awes commenting foolishly see you guys for know say Wanner dey Ghana secof some pepper work but the truth be say Wanner no be Ghanaians so mind your foolish speech

• minladder 7 years ago

Stupid Ashanti .U will die one after the other ...U all stupid fools ur so called foolish man calling him idiot .....

• Nana Nti 7 years ago

Pray that any of your relatives Will get to the age the queen got.. Hatred will kill you.

• Toney 7 years ago

Only in Africa this is abuse of power no respect for others she is DEAD.most of those traditional in Ghana don't pass the coming sense test now people must wait until she is buried before they can have their celebration Ghana ...

• AKPINI 7 years ago

Why oh why Africa?

• Kpoliatenukpo 7 years ago

Da no seem, you are such an animal ,smelling goats, foolish cockroach. Who doesn't deserve those stupid cultural arrangements of yours? Is your queenmother more important the whole prez' mother.NONSENSE!!!!

• xxyz 7 years ago

motherfucker, the President is a temporary position compared to the queenmother, any fool can be a President in Ghana, kwasea, As a matter of fact, the Abrafuo should come and cut off your head and place it at the feet of the ...

• Abu Jomo Stavanger Norway 7 years ago

Ghanaweb, please edit your news before blogging, Berekum is not of asante kingdom. We indigenes of Berekum are Bonos, please check before blogging news.

• xxyz 7 years ago

you know how Berekum came about, adoe; Berekum was established by Otumfuo Opoku Ware I after slaughtering so many of your ancestors; the meaning of the town is self explanatory if you have the brains to think, Berekum means A ...

• .. 7 years ago

THE BONOS BEHEADED ONE OF YOUR CHIEFS AND HIS SEVERED HEAD IS SOMEWHERE IN DORMAA AHENKRO. THE AKYEMS ALSO DEFEATED THE ASHANTIS AND YOUR STUPID CHIRF FELL IN THE RIVER PRA, THATS WHY THE ASANTEHENE CANNOT LOOK AT THE RIVER P ...

• TUMTUM N3 KORKOOR 7 years ago

When did Nkoranza, Berekum, Seikwa, and all those places come under Ashanti?...lol. Funny people.
    Anyway, may the Soul of the Old Lady rest peacefully in the Bosom of the Almighty One.

• Afrifa Okatakyie 7 years ago

no one brought u from ur underdeveloped areas to come and work for Ashantis so if u think our customs r not suitable for u better pack ur bedbug filled luggage nd leave ur land in peace nd stop all those envious comments, aft ...

• kaketonti 7 years ago

SORRY MAN.COME AGAIN.REMEMBER THE CUSTOM/TRADITIONAL BANS THAT WERE OPPOSED YESTER-TIME IN OTHER CHIEFDOMS.

• A A B 7 years ago

Afrifa accept reality some traditions ve out lived their usefulness so u going to cut some humans heads to acompany her as ur tradition demans ?

• xxyz 7 years ago

turn your head in before they find you

• kofi tei 7 years ago

Generally I enjoy the freedom to cut these customs to size on social platform even with the outrageous statement about each tribe. I'm asante. A tradition is what our old relatively primitive an esters use to believe and do b ...

• Bretuoba EFB 7 years ago

This is why we are still using KVIP's.I was waiting patiently to hear Kwahu because we are of Ashanti extraction.Chieftaincy has been the number one problem in Ghana.

• James Mahmoud Awotwe-Braun 7 years ago

Bretuoba, let me remind you that not all Kwahus are of Ashanti extraction.

Certainly the people of Obo are, but some originate from Akyem and Bono. No wonder the Chief of Obao wanted to secede from Kwahu and join Ashanti s ...

Is Ghana a democracy or mornarchy.These traditional chief are disappointing.Inspite of their education,they don't seem to make any reforms.One day Ghanaians would thank them and say we no more see the importance of chieftancy ...

• kaketonti 7 years ago

TRADITION AND CUSTOMS MUST BE RESPECTED.
    BUT THIS BAN SHUOLD BE LIMITED TO 1000METRES RADIUS FROM MANHYIA PALACE.AND NOT MORE.

• .. 7 years ago

WE WILL DRUM AND PARTY IN NKORANZA TODAY SATURDAY. WE ARE BONOS NOT ASHANTIS

• Nenebi 7 years ago

Backwards people....enough of these stupid traditions. Ghana muted because of this?

• jj 7 years ago

We need to reform such backward culture make no mistake I share the name as the current Asantehene but our elders should take a look at such ban cost, hardship involve make changes to reflect current lifestyle of their people ...

• A A B 7 years ago

We shd live in reality some traditions ve out lived their usefulness n no longer needed d world has grown beyond d way some ghanaians still want to live

• Abu Baawah 7 years ago

Let them attempt the ban in the so-called Tano-Subin area and they will regret the day they were born.

• Afrifa Okatakyie 7 years ago

folks is this the first time such a ban has been placed on noise making in Ghana? every year such bans are placed by ga chiefs yet u ppl hypocritically keep mute over that. u are now making noises because this time the ban i ...

• James Mahmoud Awotwe-Braun 7 years ago

Afrifa Okatakyie,

It appears you do not know your culture vey well.

Let me tell you that ban on drumming and noise has always been a tradition in GA land, but among we Akans, this has never been the case.

So we canno ...

• Odikro 7 years ago

Will my people ever change? Bury the fucking 'ol lady and think about "traditions" that better the lives of your poor, illiterate and hungry people. Primitive idiots! I am an Ashanti; I am going to drum and play music - loud ...

• Samuel 7 years ago

Stopid ashanti's who clame to be wiser and too closs with God?

• Maame Yaa 7 years ago

Why would they stop with the regions? Why don't these backward Ashantis extend the ban to the rest of the world? Fucking tradition, it is is.

• Wilfred Odame 7 years ago

With such stupid culture and tradition how can we progress.
    Assuming it take months before she is buried a whole region and national activities which may lead to development comes to a stop and the stupid politicians would f ...

• NANA ASANTE BARIMA 7 years ago

respect our culture folks that is what our tradition says period........ no insults

• Ghanaians-n-Subservience 7 years ago

Ghana is now a nation of many peoples who suborn their narrow interests for the common weal. The Asantes cannot be thought of as having interests that trump those of all Ghanaians. So the edict should be that those who consid ...

• KOOL OBSERVER 7 years ago

YOU KNOW, FRIENDS, BROTHERS AND SISTERS: LET'S USE THIS ORDER AS GOD'S GRACE. THIS WOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED ANY BETTER TIME FOR THE WHOLE OF GHANA THAN THIS CRAZY POLITICAL SEASON. THIS IS GOD'S WAY TO USE JUST ONE DEAD PERSON ...

• Akora 7 years ago

If the traditional council is saying that times have changed so they can now announce a ban on her death, then why can't the council also see that times have changed to prevent families from having funerals for their deceased ...

• King straw 7 years ago

This is total stupid of the century how can you impose your forking tradition on other region. This can not true

• KO 7 years ago

When did Berekum come under Asantehene? As Far as I know we are Brongs and have nothing to do with the traditions of the Asante Kingdom. Asantes and Bonos are family but we have different norms

• True Ghana Patriot. 7 years ago

This fine old lady dies few dies after the NPP used their dirty politics on her by saying she had endorsed Akuffo Addo as the next president of Ghana. That was a big lie. Do they think that this old lady had forgotten what th ...

• Sir Acid 7 years ago

I think this Frimpong guy is as stupid and backward as the one issuing this statement. Why are you attacking everyone who has a different view. Ddnt you read that it extends to other places like nkoranza, worawora and eastern ...

• Republican 7 years ago

That is why chieftancy should be banned.It is obsolete and works against the progress of the nation.How can you top some economic activities[entertainments] because of the death of a queen mother?

• Adongo Tongo 7 years ago

I think bereaved families should start dumping corpses on the grounds of Manhyia Palace if they can't bury their dead. Fools, why should these barbarians be allowed to take the laws into their hands?

• STAFFORD 7 years ago

Kingdoms have a symbolic meaning, or significance with some specific hidden information, to gaining some understanding of the lives of a particular people living in a particular place.Kingdoms exist to serve diverse political ...

• STAFFORD 7 years ago

The ban grants damage immunity against an attack from some evil tempest,a good defense against attacks. It is the fear of evil,backward,demonic and uncivilized spirits that might lurk in the barrel of drums....supernatural fo ...

• the lone Prophet of Jehovah 7 years ago

People defers other cultures when they ban drumming during their yearly festival.They say this primitive tradition or culture should be ban, Now can those people say the same thing to this ban etc,etc,

• Santo 7 years ago

This is archaic. Let's modernize things. Those primitive cultures affect progress and development.

• ERASRR FROM THE U. S OF A!!! 7 years ago

Old Asantefoo still acting dumb. This is an old ass queen who did not do shit for all the years she was queen and now her ass is dead y'all sitting there and coming up with all these bullshit. Let the rest of the sorry ass ki ...

• Potag member 7 years ago

Is this relevant in this computer age?

Has consideration been made on social economic activities that are driven via drumming, music etc or are we only looking at the old tradition that does not bring food unto the table??

• Potag member 7 years ago

Primitive and irrelevant tradition which would affect lives economically!!!!!!!!Lives are operated and depends on music, for selling and operating food joints etc.

• OTUBUAH 7 years ago

What nonsense in a Republic. Who the hell do they think they're? Should we stop living, because your mother dies? Oh oh what gibberish!

• GPS 7 years ago

THESE PEOPLE STILL HAVE NOT SEEN LIGHT ON MY GOD. GOD BLESS AMERICA

• GPS 7 years ago

AFRICANS WILL NEVER SEE LIGHT. STILL LIVING IN DARKNESS. ON MY GOD