You are here: HomeNews2016 11 15Article 486985

Unusual traffic in Accra after Nkrumah Interchange commissioning

Read Comments Comments (95)

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 7 years ago

What would anyone expect ndc to do correctly? Their thinking is a manifestation of their personalities.

• J0eY l0nD0n 7 years ago

In the west,will never campaign by degrading their opponents. What is the meaning of this reportage? Only an amazing idiot braces such an illogical assertion, accident can cause a deadlock on any road.

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

So with all his university education didn't Mahama foresee this coming. I think history education has made Mahama moronic. I will never even advice my enemy to study history at the university.

COULD IT BE EVERY DUMB ASS ON THE ROAD THAT DAY WANTED A PERSONAL VIEW OR PLAN ON TAKING THE ALTERNATE ROUTES. EVEN IN THE 4 LANE ROUTES YOU SEE IN THE WEST, A JOKER ON THE SIDEWALK CAN CAUSE A TRAFFIC BACKUP.
    UNDER KUFFOUR ...

• Ama Boateng 7 years ago

I went through circle today just to see the flyover and most motorists, as reported on other networks were only there to see what was there. That increased the unusual situation. In a week's time all will settle. If people he ...

For the past one year the Circle Interchange has always been there and motorist have been using certain portions of the facility for the past one year and so I don't see what will prompt Motorists to fall head-over-heels to c ...

• Mahmoud 7 years ago

Mr. Mahama and his looting brigade are not interested in the priorities that would ease the suffering of Ghanaians; they are only interested in prestigious projects for the enjoyment of few ruling elites and deceive gullible ...

• BlindMan 7 years ago

And so was the reporter; it's new and motorists love the experience of being the first on the new road, it adds some taste to its narrative, as story-telling goes.
    Hypocrites, your motives to criticize are neither safe nor ...

You did not provide and scientific basis for your comment. You see, politics itself is science and not noise making. Please, acquire some scientific knowledge to help your Political Party and country.

• Obournana 7 years ago

You seem like an idiot based on your comments. You don't write just because you have computer in your house. What is causing the traffic overflow involve several factors. You don't just insult a president who rules a country ...

• Honesty-the best policy! 7 years ago

This Agbesi Kwesi impersonator who chose an ewe in order to deceive the public that ewes are being critical of Mahama and the NDC has lost the game by attempting to write Anlo which in ewe is spelt Anlo. He is still hanging a ...

• Honesty-the best policy! 7 years ago

This Agbesi Kwesi impersonator who chose an ewe in order to deceive the public that ewes are being critical of Mahama and the NDC has lost the game by attempting to write Anlo which in ewe is spelt Anlo. He is still hanging a ...

Officially there is a place in Koforidua called Anlo Town. That is the official name of the area. One of the Eastern Regional youth organisers of the NDC, Dodzie, was born and bred there. You can ask him.

Officially there is a place in Koforidua called Anlo Town. That is the official name of the area. One of the Eastern Regional youth organisers of the NDC, Dodzie, was born and bred there. You can ask him. Stop scratching the ...

• bill 7 years ago

Who even studies history these days ?

In other to learned about the past to include, democracy,governance,conflicts and dynasties, etc etc etc then you are an ignorant person.You are doomed.Europeans are busily studying the very avoidable acts of the nineteenth ...

• Prince Charles 7 years ago

Thank you!

• KingSouth 7 years ago

INDEED

• Abuja 7 years ago

You are a very stupid guy because you leave in with unrespectful family who can't even provide for you. Idoit guy

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN A SENSELESS GOVERNMENT TACKLES THE SURFACE OF A PROBLEM LEAVING THE SOURCE/ROOTS STILL INTACT. NOT EVERYONE USING THE NKRUMAH CIRCLE HAS THE AREA AS IT FINAL DESTINATION. IT WILL BE WISER TO CREATE M ...

They just compounded the problem. Now many lawful structures need to be removed to make other exit routes. Imagine is a factory at the industrial area must be removed?

• AMEGBLETOR 7 years ago

Ghanaians have been reduced to mediocrity and ordinary. What is the big deal of one flyover when over twenty (20) could have been constructed had it not been for the fact that Dramani Mahama and the NDC gangs have stolen all ...

• Akua 7 years ago

Star fm you are devil incarnate. What a myopic mind?

• Kofi Mensah 7 years ago

I am a Ghanaian, we need to pay more motor fees to our politicians

• DOG BEATER 7 years ago

IS THIS THE INTERCHANGE IN UR OWN PHOTOS. VILLAGERS AT STARR FM DONT KNOW WHAT AN INTERCHANGE IS.BUSH BOYS EATING AKRANTIE BINI.IT IS THE RING ROAD NEAR BUSSTOP. THE INTER CHANGE IS FREE FROM TRAFFIC.MONKEYS

• KWAPPS 7 years ago

City planners anywhere in the world will tell you that freeing up traffic in one part of a town will create it somewhere else. The interchange itself may be free but there will be gridlock elsewhere, simply put, the burden is ...

• TAVIE 7 years ago

GHANAIANS SHOULD BE SMARTER AND UNDERSTAND THAT INFRUSTRATURE IS KEY GLOBALLY BUT IT HAS AWSOME RESPONSIBILITY WHEN IT COMES TO LOANS BECAUSE IT HAS TO BE PAID AND ALSO THE REVENUE SOURCE IS KEY AS WELL AS MAINTENANCE OF THES ...

• political violence in the USA TOO 7 years ago

accra is always full of traffic.bias media house

Do you understand what you just wrote? Does it mean ndc is full of blockheads? Didn't your goat say the toy interchange was to end traffic jams?

• Peekay 7 years ago

End traffic at circle

Mr doom soother, for your free info most of the motorists are yet to master the laid out of the interchange and it's environs, this may be able to caused unbearable delays to the public.

What was the purpose of the flyover? Do you mean drivers do not know how to use flyovers so it has to take time before they can ply on? Who wants to remain in traffic is there's an efficient means? Go back to learn.

For Christ sake can't you read through the lines? They are educating all motorists piling that route to follow instructions and here you we are , a spinning agent from akyem spinning the common sense to satisfied their emoti ...

• Tairu Bawumia 7 years ago

What is wrong with this Dog eater?? Onipaba. Because of politics you chose to behave this way. You will live to regret. If NANA Addo promises to give you one of his Dogs for the end year party then please forget it he ...

• Nana Ama 7 years ago

Not just putting flyover for Votes

• IM ME 7 years ago

THE SOLE AIM FOR THE RENOVATION WAS TO REDUCE MOTOR TRAFFIC. SO IF THERE'S STILL TRAFFIC JAM AROUND THAT POINT. THEN WE HAVE FAILED

You see, John Mahama and the NDC politicians are so stupid the they cannot think. Look, traffic flow is like fluid mechanics. What ever you do at one end will have a spill-over effect unless you come out with sound policies l ...

You said what? Unpatriotic goons.To set the record straight, an accident can cause gridlock,deadlock,standstill on any road worldwide, get a life and quit bull-shiting.

From Ring Road East towards the Ring Road West, if the Kwame Nkrumah Interchange releases the traffic where do they go? They will be choked at the Obetsebi Lamptey end. Do you know the money spent on the Kwame Nkrumah Interch ...

Hahahahaha they will be commissioning colonial era toilets and be awarding gold chains to cronies. I will never trust those goons.

Ghanaweb is a serious platform and so you must come out with the scientific solutions we need to solve our scientific problems.

We started this in 1992, so don't Twist your facts sweetheart, you are all on about praising two peoples I don't buy nor subscribes to their ideology, keep your preaching to thy self stranger.
    Talking about technology? What ...

• Earl Jones 7 years ago

Vehicular traffic will get worse at the Kwame Nkrumah interchange before it gets better as commuters will travel on the road because they are curious to see the new road.
    The novelty will wear out after about 6 months and th ...

• Peekay 7 years ago

This story is very pathetic to read.
    Is the writer saying the interchange is of no value therefore, we don't it?
    What do you expect from drivers who avoided circle to do when the interchange was open? They will rush there a ...

• steve 7 years ago

There should have been civic education on the interchange before opening

• Zalia 7 years ago

When will you stop all these unnecessary reportage. Common sense should tell you people will want to see what happened yesterday hence the traffic.

• DON YAW YEBOAH 7 years ago

RIGHT FROM THE PRESIDENT TO THE KAYAYOO AND MESSENGER IN GHANA ARE JUST FOOLISH, BACKWARD AND STUPID. YOU ARE POLITICALLY INDEPENDFENT, BUT ECONOMICALLY DEPENDENT. THE WEST NEED TO RE-COLONIZE YOU. FOOOOOOLS!

• Nii 7 years ago

Hmmm politics...Just trying to discredit JDM (The President)

• Tudele 7 years ago

Man, our country can do with some landscaping.

• Degraft Benjamin 7 years ago

Mr reporter this one de333 33 aaba

• GIVE ME MY BALLOT PAPER NOW 7 years ago

John Dramani Mahama after commissioning it we are told he said it is the highest in West Africa. You decide.
    I rest my case.

• ABIGI 7 years ago

The writer is very shallow minded. Many drivers have all diverted their routes to have a feel of the flyover. We call this over subscription. Away with your jaundiced reporting. It is a natural phenomenon that people are attr ...

• ZACH 7 years ago

I have said that Mahama is corrupt and incompetent and I will say it again.
    Mahama did not involve town planners at all in the interchage,he had one ambition,and that was to use this as political to score points.
    Yesterday ...

• KWABENA 7 years ago

Ghanaian SHS Journalism at work. Skin Pain and politics as usual

• Achilinks Travel Consult 7 years ago

Are you an WASSCE, DIPLOMA OR A DEDREE HOLDER with the aim of studying MEDICINE, NURSING, DENTISTRY, PHARMACY, PHYSICAL EDUCATION in top RUSSIAN and UKRAINIAN UNIVERSITIES?? ????????

CONTACT Achilinks Travel Consults on 03 ...

• Dan Buduh 7 years ago

There is no way that the old one was better than the new. I suspect the writer of this article might be against the current government. Hence wants to discredit what has been done. Note the traffic U see today is simply norma ...

• Bibini 7 years ago

Typical Ghanaian ungrateful mindset,
    we don't recommend & compliment any good thing, never!
    this is very usual thing that can occur everywhere day one after,
    but in Ghana, everything is too extreme,
    don't mind them, all ...

• Peter USA 7 years ago

NPP does not see anything good.

• nanakyiadom 7 years ago

It is not the circle interchange that is causing the current trafic, but the trafic light at the Kokomlemle junction.

• Jim 7 years ago

Another NPP sabotage

• Kojo B 7 years ago

Traffic indeed. Guess ppl are in awe of the circle interchange. Apuuu. Odor river is still not as it was. Any dredging so far? How about the flooding situation at circle? Will this interchange solve the flood problem? Apart f ...

• DOG BEATER 7 years ago

TOTAL LIES. CHECK FOR URSELF.COMPLETE MISINFO.THESE GUTTER JOURNOS AT STARR UNFIT FOR PURPOSE.DUFFOUR SACK THEM THEY ARE SPOILING YR STATION FOR NPP BRIBES AND SOLI

• opanin Dagarte 7 years ago

Mahama and his group;-the so called NDC are all a curse to the nation. The slogan now is (mahama twe wo ho) I repeat :-Mahama twe wo ho.

• Lt. Gen. Oditokuro 1 7 years ago

Any sensible individual who is not partisan and is clever will know that since it is a new thing many commuters will want to use it for the first time even if they are going towards that hence the traffic. This will ease in ...

• Gomda A. Hafiz 7 years ago

Dear, readers and Ghanaians please let's use our brains here. The interchange was commissioned yesterday and naturally motorists are not yet use to it until after sometime this is what we would be experiencing is as simple as ...

• kwesi tarkwa 7 years ago

I promise any staff FM who uses this will face will not pardoned by God . So do we stay like this without any development. This tells me what our first went through in the sixties. Stupid and bastard reporter God punish you a ...

• Odikro 7 years ago

This JSS journalist should have just exercised some commonsense. Drivers are using the interchange today, not because they need to, but because most of them are just sightseeing. I bet a lot of them are even from Kumasi, Tama ...

• Mensah 7 years ago

I am very disappointed with report. I know there is a traffic just in front of Paloma meaning that it's timing should probably be reconfigured to ease the flow. Therefore this has nothing to do with new flyover.
    In fact the ...

• Kk 7 years ago

Enemy of progress. Look! Any one wh couldnt appreciate good thing can never see good in him or her life, even in his generation to come would not see good

• Martin 7 years ago

Ghanaians are too quick to lay blame on the heels of the government when things go sour. People should be patient, once the novelty of using the newly constructed interchange wears off, traffic will return to normalcy.

• Gabby 7 years ago

The unusual traffic indicate the excitement and people are rushing to see the great achievement of Mahama. The flyover is not going anywhere. People should just take it easy.

• kurtz jim 7 years ago

There could be an orchestrated conspiracy to debunk the project. The scheme won't wash. They should do it daily. I passed through the interchange this morning without any problemsl from Achimota side to Adabraka

• Biyariga 7 years ago

This type of useless journalism will kill this country. What kind of nonsense is this. So the government shouldn't have constructed the interchange or what? Foolish NPP Journalist.

It look like a flew over the place today. I pass the place today in a passenger vehicle at 7:15 with no traffic around. I pass there again at 3:00 p.m. and there was no traffic around. When are we Ghanaians going to stop hati ...

• Ghanani 7 years ago

All part of the NPP evil plots to get power at all cost.Whatever the government does to improve the lives of Ghanaians they are against it.Why?They have been subverting the progress of the nation since the very day Ghana achi ...

• OBSERVER 7 years ago

It is too much to expect that the Kwame Nkrumah interchange will do very much to solve the traffic problem in Accra. Accra is interconnected by dozens of roundabouts and solving the traffic problem on just one of them just m ...

• Nii 7 years ago

Heeee! In seriously disappointed in some Ghanains. Thus thing was commissioned just yesterday so I expect s lot of drivers to try it and see. I don't understand why a whole media house shd take such a negative approach to rep ...

Was the machinations of an old political foe as usual.

• George 7 years ago

You can't use a few hours to determine whether or not interchange has eased traffic. How you thought about the fact that motorists may not be used to the interchange so will slow down? Let's wait for a few days then you can f ...

• Opuni 7 years ago

Maybe writer meant unsual to mean sightseers abi

• JOHN 7 years ago

DRIVERS FROM KUMASI AND KIBI DROVE ALL THE WAY TO SEE THE COMISSIONING OF THE INTERCHANGE

• Nana Kwesi 7 years ago

common sense should tell you everyone in and around the city is heading there to go see the much publicized interchange , in two weeks the traffic will ease

• rich 7 years ago

mahama and ndc just lairs to decieve ghanain voters and continue to steal your money open your eyes ur brothers and siters young generation otherwise it will be ANIMAL FARM

• Mansa 7 years ago

They never appreciate anything good in his country but are quick to compare Ghana to other countries. If u can't stand the Accra traffic, go back to your villages, circle will not revert to it's old state, take it or leave it ...

• Prince Charles 7 years ago

NPP fools, or a cooked up story.

• Peter 7 years ago

NPP ,do not go by the interchange. NPP SKINPAIN will kill all of you. Nana sleeps while riding on the interchange.

• ABDUL NASIR 7 years ago

NPP ARE LIKE 8YRS OF NDC IS ENOUGH SO GHANAIANS WE BEG U BRING US INTO POWER

• JAK 7 years ago

Whatever Mahama touches will be worse. Why? Find out yourself. Asem ara nko!

• willie 7 years ago

People should learn to be appreciative

• sunny 7 years ago

I surely believe that many drivers want 2 text the interchange drive that's made them follow the same route.

• Maame Yaa 7 years ago

This has nothing to do with sight seeing. It's a weekday and not many people have time for that. The real problem is that there are no traffic lights and there was no form of education on how to use it. With all the money the ...

• Nii Addo 7 years ago

This piece is very unfortunate. We have new hospitals- they either expensive or not in existence.We have roads constructed- They either not there or expensive- Schools are built- they are either expensive or not complete or n ...

• Anglo Saxon 7 years ago

This article is a total lie, Ghanaians don't be deceived, the is not an iota of truth in it.

• Johnny 7 years ago

anyone talking about the flyover negatively is a negative and a very naive stupid idiot.go burn in hell

• Nana yeboah 7 years ago

Please sir the longest fly over is in kano.it was name after ex president Obasanjo.