You are here: HomeNews2016 10 29Article 481752

Mrs. Akufo-Addo ‘shocks’ Manhyia with unprecedented gifts

Read Comments Comments (112)

• PATRIOT 7 years ago

This is absolutely disgraceful.This is the most disgraceful blatant act of vote buying ever to happen in the political history of the nation.A whole region is being bribed to vote for the NPP.It is sad that those who received ...

• Omanba 7 years ago

A good one there patriot.This will not happen in any civilized society.It speaks volumes about how desperate Akuffo-Addo wants to be the president of Ghana by hook or crook and how corrupt the society is.This is vote buying o ...

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 7 years ago

Which planet do you fools live on? Where were you when Mahama was giving out V8 and all sorts of gifts to chiefs and useless celebrities? The money Mahama used for those gifts were Ghana's money.

• omanba 7 years ago

A whole presidential candidate's wife bribing a whole region to vote for her husband.The NPP has stooped so low to be considered as a party worth voting for.Anyway ghanaians live on the planet earth with a donkey like you liv ...

• Zoobe-Zoobe 7 years ago

the region is on sale

• AGYEMAN! 7 years ago

Oh "me Awuradze"? Is this a big deal? Is this the best Akufo can do for Ghana? And my Ashantis---even our "kings" have gone haywire!
    I can bet everything I have, that about 98% of these so-called elders have not performed a ...

• Ali 7 years ago

Ashantis can be bought. They are even prepared to pimp their own wives and daughters in the red light district of Abidjan and the Hague. All Ghanaians have lost their honour, especially the chiefs. Accepting gifts [v8's, shee ...

• LAST DON 7 years ago

Ghana does not need Somebody who is intolerable Unappealing
    Divisive
    Unforgiven
    Unrepentant
    Diabolic
    Ugly
    Discordant
    Troublesome
    Disruptive
    Compulsive liar
    Hooligan
    The mysterious man who as of now cannot tell the ...

• dart 7 years ago

Please with evidence to back what you are saying, name one chief and one celebrity which JM bribed

• Nana Nyansani 7 years ago

But a V8 gift to sub chiefs are cheap right? Wine and clothes etc..are traditional gifts and the value is for lower than $120k..so wise up twit! was she suppose to go empty handed or with Joy Dadi??

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

AS FOR MAHAMA IT STARTS FROM V8 TO HEADPANS, HIS WIFE LORDINA STARTS FROM KENTE CLOTHS TO MINI BUSES, CHIEF OF STAFF STARTS FROM GH50 TO GH500, UNISAH FUSENI FROM $10 TO $50 SPRAYING ON THE STREETS, AS FOR KOFI ADAMS BOYS THE ...

• ChrisC 7 years ago

When did this become disgraceful to you, was it before or after JDM distributed V8s to traditional rulers and handed keys of two cars and a house to Akua Donkor, an idiotic hypocrite like you.

• HolyGhost 7 years ago

You are a liar, prove it that Mahama did all that you have stated here, you are a liar, wasn't npp that were crying wolf of vote buying, so why are they doing worse, party of arse-lickers

• HolyGhost 7 years ago

'Worse'

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

THERE IS A WISE SAYING IN LOCAL PARLANCE THAT 'YENTO AMAMIRE ENKWINI' TO WIT, WE DONT THROW ASIDE CUSTOMS & TRADITIONS. IT IS IN ORDER AND IT IS JUST A SYMBOLIC GESTURE TO SHOW RESPECT FOR THE CHIEFS AND EXPRESS THANKS GIVING ...

• Zigi 7 years ago

Fuck off with that your stupid Amamire Kwae so customs, you see vote buying then you then around and say it's a traditional way of respecting and thanking. God will punish you all vote buyers, stupid foolish people.

• OSEI TUTU TAWIAH 7 years ago

Hahaha, this time when NDC buys votes, we will buy votes too, says Ken Agyapong. Hahahaha, NDC is now crying foul. Wonders shall never end.

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 7 years ago

I taught this thwarts said MAHAMA and NDC are given gifts to influence voters.

• Asare 7 years ago

When a woman is in love with a man,she appreciates even a handkechief from him compared to a mansion given her by another man she does not love

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

SO ITS TRUE MAHAMA DO THAT ? ONE V8 CAN CACIL ALL THIS GIFT YOU SEE THERE, HOW MANY CHIEVES HAVE V8? HOW MANY AKUA DONKORS AND EX CONVICT MUGABI MAASI HAVE MANSION AND V8? SO YOU FOOLS NEED NOT TO COMENT HERE AT ALL ESPECIALL ...

• Ras Nick 7 years ago

Shut the fuck up

• Nana Nketiah 7 years ago

I wonder if 22 women would be able to carry the amount of clothes and wine comparable to the value of a V8-SUV.

Mr. PATRIOT, Think about that for half a minute, and come back

• Calculus 7 years ago

NPP accused Lordina for buying vote but they are practicing same act. Should they win, they will do worse things that they accused the NDC government of doing today.

• pee 7 years ago

Bribery and corruption

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Folks is that how manhyia looks?and Ashantihene drives two RR cars and look and the ugly roof of the palace.Folks,is this place that president John Dramani Mahama shows his dancing skills of yentie obiaa?no comment.

• Paa 7 years ago

Bawumia can lie

• Yendi boy 7 years ago

Bribe. Buying votes

• Neat 7 years ago

kwasia.
    wht about the numerous v8s

• Ago 7 years ago

So this is tradition? Is this not part of political campaign? Otumfo has one vote as well as his mother and manhyia palace so what is so glittering about this? Except that it is a political gimmicks because we know NPP can't ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

A man returning home a day early from a business trip from Kumasi. . .
    . . . got into a taxi at the airport after midnight, and while enroute to his home, asked the driver if he would be a witness, as he suspected his wife w ...

• Jirapaman 7 years ago

God knows Ghana's 2016 elections winner already. JDM was divinely handed the presidency and he will finish his 8 year term! Period.

• joe,boston 7 years ago

Did Nana Addo promise the Asantehene too? What an old looser?

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Folks don't believe this NDC propaganda deceptive nonsense to tannish the image of NPP and tag it as vote buy.Folks where in the picture can you spot Mrs Akufo Ado?Did the ladies carrying the goodies wearing NPP T shirt with ...

• koffi parker 7 years ago

yea ma bruda you got it right

• Mistyebeh 7 years ago

Ghana will be bankrupt after this 2016 election..both the opposition and gov't are handing out gift and cash to who ,the electorates .the private sector also in court and speaking big english .

• joe 7 years ago

Mr. Bond did you read the article

• patriot 7 years ago

Are you saying the journalst who wrote the story is lying or what?Do not take ghanaians to be fools.Do they have to wear NPP 'T' shirts before you believe the story?I know what the NPP has done has embarassed you.Akuffo-Addo ...

• koffi parker 7 years ago

haba what has become of Ghana does the president really need these gifts let alone expensive, Please I would rather the President drop them off on his way home at nima for his husband(the alcohol)and tell her to shove the res ...

• Kanye East 7 years ago

Auntie Rebecca, how is your sex Life? I heard he can't get it up anymore. I live two houses down. You can come and see me anytime.

• Qwesietu 7 years ago

If you want your life to be miserable go after other mens wives.

• Abronoma Nyarko 7 years ago

Go sleep with your own mother. She is waiting for you in the village

• prosper 7 years ago

Those of criticizing are fools. Can the few bottles of drinks and ram as reported by this lazy journalists buy the over 5million voters' in the Ashanti region?

• Bawumia the foolish liar 7 years ago

WAITING TO HEAR FROM WHAT THESE MUDAFUCKERS AND THE BASTARDS AT IMANI GOT TO SAY ABOUT THE NPP.

• The Gorgorrongorgor 7 years ago

The wife of the Cocaine Dwarf an notorious thief and wee smoker is trying to by the Ashantis and their chiefs. The Akyems are buying the Ashantis. But the Cocaine Dwarf and his ugly wife have forgotten that there are ten regi ...

• Paa 7 years ago

Mrs Ado you can fool some of the chiefs sometimes you can't fool all the chiefs all the time
    Bawumia can lie is the wife half cast or mixed race
    may be cocoa butter race
    no comments

• akuffo addo retirement party 7 years ago

Ghanaweb always bring out their chew and pour archaic English when reporting on garbage.

• Solomon Buabeng. 7 years ago

The incoming first lady,This is not from the coffex of the country,this means that NPP as a Party will never misuse the state money as NDC is doing,Let's arise for change.

• Pulpo 7 years ago

Where is the so called GII. You given outboard mottos to fishermen you called it vite buying so how do you called this

• Kweku 7 years ago

The ladies are all wearing npp T shirts, I don't blame the old lady endorsing Nana after receiving such huge gifts.

• Agyeman 7 years ago

Is she buying vote or not? Ao NPP! Its only time that'll tell.

• OMAN BAPA 7 years ago

OOOSEEEYEEEEEEEE MAD AKUFO OOOOOOO ALL THE WAYEEEE,NDC ED3 GOOOO KEKE,OBAAAPA MAMA BEACKY WELL DONE GOD BLESS YOU OOOO AMEN,NDC DOWN DOWN DOWN,NPP UP UP UP MDC CAN CRY BLOOD HUUUUU

• nana 7 years ago

Ignorant fools! When it is somebody else it is vote buying but when it is them it is okay. Foolish Ashantis

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

NPP is evil. Opposition buying votes. NPP is made of crooks and bloody thieves. Let us reject Npp

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage )
    1x. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy and stamin ...

• hmmmmmmmmmm time will tell. 7 years ago

Why this time of year abuuuuuuu

• hmmmmmmmmmm time will tell. 7 years ago

V8 cars were also given by JJ.kuffuor. mills and mahama ok

• Franko 7 years ago

Have you ever heard of anybody who visits chiefs in their palaces without giving them gifts? If you know just one person, then tell that person to criticize Mrs Addo's gifts or Mahama's gifts at palaces.

• Eric 7 years ago

Don't mind this fools....phone and data has become so common so they can type anything nonsense.

• Aliu wadrago 7 years ago

what is this? nowonder Kenny Agyapong say's you will stay in opposition forever, INSHA ALLAH MARSHA ALLAH JDM will win the election

• BR 7 years ago

Yoo said you never seen such a gift in ur life time before. so u mean u have never seen sheep.clothes and traditional gamets before saa! ! .So what have u wearing ? infact hmm no more comments

• Aliu wadrago 7 years ago

hahaha Mr bond are blind? can't u see they were wearing nana patapaa party T-shirt? nowonder ,you are from oluman bugi's party Hahaha wise up man JDM alllll the way INSHA ALLAH MARSHA ALLAH

• NIMA BOY 7 years ago

Same good of the same feathers . Politicians. She will have her money back when they are on power. God have mercy on us and Mahama will also have his money back for the cars shared . We are suffering

• crusader 7 years ago

This is vote buying no matter how this reporter makes it look like the inactment of the proverbial Nana Kwamina Ansah karamansa and Don Diego D"Azambugya"s mirror gift.

• Emma 7 years ago

only theNDC buying voter ID for 500gh in ksi at salesburg hotel(atonsu) last week Thursday.bribery and corruption oh! NDC

• Davidson 7 years ago

I am happy she is doing same as lordina. Is it a vote buying?

• Abeiku 7 years ago

Those saying it is tradition, is it the first time she is visitig the palace? NO. So, why this time. Just becos of power and i don't know how long this ladies caried this heavy loads on their head. Its a shame

• KOFI BABONE 7 years ago

If this is not vote buying, the I don't know what it is.

• RATY BOY 7 years ago

They are many gifts received in the palaces, why didn't journalist do/post as when a political party or politician visit the palace before they know their hay job-mediators of conflict?
    when t

When they're chaos in this n ...

• Rocchi Boomba 7 years ago

"no matter how you decorate a monkey it can never become a human". floor them with GOLD if you like, but you will never become Ghana's first lady. Lordina continue.

• stephen 7 years ago

I am not surprised an ugly ndc son of a bitch is alien to asante culture. No wonder fools. At least we akans understand our culture. We u want to c a chief u go with gift. But am not surprised in this world there are two kind ...

• stephen 7 years ago

The ndc is like an evil spirit once u join u are possesed with spirit of foolishness stupidity, envy, theft, strive, wickedness, lust, bitterness, corverteousness, disrespect, rancour greed, anger and all ills of society. I ...

• Marcus Chris Lawson 7 years ago

It has always been too easy for the npp to accuse ndc of buying votescwhen the latter demonstrate same appreciation to chiefs and community members elsewhere
    But once it is about them it is ok to donate such largesse without ...

• AUGUSTINE 7 years ago

This is real wisdom at it best, Because respect to the Ashanti kingdom is a respect to God. This will go in to the history books of the kingdom. for what you have then the Ashantiman will support you and Nana. Nana BE BA

• kaketonti 7 years ago

COUNTRY FOLKS,LET'S BE PROACTIVE.
    GOOD-CUM-BAD POLIKICKS AND POLITRICKS.
    NOW,I CRY FOR THE OTHER PALACES.

• Tomorrow no dey 7 years ago

Prosperity will judge u n ur people, you are always crying that all is not well as far as the economic situation in the country is concerned, where did u get money to purchase all these unprecedented items as gift. The truth ...

• Constable Joy 7 years ago

SAY IT LOUD.
    THESE ARE THE PROFESSIONAL INCOMPETENT LIARS.
    NPP=PEDDLERS OF WORDS OF MASS DECEPTION

• PUTTIN 7 years ago

buying for for cheap

• PUTTIN 7 years ago

they can leave together as one

"Politician can't think far' till when will they the cognised that chiefs of today have no influence on their subjects when it comes to voting . all these is nonsense.

• Davidt 7 years ago

Even in opposition see the opulence ?

• Gyawu. Barekese. 7 years ago

I know for a fact that, not all those who would benefit from such disgraceful acts, would vote for the npp, but it is a big shame. Why not before, but now? How many times have this barren woman ever been to the Asantehene pal ...

• Scan 7 years ago

BRIBE, BRIBE. THE PEOPLE OF GHANA DO NOT NEED THIS AT THIS ELECTION TIME:

• INNO 7 years ago

No wonder de spokesperson of the queen spoke Dr word he spoke. It is only witch who will not speak kind words upon receiving unprecedented gifts. Yet dey say de country is hard

• INNO 7 years ago

No wonder de spokesperson of the queen spoke de words she spoke. It is only witch who will not speak kind words upon receiving unprecedented gifts. Yet dey say de country is hard

• Jig saw 7 years ago

Tit for tat STUPID NDC ARE NOW CRYING.

• dedonz 7 years ago

This is an insult to ashante kingdom

• Getting the fact straight. 7 years ago

By this picture,what I am seeing is not the palace of the great King. It looks like a compound in between some houses in a village. The palace doesn't look like this.What a shame, oh npp.

• Educate 7 years ago

Is this what JSS has brought to this nation? Read from top to bottom and English has totally been slaughtered to pieces.

• Bongo CVBoy 7 years ago

This is publicity. Most bribes are given in secrecy in Ghana. Fools who hate education but have the audacity to come online

• pkirks 7 years ago

Nppians surprise me sometimes. You co plain bitterly of what Mrs mahama does and you end up doing the same things. Are you Chinese? You copy without shame. You did kalypo, expecting mahama to do the same, but he proved to you ...

• spy 7 years ago

At least she is not stealing from tax payers like Lordina is doing.

She must as well sleep with the stupid uncut dick chief.

• Elvis Akorli 7 years ago

Torgbui Afede the 14th of Ho traditional council must open his eyes wide. I think Asentihene must reject the gifts. We are all watching ooo. A complete bribery and corruption.

• Abronoma Nyarko 7 years ago

This is no bribery & corruption. It's tradition at its highest level, tradition with class. A first-class First Lady. Well done Mama Rebecca

• zaaxa 7 years ago

Did you read that the chiefs said they had not seen anything like that and were even asked to applaud. So do you think that other visitors do not perform amamire or everyone visiting should show such unnecessary extravagance ...

• Peter USA 7 years ago

NPP cacaine money on display

• Tony 7 years ago

im asking whether this unprecedented gift to Manhyia is a bribe or and why this time?

• Tetey 7 years ago

Oh okay, this is unprecedented. Hmmm. This is why the country is in a mess. All we like is what we'll eat and drink today

hahahahahahaha because they don't have the money to buy the V8 NPP is broke lol and they have brainwash innocent Ghanaians ooh Ghana my mother land

• owoahene 7 years ago

and you proclaim things are hard and the people are suffering .Did you steal to buy those things. hypocrites

• KWAME-BELGIUM 7 years ago

I wish to ask the people of Oseikrom and the Nananom if this is not VOTE BUYING by the NPP

• NOBODY 7 years ago

Vote rigging? Hell no. Sabotage? Hell no. Vote buying? You bet. The desperate NPP is out to buy votes in the region that it claims it has a solid hold of. Apparently all we've been hearing from the desperate and confused NPP ...

• Rebenzy Jackson 7 years ago

Nana Addo will come very sure so Ghanaian don't worrying all k .. Change is just on the way

• BAFFOUR ATTA KW AS I AMOOH ( OMENENAD 7 years ago

TO BE HONEST AUNTIE REBECCA ADDO DID WELL WITH HER BEAUTIFUL AND RESPECTFUL GIFTS BUT WASN'T THE FIRST TIME OF SUCH GIFT AT MANHYIA PALACE.NANA SOMPAHENE AND NANA SERWAA AMPONSAH, KUMAWU HEMAA HAD ALSO DONE SIMILAR.But no pol ...

• KWABENA 7 years ago

So where is Ghana Integrity Initiative and all the anti graph agencies?

• Frank Fali 7 years ago

SO THESE ONES CAN BE CALLED GIFTS RIGHT? WHAT A SOCIETY OF DIFFERENCES

• Osei Boakye 7 years ago

What's the difference between bribery & gifts?
    The sad fact of the matter is vote buying is going on in our country, and whoever loses the general elections is going to resort to violence, mark my words.

• Yaa 7 years ago

what are the gifts supposed to be used for.It is an enticement or what eh

• Yaa 7 years ago

if NDC does it is wrong, if NPP is a sermon. God is watching.

• npp nima 7 years ago

if this is not vote buying then what can we call vote buying again?

• Paradiso Sunkwa. 7 years ago

Eaiii yewo.nana is still investing in vote puying by the time he retrieve all his lose the country will like Somalia. Walahi etalahi

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 7 years ago

THIS IS A BLATANT ACT OF BRIBERY AND CORRUPT PRACTICE. MANHYIA PALACE SHOULDN'T HAVE ACCEPTED THE ITEMS. IT'S A DISGRACE TO MANHYIA. HOO !OOO!! OOOO!!!