You are here: HomeNews2016 10 28Article 481652

Nduom wins against EC - Full court ruling

Read Comments Comments (77)

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Mahama is so heartless, wicked and corrupt that he wouldn’t blink stealing from a helpless orphan. Please read the following:
    Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London - bloomberg

There wa ...

• BE TRUTHFUL 7 years ago

We are encouraging criminality and falsifications. Imagine someone sitting on the sidelines waiting to falsify signatures and and do crimes, is the court saying that is ok? must we blame sakawa boys who dupe people with fake ...

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Amend and Alter is the rule of EC game.

Author:- Mahmoud .....
    The decision is a big blow to the machinations of NDC electoral thieves and their stooge at the EC, Madam Charlotte Alata, who has been made to understand wrongly that the word "independent" EC means ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

TO HELL WITH MAHAMA AND HIS NDC THIEVES, THEY WILL BE LAST

• XMAN 7 years ago

THEY HAVE TAKEN US FOR GRANTED FOLKS

• jumbo 7 years ago

NPP Supreme/high Court judges have rended a political verdict in favour of their cronnies at the expense of rule of law.

The Judges completely ignored the criminal aspert of the case which is at the strength of the EC`S ca ...

• K. MANU 7 years ago

They same NPP Supreme court who placed Mahama on the throne has delivered justice to Ndoum

• cj 7 years ago

Is the head of the Electoral Commissioner (EC) in Ghana a Ghanaian?

• The Stallion 7 years ago

Even if the 12 are reinstated, there are only two parties -- NDC and NPP -- who are in the "race".
    The rest are garbage. Waste of time and money.

• Tacos 7 years ago

The EC has kindergaten lwayers and Charlotte Osei is chief of them. I feel sorry for the charlotte and her kindergaten lawyers. Shame on you.

• XMAN 7 years ago

ONE WAY PROFESSOR!

• Yaw Adu-Asare 7 years ago

Fake Politicians and fake judges work together.

• Asare-Aiddo 7 years ago

Hooooooo, w'anim aguase!

• black magic 7 years ago

Traditional Satanism is not simply an inversion, but a complete rejection of the images of a
    0244908520particular culture, religion, or philosophy. From there a Satanist uses those images against the ethos itself, that was ...

• JOHN 7 years ago

WITH GEORGINA WOODE AS CHIEF JUSTICE, ANY POLITICAL CASE WHICH GOES TO COURT WILL BE LOST. HOW CAN A VOTER ENDORSE A CANDIDATE IN VOLTA AND DO SAME IN ANOTHER REGION?. IS THIS AN ERROR OR A CRIMINAL OFFENCE?. I WILL ADVICE CH ...

Even with fake signatures yet judges prove that. Oh Ghana!

• Jessy 7 years ago

SO IT IS TRUE CHALLOTTE IS USING HER PUSSY TO DO NDC BIDDING? HER CUP IS FULL AND HER WILL COME SOON

• Dr Jay 7 years ago

You cannot disqualify without a given opportunity to correct perceived errors. Common sense.

• JOHN 7 years ago

WHAT IS PERCEIVED ERRORS? EDORSING A CANDIDATE IN VOLTA REGION AND AGAIN FORGING YOUR SIGNATURE TO ENDORSE A CANDIDATE AGAIN IN ANOTHER REGION. IS THIS AN ERROR OR A CRIMINAL OFFENCE?.

• Cowboy 7 years ago

NDC won the election petition in 2012 under the same Chief Justice who made the schedule of the panel of judges for this case. You must rather be analytical in a situation like this. I would rather say what is good or the goo ...

The judges had no choice in 2012 because Mahama won and was sworn in as president, it would have been unthinkable for any judge to remove him and put Nana there.

• 2016 7 years ago

Shallow mindedness. Did npp Ron the election petition? Who was the Chief Justice then? Find something better to say and stop this your stupid comments

• Obed Asamoah 7 years ago

When the EC saw that anormaly, it should have given them the opportunity to correct the mistake....the law guiding the procedure says that.
    Mahama and his EC cronies will lose all their battles including the elections......O ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

That was thievery how can you sign in Volta and in western ?

• jumbo 7 years ago

excellent point brother.

• IDARAKPA 7 years ago

Put on your thinking cup. You are either an illiterate or bereft of wisdom. Did you read the whole judgment or you are just blind or doing your paymaster's bidding?

• JAY 7 years ago

No is either you are DAMN STUPID or IGNORANT,two different signatures means it is an error,so the EC should have given the PPP seven days to amend or alter the mistake,however the EC didnot,that is why PPP won their case

• Dr Jay 7 years ago

If we allow the law to work in Ghana that alone can transform the country because corruption will be almost zero and many good things will fall in order.

• Kay 7 years ago

how did nduom wins?
    the were errors in the forms presented n e court directed ppp to go correct e errors .that does mean they are placed on e ballot paper automatically?no pls ghanaweb ur headlines are having other meaning

• Charles 7 years ago

Have you read the 30 page judgement?

• Alonzo 7 years ago

It's not about ghweb. It's about you. Go back n read the verdict b4 ur comment.

• James Boakye Danquah Jnr 7 years ago

bUT IF I MAY AS WITH ALL THIS aYIKO oTOO AS LEAD COUNSEL IS pAA KWESI nDOUM WINING ELECTION?????????

• Kwadwo 7 years ago

Tha EC acted capriciously and I knew her decision will be reversed. This is trite administrative law. I was shocked the EC did not know this simple principle. THE Courts ruling is tight and will stand.

• Kotey 7 years ago

This is a bogus judgement which has nothing to do with administrative law.It is only when a public body goes beyond its administrative powers that the courts can intervene.

In this case the court's mind was made and came u ...

• PAULUS 7 years ago

I fink the ec shld give them a chance correct the forms. Bt shld take the said Asiedu man and also those double registration culprits on for criminal investigation..

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

That is good for Papa Kwesi Nduom of his peaceful move on the election campaign and the reform as a real opposition to let each and the person and the gorvment to know the movement of the correction in democracy ghana and it ...

• Kokuvi Da Togolese 7 years ago

This is what Ghana needs. Smart people in high places. Anyansafo wo he?

Don't complain when you see the country going down.

• Koo 7 years ago

After reading the full court ruling, I must say I am humbled by the volume of intellect and the depth of work this judge went through. I was for the EC but after reading the interpretation of the laws, the EC certainly erred. ...

• Truth 7 years ago

I second

Really impressive judge and very learned. His reasoning is very sound.

• Boss 7 years ago

This is good and justice done. Clearly the EC erred in so many ways.

• Col Q 7 years ago

All the court is saying is give him the chance to accept "the fraud" and crime of forgery and then give him the chance to correct that fraud and crime and if you like disqualify him on the basis of forgery and dishonesty! The ...

• BA 7 years ago

what is this foolish jubilation for? it will not help npp. after all nduom was there in 2012 and they lost. ndoum can go back and join his party to npp and they will still lose

• BA 7 years ago

what the court has done is dangerous. what happens if mistakes are to be corrected on pink sheets after the results are collated on DEC 7. WILL THE BIASED LAWYERS NOT SAY EC HAS DONE THE WRONG THING?

• shaibu 7 years ago

Go and read the full ruling and stop fooling..... Get the logic of the judge and appreciate that Ghana has refined learners.... Am happy for my motherland..... Konadu should go for a proper lawyer and stop the jokes

• K. MANU 7 years ago

If you think the court erred, then think about John Ford Mahama releasing criminals (MONTIE 3) who were rightfully jailed by the court. Which one is more dangerous?

• LET GHANAIANS THINK 7 years ago

GHANA ? RULE OF LAW. OBSERVERS ARE ????

• Amina 7 years ago

What kind of journalism is this. Who is got the time to read all these legal jargons

• Paapidi 7 years ago

Not meant for small minds like yours!

• Kofi Kofi 7 years ago

Tell me again, why has Charlotte Osei relocated her husband and two young kids to Virginia? And how was she able to afford the house she purchased for them to live in and how is she supporting them as the husband is not autho ...

Counter-crossing court decision does not translate into electoral victory. Voters in Ghana are suffering from election fatigue.

• Asare-Aiddo 7 years ago

Yaw, Dr. Nduom never went to court to be declared the winner of the upcoming elections. He went to contest his disqualification. The court sided with him. Is this too difficult for you to understand? What has Nduom's victory ...

• Big Boy 7 years ago

I hope the judge did not take any bribe. Where is Anas Arimiyaw Anas?

• apuuuu 7 years ago

This is historical moment for Ghana democracy this is how it suppose to be free and fair election I guess Charlotte Osei pick a wrong person to disqualifiy and Mr Nduom had shown that the law works the ...

• Kofi Lawyer 7 years ago

EC must appeal against this ruling and it will win in the court of appeal or supreme court. It is unconstitutional for EC to correct errors made by politicians. Very soon examiners and auditors will be sued to rectify errors ...

• Kanawu 7 years ago

Madam EC, your lawyers wasn't good. A trainee lawyer could even have won this case. Secondly, I don't trust the judge. He may have "taken" something. Paa Kwesi Yorke Nduom is too rich to loose a face and humiliation this way

• CONCERN CITIZEN 7 years ago

WHEN WILL Ghanaians stop stealing from their own people and stop blaming the government? Today at the VIP station in Accra, while passengers were is a queue sweating for a tick. one man who was said to be an official of the V ...

• Jack 7 years ago

Am not a lawyer but this a real learned and sweet judgement

• jj 7 years ago

We are working with the law, The jugdment is not problematic is the law, if we think the the ci 94 is not good, than we should change it

• jj 7 years ago

The jugdment is not fake, they is different between law and comon sense, if we thick the law is not good we should change it

• Akple and Abolo 7 years ago

But the court ruling is nothing but foolish because the electoral commission is not the one who made the law. It was Ghanaian paliament.

• CAPITO 7 years ago

THE EC BOSS GET TO KNOW THAT THERE IS POWER SOMEWHERE SO DO NOT BELIEF THAT YOU CAN DO WHAT EVER YOU WANT . THIS IS JUST A SMALL PORTION OF IT

• CAPITO 7 years ago

AN ADVISE TO MAHAMA DO MISS USE GHANAS MONEY WE GONNA NEED IT FOR THE FUTUER GENRATION.

• king 7 years ago

so the judge couldn't define what constitute an error and yet pronounced such to be the Case??
    a judge with a cargo carrying head!!
    tweaaa

• Tawiah 7 years ago

The EC must change their lawyer asap.

• Thinking 7 years ago

Dr Nduom, congrats. You have done good to our democracy.

• Charles Antwi 7 years ago

Justice is truly served within the political dispensation in our mother Ghana.

• Nduom is the man 7 years ago

How can an incompetent human being like Mahama be on a presidential ballot whiles a visionary leader like Nduom be taking out... Mahama must go

• FACTUAL 7 years ago

NDUOM CAN STILL BE DISQUALIFIED!!! TAKE NOTE THAT THE COURT DIDN'T ORDER EC TO MAKE SURE THAT NDUOM'S AMENDED FORMS ARE ACCEPTED!!! TAKE NOTE ALSO THAT THIS CASE HAS TWO DIMENSIONS; CIVIL & CRIMINAL. NDUOM HAS PERFECTLY WON A ...

• pkirks 7 years ago

Guys are funny. The court ruled that the ec should give you time to rectify your mistakes and not that you are contesting. You could be refused due to something else again. So don't rejoice now.

• William Attidigah 0556840615 7 years ago

NATIONAL is Here,
    we pray For A win..
    whatsapp or call now "
    lets make ot together with VISION 300 LOTTERY"
    LOTTERY HAS A KEY!!!

• Zachariah 7 years ago

The EC chair needs advisers. She seems to be immature for this position. She needs to use others to learn on the job.

She exhibit so much confidence in her speeches but that has to go with knowledge about the job. If you ...

• William Attidigah 0556840615 7 years ago

NATIONAL is Here, we pray For A win.. whatsapp or call now " lets make it together with VISION 300 LOTTERY" LOTTERY HAS A KEY!!!

• Frank Abebrese 7 years ago

REALLY, I AM PROUD OF THIS JUDGE FOR SUCH EXCELLENT WORK DONE.
    REALLY, IT IS A VERY ONEROUS DUTY TO BE A JUDGE AND I BELIE VE, THIS JUDGE IS ONE OF THE BESTS WE HAVE IN GHANA.CONGRATULATIONS GHSNA JUDICIARY.

• Frank Abebrese 7 years ago

CERTAINLY, THIS JUDGE IS ONE OF THE BESTS IN GHANA. THERE IS HOPE FOR GHANA. IF ALL PEOPLE PUT IN PLACE OF RESPONSIBILITY WILL ACT WITH INTELLIGENCE AND LOVE FOR GHANA AS PORTRAYED BY THIS JUDGE, SHOULD GHANA HAVE PROBKEMS?? ...