You are here: HomeNews2016 10 28Article 481602

High court rules in Nduom's favour; EC to reverse disqualification

Read Comments Comments (104)

• ATSU, HO 7 years ago

We the voters are going to punish Paa Kwesi for wasting our time

AUTHOR: DON DEE -----Listen to another stomach chief from Aburi , u are so low class & such a cheap chief who thinks about ur stomach only . How much cash has been given to u or the V8 ?? . I feel so embarrassed to call u my ...

• AGYEMANG 7 years ago

I think it is high time we all start falsifying documents to dupe people because court supports it. What a shame!

Author:- AGBESI KWESI .....
    …The Ghana Armed Forces has denied media reports that it has assigned men to protect President John Mahama’s brother, Ibrahim Mahama.

Media reports have suggested that soldiers have been d ...

• anokwa 3tw3 y3d3 papaapa 7 years ago

Atopahene mahama is finished...Konadu should also work hard and win to waste votes in the volta region

Author:- CDR .....
    Mahama's rigging machinery has once again suffered a severe jolt and his desperation is just about to go from 1 to like a 1000% with insults headlining his continuously losing strategy.
    The major opposi ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

What has the above ruling got to do with Mahama, if you don't mind me asking?

• Mahmoud 7 years ago

The decision is a big blow to the machinations of the NDC electoral thieves and their stooge at the EC, Madam Charlotte Alata, who has been made to understand wrongly that the word "independent" EC means that she is above the ...

Author:- Observer .....
    There is no way any competent court is going to rule in favor of the EC. A precedence has already been set earlier today in the PPP's case. One would hope all the remaining cases would now be bundled ...

Was the decision to disqualified Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom solely of Mrs. Charlotte Ama Osei's judgment? God, Almighty! When are you bunch going to be mindful small la!

• e quarcoo 7 years ago

who told u that the big parties are made up of angels..for all u k iw they also made mistakes but were given the opportunity to correct..the ec is gradually losing credibility..they shd engage more rather than asking people t ...

Author:- OYOKOBA .....
    Ayariga must know the PPP and Nduom's victory in court does not necessarily allows him Ayariga off the hook. His is seriously flawed and ensnared because he put on paper that he has a doctorate degree ...

Fuck off Mahama is rather conniving with EC to rig the elections.Thief.

• sarfo 7 years ago

fool stupid talks sense

• Nana Adjoa 7 years ago

Pea brain

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

WITH A PEDISTRIAN & INEXPERIENCED LAWYER LIKE THADEUAS OF NDC HIRED BY EC, ANY COURT CASE WILL BE LOST BY THEM

• Paps 7 years ago

Criminals are seeking the high throne of the land it's pathetic the one who are to stop them rather give them go ahead .Where are you Edudzi Amaliba Chris Akumey . David Anang to stop that foreigner criminal contesting.

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

THE ARROGANT, POMPOUS, BIASED, CORRUPT, IMMORAL EC CHAIRWOMAN CUM ARM CHAIR LAWYER HAS BEEN CUT TO NAKED SIZE. LIKE A HARDENED FOOL SHE FAILED TO HEED TO JUS ATUGUBA WISE COUNSEL THAT THE EC SHOULD REFRAIN FROM 'GO TO COURT' ...

• Nana Yaw 7 years ago

Charlotte Osei, now you have been ordered. Let's see what you will do with your arrogance.
    And that NDC lawyer, go back to school.

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

WITH JUST 4 WEEKS TO THE ELECTIONS, MRS CHARLOTTE IS ROAMING ABOUT VISITING CHIEFS AND BOASTING ABOUT HER SO CALLED POWERS AND CREDIBILITY INSTEAD OF DEALING WITH THE ADMINISTRATIVE CHALLENGES FACING EC. NOBODY SHOULD TELL ME ...

• Destro 7 years ago

massa LEARN to be REASONABLE. WHAT tym did he waste? Gh is bigger than YOU or ME. Democracy has triumphed and we should applaud it instead of fooling around. NO NDOUM NO VOTE

• Mahmoud 7 years ago

The decision is a big blow to the machinations of NDC electoral thieves and their stooge at the EC, Madam Charlotte Alata, who has been made to understand wrongly that the word "independent" EC means that she is above the law ...

• Keen Observer 7 years ago

Common sense and fairness has prevailed! So those so called Aficionados and false lawyers and even all here that suggested the poor man can not complete a simple form? Know this, he may not even win a single seat for his part ...

• Mensa La 7 years ago

you are very stupid. why not punish JM for releasing the montie3

• Charles Higgins 7 years ago

At sunyani, did you understand what you read?

• Atugu 7 years ago

come on Paa !

• kobla 7 years ago

what do you mean?
    who wasted our time?
    EC or PPP
    peace

• YOU AND WHO? 7 years ago

"We the Voters" includes me, and I am not voting for the NDC. So, what do you mean by "we the voters"? Let me tell you something, the person to be punished in the upcoming elections is not Papa Kwesi Ndoum but your master Joh ...

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

This is indeed victory for the ordinary Ghanaian and a disgrace to the EC, especially to the juvenile Charlotte.

• Observer 7 years ago

The law stipulates that after submitting their forms, applicants must be given a grace period to make minor corrections and amendments. But the independent EC decided by virtue of their independence, they would waive that cla ...

• Amen 7 years ago

then every body should be allowed to correct their mistakes.. nobody will ever be disqualified... even akua Donkor should be allowed to correct her mistakes... as for dis our Judges...............'......

• e quarcoo 7 years ago

this is not a blanket ruling..each party has a different case

PThe rules governing filing make provisions for amendments and alterations of documents filed. So you think the MPs who are the law-makers were so stupid that they gave this head swollen EC woman all the powers to reject nomi ...

• Paps 7 years ago

God help us with this kind of people in the judiciary.

• Musa, Kukar 7 years ago

Ayariga and Akua Donkor must all be on the ballot paper. Everyone must be allowed to correct their mistakes. The law must be same for all, mistake is a mistake. QED.

• A. A. MARSKMAN 7 years ago

THE EC CAN APPEAL THE RULING.

• Observer 7 years ago

Not with Nduom's GHC1.750 million! Mind you, any appeals would eat into the December 7th time table. But the Chief Justice has vowed that these cases would never affect the time table!
    Let us wait and see

GREAT!!!!!!!

• KG 7 years ago

EC paaa!

• AGYEMANG 7 years ago

This means that all the disqualified candidates can stand for the elections, and even if you falsify documents there is no problem you only need to be called to correct or change the documents? the flood gate has been opened ...

• KK 7 years ago

the court supports illegality

Shame to Mahama's NDC thieves and a big shame to EC.Now we shall see the real elections.

• Ben 7 years ago

It was written Black and White...the EC is undemocratic very anti-paticipation.This makes one wonder if they are up to their job because even as a lame man I could see the EC was wrong. Victory for democracy

• NII LARYEA-TAKORADI 7 years ago

I AM SO MUCH HAPPY TO BE A GHANAIAN.

DEMOCRACY DEMOCRACY DEMOCRACY......YOU SAID THEY SHOULD GO TO COURT..THEY HAVE GONE

PPP NO SIZE

• Kwasi Asamoah 7 years ago

The EC should appeal otherwise it will be a bad precedent!

• ericus 7 years ago

time will tell. be vigilant boi !!!!

Which bad precedent? The rules governing filing make provisions for amendments and alterations of documents filed. So you think the MPs who are the law-makers were so stupid that they gave this head swollen EC woman all the p ...

• ChrisB 7 years ago

So, what happens if the same mistakes are repeated and repeated. In that case how long can the EC wait

• Koki 7 years ago

Soon :) We will continue to fight

So she should! Fair is Fair....I'm not for NDC or NPP or PPP. However I am an avid fan for fairness and Ghana to flourish.

• Prince 7 years ago

Each case of disqualified aspirant would be determine on its own merit--Nduom victory is not a blanket cover for all the others
    Our laws must be made to eork--practically and realistically
    Poor argument or presentation on ...

• BALLOT PAPER 7 years ago

I heard John Mahama's stooge at the CPP-Martin Delle saying the PPP should come together with the CPP to form what???
    The Aponkyifunu will lose basaaaaaa!!!

• Jim w 7 years ago

This was a clear case of fraud ! How can the same person sign for in the central and Volta regions with two different signatures ? In your quest to become the president of Ghana? A very bad prescidence will be set an appeal w ...

Which bad precedent? The rules governing filing make provisions for amendments and alterations of documents filed. So you think the MPs who are the law-makers were so stupid that they gave this head swollen EC woman all the ...

• Samuel Doe old Soldier 7 years ago

Appeal, EC will lose.

• SUBRUKU 7 years ago

The court has spoken. The E C shouldn't make any attempt to appeal to uneccessaryly delay the election. Now, what happens to other disqualified parties. We need answers

• Opanin Koo Kwakye, J'burg 7 years ago

This is one of the best news I have received today. This ruling has given me hope that there is hope for Ghana. Not all judges in the country are corrupt, as Anas made us believe.

• Sylvester Nana Yaw Asiedu 7 years ago

Who Jah bless no one can mess with. @voteNduom

• e quarcoo 7 years ago

whose interest w
    ill it serve if the EC appeals?
    they shd just give the forms back to ndoum to correct the mistakes...there were a lot of errors in the 2012 elections but mahama was declared president

• Opanin Koo Kwakye, J'burg 7 years ago

Maame Akua Donkor, you may be allowed to stand as a Presidential candidate and so don't lose hope. Go to court instead of sitting idle and passing unnecessary comments about Nana Akufo-Addo.

• s to Alfred 7 years ago

What a country, this means that other candidates can also go iN

• DONBOLI 7 years ago

EC Commissioner herself wrote O"levels three times before passing. Errors and mistakes are things that are to be corrected not disqualification.
    Electoral Commissioner chairperson would have not had her position if she never ...

• e quarcoo 7 years ago

the power to disqualify candidates shd be taken away from the ec and given to the courts..they can highlite the errors/mistakes and present to the courts to determine a candidates eligibility..if we are not careful in the fut ...

• Gilbert 7 years ago

E.c. lawyer is a poor lawyer.his points are week.

• CHORKOR SCHOO.L BOY 7 years ago

ANOTHER SET OF INCOMPETENT THUGS DISQUALIFY THE EC FROM ORGANIZING THE ELECTIONS.

• buzzy 7 years ago

This will give JM one touch victory. hahahaha NPP in big trouble.

• KOGYAM58 7 years ago

VICTORYFOR DEMOCRACY

• Yakub 7 years ago

What is destined to happen will happen

• Paa Nii 7 years ago

Charlotte Osei if you are indeed the boss with a penis, please disobey the high court like you threatened to - KWASAI ASHAWO.

• okkkkkkk 7 years ago

pàaàa Kwasi ayekoo
    but mahama all the way.

• buga 7 years ago

dermocracy in Africa,its dusgusting

• Enough 7 years ago

The question: Are there discrepancies or not? Has the EC been right disqualifying the candidate? Has the SC ruling de facto corrected these discepancies? Please let us be careful as a nation, or no common sense prevails, an o ...

• Mr. Osman Sumaila Tungteeya 7 years ago

Congrats Nba Nduom

• NII 7 years ago

this is an opportunity for you to travel and work abroad and earn 6000 GHANA cedis monthly.0274432913 FOR DETAILS
    WORK COMES WITH FREE ACCOMMODATION

• kwam 7 years ago

I think Ghana is the winner, our democracy is gaining roots. congratulations to Dr. Nduom.

• the future force 7 years ago

This court judge is very bias and senseless. Deadlines are are deadlines and everybody must obey the laws regarding deadlines. Us the stupid judge telling Ghanaians that is one fails an examination deadline, The court can com ...

For lack of knowledge my people perish! You're very stupid for not reading. Go and read the rules on filing of nominations and you'll see how senseless the EC's actions were.

Yaw! They have eyes but can't see, ears but can't hear. This perhaps is precisely why the looters are able to flourish. I once asked an educated Banker in Ghana, why he voted for the current regime? He replied 'We'simply want ...

• OPANIN PAPA.(USA) 7 years ago

THE APPOINTMENT OF THE PRESENT E.C
    CHAIR, WAS, IS AND WILL CONTINEUSLY BE A MISTAKE TO GHANA'S DEMOCRACY.

• Konkonte 7 years ago

Massa nobody want to know where u are or live so spare us that USA crap

• OPANIN PAPA.(USA) 7 years ago

The APPOINTMENT of the Caliber of the PRESENT EC CHAIR Person to handle this Position is the biggest mistake Ghana has ever made.

• Davidt 7 years ago

EC should go to Supreme Court else these litigants and the Judiciary will take away the independence of the EC

• Maxim 7 years ago

This means a reduction in npp votes

• Teye 7 years ago

The reasons for the disqualifications given by Charlotte Osei were too childish. Most of those disqualified will win in court if they sue her

• Cool 7 years ago

THIS IS BAD FOR OUR DEMOCRACY. THESE LITTLE JUDGES AND CORRUPT POLITICIANS LIKE NDOUM WILL TAKE AWAY THE INDEPENDENCE OF THE EC

WE CAN DISSOLVE THE EC SO THE COURTS RUN THE ELECTIONS

• agyapee147 7 years ago

a clear case of incompetent public sector officials verses competent private sector officials. instead of telling the court why EC did not give ndoum the right to amend his forms, the sory man was questioning the juridiction ...

• Ghaman, Beijing . 7 years ago

Good for NDC . Paa Kwesi and AKUFFO ADDO will split the Anti NDC votes paving way for NDC then

• Oscar 7 years ago

This is a very beautiful ruling by the court, henceforth if anybody writes exams and fail, such a person can as well go to court and ask the the court order the said examination body to return the papers for you to write the ...

• Ama Texas 7 years ago

EC boss don't you know your job or you are working for a particular person you better change your attitude towards the Dec polls

• apuuuu 7 years ago

Your stupid lawyer lose the case for you Charlotte Osei do not play games with the election what ever you try to do is going to work free and fair election is the order of the day keep it mind the worl ...

• Ama Texas 7 years ago

The judgement was base on the laws of the EC it says when an error occurs let the person correct it so when she saw the error did she call them to come for correction let face the fact the woman was wrong

Yes, the EC did and even give all aspirants a deadline to correct those anomalies on their forms and still there were errors at the end of it all, hence the EC unpardonable action against those 13 flagbearers. Watch the video ...

• Asembeba dabi 7 years ago

Hmmm, Ghana court. All the disqualified presidential aspirants should be reinstated. If not so, then it means judges in Ghana are biased. Now in Ghana, if you have money no court will rule against you. This is pure birth day ...

• Gert 7 years ago

Hoooorah well done now let's hope that corrupt joker mahama does not overrule the decision like normal - you will not win but have a few good ideas due country so maybe get a few MPs to try and persuade who ever is the ruling ...

• Yaw Virginia 7 years ago

Who told Ghanaians that because the EC is independent they are immune to lawsuit and from the court's jurisdiction? The independence of the EC only means they're independent from the influence and decision-makings of the exec ...

• Teacher 7 years ago

It is a high time this woman chair be given spoken to ,why, are you disgracing the a little benefit given to woman to show their competence level , the least said about Betty Mould the better why?Charlotte please we need peac ...

• say it loud 7 years ago

I'm happy for Nduom and the PPP.

• koo 7 years ago

Oh madam!!!! Try to be sober after all u are human. Two floors in a week? What is this ?Hmmmm!!! Can u try tECo calm down. Charllote u are not a goddess eh! Be humble

• Kwasi Yusif-Braimah Asante 7 years ago

Should the same reasoning or logic be applied in an interview or examination for a lot of candidates from which one needs to be taken? The court must use common sense. This is where Human Laws are full of laws and disagreemen ...

• Ama Yaa 7 years ago

This is a terrible, terrible ruling by the High Court. The EC acted within their powers and they did not act ultra vires. This is calling for chaos in the judicial system. This is like Fifa reversing the decision of a refree ...

• YOU FAILED !!! 7 years ago

Shame on the EC. She was out to do her master's bidding but failed. The God of Heaven and Earth is exposing and shaming the election riggers. Their collaborators will similarly be exposed and put to shame. So mote it be !!!

• Monky Analyst 7 years ago

Now he has to face double endorsements of the Central and Volta regions disqualification. The EC decision still stand on that. The court did not remove the disqualification on that so Nduom should hold his horses.

• igp 7 years ago

The mamie Alata, aka Charlotte Oluwale Osei must resign. She has fumbled the ball far too many times. She is a dictator who does not know what she is doing. Stop Charlotte Oluwale before she planges Ghana into darkness. Impea ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

EC SHOULD GO TO APPEAL COURT TO ASK HOW THE FORGERY SHOULD BE CORRECTED