You are here: HomeNews2016 10 14Article 477366

Police blind 24-year-old woman with pepper spray

Read Comments Comments (65)

• Ama Texas 7 years ago

Where are we going as a nation why should the police officers do this to her are they to guide us or to manipulate us IGP do samething about it b4 it get out of hands

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Haiti has been devastated once again by natural disaster and once again Ghana is nowhere near the list of donors or helpers.Actually in about 13months from now they catch up with us in terms of standard of living for her citi ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

Author:- # THROW MAHAMA OUT ! ..... The Interest on MAHAMA LOANS is six times more than the OIL Sales. Mahama is Not Qualified to Manage a TRO-TRO Station but he is the President.FAKE President Mahama,Your Time is up, Write y ...

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

POLICE MUST PAY FOR THEIR NEGLIGENCE

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 7 years ago

This year many Ghanaians will. be brutalized by the Ghana police officers because NDC and John Dramani Mahama has authorised them to do that because he wants his second term at all cost. If one polite officer cause that Ghana ...

• nana bonso 7 years ago

so people just believe everything they read without taking time to analyze. This is a very biased reportage by a half baked journalist.

• SCHEMER 7 years ago

Which IGP? Under his very watch and command not only did someone participating in a peaceful go blind but had his eye completely destroyed. He is an accomplice to whatever is going on.

• Wasik 7 years ago

Get a lawyer and sue them for assault.

• loe 7 years ago

So, is the police going Scott free on this matter? I think there should be some law to punish the police on such a reckless action and attitude. Ghana should stand!

• CORNEY 7 years ago

What action,stop displaying your ignorance,the pepper spray is given to police to do their work,they have every right to spray a suspected criminal they deem dangerous,they did nothing wrong,you and this useless newspaper sho ...

• King Bright 7 years ago

And what are the guns for, to shoot suspected criminals, I suppose? I haven't read any sane comment from this corney. Don't cry to me next time it happens to you because it surely will, pretty soon.

• James 7 years ago

Pepper spray alone won't render u blind. Am sure the beatings is to blame for her blindness

What ever the police used is cruel.And my question to Ghana Bar Association is there no law in Ghana like not guilty until proven otherwise?

• KWAPPS 7 years ago

To find out if you can go blind or not please put pepper (the very hot one) and let's see if your assertion is right!

• Kwame Assin 7 years ago

The question is why should the police officers dastardly assaulted a natural human being in public without showing any physical threat to their lives? The young girl has a case for the ghana police service to answer. Sue Ghan ...

• Kwame Assin 7 years ago

The question is, why should the police officers break their protocols to dangerously assault a natural human being in a public with no evidence of a physical threat to their lives? The young girl has a case for the ghana pol ...

• Kofi - USA 7 years ago

ONLY IN GHANA WILL THIS DISPICABLE ACT HAPPEN. POLICE BRUTALITY NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. THE ABUAKWA DISTRICT POLICE SHOULD BE SUED.
    YES PEPPER SPRAY CAN CAUSE BLINDNESS. ANY FOREIGN MATERIAL IN THE EYE CAN CAUSE BLINDNESS

• Akua Aboagyewaa 7 years ago

Stop talking rubbish and stay in US mr.ignorant..am not holding brief for the police and those responsible must face the law...there are cruel policing across Africa...Nigeria,South Africa,Burindi and the lileand even in US w ...

• nana A 7 years ago

Where is Oye Lithur? This is your case

• koo 7 years ago

Don't believe this story. The journalist is only trying to get public sympathy for the criminal. How can a 24year girl alone prevent the police from arresting some one.?I can't think far.

• Sikanyhira 7 years ago

This story is very true paaa,i first heard it on a program called nya asem hw3 on fox fm Kumasi

• Osei 7 years ago

Koo you are right. If this turns to be false or the reportage not correct, the Police should arrest the journalist ans cage him. Some Journalists in Ghana are consummate liars

• Harry Joe 7 years ago

Some of the Ghana police needs extra training

• analist 7 years ago

Is rather some of the journalist who need extra training. The story is one sided, because police only use pepper spray when the suspect is proving to be stronger than the police doing the arrest. U can tell from the story tha ...

• SCHEMER 7 years ago

Do you live in Ghana? What happened tk the journalist who took a photo of police officer collecting bribe from a motorist?

• Osei Kumasi 7 years ago

Go and train them. Fool

• tiago 7 years ago

Ghanaians shd not swallow such stories wholly. There is more to the story than we have been told.

• Charles UK 7 years ago

This can never happened in the UK or in Europe, only in Africa. We need leaders who can be fathers to all, in all countries in Africa.

• buzzy 7 years ago

serves you right. next time don't harbor anybody.

• yaw 7 years ago

The GH police are enemy to the poor and innocent citizens so let's not give them any help even at the point of their death

• liteo 7 years ago

Why is the police in this country gradually becoming our enemies? hmmmm

• Mawuli 7 years ago

Ghanaians can talk, there is more to this case than you are hearing. Though i sympathize with her. But next time don't resist an arrest. Go with them and prove yourself not guilty.

• Frank 7 years ago

Please can any of the Human right lawyers step in and help this girl !!!!!!

• kwame tadi 7 years ago

I wish her brother is an Ndc Fans since this guy came 2 Power things has gut out of Hand.

• Afrika Bravo 7 years ago

Is sad to hear that.but police to day were arrogant and foolish.

• Champion Atta 7 years ago

AMA TEXAS, HAVE YOU MOVED WITH OR HAVE FRIENDS WHO ARE JOURNALIST BEFORE? WHEN A JOURNALIST SAY "I WILL PUBLISH HIM OR HER, DO YOU KNOW WHAT IT MEANS? EVEN WHEN WRITING ACADEMIC PAPER, IT IS NOT ALL SOURCES THAT ARE ACCEPTED ...

• shaibu 7 years ago

Do you live in Ghana..... And do you know the percentage of Ghanaians who knows to sue.... To report..... To go to court ... To fight legally for your right..... A very high percentage of Ghanaians have no confidence in the j ...

Killing ant with sledge hammer.

• Dessie 7 years ago

Pepper spray do not caused blindness the woman might have had eye existing eye issue

• K-TWO 7 years ago

A severe punishment shud b gvin to de policeman cos he has commite a crime.if such problems comes,it doesn't mean he is a policeman so he or she will take such action so IGP shud samtin.

• PROFESSOR JON BULL 7 years ago

It's only in Ghana that these stupid policemen will be set free.

• Benny 7 years ago

A policewoman will never do such a horrible thingbut the men. How can a policeman without a uniform carry on such an act. It is a breach of olice code. He must face impunity.

• Jojo 7 years ago

It's a sad end but it was an avoidable accident if this young lady had paid the due respect to the authority. As people we must be prepared to embrace ourselves in such useless unnecessary confrontation with authorities regar ...

• bob 7 years ago

Always trying to damage their image..i wonder where some of you will seek refuge if police go on strike for just 24hrs

• crusader 7 years ago

So what is the big deal? Peper spray is one of the police demob accrutiment and it is made for eyes. If they fine it necessary to use it what is wrong.

Oh Lord as Jesus did to other believers in the past I pray that you help her to see again

• malam 7 years ago

This police Guys came through protocols., not well trained and organized....citizens must start teaching them lessons.... Cowards

• NAS 7 years ago

We are all here oneday oneday the police in this country will lay of their tools just 24hrs and we all will see.

• m.o.b 7 years ago

See dis policeman not serious in life

• BABANGIDA CASAGRANDE/Nima 7 years ago

THIS IS NDC FOR YOU LAWLESSNESS, ABUSES OF POWER, ARROGANCE, DESPICABLE YEYE THUGS. I HAVE NEVER SEEN ANY DESCENT PERSON IN THAT DEMONIC CULT. TRUST ME THIS CASE WILL GO NOWHERE UNDER THIS REGIME

• Kingsley Karl 7 years ago

Never they need to be brought to law for what they did is unlawful.they must be prosecuting to serve as a deterrent to those unqualified people ww call them our law enforcers

• Omane joseph 7 years ago

Punishment should be given to the police,if and only it's true.

• Pastor Amos, kwadaso 7 years ago

The police are doing politics with the service they are offering to ghana. shame to those who did dis to dat lady. I Gp please work for ghana n nt Ndc

• Amidini 7 years ago

To avoid any trouble and embarrassment be a law abiding citizen. Unfortunate ! wish her speedy recovery

• Baffour Amankwaatia 7 years ago

No wonder,this Abuakwa police people are so arrogant and disrespectful.They always take the law in their own hands and misbehave.Fire burn them all.

• Isah 7 years ago

Some are saying police should go on strike for 24 hours and let's see where we will seek for help..very funny cos the army is there to do the job better than you where else u can't even do their job !! They have military poli ...

• mohammmed kudus 7 years ago

the police are the law enforcing agencies but to my dismay they are going beyond their boundaries please live a life that is worthy of emulation

• Kwaku Acpoli 7 years ago

PEPPER SPRAY DOES NOT CAUSE BLINDNESS. IT USED TO DEFEND THE SECURITY USER OF THE SPRAY. WHY DID THE LADY REFUSE TO HAND OVER HER BOYFRIEND SO-CALLED PASTOR?

• Richmond 7 years ago

Are they protecting the citizens or killing them?

• Afia 7 years ago

Eiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ghana. God pls save us. U destroyed smeones sight jux lyk dat meanwhile professional ways t get d pastor cld huv bin used. Hmmmm. Abuakwa District Police
    Commander shd start tlkin on d is ...

• boy 7 years ago

If they don't do anything about it .i will advice the Gal to curse them in the Name of God and all the spirits of Asante rivers.

• curiously 7 years ago

A former colleague of mine from SHS who we knew as a brutal extortionist and completely wayward/deviant fellow is a police officer now and it makes complete sense to me why the police - some officers - can carry out incrimina ...

• Frank 7 years ago

I was dere when dis incident happened, its Neva true dat they beat her but is just dat some people are pushing de lady to do dat is Neva true dat she ix blind, pepper spray can't get ur eyes blind so please de medias always s ...

• Akos 7 years ago

Mahama police

• Hassan 7 years ago

The price of employing people with no idea of law as law enforcers.