You are here: HomeNews2016 10 02Article 474062

I don't believe in youth going into farming – Otabil

Read Comments Comments (277)

• all die be die 7 years ago

how are you going to eat? who is going to feed your loudmouth while you live luxuously in Accra? Aboa beast.

• Toto 7 years ago

I believe he is making a point here

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

MAHAMA IS INCOPETENT AND CORRUPT. THESE HAVE BEEN PROVEN WITH RELIABLE DATA BY THE ECONOMIC PROPHET, DR. BAWUMIA. THE LECTURE IS AVAILABLE ON YOU TUBE.--------- ***************** AUTHOR: E.A. ADU GYAMFI---- ----- When NPP wer ...

• YOYO 7 years ago

I believe he isn't making a good point. Those low percentages he cited in foreign countries is because of the quality and quantity of farming. I believe given a level playing field, an educated youth is likely to perform bett ...

• ed 7 years ago

mind your own busniss

• Sinclear 7 years ago

Who does he think to tell us young folks what to do?

• William 7 years ago

Is Otabil filled with old wine? Is that what he agric department is advising? Or he has no Agric department in his university? 70% OF GHANAIANS FARMERS? SAYS WHO? IF YOU SAID TRADERS, I CAN UNDERTAND!!

• maestro 7 years ago

i just love these positive counter questions lol ask Otabil more

I don't believe in the youth going to church to pay monies to some unscrupulous and political motivated self seeking pastors

• Ala 7 years ago

Please get his import well, we do not need everybody going into farming. Why do we have abt 70% of us already in farming, yet we cannot feed ourselves and we keep Pushing more and more youth into farming?

We are not doing ...

• PAPEE 7 years ago

WITH OUT MINISTRY WHAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN HIS LINE OF PROFESSION? AND WHAT HAS HE CONTRIBUTE TO THE ECONOMIC

• danny 7 years ago

Surprisingly it was Joseph who through farming saved the human race, according to the story recorded in Genesis. Do you believe that accounr

• Ala 7 years ago

How different is your point from Otabil's?
    He wants quality and quantity farms and you don't need all your youth in the industry.
    We can have a very small percentage of us and still be overly enough.

You don't push all y ...

• kwasiampafohene 7 years ago

His point is sad to you because u are not deep

• T and T 7 years ago

He is a useless man, unproductive, con artist, intelligent trickster. Are U not ashamed of your ill-gotten worth? U know too well U were motivated by material worth when U started.

• david 7 years ago

T and T, it is sad that you call this man of God useless, con-artist, unproductive and etc. Ghana is 59years and we are asking the youth to go into farming, whiles children in china, south korea, America, and others are devel ...

• david 7 years ago

What the youth needs to be productive is the politicians to stop stealing from the nation and channel our resources in science and maths education. Ghana is very bless and if we have good leaders who will think about the futu ...

• T and T 7 years ago

Africans are also smart just like the people in the civilized world. The difference is that we do not use our brains atall. We have been brainwashed by con artists, and there are many of them, seeking to have easy ride in lif ...

• Nana Osei Tutu-AkofoAddo Cocain 7 years ago

His greedy bastard intention. cos he knows when youth goes into Farming, they cant pay much tithe. Why not groom them to be pastors. Agriculture is a sector and if the youth are encouraged to go there why is the problem. He i ...

• What 7 years ago

Otabil wants farmers to be prosperous not poverty stricken and clearly you are happy for anyone but your own to be poor farmers as you said farmers cannot pay much tithe . By saying so, you have just acknowledged the fact tha ...

• Ay3ka 7 years ago

Administration; and is more interested in the restoration of the 'priveleges' he enjoyed under the Kuffour regime restored!
    To boldly deny that Ghana is an agrarian society, is the height of folly and hypocrisy! Perhaps, thi ...

• Sammy 7 years ago

Very bad point bro

• Naa Yaa 7 years ago

The man of God had not said that farming is bad,and so why are you insulting?
    Do we need 70% of our youth into farming? The answer is no. The government is pushing everybody into farm because,they lack industries to absolve ...

• SAY IT LOUD ! 7 years ago

WHO CARES IF YOU BELIEVE IN YOUTH FARMING OR NOT . YOU ALREADY BELIEVE THAT JESUS IS A EUROPEAN(YOUR WOLF) AND YOU WORSHIP HIM AS SUCH.

SECONDLY, HOW CA YOU BELIEVE IN YOUTH FARMING WHEN ALL YOU WANT IS THE NATION TO LEAVE ...

And who cares if u want to go into farming? We are okay if he enslaves us with his God than with or dirty mind

• SAY IT LOUD ! 7 years ago

WHAT USE HAS GOD FOR THOS WHOO CAN'T THINK BUT JUST SING AND DANCE,

MORE FOOLISHLY, THEY BELIEVE THAT JESUS WAS A EUROPEAN GUY CALLED CESARE BORGIS WHO WAS A HOMOSEXUAL. AND THEY HANG HIS PHOTO AND CALL IT GOD AND WORSHIP ...

• Isaac lovebridge 7 years ago

do u know he X man of God

• Kwesi 7 years ago

This is a person who calls himself a man or thief of God, not intelligent.

• M Shanunu 7 years ago

If u don't believe in the youth going into agriculture,are u going to feed them.It's only in Ghana that every tom dick and harry becomes an adviser,,

• GOONER 7 years ago

HE HAS A PLATFORM TO SHARE HIS VIEWS AND YOU HAVE THIS FORUM,ALSO A PLATFORM TO SHARE YOURS,AGREE TO DISAGREE.NO INSULTS,THATS HOW CIVILIZED PEOPLE BEHAVE.

You've said it right my brother. The inability of the government to think and prescribe alternative livelihood should not be the reason for them to be pushing every youth into agriculture

• MATHS 7 years ago

Even though, the so called man of God did write that "he is not saying that farming is bad..." It is just a statement in which he does not believe. For if you read in between the lines, you will know that he is actually sayin ...

He makes sense more than or dad and the wisest man in your family

• Mondraim 7 years ago

Ours's not just a book. Ordinary books entertain you!. This is a training book resource that teaches you to fish for money . The benefits are greater than even paying more for a 1-2 month training on Cellphone Repairs. You m ...

• SI 7 years ago

why?

• Nana Adwoa New York City 7 years ago

Ohemaa why worry yourself about this person?it amazes me when i come on such a serious platform to meet such people.
    Pastor Otabil whether he likes it or not will continue to make submissions as you said there is no need for ...

• Freddy 7 years ago

U are ndc person else u wouldn't have wrote . U guys don't think .

odwanba; do you understand the psychology behind what this greedy and useless man is saying? he is already discouraging the youth into taking farming. do you think the old folks who are into farming will live forever? ofui, j ...

Stop spending whole day on ghanaweb and go to the farm.

I wonder if u have the ability to think

• Sansan 7 years ago

Go back to school.

• KingKoi 7 years ago

Did you even read what he said????
    Stop exhibiting your stupidity..... OFUI

• TAVIE 7 years ago

IGNORANCE A DISEASE AND MAHAMA AS WELL AS HIS CRONIES THINKS GHANAIANS ARE STUPID. THEY MUST HAVE A HARD LOOK AT THEIR LOOT SLAVE CORRUPT WAYS. OBAMA SAID IT WHEN HE WAS IN GHANA AND THESE ARE ASS ARE STILL PADDING THE SAME C ...

• Afia 7 years ago

Coward. Stop insultin dats uncivilsed behaviour. Read n understnd d article wel b4 u insult. #Wel said Otabil. Is d quality of d farming but in Gh everyfin has turn t b politics so d agricultural sector r nt given d needed at ...

• kk 7 years ago

I agree wit him to some extent. Especially wen he says it is de quality and not quantity but I also believe his msg in its totality is misleading. He has been preaching dis sort of msg since he came to de scene. Using ur brai ...

• Ala 7 years ago

KK, how do you infer on him, what in the remotest of sense, he has not said? How do you meAn he is encouraging sakawa and fraud. How is he saying physical hard work isn't good. I don't get where you pick your inference from.

• KingKoi 7 years ago

All die be die.....read before commenting and stop showing your crass stupidity.... OFUNCHI

• Mike from Ho. 7 years ago

Man just go and join Nana Addo and stop disgracing yourself. We don't listen to you again.

You would understand it if you were wise

• APONKYE 7 years ago

Otabil has now joined NDC in condemning the stupidity of Nana's illogical one village one dam policy. Nana, with his 3rd class brain, shallowly thinks that providing dams will provide jobs for the youth.

NDC countered by a ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

ONE VILLAGE ONE "NTAMPE'MARIJUANA FACTORY,ONE CONDOM FACTORY TO BE MELTED INTO GOODYEAR TIRES.

Gyimii

• Isaac lovebridge 7 years ago

don't know how to talk, be careful and

• HeleJes 7 years ago

Did you even read the article?
    Oh so u want the already 70% to be increased to 100% ??
    Hmmm lack of knowledge the people perish indeed.

• nnnnn 7 years ago

You can hide your name but you cant run. Do you think everyone is stupid like your stinky ugly mother ?. If she's deceased, may her soul rest in HELL fire ...bastard !

• Teahiabuah 7 years ago

What, Osofo? So you do not believe in continuity of life. Farming is far better profession than commercialising religion. Farm produce gives you the communion wine; Farm produce enable church goers to get money for the offert ...

Fish read before u comment

• Abaa 7 years ago

What did the man say wrong to warrant such insult. Already 60 to 70 present of the population are into farming. Do we still need more people to go into it? Free your mind from politics and think straight.

• Sansan 7 years ago

Yes of cause we still need more farmers so we can export our products, the new factory in Asutweary need more farmer's to produce more raw sugarcane to ran the factory. Yes we need them, well educated farmers.

• MATHS 7 years ago

The 70% who are into agriculture will not live forever. Some are aging while some are passing on. If the "Man of God" is now dissuading the youth from going into farming, who will be there when the 70% are in transition?

• Citizen 7 years ago

I don't think you really understood the import of which he is saying. Let me try to explain what he's saying. He says there are far more people already in farming so adding more hands to farming isn't necessarily the smartest ...

• Kumatse 7 years ago

May God's wrath descend on you greatly for insulting this man of God....You shall surely go unpunished.

• Dangoomza Kumasi 7 years ago

Men of God always exhibit sense and reasoning in their speeches. Not crass like this Otabil, robbing the teaming youth at the pulpit. Abraham farm and rear animals. If thinks too many people are into farming, then rest should ...

• Millabee 7 years ago

Check from the Ghana statistics. Ghana has less than 30% in farming. And more less percentage are commercial farmers. He should gives us empirical evidence with sources.

• Asty 7 years ago

He is speaking facts. Our precious brains cannot be wasted on tilling the ground. Those of you insulting the man of God, you can go to hell. He is on point.

• Qophites one 7 years ago

Farming also involves the use of brains. Is the man of God trying to say those farming have no brains or those with brains should use it for something else since farming requires less brains

• Napoleon 7 years ago

If you don't agree with the man doesn't warrant u to insult him

• Mike 7 years ago

Did you even read the whole article? 70% of Ghana population are in farming yet we import most of our food. Why is that? Because they don't farm well. Ghana only needs about 5% of the population to do good farming to be able ...

I feel sad for Ghana's future.People just insult for insult sake.Otabil is 100% right.Those politicians who make those silly proposals,how many of them will encourage their children into farming?...none

• Ala 7 years ago

You don't need everyone to be a farmer! That is the truth. How can we not feed ourselves even with 70% of us already in agriculture.

We are not doing it well. That is where the focus should be and not asking everyone to be ...

• MATHS 7 years ago

Who is saying that we need everyone to be in farming? We are arguing that the whole postulation of the man of God is wrong. Even though he says he is not saying farming is bad, that is precisely what he is saying. If he know ...

Get your whole family into farming if that is what u want period

• Paul siaw 7 years ago

did you actually read his point? are you that stupid and out of your mind? or just some ancestral stupidity which runs through your veins that simply hate good people with great advice!

• JOHN SAIBU 7 years ago

Uncivilized fools like you are Ghanas problem.
    The renowned paster is giving a brilliant suggestion and an idiot like you is insulting him,
    GROW UP GHANA AND USE YOUR BRAINS.

• IKE 7 years ago

you sound like a single parent child: very uncouth and untrained.
    we debate ideas and not trade insults. Are you a farmer? where is your farm?
    numerous farmers in a country is a sign of underdevelopment. we are in the brai ...

Even u dont call ur miserable self a beast. He only put an opinion across why do u insult. If we had five of his kind this country will be far ahead

• pilolo 7 years ago

Another corrupt thieving Ghanaian pastors. You are rich from other peoples sweat. You have not worked in your life so you think life is like reading the bible and saying your mind? Farming is work that is why you have no ide ...

Yes life is not like reading the Bible to you that is why your conscience is not working nantwie

• Nyame Ye 7 years ago

Like seriously? May the Lord forgive you and even if you don't agree with somebody, do you resort to insult? Well it shows ur class n social standing cos if you've bn thru well nurturing n had some quality education, u wd ve ...

• King Marc 7 years ago

Be measured with your utterance.Its better if you had listen to the whole sermon.This is a summary and doesn't warrant the insults you've written here.In any case if you don't agree,you make your point rather than the insults ...

• isaac brown 7 years ago

Pastor otabil was on point. how many farmers do we still want to churn out as a country?
    The time has come for the youth of this country to start thinking beyond want our politicians want us to believe.God bless ghana

• Bill 7 years ago

Did you read the article at all!..Don't be a fool ..He is making a wonderful suggestion and you are saying Osofo Kwasia...how?!!

• NANA BONSU 7 years ago

You lack the analytical ability to discern the statement. Elevate your low intellect exposure FOOL.

• asie baby 7 years ago

May God have mercy on your poor soul

• Be carried not in pride 7 years ago

Be careful of the person you are dealing with and mind your speech because it's assault and it doesn't speak well of you. Imagine, if someone on this podium talk to your father as you've done, would you be glad even to hear ...

• fm 7 years ago

Who ever u r shows that u are ignorant cos we produce plenty food stuff and in the market u see them rot for nothing because there are no industry to process them. If we had them we will be the bread basket in Africa.

• Efo Kojo 7 years ago

Massa, wo y3 kwasia paaa.w'egyimi nti, nyansa s3m a Mensah Otabil 33ka no wonte ase3.Nkwaseafoo tes3 wo nti na y33br3 wo Ghana ha yi. Aboa.

• Nii 7 years ago

You rather expose your foolishness by attacking him "all die be die". Illiterates like you will not analysis what one says to get the import but will go ahead to insult him.

• Kwaku Anim 7 years ago

This man baffles me, apart from blurring the lines between ministry and politics, he also peddles in foolishness. These nations you are talking about cannot be compared to our African nations. They don't have the lands God ...

• Papii 7 years ago

Stop being ignorant. U don't even know what u're talking. If I were you, I wouldn't even comment on any social issues.

• Paul siaw 7 years ago

Kwaku anim! what kind of head do you have on your neck? or it's just hate? now take your hate off your mind and read carefully what the preacher actually said before great insightful advice surprises you incompetent brain!

• Kwaku Anim 7 years ago

your industries begins there. Food is expensive and becoming so. Water is also something we need to save and conserve as it is going to be the next big thing to conserve. talk about chinese who have destroyed their nation ...

• Raila Odinga 7 years ago

Does he realize that farming in the developed countries is done mostly by machines that we do not have in Ghana ? Too many fools in Ghana.

• Pee 7 years ago

Unfortunately i think you are one of them! Because your point just proves what Otabil is saying. If the youth were given the opportunity to use their brains & God given talents, they would design tools that would enhance farm ...

• Nana Yaw 7 years ago

The man is making a lot of sense. But the myopic minds will rather insult him thinking they are wise. Israel with very little fertile land is doing serious agriculture. The problem with farming in Ghana is not about the numbe ...

encourage him to stifle farming among the youth and go hungry. do you think the old farmers will live forever? otwe.

• OSEI TUTU TAWIAH 7 years ago

Master, stop pretending that you don't have brain because of politics. Simple logic, if a country has 70% of it's population already in farms, why would you even try to encourage more? In 2016, everybody doing farming is like ...

• Ike 7 years ago

Is never true that about 70% of Ghanaians are already farmers. So don't take him serious my good people.

• IKE 7 years ago

We cannot feed ourselves in Ghana. is it because the youth are not into farming?.when you do not understand ask questions. go to the industrialized and find out how many youth are farmers?.Go to singapore, Maalaysia etc. land ...

• Pee 7 years ago

Thank you Nana Yaw!

• Agona Ba 7 years ago

Oh Otabil man of God you lack of common sense

• Kyiri Gyimi 7 years ago

Agona Ba, ask yourself this question: do I really want my son to become a farmer or something else? All those who advise the youth to take up farming never advise their own children into it. It is far more lucrative to go int ...

• MAKE NPP ATTRAACTIVE 7 years ago

This time, the man of God got it wrong. Talented young ones will be able to transform how we do farming. My nephew who is an IT engineer working for a company is also a farmer. Currently he has 300 acres of cashew nut. Is not ...

• Osman 7 years ago

This man is clueless, do you believe in youth going into pastorship? Before Ghana can move forward we need to get rid of all this two by four con-men.

• Pele 7 years ago

This is one of kind of failed speeches this man has made. Are you saying people in to farming are not talented, have no brains? What an insult to farmers the world over. Former Prez Obansanjo is a farmer with one of his child ...

• Afia 7 years ago

Cowards. Stop insultin dats uncivilsed behaviour. Read n understnd d article wel b4 u insult. #Wel said Otabil. Is d quality of d farming but in Gh everyfin has turn t b politics so d agricultural sector r nt given d needed a ...

• Bongoman 7 years ago

Why can't people learn to tolerate the opinions of others instead of insulting them? This is unGhanaian!! !!

• Paul siaw 7 years ago

you think it's Unghanaian?think twice it's typical Ghanaian like! same brain overthrew Nkrumah! senseless arguments is typical of Ghanaians! why will anyone even in his right mind argue against what the Man of God said? just ...

• sowah 7 years ago

Only the foolish ones with myopic eye will insult such great man of the Gosple. must I even blame them? If you were there to listen to him live, you would realize that the kind of journalism we practice in Ghana is bad. Befor ...

• Yaw Opare 7 years ago

I should by his CD so that he can buy more 4X4's and build even bigger mansions? Towfiakwa!

• Isah 7 years ago

Am really disaappointed in Otabil...how could you say such a thing?? I think it will be best and good for ghana even if 80 to 85% or into farming which can help us keep more of our forest reserves to use them more into farmin ...

• Paapidi 7 years ago

Think my friend. You need to take an Economic 101 class. How can 80 to 85% of any nation's population go into just one sector. Like Otabil said, in the USA only about 3% are into agriculture and its associated economic activi ...

• Nana Nti 7 years ago

Use ur brains ai.. U think only agriculture as sector can make us develop.. Use what God gave u kakra ai.. The man is making sense

• ST SIMON 7 years ago

THERE ARE ONLY FEW PEOPLE INTO FARMING IN THE DEVELOPED COUNTRIES BECAUSE TECHNOLOGY DO MOST OF THE FARM WORK. IN MY VILLAGE AT EKORSO THE TERRAIN ALONE WILL NOT ALOW YOU TO USE A TRACTOR ON A BIG STRETCH OF LAND. OUR HIGH IN ...

• Nana Yaw 7 years ago

Israel is a major exporter of fresh produce and a world-leader in agricultural technologies although more than half of the land area is desert, and the climate and lack of water resources do not favor farming. Only 20% of the ...

• peace 7 years ago

This man lose his intergrity and is foolish in politics and is not qualified to be man of God.How much people pay to enter your soo call University

• Dr Robert K Glah 7 years ago

Debate on Agric Revolution in Africa should be controlled. Agric Revolution involves manufacturing: it is not mere tilling of land as presented by Otabil.

African youngsters must start from somewhere and certainly, from t ...

• Ama 7 years ago

If the elderly are gone who will sustain the farms of the youth did not learn from the wisdom of the elderly.

• peace 7 years ago

which the percented in farming still food stuff is costly and who will fiance the 5% to farm more for us alll

We are already producing enough but because of lack of good roads and processing and preservation facilities, most of these produce go bad within a short time. it is not about the number of farmers but the quality and facilit ...

• Boateng USA 7 years ago

Otabil this one is below your belt. Agriculture is our African thing and we are blessed with such fertile land the rest of the world so not have. One does not reduced him/herself by becoming a farmer as you posited. Teach the ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

In the US: 3% produce the food needed by 97% of the population

In Ghana: 70% produce the food for 30% of the populaion

• Boateng USA 7 years ago

What is the source of that research? Why do you have to believe figures without cross examination? What he said is pure lies...Come again

• OSEI TUTU TAWIAH 7 years ago

So you still think in 2016, 100% of Ghanaians should be farmers. Please try to learn something if you say you live in the USA. Life is not only about producing food and eating it. That was only the kind of life lived by our a ...

• master atsu 7 years ago

Yes, you have hit nail right on its head... why should we be pushing our future leaders to something which has no future and changing slowing due to mechanization...Why not push them into technology and space science which is ...

• t.t 7 years ago

These are the thinkers ! What we need is right technology to turn our natural resources into wealth ! Dr Otabil is always on point !

• NiiM3NiiM3 7 years ago

Dr Otabil have a soft spot for the NPP and Dr Nana Akuffo Addo/Dr Bawumiah's policy of 1 Dam 1 Village is to promote farming. Or should it be only in the North? The youth must be excluded?

Perhaps being an investor, en ...

• Obuama 7 years ago

Mensa Otabil has got it all wrong. The dynamics in those countries are completely different from ours. So what does this man want us to do? To jump and be like the Americans and Europeans. It is easy to always talk the way ...

• Atoo 7 years ago

This is one stupid thing I have heard on years. Who tells Otabil that when u go into farming you are stack there and cannot use your brains for any other thing. Folks these are the people who are living good in gh and want ev ...

• Abeeku Mensah 7 years ago

Mensa Otabil should stick with the pulpit, his followers and the Bible and leave other things alone unless he knows what he's talking about. In developed nations like the US and or developing emerging market nation like Brazi ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

So one night, the farmer gets drunk. He grabs his wife's tits and says, "If these could give milk, we could get rid of the cows." He grabs her butt and says, "If this could give eggs, we could get rid of the chickens." The wi ...

• Apostle 7 years ago

Oh, my God! So this is the level Ghana has gotten to? To the extent that people can insult the elderly, and for that matter the man of God for expressing his view. The Bible says anyone who says to his neighbour, "foolish" wi ...

• kofi jnr 7 years ago

good one there but when Africa have the food they will bring the iPhone for food so let find a way to develop our strength because we have the land.

• RAZOR BLADE 7 years ago

Mensah Otabil has lacks common sense,is he aware it is a hundred million times better to have common sense, than to have education without common sense?establishing a university without creating jobs as as useless than giving ...

• 666 7 years ago

OTABIL ,OTABIL, OTABIL. YOU ARE OFF TRACT TELL US IN PLAIN WORDS THAT YOU ARE NO LONGER A PASTOR BUT A POLITICIAN. YOU PREACHING POLITICS IN CHURCH INSTEAD OF THE WORD OF GOD. YOU ARE A DISGRACE TO CHRISTIANITY OR YOU NOW OW ...

• JAY 7 years ago

Nonsense,why compared the Western industrialised countries with Ghana?Farming is a means of people to earn a livelihood, why should the youth stay unemployed when they can go into farming?Ghana must make Farming attractive an ...

• Born at Kyebi 7 years ago

Pastor M.O. u have a point but the presentation is poor. As for this paaaa
    no Hallaluya for U.

• Ib 7 years ago

The man is making sense here brothers and sisters. Let think before we write.

• RAZOR BLADE 7 years ago

Is Otabil aware the world is going to threatened with food insecurity?and that African stands the chance to feed the rest of the world?so it is not a misplaced priority at all to help create jobs in the Agricultural sectors,T ...

• IKE 7 years ago

if the world is threatened with food security it is not because the youth are not in agric. it is because we have not planned well and have not used the right approach.Otabil never said farming is not good but we should have ...

• k. b. frimpong 7 years ago

Is it the English that most people don't understand or what? People should read and comprehend the content well. He said he is not saying farming is not good oo, but we can get few people to do it and it well. He is on point. ...

We do understand English but he is talking absolute crap! In America, European settler/farmers seized massive amount of lands from the native Indians and Mexicans. Ted Turner, owns more than 2 million acres of land. Curby Emm ...

• Ponto 7 years ago

Like l always say, this man is not a pastor but a pure business man. He wants the young to forget about agriculture and enrol massively in his school so that he can make more money

• him 7 years ago

If you want to know the reason why Ghana is still in it's deprived state and why foolish politicians are fooling us, visit the comments page in the media as this and you will quickly understand why.

When someone speaks wi ...

• Kwasi Ajin 7 years ago

Stupid men would never understand the Wise Man Otabil Agya Kass wise men will listen

• Kwasi Ajin 7 years ago

Stupid men would never understand the Wise Man Otabil Agya Kass wise men will listen

• Kwasi Ajin 7 years ago

• kwadwo 7 years ago

what kind of pastor do u think u are? u always talk nonsense. from Ur infancy which church did u attend n if not because of greedy why do u form Ur own church? give us the percentage of churches in Ghana n why do people conti ...

• AMARIYA 7 years ago

Is it true that 70% of the national population declare farming as their occupation?
    I wonder, whether Ghana bureau of statistics is doing a good job. When it comes to economic growth and GDP, figures are manipulated to sati ...

• Odikro 7 years ago

Reckless statement. So encourage them to go into farming by choice. It is rewarding, it is time flexible, it is economically viable. You want your 90-year old mother to do the farming and the youth go to church. This is compl ...

• True talk 7 years ago

Tell me how many politicians will push their children into farming?they all want their children not to do physical job.true talk.

I THINK THESE PREACHERS/POLITICIANS COULD START BY ADVISING THE YOUTH TO STOP WASTING THEIR TIME AT THOSE "ALLNIGHT VIGILS". WHAT PERCENTAGE OF THE PEOPLE IN THE WEST GO SIT IN A CONGREGATION ALL NIGHT? KNOWING YOU ARE GOING ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

This clergy understand what the farming all about: pig farms my,chicken farming,cow ranching are all farming..lack of wisdom

• John Abaidoo, Sekondi 7 years ago

I am sad to hear this from pastor,

• Bob 7 years ago

Not everyone can become a pastor who is fed and clothed by the brain washed church members

• Kutsii 7 years ago

How can Dr. Otabil compare a democracy of over 200 years to Ghana. He is just saying this to rubbish the youth in Agric policy captured in the NDC manifesto.

Otabil eeeeeeih ! We know u 'four' much. So put on an NPP T-shi ...

• Dannet 7 years ago

Most of you guys here hide behind internet to insult people at will. It takes a high level minded person to express this type of opinion.
    Anyone has the right to disagree with him but to insult him is not fair.
    Now he had ...

• mendolza 7 years ago

Friends this is a social platform,we share ideas and opinions here.This is wat is on board,giv u r opinions abt it not insults.

• Henry 7 years ago

Substituting terms: Agriculture starts with the Policy makers to Research Scientists, then Educators: including formal & Extension, then Growers/ producers who are called farmers
    Farmers rely on the knowledge of agric scient ...

• mendolza 7 years ago

His point is agric covers 70%of d economy n most farmers in dis country farm bcos they don't have choices than to b forced into it whiles they have better ideas to help improve other sectors

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

He seems to have a good message but always ends up hurting the sensibilities of people. How come? Make you point but in a way you don' the attract unnecessary criticism. The Government should be encouraged to put in the neces ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

This is sense yet the blind will insult the man. Why should we all go into farming when a few can be well trained and resourced to produce for. Over half of our population are into farming yet we can't feed ourselves. It's n ...

• Cowboy 7 years ago

I agree with the pastor to some extent. Before I begin can we show a little bit of respect to our social leaders by not insulting them, please? Young people have all sorts of ideas which could be transformed into developing t ...

• YEBOPOWER 7 years ago

Pastor, most Ghanaians don't understand what you are saying. Your analysis is too complex even for the so called Legon educated politicians. Farming is the last choice of occupation preached by politicians because they failed ...

• KWAKU ADU-GYAMFI 7 years ago

Oh Lord,we want to hang this smart pastor for saying the obvious ?I get it.Ghanaians want to hear die-and-go -to heaven mumbo-jumbo ,not how to prosper on this troubled planet. oh yes, we are not used to good ideas ,esp ideas ...

• KWAKU ADU-GYAMFI 7 years ago

How many of those who are attacking the pastor will let their shs graduate son/daughter go into farming,instead of paying gh2500 bribe for nursing school admission?Lets be real and face the facts,shame on anyone who attacks ...

• George 7 years ago

Thank you naya They level of understanding is limited

• babayi 7 years ago

If the man of God is wrong,hw many of you can withstand seeing your ward in farming after completing university after all attempt to secure a job failed. Let's face the fact.

He comes across as someone who is flaunting his wealth before Ghanaians as if to show that he is better. There are so many professions in Ghana that people are forced into out of necessity including church business. It is no ...

• Asantewaah 7 years ago

Such an "insult" to the youth(students) studying" agriculture in the various universities nationwide. Please Sir, you really need to come again. "bright students REDUCED to farmers?" Whats really going on...smh

• Concerned 7 years ago

Those students are the type of people we should be encouraging into farming to increase productivity. At the moment most of the agic graduates are unemployed graduates. They study the commercial aspect of farming as well as t ...

• sam 7 years ago

TOO MUCH TALK NOT GETTING US ANYWHERE MR OTABIL

• Sam Okyere 7 years ago

Otabil is just a wannabe. I pity those whi hail him over there in Ghana. Until he stops his mischief, majority of us Ghanaians, will still consider him the idiot that he is. This man is gradually getting out of his brains. Sa ...

• Dr. Atisco 7 years ago

Well, he has said it. The question remains :What else in Ghana should the youth be doing with their brains as suggested. Talk is easy!

• Kyiri Gyimi 7 years ago

It is far more lucrative to go into politics. Just call in to radio programs and insult the opposition and you are good!

• pkirks 7 years ago

What do you understand my youth venturing into farming . Please give us a break with your shallow mind.

Due to lack of knowledge, my people perished,,i just returned from Ghana and i wept for my country.lack of knowledge and wisdom is pushing ghana backwards instead of forward,,
    u said it all man of GOD,,GOD Blessed U

• sammy 7 years ago

Please kindly take time to read n understand before any comments,,,,even if u don't agreed upon pls don't insult but rather your opinion.... let's show a bit maturity than uncivilized..

• IDARAKPA 7 years ago

Osofo, well said. We really don't need more than 7% of our population to be farmers. For those who reply to your view, please ignore. Ghana has many small minds than I ever had thought of. And we are producing more because we ...

• sammy 7 years ago

I understand n agreed with otabil....we have a very rich cultivated land,,, so we should rather encourage n treat / teach quality modern farming where a few can produce n process for many more than pushing d more youth to fol ...

• Khalid 7 years ago

pastor are u telling us that when we complete universities and cannot find jobs we should steal?pastor wrong, beautify your mouth with the truth pastor.

• Oh osei 7 years ago

This is a wiseman talking, travel to the hinter lands n u will understand who is a farmer and self slavery. Pure poverty, May God Bless them

• yaw 7 years ago

don't be ignorant,look at de data he brought
    out.in de cooperate world,we use data,not insults,nkwasiafo).dey encourage use to do farming, whilst their wards are outside reading good courses.

• Sansan 7 years ago

Need not finish reading, this is totally nonsense coming from a respectable man like u, are u telling me Akcko Darko was forced into farming by circumstances and are u better then Mr Darko who has been in farming most of his ...

• Kwasi 7 years ago

Don't insult him! Take analysis

• Nana Osei 7 years ago

I agree

• D. Adjei engineering student in USA 7 years ago

I'm an Engineering Student in the United states and I have to say the people against this are stupid. Its common sense to use your ideas to make more efficient work and to grow in other work feilds. I didn't think thier were ...

• Attakorah 7 years ago

stupid man. you call urself osofo.
    how many factories hv u established. if we don't farm, what do we eat?

• MAJEED DRAMANI MAHAMA 7 years ago

Absolutely right pastor. You are indeed my roll module

• Abena ntaa 7 years ago

The youth needs education rather than to be pushed into farming.The government can even equip our farmers with training,help the with sophisticated machinery on farms and as the minister said it should be by choice not by for ...

• Trusty 7 years ago

I don't believe a pastor of Otabil's caliber would stoop so low to say what he said, does the Otabil think before he speaks?

• Desire 7 years ago

Some Ghananians are fool to the extend of not using their common sense. What the Pastor is saying is the truth which cannot be denied....Is the quality of farming we do here in Ghana that can feed all of us not all youths int ...

• Twumasi 7 years ago

well said.people read caredully and you will comprehend.

• Abena ntaa 7 years ago

I hate participating in ?hanaian issues like this customer it it always full of insults.
    This man of God has said nothing to deserve all this disrespectful comments.
    Some of you can't reach his intellectual capacity let al ...

• Michael t 7 years ago

I believe the youth should instead be advised to go into farming with their enhanced brains. I also believe more youth should be supported to acquire higher education to boost agriculture productivity.

• kwasi 7 years ago

Well Said, Rev. I salute!

• Knockout 7 years ago

Please don't listen to this guy

I'm shocked at the naivety of those who are raining insults on the respected man of God. You guys need to travel and see how other places handle their agriculture sector. We need more industries to harness the talents and p ...

• JOSEPH A. 7 years ago

When we overly clad our sense of comprehension with dirty and infantile politics, we tend to attack wisdom when it is spewed. If a nation could only boast of its human resource capacity especially the youth as farmers,where l ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 7 years ago

Infrastructure is the issue in the Industrial and Agricultural Revolution of Africa. The lacuna situation in Africa cannot be likened to anything in the developed countries with developed facilities dominated by the MNCs.

• Miss May 7 years ago

Farming is by far better than arm robbery which most of the young people are doing because they don't have jobs. Everyone must be encouraged to farm, whether in their backyards or on a large scale. Jesus set an example for al ...

• Samuel Asante 7 years ago

Pastor I always like your intelligent teaching,Please continue teaching the youth with your scientific ideas.

• Papa G. 7 years ago

What a BAD comment coming from a SO CALLED MAN OF GOD. But it's good to be in front of a congregation, tell lies and make money. I am on retirement and I am doing some small backyard gardening. When I see what I am making now ...

• erik 7 years ago

this one de3 osofo wa ati so you're saying famers don't have brains poor you

• Ekow Anaman 7 years ago

Why are people harsh on the innocent pastor? ???
    To me there's nothing wrong with what he said. I mean why?
    The insult to the pastor is highly unnecessary.

• Pk 7 years ago

I wonder when people say 70% of Ghanaian are farmers. Population of 26million including children with abt 3million people leaving in Accra, not to talk abt the other capital cities ad other urban towns. Clearly 70% of the peo ...

• Banasco 7 years ago

What is wrong with what the man said, he didnt condemn farming he just said quality is what we needed not quantity and some people are here calling him names. Bros pls lets learn how to criticise constructively and stop the i ...

• sluggard man 7 years ago

Oh What a Pity,Pastor.Its because non-intelligent people are doing farming today in Africa thats why the percentage is 70. If intelligent young people get in,the percentage will drop drastically.WHY? Because farming today is ...

• Rene london 7 years ago

I believe Pastor Mensah Otabil's assessment has been misconstrued. What I have deduced from his comments on the youth and farming is that for a country of our size, we do not need more than half of the population being farmer ...

Because or parents have no sense in their head, they were unable to make u understand simple analogy. How many of u insulting this man are willing to go into farming? Hypocrites.children of fools

• Ekow Anaman 7 years ago

Why are people harsh on the innocent pastor? ???
    To me there's nothing wrong with what he said. I mean why?
    The insult to the pastor is highly unnecessary.
    Ekow Anaman

• OFO. 7 years ago

Mr.Otabil, please don't worry a bit!
    cus your message is too sensible for foolish minds to understand,no wonder all they could do is insult rather than subjecting your points to intellectual debate..grow up insultive -fooli ...

• Kontor Belgium 7 years ago

eiiiii ghanafo3 ye moa paa what this man said is true now we need machines not cutlass which has been using for 500 yrs.let us change it to machines what's wrong has he said to be insulted like this.When the come to Europe fa ...

• Kwam 7 years ago

The pastor is right, it not the number of people that go into farming, but the quality of farming that they engage in that matters, many of our populace are engage in farming, but they are very very poor, they still rely on ...

• ninja 7 years ago

So if you can use your church money to build factories .

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Two words to describe Otabil mislead farming nonsense irresponsible and ignorant.

• lawrence k opoku 7 years ago

This kind of lame nature of sum Ghanaian is one of the reason why we are at this state as a nation.

We shuud remember that any decision made by our leaders affect us the youth. This man is drawing our attention to a fact. ...

• lawrence k opoku 7 years ago

This kind of lame nature of sum Ghanaian is one of the reasons why we are at this state as a nation.

We shuud remember that any decision made by our leaders affect us the youth. This man is drawing our attention to a fact ...

• Abdallah Amin Mohammed 7 years ago

I really ascribe to the pastors view what we are swing in Africa is physiological and psychological effect of being call a farmer

• Osofobon 7 years ago

force the present gov't out of office.
    When he accomplished his aim, he will then ask the youth to go into farming. This is bad.

• Vp 7 years ago

Political pastors campaigning 4 their parties. Shame so called men of God.

• Robert 7 years ago

Can you tell me the party he is campaigning for in his statement because i didnt think it was so obvious?

• ADJAVOR FELIX 7 years ago

I BELIEVE MY VERY PASTOR OTABIL GOT IT ALL WRONG. HIS POINTS ARE BASELESS AND THE FIGURES HE QUOTED ARE INSIGNIFICANT. WHERE FROM FACTS AND HOW IS HE REFERRING TO THE PEOPLE THAT PRODUCE FOOD FOR US. I THINK HE HAS A LIMITE ...

• Mondraim 7 years ago

Ours's not just a book. Ordinary books entertain you!. This is a training book resource that teaches you to fish for money . The benefits are greater than even paying more for a 1-2 month training on Cellphone Repairs. You m ...

• Mondraim 7 years ago

Farming is good, Try Technical support too!!!

Ours's not just a book. Ordinary books entertain you!. This is a training book resource that teaches you to fish for money . The benefits are greater than even paying more for ...

• Mondraim 7 years ago

Farming is good, Try Technical support too!!!

Ours's not just a book. Ordinary books entertain you!. This is a training book resource that teaches you to fish for money . The benefits are greater than even paying more for ...

• John Neuman 7 years ago

It is just enough to state what you think is the right way to go. Insulting people with divenge t views from ours do show a lack of a democratic temper, and above all how bankrupt we are of constructive policy options . I thi ...

• BRIGHT BOADU 7 years ago

THANKS PASTOR , YOU ARE TELLING GHANAIANS THE GOSPEL TRUTH. WHET

• GEORGE ASAMOA AMANKW 7 years ago

Farming is not about many people it's about modern technology such as Mechanize, irrigation, contlow of post harvest, preservation, marketing, secondary value, infrastructure, finance and many more, for example there has been ...

• BRIGHT BOADU 7 years ago

THANKS PASTOR , YOU ARE TELLING GHANAIANS THE GOSPEL TRUTH. WHETHER GHANAIANS WOULD LIKE TO HEAR OR. NOT PLEASE KEEP ON WITH YOUR PROPHETIC SURMONS. GOD BLESS YOU.

• 2AR 7 years ago

I am surprised how Shallow minded Otabil is. He lacks common sense and wisdom.

I have no time to analyse for him what he has claimed.
    What I can say is that "YOU ARE WRONG "

• Robert 7 years ago

You also lack common sense and wisdom if you dont see it fit to analyse what he said before claiming he is wrong.

• J.A Quarshie 7 years ago

Those of u misquoting the man of God I don't understand u...Is it because u can't think far or what?? The case is simple, Already more than 70% of Ghana’s population are into farming and government still want every youth in ...

• NANA ERNEST 7 years ago

Please stop insulting the pastor if you are aimless . What he said was not bad, we should always try to specific in certain issues like this . I shall advice ...

• Robert 7 years ago

It fails me how a lot of those commenting here don't seem to understand what the man is saying and rather resort to insulting him. How can we move forward as a nation if majority are illeterates and dont understand anything?

• E owusu 7 years ago

I think it is bad for a man of God to impact this into the youth. There are so many bad things , our youth are engaging themselves into it which is affecting this nation negectivly, such as sakawa, robbery , gambling n drugs ...

• joe welly 7 years ago

understanding is deeper than knowledge.did u really understood what he said before throwing useless jabs at him.with quality farming practices, we don't need all of Ghanaians to go into farming.that's all

• Akosua, Accra 7 years ago

kjuhygtfrde

• asie baby 7 years ago

Akosua your children will be more foolish the him

• S k Boateng 7 years ago

Daddy God bless you and gives u more wisdom ... Is true ,the youth have used their brains not body to work .. Africa is behind life all because the leader , father and the eld don't encouraged the in this way .. God Bless y ...

• Emmanuel Otuei 7 years ago

The concept with which Otabil was trying to point here was to choose farming as' profession not by force' .

• connie Nyador 7 years ago

Its unfotunate the Rev is ecpressing his view no one should insult him.I want the Revrend to look beyond our cities and university campuses. We have youths in the small towns and villages who are either school drop out or sim ...

Religion and logic are not bed fellows, so is also religion and sanity. I can remember the U.S. in the 1930s when there was recession and the youth were send to farms and factories to work.
    There is a big problem with our ...

• STAFFORD 7 years ago

Ghana must remain agriculturally based always ?.WHY ? land is in abundance,and soil fertility perfect. food is best when eaten fresh and raw.The demand for naturally grown/organic foods remain strongest. WE GROW TO LIVE, AND ...

• koffie robert cudjoe 7 years ago

He has an AMBITION that is to be come the President of this nation. He could have gone the form and file for the PRESIDENCY, WHY IS HE HIDING One day i told u so. mark it on the wall

• Sammy 7 years ago

Am very sorry to hear such a word from a Pastor that the farmers are not using their brain to work.then acording to you Pastor the agricultural studies is very stupid to study when you come to europe you will see how young pe ...

• Maybee 7 years ago

Check your statistics before you make a fool out of yourself businessman Otabil. Where did you get the idea that 70% of Ghanaians are farmers?

• gibson 7 years ago

I don't know how comment about Mensah otabil. But..

• danny 7 years ago

The youth should employ their God given talents in profitable ventures. According to the biblical account in Genesis, Joseph saved the human race through farming. If the general overseer of ICGC does not believe in youth go ...

• Hauk 7 years ago

This npp gyimi gyimi man again . How many factories have you built for your jobless church people

• Hauk 7 years ago

Fix your broken npp party

• kingKong 7 years ago

only few ghanaian leaders are able to speak the truth and pastor otabil is one of the few.

• ARUPRATAN GHOSH 7 years ago

It a wrong perception of a common urbanized elite's perception, theory, and mind-set. It is prevailing since last 5 decades. Presently we depends on water bottle, Lets see what happen in future.

• ARUPRATAN GHOSH 7 years ago

It is a wrong perception/theory/mind-set of a common urban elite. Who depends on water bottol. Lets see how he will servive in future.

Hopefully the publication is wrong if not he is stupid

• Dangoomza Kumasi 7 years ago

This idiot who call himself a pastor should stop eating now cos all the youth will go into white collar job. There is no one to feed us.

• Sackey 7 years ago

great point pastor.

• Ernest Wolas 7 years ago

I am expecting Dr Otabil to be part of the 5% that would boost Ghana's agric and not only building schools to keep taking from parents.

• Justice 7 years ago

Pastor Otabil is a Man of God and I urge my fellow humble Ghanaians to acknowledge this Man, anytime I miss his teaching, I cry... I think we need a National Prophet like Pastor Otabil, Pastor Emmanuel Owusu Baah, Dag Heward ...

• Pastor Yawn Boakye 7 years ago

May God bless Dr Otabel,Ghana need a Leader not dictator we live in a modern world Ghana not Gold Coast we use our brains not bribes,Technology nt cult las

• Dr Robert Aidoo 7 years ago

I think the man of God has got it wrong big time.
    The mordern farming and related agribusiness require young people with brains. Who said when a young person goes into Farming it is a reduction in his mental capacity?
    We ha ...

Every rich person in a develop country is a farmer pls.

• otabil 7 years ago

veri sori 4 u. If u really know the bible, God said to man go and till the land. Were there Computers then and all the white colour jobs you are talking about. God forgive you for doing politics with the first profession God ...

• Joe USA 7 years ago

It is unfortunate to hear this from you of all pastors. NOW TELL ME. Is it my grand parents or yours who should go into farming. Be wise because a lot listen and respect you. OR with all the money coming into your church, you ...

• Kwaku 7 years ago

I'm not sure you believe in anything - even God, whose name you have exploited and continue to do to enrich yourself. I think God is working on this guy and we all will see his real self before long. If you understand what FA ...

• Kobina Mpuntu 7 years ago

It's sad to read such comments from Ghanaians, do not draw hasty conclusions, where you do not understand you ask for clarification, insults has no place on this international platform. ghanaweb this is not freedom of speech

• GBEMELATSU 7 years ago

Of course when the youth turn to farm he is not going to have any student.This are the people who are sinking our mother Ghana,they just think about their pocket.God will really pay them.

• Kwei- Accra 7 years ago

This fake pastor is a big fool and a con man,who was sent by the devil to destroy. He should be taken on and thought some useful lessons that we all cannot steal from the congregation to enrich ourselves. Evil man, God will p ...

• Ken. 7 years ago

Wow!, I can't believe people are insulting him for this deep and commonsense advice. Why should we coerce more youth there, whilst few can ride at the back of technology to maximize output to feed us, if proper policies are p ...

• not necessary 7 years ago

it pissess me off when youth I mean uncivilized, empty cans and vessels rain insult on a man of God. Truly you need forgiveness of sins. this is to you all who spoke evil against the man of God will really pay dearly. he's ...

• J. A. KRONFUOR 7 years ago

KWASIA, SO U WANT ALL OF US TO COLLECT TITHE LIKE U.... ONY3 GBEMI, WO MAME TWE. KWASIA. NATION WRECKER AND A THIEF BY ALL STANDARDS.

GOD WILL PUNISH U AND CONDEMN YOU TO HELL

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 7 years ago

THIS IS A STUPID PASTOR. OR DO YOU WANT THEM TO TURN TO DEFRAUDING PEOPLE, BY SAYING THAT THEY ARE PASTORS ? THIEF !!! WHAT DO YOU WANT THEM TO DO ? TO BE ROAMING ABOUT IN THE STREETS ? YOU ARE A VERY STUPID MAN, PASTOR. HOW ...

It's only stupid & foolish minds who won't understand the man of God.

• bobostone 7 years ago

This one, I will disagree with the renowned pastor. Why can you advise the youth not to go into faming? May be the Pastor is talking about subsistence faming and not mechanized farming.

In the US, there are about 2.2 milli ...

• Kb 7 years ago

Let say 50 percent of our youth is unemployed and there is opportunity in farming what will you suggest?the black man's problem is not indulging in what will benefit him but always doing what benefits the white man?we are two ...