You are here: HomeNews2016 09 22Article 471607

Akufo Addo’s family from Bator visit him

Read Comments Comments (101)

• VICTOR BAIDOO, SOUTH AFRICA 7 years ago

SO WE ARE JUST ONE PEOPLE! WE ARE SO WELL MIXED AND INTEGRATED THAT ONE HAS TO BE CAREFUL HOW WE BEHAVE TOWARDS OTHER PEOPLE WITHIN THE SUB REGION.

• Onufu the Snake 7 years ago

THE BATOR CONNECTION HAS SEALED THE DEAL.

AGBENAAAAAA.........!!!!

• aikins 7 years ago

The name NANA ADDO DANQUAH AKUFO ADDO is going to be remembered for ever and ever just like Nkrumah. The man is going to do marvellous things for country Ghana that he loves sooooooooooooooooo much. He is not going to corr ...

• Broadbase 7 years ago

The Obuobisas are guans. When did these people migrate to Bator? When did the akyems move to Akropong? This is another anansesem.

• Kwaku Broni 7 years ago

Dim wit Broadbase, Akuffo Addo 's father is an Akuapim. His mother is the daughter of Nana Sir Ofori Attah I, the king of Akim Abuakwa.
    Due to wars , migration and intermarriage we are all cousins . A great number of peo ...

• KOFI HIGH 7 years ago

Volta Region is not tracing ancestors from Ashanti and Akyim rather the Ashanti's Akyim's to trace ancestors from Volta Region. They know themselves and even some of their so called kings are of EWE ancestors........

• Gohe 7 years ago

My great grandfather told me of this history thay they came as a matter of war defeat and it was a women who came first to seek asalum and later went and brought the rest . even we have the Akwamus that formed a great tribe i ...

• Kwabena Senkyire 7 years ago

just learn your history, Akuffo Addo"s father hails from Akropong, apart from that natives of Akropong hails from akyem.

• john Dee 7 years ago

The akyems came to assist the akuapems to fight the akwamus. They were asked to remain in Akwapim as chief of the army till a certain stone will grow. Akropong, Mamfe and Amanokrom are akyems. The chieftaincy dispute that sur ...

• MINA 7 years ago

If you don't know the history ,you don't know it so when somebody is telling you just shut up. If Nana had gone to the Volta region to seek them first, you people would have come all out to insult, vilify and denigrate him bu ...

• KOFI HIGH 7 years ago

MINA you are a liar they are prisoners of war, Ewe people capture them at that time of the the war, can you point them. Am from Akyim but lived in Kpando and i can tell you more. Go to Akyim Oda Prakrom Ewes are their, they g ...

• jacob 7 years ago

All for political opportunism. This is not d time for akuffo addo to realise he has some relatives in Volta region. It's so shameful of akuffo addo to want to take advantage of every situation for political gains. He is not f ...

• aston abek fada 7 years ago

Hahahahahahaaaaaaaaa! Ma Sri mu saaaaaah meyemfu kora yemeya. Abasem nponi? Because of power you people are becoming increasingly popular for comics.

• Omanhene 7 years ago

I know some family members who recently (20yrs) came from Volta, after a similar war story, which was verified by my father. We are indeed mixed heritage.

• Katy 7 years ago

Just shut up n learn. Don't display ur ignorance on social media . no body is stopping u from researching.

• GH vi 7 years ago

how do you refer to a chief in Bator as krontihene whatever? foolish daily guide. go and find how he's properly addressed and come tell us

• Edward, Maryland. 7 years ago

Lol. Great sense of humor.

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 7 years ago

Nana Akuffo Addo is so desperate just to be president which we all know can't be possible. R.I.P NANA ADDO

• NDC IS SATANIC 7 years ago

R.I.P John mahama. May what you ask of others return to you in Jesus name. John mahama will die before December 7th if he has any I'll feeling about Ghana and that is from GOD.

• Katy 7 years ago

You r a fool , is mahama not desperately sharing money to win the election? U Will r.I. p. Fool.

• DHURUWAH 7 years ago

If Mahama, giving 50 cedis to three market women who have their wares destroyed by others means buying votes, then Nana should have no problem buying 500 votes.

• Fernando. 7 years ago

SO YEN AKANFO WAS NOT APT AFTER ALL?

• NANA KUMASEHENE 7 years ago

SO NOW NPP KNOWS THAT THERE ARE HUMAN BEINGS IN THE VOLT REGION?
    ONCE KWABENA AGYAPONG SAID ONLY ANIMALS ARE IN THAT REGION. PLEASE, AKUFFO ADDO, IS YOUR OBUOBISA RELATIVES PART OF THE BEAST OR THEY ARE REAL HUMAN BEINGS?

• Charles Agbenu 7 years ago

Stop misconstruing Kwavena Agyapong comments. Stop courting sympathy from phantoms. We will kick against such base methods Voltarians have used and misused over the years against NPP. VOLTARIANS should not be deceived from N ...

• K.K. 7 years ago

Stupid questions need no answers.

• Kids President Yaw Barima 7 years ago

Nana Addo is a hybrid right ?

• Prof . from London 7 years ago

You see people of Ghana we are interrelated so no one should point fingers at each other by making gestures as if one ethnicity is bigger than the other you might belong to anyone of them but wouldn't know so be careful fo ...

• Abu 7 years ago

Who even knows if Nana Addo is not Bator due to his height.

• Katy 7 years ago

Anytime u guys laugh at nana addo's height, remember u r mocking God for a por job done. God should have mercy on u.

• ANIWISTIC ANIWIS 7 years ago

Nana Addo is coming from Mepe not Battor.

• Abu 7 years ago

Won’t they be treated and called Togolese and aliens by the same NPP folks .They are not being treated as Togolese by the NDC bussed by the NPP for the sake of voting them to power.

• Owusu 7 years ago

so you think you are "ghanaian"? I regret being a Co-citizen with you. you are so ignorant of your history, it so pathetic. how can Ghana grow with such ignorant as citizens?

• Abu 7 years ago

Then there are so Many ignorants in the NPP fold as they always call anybody from the volta region as non Ghanaian and a togolese

• Akos 7 years ago

You are right. Too many of them are xenophobic

• NDC IS SATANIC 7 years ago

YYu are a fool not to know Volta region shares border with Togo and they also speak ewe like our people so if we complain people from that area are registering does that go against any law ndc fools? You think we will allow F ...

• Maame Esi 7 years ago

Nana Addo is your archetypal Ghanaian with roots in Akyem, Akwapim and Akwamu, and relatives who migrated all over including Bator. Na a should maximise on this fact and build bridges with all. His relations as part of his e ...

• Commenting from Jail 7 years ago

Well spoken @ Maame Esi, indeed Nana Addo owes it to Ghanaians to win this election to rectify the wrongs of both Mills and Mahama disastrous stewardship .we all want our dear nation to prosper.

• comfortwaa 7 years ago

oh i love this excited to know my president still loves us after all the rigging in the 2012 election by the ndc,what a peaceful man npp all the way

• Menu mienu 7 years ago

Haaaaaaa despiration will kill nana ado,looking for vote in Volta u now claim to be a voltarian,it will not work,u will never smell te flag star gate,evil nana,

• Katy 7 years ago

U r evil. Just give ur life to Christ n b saved from the ndc's lake of fire. Nana is a good man with a good heart, that is why even the evil one in the npp r fightn him cos he won't allow them to starve Ghanaians when he i ...

• Freeman 7 years ago

Yee you see things two two indeed. Jealousy will kill you MENU MIENU and ndc as a whole you are panicking because Nana has met his relatives from your strong hold.

• ANIWISTIC ANIWIS 7 years ago

the question is, was nana Addo the one who went looking for the battorians or the battorians went for Nana Addo? As greedy as some of us are,because of that things are going this way. An African dwarf will always remain a dwa ...

• Love 7 years ago

Kwasia, a dwarf u can't even compete with. What have you achieve ever since u we're born, hahaha. Kwasia kwa

• Ghana boy 7 years ago

Nana can now be a relative by long patrilineal lineage because of votes. Wonders still happen!!!

• Ike 7 years ago

We are all one people. If we trace our lineage we will realize that we are one

• KOFI ZOBRA 7 years ago

dESPITE HIS BUSY SCHEDULE HE WAITED TO CATCH THE EWE VOTES. OH, SHOULD WE 'KILL ALL GAS AND EWES?' HMMMMMMM, SO NANA IS A 'ETRO KOSI' AFTER ALL. HE NEEDS SANTIFICATION AND PURIFICATION IN THE SHRINE BUT NO DOG MEA, BUSINESS, ...

• Peniz Chopper 7 years ago

Send these Ewe-speaking Togolese back to Togo. I hope they have not registered to vote.

• Andrews Melbourne. 7 years ago

This brings panic attacks on NDC Candidates at Bator and it's environs.

• Adongo Emmanuel 7 years ago

But they also said when you see a voltarian "kill him" and that statement still holds.

• Igp 7 years ago

There Guans are all over parts of Volta, as in Leikpe, Jasikan, Bator, Hohoe Kpalime and Brong Ahafo. We as Ghanaians are one people. Its only mahama's ndc that thrives on tribalism. This is why Nkrumah fired his konconsa fat ...

• Rockson Lawoe NEW YORK USA 7 years ago

Agoooo. Which Battor are you taking about? The Battor I know is at Tongu in the Volta region. There is no chief have that name mentioned as Akuffo Addo family at Battor I personally known. Where is that Bator?

• dotse 7 years ago

Rockson, I don't know how this whole thing is playing. But I can bodly say the Obuobisa family reside at Aveyime a surburb of Battor. I even thought one of them by name Obuobisa Abigail at Battle Delali Junior High. Daily gui ...

• zak 7 years ago

Tribalism and ethnicity in Ghana is very laughable. This is a small country with a population of less than thirty million(30,000,000), which is just the population of one city in a certain country, example, Cairo in Egypt. W ...

• MOHAMED/USA 7 years ago

ZAK DID YOU LIVE IN EGYPY BEFORE? I USE TO HAVE A FRIEND CALLED ZAK IN THE 80's

• Kwabena Senkyire 7 years ago

Hi I never knew this, So part of my soul and relations lives in that part of the world.Thanks be to God,I will be in Ghana soon,I will make my way straight to that town.

• GOD is watching 7 years ago

So what do you people think after losing the election he'll cares ?

• Maxwell 7 years ago

Thanks for the first time in hearing about the family and friends and from Battor to trace the to found out the ancestors .were missing for a decade.

• Prudence 7 years ago

We are all hybrid due to migration

i am a native of Battor and my family name is amegbanu from Adina clan what the people are saying is true. my father is alive and if u want any clarification wil gave my father number to you for more insight. a whole clan hav ...

• kofi mensah 7 years ago

please mr Amegbanu Kwame kindly put your fathers number across.I want to speak him.You know i want to learn something from your oldman.I am from the Doegah family ok.0265976278

• Ghanaba UK 7 years ago

so Mr Amegbanu, where were you all this time? Mr Akufo Addo has been around for well over 40 years in (politricks) why now?

• bongo 7 years ago

NANA AKUFFUVI ADDOMENU...

• Rita twumasi 7 years ago

Nana akuffuvi addomenu,Chai we are all one big family.

• Livingstone Yao Setsoafia 7 years ago

Eeeeeiiii! These guys are funny oo! Nana Akuffuvi Addomenu

• Jihadi Mahama 7 years ago

Akropongs are Akyems. After the Akyems helped the Gas and the mountain people to liberate them from the cruel rule of Akwamus the Akyems were begged the the Akwapims to live amongst them. So the Akyems sent a delegation wit ...

• Foster 7 years ago

SHAME ON NPP AND AKUFO-ADDO FOR CALLING VOLTARIANS TOGOLESSE.

• KOFI WENCHI 7 years ago

THEY ARE THE ONLY GROUP OPF PEOPLE IN VOLTA WHICH IS NOT FROM TOGO. TRIBAL POLITICS AT ITS BEST. THOUGHT THEY WOULD SAY THEY ARE DESCENDANTS OF THE QUEEN ELIZABETH OF BRITAIN.

• Nana yaw 7 years ago

There is a fire on the mountain hahahaa NDC RIP SEE U 2024 but still not win hahahaha panick and the sign of change is every where in ghana NPP all the way

• Akwes 7 years ago

If he likes he should bring his families from Azerbaijan.

• Big Bolt 7 years ago

Nana you see yourself ! For the two times that your lost elections you are now finding solace if in Volta, the people you hate and want to kill with wormafon ,now desperation has taught you sense.Ashantihene said it all. He s ...

You said it all. I believe Nana has what it takes to lead the country but his speech and comments defame him so much. Mahama and his wicked group are using that to their advantage and it pains so much. God help Ghana paa.

• Yaa 7 years ago

Why is this news?

• EC 7 years ago

People will do anything to win power even if they have to eat human feaces or have sex with a mad woman.......Desperation to the highest degree. If God wants you to be president,where you come from doesn't really matter.

• abakah samuel kwesi 7 years ago

I can not see that short man

• Reindorf De Thunder 7 years ago

That is how the world is ooooo
    Let us all remain focus to build our mother ghana

• DERLY@... 7 years ago

NDC are panicking cuz Nana is gradually gaining recognition at their world bank. Change, the way forward..........

• Eyo of PIP RECORDS 0244224196 7 years ago

I vote based on policies not on family lineages and or tribalisms. I regret being a Ghanaian in this context. NDC and NPP are what the Indians call lusupuna!!!

• Kwasi 7 years ago

am humbled, see oooo. Ghana we're one people. Ewes and Ashantis are one under God. no more tribalism

• biska 7 years ago

So when Kennedy Agyapong said the shashantis should kill voltarians, Akufo Addo's family members were part?

• ja 7 years ago

Ei Nana Kasapereko, for President sake you are now a voltarian. where were they after your first, and second attempt? in 2016 you are now KWASI Vick. NPP who are you deceiving? indeed you are desperate.

• JK 7 years ago

You see what I am talking about! Nana Addo is very lazy. Instead of going out to campaign, he prefer people coming to him. He has been always surrounded by people in his house, so he does not want to go out. Just lazy man who ...

• Npp Kafra 7 years ago

Asem oooo

• Kobby 7 years ago

Lol

• Akos 7 years ago

Does this means NPP supporters will stop harassing other tribes or ppl different than them. Just as their counterparts in the USA? Naaaa! I doubt it. Nana may love his extended family but not his followers

• charles 7 years ago

Afterall Nana too is a Togoless

• opana 7 years ago

yen akanfour in my minn

• National Agenda 7 years ago

Most people in Ghana do not know their historical background and yet they make a lot of noise about ethnicity and tribalism.
    Those disputing this story must shut up.

• Rita twumasi 7 years ago

His wife might be of his family. I heard she is voltarian.the blacls in America may have other problems but not tribal ones
    Let's see ourselves as one nation and treat each with love.let's not Jim crow law devide us

• QUAN 7 years ago

WHILST NDC ARE BUSY EXERCUTING THEIR CAMPAIGN MESSAGES,NANA IS WELCOMING HIS ANCESTORS.
    NANA CAN CLAIM TO A DESCENDINE OF JESUS CHRIST FROM BETHLAHAM THAT CAN NOT SAVE HIM OF EXTENDING HIS POLITICAL PENSION AGE.AT ALL COST G ...

• Kofi Malabo 7 years ago

Since when

• T.T 7 years ago

After reading the story, i begun to share tears. So Ghana, we are one people with one blood. No more insults, lets learn from this akuffo addo family history history. The person u insult today, could be ur family member tomor ...

• romeo 7 years ago

Interesting

• E..Ofori-atta 7 years ago

Just like the Ofori-atta from Peki Avetile their great grandfather comes from Akyem in the Eastern Region.As such in 1922 Nana Ofori-atta from Akyem visited his brother Atta -Mensah at Peki Avetile during the outdooring of h ...

• Ghanaba UK 7 years ago

Where were they all this years?

Even if he has some Ewes as his family, just remember that the Ewe side is a father side and Akans do with maternity and not paternity. The only issue for me is his ulterances.

One love,one heart.

• mr true sa 7 years ago

Bator is in Ghana what show that they lost

• bb 7 years ago

LET QUICKLY DEPORT THESE PEOPLE TO TOGO.THEY ARE PART OF BAWUMIA ' S 10% COMPILATION.

• KK. 7 years ago

Apuuuuuuu.so u wld hv killed yr people had u carried out d order (kill ewes)Kennedy Agyepong gave.Hahaha ha. Gbemela

• toronto fire nankese 7 years ago

What a world we living in

• Ato 7 years ago

Eiii..so opana wishes to be ewe. Look grandpa it is too late for you to patch up with ewes.....what a funny story.