You are here: HomeNews2016 09 11Article 469049

Graduate students to demonstrate over unpaid thesis allowance

Read Comments Comments (40)

• joe 7 years ago

all these so called allowances must be scraped

• Kwesi 7 years ago

How about allowances politicians take? Shouldn't they also be scraped?

Author:- OFOSUAA .....
    when it comes to economics and currency issues, there is nothing wrong with doing everything in dollars from time to time bcos the dollar is easy to appreciate ....as for the ghc equivalents, its alwa ...

• Nathaniel 7 years ago

Mahama and the NDC government are haters of students. We will show them that we gave them power come December 7. Foolish, greedy and insensitive thieves.

• Sappey-Agboh. Tsiame-Lagbohkope 7 years ago

Government is not Santa Claus to go about distributing money like confetti. Lecturers are demanding research allowance without producing a single research. Now all of a sudden, another mushroom group had just popped up and de ...

• idrisu 7 years ago

Of cause Manama's government is more kindly than Santa clause, he can even distribute free outboard motors and vehicles to fishermen and chiefs. Members of his party are free to eat from ghana's money the way they want and ...

Mahama has destroyed Ghana my motherland he has continuously been stealing our money through the so called infrastructure.Monies meant for developments are stolen by Mahama and his NDC appointees,he has nothing to offer to Gh ...

• KOOBOY 7 years ago

IT SEEMS LIKE THE GOVERNMENT OF GHANA IS FATHER CHRISTMAS TO GHANAIANS FROM POLITICIAN TO STUDENTS. FOR GHANA TO BE ABLE TO MOVE FORWARD MOST OF THESE ALLOWANCES AND SUBSIDES ESPECIALLY TO POLITICIANS MUST BE SCRAPPED. AFTERA ...

• ROSEMARY 7 years ago

Sharing of vehicles and other bribes.... JOHNMAHAMA has his eyes fixed on bribing voters... . That's why we are poor.... .

• Wilberforce Mfum,London,UK 7 years ago

No Rosemary,you are poor because you will not get off your fat arse and fend for yourself.Where the fuck do you think Gov't money comes from?It comes from the tax payer and that means,Gov't employees as well as big business e ...

• why the cursing? 7 years ago

Can you put your message across without swearing?

• Best Ghana Lover 7 years ago

Scrap all these allowances ! Including Research and book allowance. Lecturers use same old notes and use the money as a top up of their salaries

Advice Mahama to stop the stealing and create jobs.

• ROSEMARY 7 years ago

Why are you all avoiding the root cause of our poverty... . JOHNMAHAMA builds a wall at Burkina Faso at 650,000.00 dollars and was suddenly gifted with a FORD VEHICLE BRIBERY......... Sada gyeeda.. ... .. .. bus rebranding.. ...

• ROSEMARY 7 years ago

If Ghana doesn't 'have the money, then how come JOHNMAHAMA IS buying voters and chiefs everywhere.. ......

• Nii Nortey(New York) 7 years ago

Rosemary, you commenting like a fool.

• asem 7 years ago

Thesis allowances? even the richest countries in the world don't give allowances to their students. Before you finished with your MBA or PhD, you owe a the government thousands of dollars? who should give you allowance for a ...

• Antiba 7 years ago

Ah! It wouldn't have been a problem if all these monies are Chanel to the proper use. But the NDC babies with sharp teeth are stealing these monies.

• AMA TX USA 7 years ago

Is good to spend money on students then sharing cars nd building houses to individuals what a wicked government that doesn't think about the student of the nation change is coming

• Dr Robert K Glah 7 years ago

someone must pay for the research and thesis and not necessarily the Gov. What the Student Loan Fund is doing sitting there for nothing?

• abi 7 years ago

Ghanaians expect everything to be free for them. Even in the developed countries which have lots of money, they don't finance graduate students. In the UK graduate students pay their tuition fee and accommodation expenses. Sc ...

• Wilberforce Mfum,London,UK 7 years ago

Abi,you are absolutely spot on.In the UK,students pay at least £9,000.00 a year for tuition fees and then,accommodation fees plus living expenses as add-ons. Most students take up a loan which may at least be £30,000.00 plu ...

• KWAPPS 7 years ago

**Egypt 1,800MW cost $1.3 billion

**Abu Dhabi 1,600MW cost $1.5 billion

**Ghana Ameri/Karpower 505MW $2 billion.

How does any right thinking person justify this huge anomaly? NDC should explain this. All of this mon ...

• Emmanuel 7 years ago

Can you come again with where you are getting your figures from? The last time I checked the Ameri and Karpower project is no where near the amount you've quoted

• Mikrunitam 7 years ago

So as a nation we always have to resort to strikes and demonstrations to have problems solved? Pharmacists claim for 7 years they had been dialoguing with government over an issue till they embarked on their current strike. 7 ...

All this npp stage demonstrations will not work

• sir cosmos 7 years ago

all dis allawance must be stop

• immune USA 7 years ago

They don't need any money ,you sit there and copy work from books and say research ,come to America and see how they do thesis,stupid graduates,go to Hell,

• samuel azumah 7 years ago

may be,there is a research allowance for graduate students stated in the educational programme.it must be respected.however,i see no sense in demonstration by these highly learnt people.if there is any problem with thier allo ...

• AKORA 7 years ago

Nsem pii

• Rayyyyyyyyyy 7 years ago

Stupid people,
    I am not political but hate the fact that everything in Ghana is attributed to Government. A prostitute dies, it's Government, man have sex with his daughter, it's the Government. When are Ghanaians going to t ...

• Bishop 7 years ago

Real nonsense.

• yuki 7 years ago

is it that all those commenting on the thesis grant have no idea on the issue and if that is the case they should remain silent or seek clarification. thesis grant is not school fees and graduate studies is not free. and thos ...

• Juicee 7 years ago

President Mahama himself found the need to inform UCC students in his recent campaign there that he was going to make tertiary education progressively free,

why then do we have a situation like this.

i believe people s ...

• jawam charles 7 years ago

Why mahama no build all schools he promise

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

HAVE THEIR SO CALLED ''''THESIS'''MADE A '''DENT'''TOWARDS THE ECONOMIC GROWTH AND DEVELOPMENT OF GHANA.

YESTERDAY, IT WAS PROFESSORS. LECTURERS WHO DEMANDED PAYMENT FOR BOOKS AND RESEARCH ALLOWANCES.

HAVE ALL THESE DEM ...

• Mensah okyere 7 years ago

Research allowance? Tweaaaaa these people should be hallucinating.You copy someone's work and you call it thesis? L know a lot of Ghanaian students especially Legon and those mushroom universities who paid people to produce s ...

• chrisman 7 years ago

It is problematic to see the payment of graduate student's thesis and research allowance delay for over one academic work. The need for research should not be underestimated in any way.
    In developed countries, higher learni ...

• BenHadad 7 years ago

Ah! Did the govt direct them to go and read the program? We don't need them , useless graduates!

• AKUA DONKOR 7 years ago

ALL GRADUATE STUDENTS SHOULD VOTE TTHE NDC OUT IF YOU WANT TO PROSPER, VOTE NPP TO BE ABLE TO PROSPER PROPERLY