You are here: HomeNews2016 09 05Article 467516

Spio Garbrah stabs cement producers

Read Comments Comments (17)

• Canadasheabutter( GhUWR ) 7 years ago

A BAG OF CEMENT IN NIGERIA IS LESS THAN GHC25.00 , WHY VERY EXPENSIVE IN GHANA

• eugene 7 years ago

just add water for projects has cement,rock and sand already

• Samson 7 years ago

That licence is a FORGERY. It is not genuine.

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

is it Bui or Buipe diamond cement factory. hehehe watch your facts

• Santo 7 years ago

There's no truth in this story. This NPP daily guide is full of dirty trash lgnore it.full of lies.

• FAISAL 7 years ago

Hi Mr Spio, plz issue more licenses for cement importation, some of them thought they can continue punishing Ghanaians like Ghacem. More license. A bag of cement is sold at GHC 22.75 in Togo, why not here.

• OTUBUAH 7 years ago

If it's true, I congratulate the Minister. We need to break the back of the local Cement producers. They are cheats. Cement is just too expensive in Ghana. Cement have to be less than 10 cedis a bag. Like in a lot of case ...

• Consumers stand to benefit 7 years ago

At Ghc 30 or so a bag of cement in Accra and up to Ghc. 35 in Brong Ahafo, it is about high time that the government free the cement market to the relief of the Ghanaian builders and the ultimate consumer. The current regulat ...

• Ambrose 7 years ago

Mr minister continue the good job we need more cement importers to bring down the cement price.cement price should be affordable to enable people put up houses that the rent would bring down rents.
    Good job.

• eugene 7 years ago

most house in USA except for wild fire areas are wood with brick surround or even wood siding..concrete is only ised for foundation

• Obroni 7 years ago

Why always sub-standard bullsh... China nor Ghana have enough klinker the basic ingredient for Cement.
    China has to send it all the way to Ghana, pay transport costs, duties and VAT and we without having all that costs are n ...

• bula 7 years ago

There is no cement factory at Bui. Do you mean Buipe? You can't venue tell a good lie. What a poor brain for a journalist.

• Nyatefetor 7 years ago

China installs impressive infrastructure particularly with cement now than any nation has done in the history of human civilization. They use the "same" inferior cement which Ghana can't even produce.

For once there is pr ...

• KWAME Nduom 7 years ago

NOT SURPRISED AT ALL THAT THE TRADE MINISTER HAS GRANTED LICENSE TO THE CHINESE COMPANY TO IMPORT. WOULD NOT BE SUPRISED MINISTERS POCKET HAS BEEN LINED. OUR MINISTERS AND MPS DO NOT HAVE THE INTEREST OF GHANA BUT TO STEAL AN ...

• champ!! 7 years ago

Don't forget that Ghana's cement industry is not vertically integrated that is why cement prices keep surging and surging.An industry which imports machineries an d sensitive raw materials will be downplayed by what happens o ...

• champ!! 7 years ago

oh ! local producer ; I feel your plight . However, it will interest you to know that countless, reckless borrowing spree this current gov't and earlier ones have resorted to have increased importation of some many waste go ...

• Yaw Ben 7 years ago

If not forthe competition GHACEM will be selling cement at 100ghc.Hon Min.of Trade pls grant more licence to importers to force the price downwards. Ghacem has milked us for far too long. How many people are they or have empl ...