You are here: HomeNews2016 09 04Article 467331

Ghana’s cab drivers fight Uber

Read Comments Comments (43)

• OSAGYEFO 7 years ago

This is not good for the drivers but will be good for both customers and govt tax revenue

• Nana Malik 7 years ago

Greedy Ghanaian taxi drivers that have no fixed price for their services.They look at you and charge.Change is coming.U can only change your ways or else u will soon be unemployed.

This is development, convenience, life improvement and competition as well. The typical African always wants to stay in class one. this is good and we shall welcome it

• K Ofori 7 years ago

Joe everybody in life want development and competition is good as well for consumers and the stakeholders as well nobody question that but one has to have regulations to guide how the industry should operate to be fair for th ...

• K Ofori 7 years ago

Nana Malik you really do not know how uber opperate they've just introduced their product in the country you have no idea what they're going to do next if you're interested to know ask Washington DC Cab drivers they'll tell y ...

• Dogg 7 years ago

Please stick to traditional taxis. This Obroni taxi concept will not work in Ghana because we have a different mindset. 419 drivers will mess this up. We don't yet have the infrastructure to support high tech business models ...

• 21st century 7 years ago

The Internet,the traditional taxi ,the phone or pc are all obroni concepts . Why do you use them if you really don't like obroni concepts?

• jcamcam 7 years ago

Yes oo..I was shocked wen I once paid ghc10.00 to a place, later another taxi took 5ghc.

• Miss Kafui 7 years ago

But why do most Ghanaian refuse to think outside the box and fear change as well. We can't grow with this attitude of not accepting new positive ideas. Abbaa

• dart 7 years ago

I agree with you paapa. They're always asking for development but not change. How can we develop without technology. These are some of the reason why since independence no progress. How old is Singapore?

• Open Voice 7 years ago

I agree perfectly with you. Until we stop these these so call associations and go ahead with laudable decisions we will never develop. Any program that is introduced in Ghana some sort of association kick against it because o ...

• Text 55t 7 years ago

T5ygvgggygyygttyt55ygvhyvvgyttyy gtt5ygz CV g t

• suzi 7 years ago

Stay away forever. Maggot scum

• TAVIE 7 years ago

CHANGE AND COMPETITIONS IS THE NEW WORLD GET USE IT

• jeje 7 years ago

this drivers should better think better than thinking that government should always do things in their favour! if they are doing the right thing, why are they afriad of things been changed to also help passagers? you can kill ...

• Smart Thinking 7 years ago

What kind of English be this?

• Tekonline.org 7 years ago

The Committed Drivers Association of Ghana should rather take the opportunity to brainstorm for new innovative services, to compete head-on with Uber.

The world does not stand still; technology marches on and there is not ...

• Osebo 7 years ago

If anyone has tried UBER in Accra then they will know that whilst they are managing the business the way they are currently they will not be competition for the traditional taxis. They do not turn up when hailed on the App an ...

• Foreigner 7 years ago

I disagree that Uber is poor in Accra. With the ability to rate drivers and provide comments back on each ride, those BAD uber drivers will get cut out of the system. I've already known a driver who had to go through 're-tr ...

• Azumah Nelson 7 years ago

Ghanaian Drivers can go to Hell.Thry should learn yo compete,

• BlackC 7 years ago

Cab drivers should fight Uber. Uber is not looking like the innovative technology that people were sold on.

Uber should provide some healthy competition to cabs and make the cabs at least perform better. Instead, it's loo ...

• Progressive Ghanaian 7 years ago

Your stupidity confounds me. Once your drivers go on strike, consumers still need to get across town, and thus will use uber's services. This will expand their market share and prove to consumers their business model and qual ...

• Andrew Naija 7 years ago

Uber is in Nigeria and other African countries yet their drivers are not complaining. Ghanaians don't like competition. Today it's foreign retailers, tomorrow it's Uber. Sit up and do ruthless business not soft business.

• soja 7 years ago

uber has not been very helpful to taxi drivers wherever they've been be it San Francisco or Kansas City.

Uber is a cheater- charging drivers unnecessary fees and commissions while not contributing to their bottom line.

• Big Brain 7 years ago

Why alway selfish attitute from our drivers? Due to monopoly they do what favour them. They can go to hell. All these new systems have to come so passengers will get small relief in the hand og this local drivers.

• Mahama72 & Montie3 7 years ago

STAY AWAY FOREVER

• Mahama72 & Montie3 7 years ago

AGAINST SALE OF ECG, CIRCLE AND KASOA INTERCHANGES, SENIOR DAY HIGH SCHOOL, POWER BARGES,NEW AIRPORT TERMINAL. WHERE DID WE GET THESE BUSHMEN FROM?

• concerned economist 7 years ago

the taxi drivers should stop the buffoonery and join Uber to increase their incomes

• Gil 7 years ago

Are the Uber drivers not Ghanaians? Continue being the backward, self-centered and myopic thinking and u will be left behind

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

uBER is taking you as a fool, and ignorant to risk yourself as a cab driver for his wealthy and benefit.

uBER ASK you to buy your own car at your own cost

ask you to drive at the cheaper price

but he would take hig ...

• charles 7 years ago

hahaha. please do hunger strike. why are they afraid of change? they should go and read about the BRT

AFRICANS SHOULD WAKE-

why do you have to put your tel number , and credit card or bank card in one Apps?

an APPS you have no control for payment autorisations?

Think about it if it is sensible or folishness

Th ...

• Foreigner 7 years ago

You don't need a credit card to use Uber in Accra. (It is required in the US where I've used it before.)

tell us how you pay uBER cab in Accra

• Foreigner 7 years ago

When you set-up your uber account via a phone, it gives you the option to select cash or a credit card. I already have an uber account from the US and it was set-up only with a credit card. However, in Ghana, after I selec ...

• fuseini 7 years ago

Stupid post si there don't want innovation

• Uber Zealot 7 years ago

I love using uber in accra vs taxis. Why?

First, the rates are lower especially for longer trips. Before even taking a trip, you can get an estimate through the app.

Secondly, uber cars need to be reviewed by the comp ...

• O.C 7 years ago

If u can't beat them jux join them.Uber has come to stay.The public has accepted it and it is the way forward.Jux be online or stay offline nd shut up and u guys will permanently be out of business with ur backwards thinking. ...

• fear woman 7 years ago

hahaha it will create jobs but it wont work in ghana not with all this crimes

• THE HUMBLE ONE 7 years ago

For all those clamoring for change and technology and innovation and all that,.. wouldn't common constant electricity availability be what you should be asking for first and foremost?....But I'm guessing that's too far advanc ...

• AMA ATTA I DO 7 years ago

The typical resistance to change.

• Dr Yaw fosu, NC 7 years ago

Uber is here to stay and making waves around the world, the drivers have to adapt to the competition. It makes the service better. Ghana open up for technology.

• Marie 7 years ago

No nonsense from any disgruntled Taxi driver will stop UBER. Even in Nairobi, BBC has told us they have introduced helicopter UBERs to assist in the traffic jam. Rather work and get your last few coins before you go extinct.