You are here: HomeNews2016 09 03Article 467260

Ama Ata Aidoo walks out of event over spelling error

Read Comments Comments (247)

• King Tony 7 years ago

We feel proud of you mum, may God richly bless you. You have done a lot to nature talent. Ghana needs your kind to better the future of the next generation. You are a Great and a Proud Fanti we all salute you.

• shakespeare 7 years ago

Well the word you are looking for is 'nurture' not 'nature' So you would get kicked out of her class too presumably!?

• Ebenezer 7 years ago

Haaaaà ! Walk him/her out madam! It 'nurtured' not 'natured' mama will kick u out, too.

Author:- facts .....
    John Mahama promised till he even promised not to promise again but he continues to give promises. How many promises have Nana Addo made so far? But each time Nana promises the Mahama camp is the first ...

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

MUAHAHAHAAAA. SO NONE OF THESE LEGON STUDENTS COULD HAVE LOOKED UP THE CRRECT SPELLING OF AMA'S NAME ON HER BOOKS? USELESS KIDS....SHE SHOULD EVEN SUE THE SCHOOL ATTACHE NEXT TIME U WILL CROSS YOUR Ts AND DOT YOUR Is...FILTH ...

• Altruism 7 years ago

Because of her reputation she thinks she is a super human being. This shows the type of person she is. A person who has no respect for humanity.

• SOCCERMAN 7 years ago

Ebenezer would be kicked out as well. It should be "it's nurture" not "it nurture ". Sloppiness is the order of the day for young people of today, the product of the JHS system which Ama Ata Aidoo championed as the PNDC Secre ...

• Nick 7 years ago

You will equally be kicked out. "It is nurtured".

• DESMOND 7 years ago

She would have won the applause of many in the audience if she had stayed to draw attention to the error rather than the disrespectful decision to walk out for the reason of a very minute mistake of an additional "t" to her ...

• Prince Charles 7 years ago

My sentiments the same. I am ashamed of her action. Who doesn't make mistake in this world?

• KOOBOY 7 years ago

WITH ALL DUE RESPECT I THINK SHE SHOULD HAVE STAYED AMD MADE THE WORLD KNOW HOW TO SPELL HER NAME. I HAVE A FEMALE FRIEND WHO GETS ASKED MANY TIMES BY GHANIANS WHY SHE IS CALLED FRIMPONG AND NOT FRIMPOMAAH. SHE DOES NOT GET ...

• Adwoa Appiah 7 years ago

You apologists are the reason our nation has become so dumb. It's shameful to talk about honouring someone and disrespect her at the same time by not taking the time to get at least the right spelling of her name right.

Pe ...

• Dan 7 years ago

This is an academic institution we are talking about.

CHECK HOW I SPELLED UNIVERITY?..WILL SUCH AN ERROR OCCUR AT HARVARD, MCGILL, OXFORD? NEVER...SHAME TO THE ORGANIZERS....SO WAT HAPPENED AFTER SHE WALKED OUT?..LOL

• Kwame Anto 7 years ago

Good Lord!
    Do you have to carry your pompous ass this far? Your kind and your misbegotten self righteousness makes me want to puke. Where is your sense of proportion? Just piss off already! Dang!!

• kofi, USA 7 years ago

Agreed, she should have been the adult in the room and acknowledge the error with humor and humility rather than been disrespectful and arrogant.

No doubt. I wonder what difference the pronunciation would have made to lots of people.

• WHO DOES SHE THINK SHE IS? 7 years ago

This is stupidity and pigheadedness. What kind of nonsense is this? You walk out on the organisers because an extra T has been added to the one T in your name. Screw her big time. I have lost any respect I had for her. She sh ...

NEXTTIME U DRIVE, MAKE A MISTAKE BY REFUSING TO CHECK UR BLINDSPOTS R EVEN WEAR UR SEATBELT. PPL LIKE U ARE THE REASON WHY GH HAS BECOME A PIGSTUY TODAY. U TAKE COMFORT IN DOING THINGS ANYHOW...LAZY AASSHOLE.U WILL SEE VERY S ...

• Abdul 7 years ago

You're right wiseman. Humor and humility could have proven how matured she was. Don't end your career with shame.

ALWAYS FINDING EXCUSES TO NOT DO THINGS RIGHT. NEXT TIME U DIE IN A CAR ACCIDENT, OR PLANE CRASH. DONT BLAME THE PILOT OR YUTONG BUS DRIVER FOR NOT BEING ATTENTIVE TO DETAIL.....OUR SOCIETY HAS CONDONE MEDIOCRITY SO MUCH THAT ...

• Jordys 7 years ago

It's good to compare a bicycle accident and airplane accidents since bicycles and airplanes have the same complication levels!

When someone talks about maturity in questions about being arrogant, for a lady who won our res ...

• Loway 7 years ago

Her mind is not develop

• Agya Nimoh 7 years ago

Some of these Profs get carried away because we virtually worship them. This money conscious woman has grown to be really self conceited

• jm 7 years ago

If you think one spelling mistake is nothing, go add (0) to (10) and check how it would be pronounced.

I REMEMBER WHEN I WAS A FORM 1 STUDENT AT NATIONAL. I HAD THIS ONE LADY TEACHER MS AYIAH. VERY INTELLIGENT WOMAN WHO DESPISED BULLSHIT. I ONCE GOT THE HIGHEST GRADE ON ONE OF HER TESTS N JUST BCOS I DIDNT SAY THANK YOU AFTER ...

• Taylor 7 years ago

I hundred percent agreed with you. She could rather have stayed and draw the attention of the organisers. That would have been a big plus for her. Walking out from such event as a result of such a trivial mistake is not the ...

• Nick 7 years ago

At her age and where she's been, what will applause from audience grant her? We need to take things seriously as a nation and for that matter as a university.

• Alhaji suleimana 7 years ago

There is a saying goes, "every mistake is a new style". Under this note, she could have maintain or practise calmness or coolness and direct the event manager to correct her name. I have a worse case where a female professor ...

• Kb 7 years ago

So you think misspelling someone's name is a minor issue. That's why you're all buying degrees from the Internet

• Adje-Badu from Nobewam 7 years ago

What would she do to the NDC and their band of so-called communication experts?. They say they are experts in communication but Ghanaians recently came to learn that Uhuru Kenyatta was the President of Ghana.....Communication ...

TO THOSE SAYING SHE IS WRONG. WHY DONT U GO N SPELL UR MODA N FADA'S NAME WRONG ON THEIR TOMBSTONE...FOOLS....

• Sika 7 years ago

Hahahahahaha

• Mankrado 7 years ago

Sorry, but your "mum" showed classless immaturity and self-conceited arrogance!

For a so-called "Prof", has she heard of: "A rose by any other name would smell as sweet"

• RICARDO 7 years ago

This woman needs to grow up! What kind of NONSENSE IS THIS! Spelling your name wrong is not the end of the world. Surely, there is something in a name, but this is stupid and petty! In short this bitch is really stupid In a r ...

• Akora 7 years ago

petty indeed

Yep

• Nii 7 years ago

Dear Ghana Web,
    Do you have an editor? How do you allow such a comment to be published on your website? Do you know what is editing at all?
    I'm disappointed. And shame on you Ricardo or whatever your real name is. Shame.

• Sewa 7 years ago

Why must u refer to the woman as a bitch?

I agree in toto. That was classless.

• EFO KOKU 7 years ago

This is useless arrogance. What has she taught the kids who were there because of her. To be arrogant? Madam you've goofed big time

She sure did. Who the hell does she think she is? Is she above mistakes?

• DIAMOND 7 years ago

Thank you!

What happened was a reflection of the laziness and systemic lack of attention to detail that has permeated our country since the dawn of the new educational system.

Even the so-called universities don't care. ...

• DIAMOND 7 years ago

Kenyatta, President of Ghana.

• poka 7 years ago

Hahahaha, so u mean the word 'mistake' came into being with the beginning of the new educational system? It didn't exist during the so called old school period right?

When I see mature people like you thinking like infant ...

• DIAMOND 7 years ago

This is what I said:

"What happened was a reflection of the laziness and SYSTEMIC - SYSTEMIC!!!! - LACK OF ATTENTION TO DETAIL that has permeated our country since the dawn of the new educational system.

Your infantile ...

• Yaonono 7 years ago

Thanks, they'll blame everything on government.Ama Ata Aidoo never made mistakes, that's what they want us to believe.

• Ritmens 7 years ago

This is a bunch of nonsense. Try and make sense next time. People like Obama and world leaders joke about mistakes that people make. "He that is down need fear not fall"

• Ed 7 years ago

"He that is down....what??"
    Think you need to go look for that expression (poem) again....maybe it will appear/sound like this "He that is down needs fear no fall". Next time pay attention to minute details!

• Yash kugmoor17 7 years ago

I second her 100%...this is to protest against the lackadaisical attitude of Ghanaians....
    Eg..NDC officialso were hours late to an appointment with the koreans..
    Time to get serious

• poka 7 years ago

Think of your cancerous nana and leave mahama alone

• Cool 7 years ago

Please focus on the issue

• MD 7 years ago

Well , she also taught the students who were present and saw her behavior to walk out whenever there's a mistake and not to fix it . That was disrespectful and it's as simple as that . She could have used the platform to make ...

• ooo 7 years ago

I agree with you.

• Kpoku 7 years ago

Pls correction. Those officials were Public servants, Chief directors. You too you goof here. Check your facts

• KWAPPS 7 years ago

Just because a simple 'a' is added to her name, should she walk out on an event? She is therefore this she is therefore that. This seems to me the dominant thread of reasoning running through this forum. Most contributors who ...

• Woedem 7 years ago

Actually it is an extra '' T''. That's exactly her point! Did you even read the article?

• Still learning 7 years ago

I'm sure you meant nurture talent not "nature talent". She would have crucifed you for such a mistake.
    Such an over reaction.

• CHE 7 years ago

Even nature makes mistakes. There is no such thing as human perfection.

• Lloyd 7 years ago

The are in universities and are illiterate.

• poka 7 years ago

Have you seen your mistake too? What do you mean by ' the are in university' ?.......

• Jeff Onuomah 7 years ago

And moreover most Ghanaians , mostly Akans write Ata with double T (Atta ) for a twin brother and ATTAA or Ataa for a twin sister. If hers is the feminin version, then she spells it wrongly but if its the other way round, the ...

• Blessing Sam Brookeman 7 years ago

The Atta ne Attaa is for the two people but fante's has Ata for both male female.

• Blessing Sam Brookeman 7 years ago

The Atta ne Attaa is for the twi people but fante's has Ata for both gender,

• MD 7 years ago

Which is the reason she should have educated rather than showing that insolence . I still can't figure out which is the right spelling for our late president's name since he's fante ; Atta Mills / Attah Mills/Ata Mills .
    It ...

• Ella Ansah 7 years ago

I like this comment. Good one there. It deals with the issue head-on.

• agyapee147 7 years ago

the coding of the sound of her name as Atta was not a mistake. she did not want to accept the correction of the error she had lived with all her conscious life.

• Forson 7 years ago

are you sure? the coding doesn't matter. spelling of a name is different how you think it should sound. if my name is "Kojjo" and you spell it "Kojo" thinking that is the best way to spell my name, I have the right to even su ...

• Forson 7 years ago

are you sure? the coding doesn't matter? spelling of a name is different from how you think it should sound. if my name is "Kojjo" and you spell it "Kojo" thinking that is the best way to spell my name, I have the right to ev ...

• ANABA 7 years ago

Did she walk out because of this?Whats in a name after all?

• Kachina 7 years ago

Something else made her leave not just the name spelling.

• ona 7 years ago

nothing else Anaba made her leave. the organizers went down on their knees to beg her to stay but she won't. nothing all

• Boss 7 years ago

Perhaps somebody said tweaaaa

• zakk 7 years ago

What is in a name?!
    NOW YOU SEE WHY THIS BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY IS PACKED WITH FILTH AND PLASTIC WHERE EVER YOU GO? BCOS WE DON'T CARE ABOUT DIGNITY AND PRIDE WHICH MAKES NATIONS TO BE REVERED .
    WHY ARE SOME IGNORANT GHANAIANS F ...

• African patriot 7 years ago

Ghana like most African states has lost its dignity. Dirty steets and fifty open gutters has no shame. Ghana was respected during Nkrumah's time but neo- colonialism has set in and turned Ghana into a whore house. They projec ...

• Tetevi 7 years ago

Hahaha they make silly mistakes at our independence celebrations. The canker has affected every facet of our sloppy lives. Ghana will RISE AGAIN with true and efficient leadership. Our schools, factories, civil service etc wi ...

• acasia 7 years ago

They just rush through everything without checks. This is an insult to our education system. Useless nation with useless graduates!

• Jamila 7 years ago

You refer to the nation as "useless"? Perhaps you are but the nation definately isn't. God bless the homeland.

• MD 7 years ago

Thank you Jamila ; you wrote my mind

• BONE MARROW 7 years ago

eii Africans and huhulization aba why being so pompous.Pls everybody makes mistake aba

• Kofi Bill Clinton 7 years ago

So is this one the devil print?

• Ashanti Alliance 7 years ago

so jx cos ov this spelling mistake u walk out of an event to celebrate you? and the daughter too is glorifying her action? blacks are too pompous. da'faq mtchewwwwwe

• Nick 7 years ago

And no white man will get the name of such a woman wrong. Ghanaians need to accept mistakes and learn accordingly. We have supported nonsense for far too long

• Boss 7 years ago

Seriously she really did this just becos of a double "t" instead of one "t". She is a celebrated author and we are proud of her but this is wrong. She could have made a humour out of this. Walking out of a program in her hono ...

• Kofi Amoako 7 years ago

Indicative and symptomatic of the incompetence that has engulfed the entire society as a result of the appalling leadership of Mr. Incompetent. Ghana and uhuru kenyatta should have walked out on Mr Incompetent when he messed ...

• Kwaku Manu 7 years ago

Kofi Amoako, I think you should grow out of this partisan stance of yours. How on earth has the competence of our leaders influenced the misspelling of Prof's name. We must all learn to do things right as a people. We need to ...

• lrn 7 years ago

Too many people speaking against this woman shows Ghanaians are not ready to rise above mediocrity and the careless way of doing things. No wonder we are where we are today!

• kakuchie 7 years ago

Exactly! We are really not serious as a people. People forget, such a mistake in some other application can create serious problems.

• Prof. Samuel B. Owusu-Mintah 7 years ago

You hit the nail right on its head. My fellow Ghanaians, if you are not sure of something, check it before writing. What is sickening for a teacher is to have your name wrongly spelt by your former student! I can't stand it

• asem 7 years ago

I don't know what is wrong with Ghana, no editing?

• Quansah Augusta 7 years ago

To you is nothing, but to her is something important, good work pay

• Fusy 7 years ago

Can someone kindly educate me what the difference is between "Atta and Ata". Does the good professor have the letter "t"in her mother tongue. These are characters borrowed from the English language for our purpose and yet we ...

• Villager 7 years ago

Have you heard of people being detained at ports of entry because their names have been wrongly spelt in their passports? Ghanaians are very sloppy and will not learn unless the hard way.
    Do you remember the mistakes on the ...

• Fresco 7 years ago

It is very appalling that some Ghanaians can't understands that simple mistakes and errors carries such a great consequences and if someone points them they wont learn from it. I don't know if it's just ignorant or just that ...

Its 'thumbs up', not 'thumps up'. You too would would have been sent out of her class.

• EKOM 7 years ago

Can you spell mahama's name wahama or bahama and he will feel happy and they will make mistakes of her certificate of honour. It is never normal thus why President make mistake and we say normal

• Jane 7 years ago

Can you please read his comment carefully before drawing the wrong conclusions? Why do you think wahama sounds like Mahama? He mentioned, white and Whyte, John and Jon...so how does your analogy much his?
    To solve Ghana's ...

• Nick 7 years ago

The difference is her name is spelt Ata not Atta. Can't we as people accept a good thing for once?

• eli 7 years ago

You obviously have had no lessons in Twi so I will let it pass. And yes, Twi has the letter "T" in its alphabets. All you needed to do was to enquire from those who know and you would have been corrected. But no, just like th ...

• Empty Tofloko 7 years ago

Some people call me Chris,others Christoph,another Christophe,yet another Christopher. A plane left me at Munich airport to Zurich because my name was wrongly entered into the computer. But Mum, you could have had a little p ...

• CD 7 years ago

Nonsense! The world is not perfect.

• NPP in shitttttttttt 7 years ago

Her children and grandchildren should start getting alarmed because of this multiple symptoms she is constantly exhibiting,just scared that its not bipolar hmmmm.She needs anger mgt coaching to curb further disgrace and embar ...

• max 7 years ago

Has anyone read her son's tweet? Its not devoid of grammatical mistakes. Charity begins at home dear 'Ma.

• Ali Mahama 7 years ago

I Salute You Madam for being so Principled. Many things are going wrong in our society today and our Leaders just look on unconcerned. This week some Government Officials were billed to meet some foreign delegation to discuss ...

• Wow 7 years ago

She wants it known she is Ata, not Atta. Fanti and none other. I guess we can never escape our tribes no matter our education and fame, huh?

Atta for Ata is unfortunate; the walkout is even more so.

• Alan kyeramanteng 7 years ago

yh no such thing like perfect being…but we must aspire to be perfect…u don't celebrate sum1 with a wrong name…dat name mistakenly spelt cud mean sum1 else…but i don't agree with her walking out on the programme…UG i ...

• Ahwaitey Gordon 7 years ago

Mmmmtchew! This is crass common conceit at its height.If she were polished she could have made her point by scolding her hosts nicely whilst allowing the programme to go on. Her daughter Kinna is also beginning to display the ...

• SUPERFLY BOY 7 years ago

While one should not condone sloppiness in any form, it seems to me Ms. Aidoo's reaction is a tad too much. It is demonstrably lacking in finesse, grace, savoire faire; not to mention maturity and the tact that old age bring ...

• max 7 years ago

I don't necessarily agree with you, but my goodness, can you write! So refreshing coming across a wordsmith like you! You have my utmost admiration! !!

• sobo 7 years ago

feminist movement has failed as always

• KWASHIE ADJAH 7 years ago

THE INDEPENDENCE DAY BROCHURE MADE UHURU KENYATTA, THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA AND PEOPLE WERE HAPPY WITH IT IN OUR NATION. IF WE ACCEPT THINGS AS SMALL AS THIS, EVENTUALLY IT ACCUMULATES INTO ACCEPTING HUGE ERRORS WHICH WILL AFFE ...

• Dennis Amoako 7 years ago

I really admire you for doing that. Keep it up. Now my respect for you is through the roof. Atta is not your name and you have every right to walk out. Well done. It's time for Ghanaians to learn how to do things right. We fo ...

• zakk 7 years ago

......We are lagging not lacking. Thank you.

• NANA MENSAH ABOAGYE 7 years ago

I dislike your books cuz it give me a tough time during ma tym in college buh for this one i say well done .We were all here when some national service personals were not paid their allowances bcos of not bringing hyphen to i ...

• Tweaa 7 years ago

Not surprised Africa is not moving forward. Arrogance, stupidity and she left and disrespted the people. Who is she what has she invented? She suffers fm dementia

• Famdy 7 years ago

This noble lady have every right to act the way she did. It would be fraudulent in the first place to accept something in someone else's name. Secondly the university should have done their home work properly. There is no roo ...

• Suleman 7 years ago

no Man is Perfect.

• Kwabena Yeboah 7 years ago

I have always admired this goddess of wisdom and purity, and applaud her stand in perfection in a country bedeviled with sloppiness and mediocrity mindset. Well done, Ms. Aidoo

• @me 7 years ago

Hahahahahahaha...!!! U can't say,"...mediocrity mindset ", it shld be," mediocre mindset".... Hahahahahahaha it's really funny hw every selfconceited psn who tried to justify her behavior ended up committing graver errors in ...

• max 7 years ago

Just like you meant to say "self-conceited" instead of selfconceited?

• Pumpuni 7 years ago

Why blame her for her action? A Travel Agent made a mistake and added another alphabet to my last name. This simple mistake cost me GBP 350.00 at London Heathrow Airport because the British authorities said that spelling did ...

I really understand her because i have the same experience with my kids that are called Jeff that people always write his name "Jeffrey" in Ghana thinking that "Jeff" is the short name for "Jeffrey". That messed a lot of his ...

• Big Daddy 7 years ago

What appals me is the disrespectful language being used here.Some might not agree with what she did but cant they just state it without using such horrible,rude and disrespectful language.

• Charles 7 years ago

a big clap for you Hon. Ama Ata Aidoo.
    At least you stand out tall from mediocrity.
    21 gun-salute Mum

• Ama, Amma 7 years ago

I can't think far, but this one die333 I can think madness holalaaaa

• Small Axe 7 years ago

I fully endorse Prof. Aidoo's action. We need to pay attention to details else we shall be 'nearly always men'

• @me 7 years ago

U can't say,"...pay attention to details ", it shld be,"...pay attention to detail "... Do u see hw pathetic u luk now???

• Peter 7 years ago

What is wrong with 'pay attention to details'? You are such a moron!

• Jamila 7 years ago

Either 'to detail' or to 'the details' personally I don't care but you asked so I thought I would explain the proper use.

• Virgin-brother 7 years ago

I can't believe she is actually proud of her mother's action

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

Oh Please ...

• AK 7 years ago

This was overreaction but an eye opener to Ghanaians. Even during state functions, we make terrible mistakes.We must learn to pay attention to details.
    On the contrary, she could have grasped the opportunity to school the au ...

• Class 1 Boy 7 years ago

Ùseless CEGENSA! Shame on the director for not knowing the correct spelling of the name of such a popular literary and creative personality! This things happen when people feel too big to see to some aspects of their jobs an ...

You have a serious problem.

• ona 7 years ago

Class 1 boy, why attack the director?

• nanny 7 years ago

on her invitation card,how was her spelled? is it Ata or Atta?
    if it is Ata,then she should have known that it was a mistake but if it was Atta,then she is a hypocrite.

• Adje-Badu from Nobewam 7 years ago

You know what I'm talking about. They say they are experts in communication but Ghanaians recently came to learn that Uhuru Kenyatta was the President of Ghana.....Communication experts???, my foot!!!.

• NANA KENA LAWRE 7 years ago

There was no need walk away because nobody is perfect on earth. she is limited in consciousness.

• Abena 7 years ago

We need more like you Madam,we always overlook these things, that's why our children are failing in schools .
    These text language are killing society now .what a shame. Wake up , Ghanians .
    Thank you Madam and congratulatio ...

• akwesi 7 years ago

I support her action 100%.This is a University of Ghana ,there should be no room for complacency.They should have done their checks and double checked.

That's very dishonorable thing to do. What is a spelling mistake of a name? Can't she be gracious and just point out the error and make a joke of it? People take this world too serious.

• Ken Ntiamoa 7 years ago

"People take this world too seriously."

Ken

• AMA TX USA 7 years ago

Oh you are role model why you should have called their attention for that you have disgrace yourself

• Tony McLion 7 years ago

Although the organizers goofed by not putting the name the way she wanted it, but I think she over reacted in this situation.The Prof. failed as a role model by such an action. I however want to believe that there was somethi ...

• Stephen 7 years ago

You know what?I'm Stephen on all my documents.so if you spelled my name Steven do you want me to accept that?Ghanaians we are too over knowing.You say nature,nature .Nature doesn't make mistake.That's her right.

Really? Nature doesn't make mistake? I think the scientists will beg to differ.

• Cantona 7 years ago

Your mother could have taken the Opportunity to correct this on the Platform when given the Mike...I am not on support of walking out on such occasion, I am sure she had agenda of the before the programme.

• K.kruh 7 years ago

This is inhuman to walk out on children who have read to honor your name oh Africans!

• Agya Nimoh 7 years ago

The story is still wrong in the headline of the story on Ghanaweb. Ama Atta (Ata) Aidoo should close down Ghanaweb. Very Petty and Self conceited

• Coco 7 years ago

What a show ...off havent yu travel before..... dont yu hear how foreiners...write gh names..and pronounce ..them....why the show ..off....haaaaaa..

• K.joe 7 years ago

Am really disappointed i think the woman wasn't ready for the recognition..A whole people's role model very very bad. Even Donald Trump will not do this

• Nick 7 years ago

She doesn't need such weak recognition. She is well celebrated. Accept the mistakes and learn from it. I call it growth and maturity!!!

Life goes on. The world doesn't revolve around her and neither does she give anyone oxygen to breathe. She can go to hell. Overrated and over-pampered.

• poka 7 years ago

Kinna Kintu has done more harm than good to her arrogant mother. If her perfectionist mother walked out of a programme simply because of addition of t to her name, why come public with it?

All because of an extra "T" in Ata? Unbelievable!!!

• Coward Africans 7 years ago

Thank you my mother for walking away.I have been wondering if Ghanaian journalist know what is proof reading.If one articles in Ghanaians journalists you can see a lot of spelling mistakes like dramatic Mahama ect ect ect.If ...

What the fuck are you talking about? What is the big deal if your name is spelt "Atta" instead of "Ata"? Should this minor mistake warrant the stupidity and idiocy she put on display?

• Fienefie 7 years ago

Misspelling someone's name is a big deal. People have have been refused visas, access to money that is rightfully theirs, entry into another country, falsly imprisoned because their name was spelled incorrectly.

Moreover t ...

• Son of Africa 7 years ago

We have Attah,Ata,Atta Ata-,Arthur.I wonder if someone can explane whether These names are related to each other or not,not only from the way they are pronounced.

• Don k 7 years ago

She might be a brilliant lady but to walk away from the event is childish. She should have used the platform to correct that mistake. Most academics lack the use of common sense

• Abdul 7 years ago

I once introduced a speaker at an important occasion and called him by a middle name he disliked. He corrected me right when he came to the microphone and delivered his lectures. I apologized and he accepted my apology and we ...

• Nick 7 years ago

You did a very bad work then. Sorry mate, but learn and perfect it

• Serwah 7 years ago

I believe this is a good platform to alert Ghanaians on being more attentive. Yes, no one is perfect but we should aim at perfection.

It really is off putting when people make mistakes at basic things; even this article o ...

• issa 7 years ago

Please can somebody do her a favor by advising her to seek medical attention?She might be going crazy if not normal behavior associated with Fanti educated women.The daugter is supporting her mother's madness attitude.

• Truth, 7 years ago

Ms Ama Ata Aidoo is a Fanti and wanted attention to detail to distinguish her among the Akan tribe. She went too far though. Fantes take pride in wedding but our mom has been Ms for life. The name of the daughter speaks volum ...

It is 'nurture' not 'nature' talents! The little little details!! Note this King Tony!!

• peeeeee 7 years ago

One t?

• jm 7 years ago

I support her1000000%, lets not forget that this even took place in our premier university. If this mistakes are condoned here legon then where else do we get the best from. I quiet remember nana akufo Addo had to remind a pr ...

• Thomas 7 years ago

You have made a mistake too. No one is perfect. Sorry. Next time give second thought before you act. Thanks.

• KO 7 years ago

wha

Who would have known this, had it not being the daughter trying to ride on her mum's status in society? I quess she wish she had not done such. Have u seen how your innocent mum is being ridiculed by Ghanaians? "Wo wo eba bon ...

NONE OF THE STUPID ORGANIZERS EVEN MADE AN ATTEMPT TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE ERROR AND APOLOGIZE OR SEEK REDRESS WITH HER BEFORE OR DURING THE EVENT N IM SURE SHE JUST SAT THERE N SHOOK HER HEAD N SAID....ARE THESE PPL FOOLS OR BLIN ...

• ona 7 years ago

Khufo, you have used very insulting language for the organizers. I put on record that, they went down in their knees to beg her to stay. a lot people intervened but she won't listen. She could have stayed and and even make a ...

• Kobena Buadu 7 years ago

Pure and simple. She is demented!!!

• ona 7 years ago

there are equally other great women who could have been honoured. does she want to tell us that there are no mistakes in all of some of her publication?
    Kintu, don't feel proud about this.

• Thomas Naif 7 years ago

two wrongs do not make a right. prof over reacted and had committed more sloppy mistake. the daughter should take a cue from this mistake by her mother. A disgrace.

WILL U SPELL UR MODA OR FADA'S NAME WRONGLY ON THEIR TOMBSTONE?. AMA DID THE RIGHT THING. MOST GH ARE MEDIOCRE N DUMB. THEY HAVE NO VALUE OR RESPECT FOR THEMSELVES....ANYMORE

• truth 7 years ago

Got your name WRONG so WHAT. If you were to collect a doctorate degree outside Ghana with some spelling error will she do the same?mboasemkwa.

• BAWUAH 7 years ago

Well that was her right to go where ever she wanted . But I am of the view that that was a wonderful platform to tell the world how she wanted her name to spelled .

• Frank 7 years ago

if she's not suffering 4rm menopausal syndrome, then I can't think of any else. Does she no d no pple whose names r also mistakenly written as Ata instead of ATTA? This is too Ptty 2 induce a walk out if it's true. No one ...

• KWAPPS 7 years ago

Just because a simple ''t'' is added to her name, should she walk out on an event? She is therefore this she is therefore that. This seems to me the dominant thread of reasoning running through this forum. Most contributors w ...

• My Observation 7 years ago

Then I suppose this woman would not read news articles again because almost every article I read, I see so many grammatical and spelling errors. It appears no pays checks draft writings to make corrections anymore. Even this ...

• pocket lawyer. 7 years ago

Do we not mistakes as human beings?Is she a twin or not??if she is a twin then she got it wrong for the name given at birth,Attaa,Atta,Ata she should ask Oprah Winfrey how "Oprah became her sticky name, that was an honour g ...

BEFORE U GO TO THA BANK N INSTEAD IF WRITING ONE ZERO, U WROTE 6 ZEROS....WAT DO U THINK KWEEN LIZABETH WILL DO IF SHE REALISED HER NAME HAS BEEN MISPELT? DO U HAVE AN RESPECT FOR URSELF? IF THE PPL HONORING U HAD ANY RESPET ...

• Ken 7 years ago

Two wrongs do not make it right. She should have shown maturity and stay. It's a shame she walked out. The university didn't do well if if she's not full of pride,

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

She went too far. Come on

• Frank Ben 7 years ago

Very trivial. Some times Prez Kuffour's name is spelt with only 1 "f" but it doesn't change him. Gadaffi's name is spelt variously at times starting with "K" or with "ff" or "f". Ama and Amma are the same. She could have used ...

• Kujo 7 years ago

What will happen if a someone from another country pronounces the name?

• Araba Thompson 7 years ago

I will be the last to condemn both the organisers of the program and the living legend Ama Atta Aidoo. But with me I will learn from it.
    (1) It is becoming unbecoming of Ghanaians trying to become whiter and British than que ...

• Jamila 7 years ago

Hahahaha. She walked out because her name was spelt two T's and not one and you are on here showing support for her walkout by spelling her name with two T's. Now that is priceless.

• Kwaku Broni 7 years ago

What an arrogance ! As Senghor said " a tiger does not has to come from the bush to declear it's tigritude". All know who a tiger is!! I suspect after seeing the wrong spelling of her name the Priof. went into a sneezing ...

• kwadwo osei danso 7 years ago

Pls l support my mom and academician academician. We must be serious as a people. One's name shows one's identity. Abeadze people are proud of you. Am from abeadze- mprinkyi. We are behind you mom.

• kwadwo osei danso 7 years ago

Those who are criticizing should know that little things in life matter the most,no wonder,we are where we are.l was registered at a polling station at abeadze- mprinkyi by a semi literate as osei k danso instead of osei kwad ...

• Peter 7 years ago

I remember my surname being spelt 'Peter Kofi Ezuah' instead of 'Peter Kofi Erzuah' in a visa given by the South African embassy in 2009. On leaving the embassy in Accra, I detected the mistake and discussed with some Ghanaia ...

• Mahadu 7 years ago

How could you make such a mistake though on an occasion of this kind. I personally would have added humour rather than walked away. It appears Ghanaians are too sensitive. Where is the writer's sense of humour if actually she ...

• Mahadu 7 years ago

Her reputation is out of the window from yesterday. Who care about this woman.

• lito 7 years ago

She can go to hell. She's not the only intellectual on earth. Disrespecting amal of invitees doesn't sound good.

• IDI AMIN DADA OF GHANA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

EVEN INCOMPETENT AND USELESS JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA DID NOT WALK OUT OF THE INDEPENDENCE SQUARE WHEN THE PROGRAM BRUCHURE WAS FULL OF RIDICULOUS ERRORS. PROFESSOR INDEED. TWEAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Forson 7 years ago

because it was his party that made those mistakes in the brochures. let's be reasonable.

• Kwaku Yeboah 7 years ago

Instead of 'amaataaidoo@gmail.com' type'amaattaaidoo@gmail.com'' and see whether your mail will go through. You are celebrating someone whose name you can't spell correctly? Come on. Apologise now.

• Forson 7 years ago

spelling of a name is different from how you think it should sound. if my name is "Kojjo" and you spell it "Kojo" thinking that is the best way to spell my name, I have the right to even sue you for imposing a fake name on me ...

• Benny 7 years ago

The walkingout never solves problem rather it jeopadises matters and makes problem worse cos. She shouls had stayed and then in that course of events correct the participants and callerbyes. Sorry guys my name is ATa and not ...

• Daada 7 years ago

Only ugly women like this arrogant Ama ATTA Aidoo, who can't get a normal man to love them, will pretend to be feminist. What other choices does she have, but to console herself with a so-called feminism. By the way, how did ...

• KWAME 7 years ago

I agree with you. Has Madam never made an error in her life? Slamming our Premier University is quite unfortunate.

• Cool 7 years ago

Well mistakes happen and that's why we have the work MISTAKE in the dictionary. It does not take anything away from her. She has over reacted

• Eddy 7 years ago

Nobody is perfcet.

• George 7 years ago

Humility is what we all need. Staying and correcting the mistake would have been a better option

• BB 7 years ago

These are the people who would one day be in the helm of affaires and put a foreigner's name as the president of Ghana and we would applaud them right? Nonsense.

• Cobby Rapture 7 years ago

Am speechless cos two wrong doesn't make right
    Still u are a proud mum

• Ebenezer 7 years ago

All accusing the writer should stop. In fact we are presented with the opportunity to reflect on lack of attention to detail. It is a microcosm of our national reflections on the area of negotiations of national inteerest ...

• Ebenezer 7 years ago

So my wife just educated me on same: she says that in the local akan language, in naming ( note I said naming) we don't use double character for names in twi
    What we find is acculturation of our names.
    But really I can se ...

• Akonoba 7 years ago

Master, the Aidoo is double.

• Michael Baffoe 7 years ago

I totally agree with the honourable lady Madam Ama Ata AIDOO. It's high time Ghanaians pay attention to detail... and this is not detail. This is the highlight! Our attitude as Ghanaians easily satisfied with near perfect ...

• Richard Obeng 7 years ago

I'm surprised everyone here thinks it's a mistake. It isn't! They were just clueless. Ghanaians take things for granted. I see lot's of people spelling words wrongly in a repetitive manner and they call it mistake. ''Labor, f ...

• NL 7 years ago

So people should see why Ghana is like this. Why would one walked away instead of using the same platform to educate the people so that such mistake will not repeat itself again. I don't personally see those age group as her ...

• Sparkle Zee! 7 years ago

Growing up, through school, i equally didn't pay attention to the correct spelling of my name. At each level i had my spelling and others spelt my surname anyhow they pleased.

When it dawned on me and i began to correct t ...

• gon. 7 years ago

This is greedy and stupid

• gm 7 years ago

l am disappionted in my beautifull mama ,What is she telling we the young once coming.Mama you are wrong you could have stay and make fun of it.Like you can say my name is Ata but not ATTA finished.Please apologised to the or ...

• Azumah 7 years ago

"Madam know all"what's more dishonouring than producing bastards to fill ur house?who is or was ur husband and which of ur children have the same father?Academic achievement as standard to disregard morality.Shame on u.

• Eric 7 years ago

It will teach them lesson to be thorough and use due diligence in everything they do and not behave like the incompetent NDC government, full of mistakes. For all you know they are all NDC appointees...

• Ella Ansah 7 years ago

She over reacted. She could have addressed the issue in a different and more matured way. It's because she got it all wrong that's why the daughter is doing all to defend her. Come on Ama Ata Aidoo. You should be bigger than ...

• Jedidiah 7 years ago

If it's something she has been trying to ensure for a long time, she could get offended. Your good works cannot be forgotten, Madam.
    Leaving may have been a bit extreme, as the participants may have also put in a lot of time ...

• Ella Ansah 7 years ago

I agree, it was for her to nicely correct it if she was patience to be introduced.

• Jj 7 years ago

Yu ar right , but what ever at all it is the program was meant for yu . , yu crushed yr own program . Isn't it...

• Amoesiwa E. N. 7 years ago

Ama Ata Aidoo, née Christina Ama Aidoo is currently a Visiting Professor in the Africana Studies Department at Brown University. I'm not sure if Brown University spelt it as "Ataa", "Atta", etc she would have walked out as s ...

• Francis Brakye Brown, Toronto 7 years ago

Her behaviour is inexcusable. Totally uncalled for, and it smacks of arrogance.

• jb amoateng 7 years ago

Of course she was right if it is true.Serious people like her dont take things for granted.Even a whole country messes things up with spellings when celebrating a national event.

• IA 7 years ago

Much as her name was wrongly spelt, the lesson she taught the World was people should silently walk out in protest even without a formal complaint. This cannot be morally right.

• Maria Saltson 7 years ago

All said and done, let's pay attention to detail.

• Fine boy 7 years ago

No one is perfect even word perfect has not yet attain it perfection!!! She should have stayed in do the correction. That was a bad decision she took .

• SLIMMART 7 years ago

Many comments on this issue share my exact thoughts. I believe Ama Ata Aidoo could have poked fun at the organizers of the event for the wrong spelling of her name, and then continued to participate in the event. That would h ...

• FACTUAL 7 years ago

I would have spelt her name: Amma Atta Addo; SHE WOULD HAVE HANGED ME!!! Forgive her; she is suffering from severe prolonged mental menopause!!!

• IB 7 years ago

That is silly to walk out cos you can't build a nation with people who refuses to make corrections but walked away, she is not the best in terms of education and even the most prominent people who surpasses her make spelling ...

• Koofie 7 years ago

You are right,you have done well Mama,it should be a great lesson to Ghanaian community especially birth and death department and passport office as well as our OPD's in our health sector why am I saying this, my friend had h ...

• Kwaku A. Danso 7 years ago

We allow mediocrity and indiscipline and when our roads are built with the wrong aggregate of cement to crumble in 1-2 years, or bridges are built wrong or electricity components left out that protects us from damages due to ...

• General DeGaule 7 years ago

Petty mindedness

• Kwesi 7 years ago

That is the behaviour of a Gey Hey girl. So full of herself

• Andrew 7 years ago

Names bear our identity,... I think she's right in her own world. U guys should wait to have names wrongly spelt in ur even ur certificate; and you will know how it feels.. I celebrate you Mom..!

• Enoch 7 years ago

Some are saying nature even makes mistakes which no man can correct. Must we as human keep being careless an repeating mistakes. No!!! Do you think any organization will wrongly spell her name again after know this action she ...

• Cecilia 7 years ago

So many mistakes...even in this article and the comments thereof!

I can't stand it when people assume my Cecilia is spelt as Cecelia. Ask!!! The artwork for this event should have been signed off by her! THEN this sloppin ...

• Danny 7 years ago

We Ghanaians sometimes takes things for granted. How you spell it is how you pronounce it. I went for an interview two years ago there three Names on my CV and the secretary came to mention two out of the three and I re ...

• Ritmens 7 years ago

Danny I feel sorry for you. You're arrogance could have cost you a job. As a person from Ghana living in USA, Americans have a hard time pronouncing my name. Should I get upset each time? The point is her was wasn't misspelle ...

• BASH 7 years ago

Very unfortunate but my 8yr old son asked why I'm giggling to the story,after telling him what occurred,he was like " but just a mistake to her name,she might as well corrected them rather than walking out"

• F.OSEI 7 years ago

Please people should understand her decision and move on with their lives. Th his woman is suffering from serious Menopausal Disorder Syndrom [SDS] She's not of herself. Do you think any normal woman will take such decision? ...

A collection of errors, at independence anniversary, wrong president for Gh, pink sheet errors that led to the election of an error president who's turner is full of errors, inaccuracies and, mistakes. This woman's name is ...

I salute you Prof Ata Aidoo. You are a real gem. You did the right thing as there is much in a name. Would you believe that in most offices in Cape Coast my surname Owusu-Mintah is written Mintah Owusu? I am forced to ask thi ...

You are saying Americans have problems spelling your name, ok. The people at the University of Ghana who mispelt the professor's name were they Americans? We don't have to encourage mediocrity, please.