You are here: HomeNews2016 09 02Article 466966

Ailing Komenda Sugar Factory seeks urgent capital injection

Read Comments Comments (77)

• cha 7 years ago

Just unbelievable , Mahama has destroyed and turn everything into comeedy in Ghana

• Apraku 7 years ago

Why worry NDC is reviving the economy , this dumbass NDC government with its brainless leaders.Commissioning a factory without raw materials to feed the factory and no electricity to run the factory , HAhahahahhaha, what a du ...

• MR OBJECTIVE 7 years ago

DWELL ON PROPAGANDA AND IT WILL EXPOSE YOU OUTRIGHT.JDM SOLE ADMINISTRATION IS ON HOW TO STEAL to WIN ELECTION.That is why mother-Ghana is bleeding.

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

SO IT IS NOW NDC GOVT ARE THINKING ABOUT CONSTRUCTING IRRIGATION DAM AT KOMENDA TO HELP GROW SUGAR CANE AFTER REFURBISHING THE FACTORY. HOW CAN A MAN UNDRESS WHEN HE HASNT EVEN SET EYES ON THE THONGS OF A WOMAN? WONT HE BE SE ...

• Constructivist 7 years ago

Hahahahahahahahahahaha........ aww, I don't die finish. How can a virgin factory be ailing?/Ghana is an interesting place indeed! Propaganda is like darkness and will never survive in the presence of light.

• Atugabiig 7 years ago

WHERE IS AKWESI PRATT THE DEFENDER OF THE SUGAR FACTORY?

• Citizen 7 years ago

My brother/Sister the factory was infected with the Zika virus that's why a 'virgin factory' as you described it is ailing just 5 or so months after its commissioning. The damages done to the factory at the point of conceptio ...

• Charles Higgins 7 years ago

He is the King Midas of our time but the opposite.

• Apuskele 7 years ago

If this story is true then it will make it into Guiness Records as a government failure.

• Joseph Kingsley Annan 7 years ago

Do Initial Public Offering by floating shares on the Ghana Stock Exchange, allowing private and institional investors to buy shares.

• Bisa Goma 7 years ago

Money is coward and will not move to where the risk is too great to be calculated.

• joe 7 years ago

Brainless government they use our tax to pay themselves why do u share ideas or direct them, they are square pegs in round holes. No school sense period!

• Alberto 7 years ago

We can't do anything right. Only 4 months factory is ailing.

• Gaisey 7 years ago

Sugar is bad for your health

• MINOR CASE 7 years ago

Hmmmmm. This factory was recommisioned with fanfare as an achievement by the NDC barley six months ago and is now on it's knees.
    It looks like no feasibility studies were done.So millions of dollars have been flushed down th ...

• KDK 7 years ago

The funds wasnt flushed down the toilet but rather emptied the national coffers and share behind the closed doors. We need to see this trend with JDM gov't since one in office, and now seeking a 2sd term!. May the good God sa ...

• Jew 7 years ago

NPP's all die be die Nana likes to hears bad news about Ghana, so they use it to campaign that they have the interest of Ghana at heart.

• OTOYO—KONONGO 7 years ago

Has Allotey Jacob heard that sugar factory not functioning? We NPP have good point and we campaign on it. Avu Koliko.

• mark 7 years ago

And who created the bad news

• joe 7 years ago

This is what has been called Creat-Loot-n-Share or better still reason to spend the tax payers money. NDC under incompetent mahama is a rot. No brainers just running the nation from jubilee house as if mahama was elected as a ...

• Word of faith 7 years ago

OHHHHH SO THIS IS THE END OF KOMENDA SUGAR NDC FACTORY???? CANT PRODUCE SUGAR??? NDC MUST SURELY GO

• Kyiri gyimi 7 years ago

I guess the sugar factory was born with a congenital disease! When will the 'ayansafuo" of Ghana arise to save their country?

• Davidson 7 years ago

It is a strategic move by Government to offload some shares of the company. Government does not intend to wholly own any business.

• Constructivist 7 years ago

What do you know about strategy? No strategic investor put his money a dying venture, people put their moneys in Stars and Cash cows not in "dogs". Credit Boston Growth Matrix.

• tmkn 7 years ago

Davidson you are a liar! Stop lying to yourselves and Ghanaians!

• Citizen of the land 7 years ago

Poor soul, this government has never made any strategic move except when it comes to stealing. Do you believe this government is that smart?

• JOE 7 years ago

NOOOOOOOOOO COMENT,EI NDC

• gh 7 years ago

for the useless n.d.c goverment everything is propagander they rush to do things only to fail at the end of the day,barly 4 months and listen to this nonsense.

• Papa 7 years ago

All you NDC people who insulted Dr. Nduom for questioning the readiness of this factory and for suggestion what must be done to ensure the success of it must apologize to him now. Where is Mahama now?

• sakatua old fireman 7 years ago

nothing good.black man cant do nothing.Let the white man come back then to govern Ghana.

• joe 7 years ago

This nothing to do with colour, it is just common sense...unfortunately these guys have lacking it.....so they went ahead n commissioned the factory without raw materials.... Cos if votes.....meaning the incompetent mahama pr ...

• joe 7 years ago

This has nothing to do with colour, it is just common sense...unfortunately these guys are lacking it.....so they went ahead n commissioned the factory without raw materials.... Cos of votes.....meaning the incompetent mahama ...

• Jig saw 7 years ago

I told you so, they revamp the factory so they can steal useless NDC government

• OYIWA 7 years ago

Ekow Spio's waterloo.
    I just don't understand why he went for the commissioning of the disaster waiting to happen and after tried to defend it by making the very childish excuse it was lack of power supply that was hamperin ...

• k, no problem, a 7 years ago

This is not NDC problem. It is the problem of Ghanaians. We should always put the right thinking people in charge of projects not cronies. The guy who was in charge of the project in the Ministry at the time messed everything ...

• Kofi - USA 7 years ago

Is the Komenda Sugar Factory ailing? Really? Where are all the NDC folks who were bragging about the President opening a sugar factory. Where are the 7300 jobs promised by the NDC government. What a country we live in. What ...

• Ebenezer 7 years ago

Such has been the lot of the governance of politicians. Propaganda drives its machinery! Let him address concerns when comes to the central region.

• AMA TX USA 7 years ago

Why we shouldn't blame ndc government who choose the man to manage the factory where is the central regional minister , Allotey nd co praising Mahama for bring back the factory for ppl to get job is another create, loo ...

• Opana 7 years ago

Can someone be charged with "causing financial lost to the state"?

TWWEEEAAAA! THAT IS ALL I AM GOING TO SAY!!

• TD 7 years ago

Oyiwa! You can't eat your cake and still have it. Propaganda and deep corruption will always come back to hunt you. Time will tell if proper planning were done before the project was put up.

• Davidson 7 years ago

The Komenda sugar factory is not ailing as is being reported here. We do politics with everything the reason Ghana is where it is today. It is a strategy by Government to offload the shares of the factory. Government does not ...

• KOO 7 years ago

Why do you repeat your comment?.A good business attract investors not a idling factory.The government started the factory without proper feasibility studies and the result is what is manifesting.What has the factory produced. ...

• John Adams Akim Tafo 7 years ago

This shows lack of planing vision and proper leadership.
    How much was chop through this factory.

• foreign mp 7 years ago

mahama must be aware that Talking and making verbal pronouncements are not operatioal tool.Dashing expensive vehicles to unfunctional people(akua donkor)and chiefs is not the best to economic recovery.It rather jeopodized eco ...

• Ritewing 7 years ago

It has not been too long, since the issue of the Komenda factory, re vitalized, dominated the airwaves. Let us bring the two sides in the debate then, to learn from them now, the current situation of the factory, in the ligh ...

• Kwaw Sese 7 years ago

I predicted six months ago that, we shall have 'sugar factory recovery levy' in the 2017 budget.

• Derek Sangari 7 years ago

Another scam

• Ali Mahama 7 years ago

Such stupidity occure when incompetent Leaders rush to put up projects for unqualified praises and votes.A Blind Mahama gradually leading GHANA to doom,It is time to Àrise for Change Nana Beba

• Wiseman 7 years ago

The problem Ghana has is Voltarians and Mfantsefo. They are the two poorest regions but won't wise up with their votes. Just like with butter and bread, they aided the whiteman against their own people Akans

• Bobby, Adenta, 7 years ago

If not stupidity, on the side of the NDC, this factory would not have reach this stage. So Mahama and his NDC does not know that they can use Sweet Potatoes to make every thing we sugar,? If you people getDead Head to lead y ...

• Asuoba- kyere-Denkyem 7 years ago

Oh mother Ghana, what did you do wrong to suffer in your old age? Did you refuse your husband (U.K.) to crack the whip or your offsprings are simply and inherently mischievous liars? After all these fine talks about the Kome ...

• YY 7 years ago

Only NPP people who don't want anything good will believe this concocted story and tickle themselves. NPP going on this tangent shows they are losing this coming election. They forget to know that spewing lies in this manner ...

• yaw 7 years ago

Infect the most useless govt Ghana ever had is Mahama he is so corrupt that you can't just imagine the new sugar factory he open just four months ago has closed down always check my track records what has Mahama done for Gh ...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

It is in our collective interest to make this factory work. Stop the politicisation. Help make Ghana work! Stop rejoicing over bad news for Ghana!

• Gh 7 years ago

Are you guys ghanaians at all?

• . seidu 7 years ago

All ndc lies are gradually coming out. Ndc , how many bags sugar have been produced now and where are they .

• Yaovi, Ho 7 years ago

that is infrastructural development in the Better Ghana NDC in Ghana

• Retired Special. Branch Officer 7 years ago

Was it necessary to set up the Sugar factory? Waste.

• Felix 7 years ago

Ebenezer !!! This where the so called komenda sugar factory has been brought to; eeeiiii Ghana !!!!!

• NANA PROMISY 7 years ago

SERIOUSLY? THAT'S A JOKE RIGHT?

• Obrefo 7 years ago

When you build a factory based on propaganda, you end up with a propaganda results: Garbage in garbage out. This corrupt incompetent Mahamah and his gang of thieves only care about winning elections to perpetuate their lootin ...

• Obrefo 7 years ago

Many experts and civil societies disserted this propaganda factory and told the corrupt incompetent dead goat Mahamah and his gang of thieves this factory was not economically feasible because of lack of local raw material to ...

• wasclean 7 years ago

I hate to say this, ndc is a shit.

• zavu 7 years ago

Who filed this report. Hmm ! Let us us watch our opinions very critically. I suspect mischie.

• wasclean 7 years ago

There they go again. Never accept the truth . your days are numbered. Nana all the way, Nana is the key to our mountainous problems. ndc is a bugabuga party with a rotten head.

• OSOFOMEKO 7 years ago

Ghana has plenty of corn and cassava. wouldn't it make sense to build a factory around these raw materials that are in abundance instead of sugar cane?

• I m 4 change 7 years ago

Incompetent mahama

• uncle boo 7 years ago

34million has gone into a drain.It could had been shared to 34constituencies.Allotey is it not better? You said it will cost NPP, in what sense? Now it is going to cost you and your party very very badly.THANK YOU.

• Chilly 7 years ago

that the sugar factory needs canal irrigation system which needs funding. This is black animalistic politics-- though human beings are all political animals by nature but obibini's politics are too black and self damaging. T ...

• Abudu 7 years ago

Mr. Mahama!,where is the sugar? Sugar is still being imported after the Komenda sugar factory was fully opened by you. Are you fooling yourself or Ghanaians?

• Isaac 7 years ago

When Paa Kwesi Nduom said there is are no raw materials to feed the factory to keep it running, some NDC activists decided to rain insults on him. The Truth hurts but it must be told. How do you just revamp a deserted factory ...

• Osofoba Agyare 7 years ago

The PPP people said it clearly on radio and TV. It was a project doomed to failure for lack of proper planning. How long can Ghana carry on like this? Time to make way for a PPP Government so we can see what they also can do. ...

• National Agenda 7 years ago

NDC is deceiving everyone. They rushed to revive Komanda sugar factory for only two reasons.
    1. For personal money because the was inflated. (Mahama, Allotey Jacobs, Asiedu Nketia, etc; all had their share.
    2. For political ...

• Yahaya Tanko 7 years ago

Eiiii Mahama n this Ndc are waiting ghana money too much what's the meaing of all this.borrowing such money n you can't get anything right

• Jay Allen the Rogue Attorney 7 years ago

How can we build a company before looking for the needed raw materials to be used? We count 1,2 , 3 everyday but we have not bothered to understand that we need to get one before looking for two. We have awkward leaders indee ...

• Vinss 7 years ago

MAHAMA IS WASTING OUR HARD WO MONEY VISIONLESS ndc GOVT