You are here: HomeNews2016 09 01Article 466826

Prof. Martey's $100k 'bribe': Ex-PRO’s claims false – Presbyterian Church of Ghana

Read Comments Comments (88)

• Aful 7 years ago

It is surprising that no comment about the supposed bribe is made in the statement. Martey is a fake pastor serving NPP

• Villager 7 years ago

This statement does not help the situation. Why not ask the ex-moderator to come clean by naming the politician? There is more to this story than meets the eye.

• Nii Teiko 7 years ago

No human being, born of a woman will believe in the former PRO. He has been bribe to defame the Reverend Professor.

• MANTSE 7 years ago

Dr. Emmanuel Osei Acheampong has taken the Church to a new LOW. How can somebody who has studied Theology to the Doctorate Level and preached Sermon after Sermon, ADMONISHING, RESTRAINING and COUNSELING members of the church ...

• Spy 7 years ago

I think being only an idiot is far better than the illiterate idiot you are yourself. You moron of a frog. If you were a human being you would know that you have no right to tell or dictate to anyone whom the person should be ...

• 1 Loaf 7 years ago

PRO you claim Martey mentioned the name of the "party and the top politician" to you, please do what your bible says by releasing this information to Ghanaians.

• PAA SEBOH . 7 years ago

OFUI BA SHUT YOUR PROTRUDING WATERING MOUTH UP.KOTOBONKU BAYIN,IT WAS YOUR SATAN UNCLE ALLOTEY JACOBS WHO TRIED TO BRIBE MARTEY BECAUSE HE THOUGHT HE WAS ABLE TO BRIBE AND MUTE ATTA MILLS'FAMILY SO HE CAN DO THAT TO MARTEY.N ...

• Ghanaian, NY 7 years ago

If the church wants to show patriotism and care to rooting out bribery and corruptions in Ghana why are they aiding and abetting the crime by not releasing the names of the politicians. After all the new PRO has stated that P ...

• SARPONG 7 years ago

If you read the whole Presbyterian Church response and you still come out with this response, that shows how bias you are.

This Acheampong guy said he accompanied Martey to this phantom Opposition members house on 28th Jul ...

• Nana Kuffuor, Abeka 7 years ago

These Presbyterian Moderators are disgracing us. Rev. Martey's predecessor dr. Frimpong Manso was sent to the US. He went and joined a homosexual church. His successor Rev. Martey is now collecting bribes. What scandal will t ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

NYAHO TAMAKLOE, DR ARTHUR KENNEDY, AFOKO MUST COME CLEAN ON THIER SOURCE OF MOTIVATION

• Jodi 7 years ago

Don't you know cooked story for cash and votes. nDC is behind the alleged accusation.

• APONKYE 7 years ago

Priest leaning towards the NPP must be a thief and a person without a conscience.

• Anim Joe 7 years ago

I support you,reading the statement I find it difficult to belive the presby church.

• AWINE 7 years ago

No wonder he is an NPP man. NPP is always ready back up their members even if they go wrong

• SARPONG 7 years ago

The Ndc as usual have paid this Acheampong guy to do its dirty work for them. Very soon you will see this Acheampong guy like Akua Donkor and John Dumelo driving a V8 truck.

Only fools will believe this guy that he refused ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

AUTHOR : DR TRUTH --------WAS THE WALL AT THE SMALL GHANA MISSION COMPOUND LIKE 'THE WALL OF JERICHO? WAS IT BUILT WITH GOLD AND ADORN WITH DAIMONDS OR WHAT ? NOT EVEN WALL BUILT FOR UNITED STATES MISSIONS IN GHANA AND BURKIN ...

• Sam 7 years ago

In bribery cases, it's only the witness who can testify, after all Bawuliar said "you and I were not there".

• KWEKU TADI 7 years ago

SO, WHO IS CLEAN IN THIS COUNTRY?

• Owura 7 years ago

Akyeampong's video recording says June 2012. That is different from June 2013. Martey has embarrassed the church. No two ways about that. Now the whole church is full damage control.
    Under his watch the church was figh ...

• KKO 7 years ago

Is this Akyeampong guy an ordained minister? Lord have mercy!

• Papa 7 years ago

POLITICIANS AND CRIMINALS

• Papa 7 years ago

You cannot lie on a man of God and go unpunished! Someone shd advice him to tread cautiously!

• Efo Kwaawaaku Canada 7 years ago

That guy is cursed for testify falsely against the minister of God, may curse come upon his forth generation,such-and-such idiots portrait himself as an Angel refused bribery,where on earth should the minister take PRO for br ...

• HONESTY 7 years ago

The PCG should tell us or ask Rev Martey to tell Ghanaians the name/s of the politicians who offered him the cash, V8 vehicle and the house. The PCG should stop beating about the bush. The approach the PCG is adopting does no ...

• propaganda 7 years ago

Whether u like it or not the moderator is competing with our politicians for bribes. He has gold medal In bribe taking. Men of God don't speculate, they rather speak the truth with facts and evidence. It's just like when a th ...

• DA 7 years ago

Must you surely put up something to exhibit folly?

• Kwame 1 7 years ago

Church you better investigate and stop false defence

• rich 7 years ago

ex-pro wants but the day u foolish man gets those things wil never enjoy it

• Hused Tweaa 7 years ago

A POX on the "house" of the Presby Church!!

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

A man joined the preisthood. The order he joined could not speak
    for seven years. Then they could only say 2 words. The first seven
    years passed and they went into a small room.
    His 2 word were, "too cold".
    The next ...

You sound like somebody who have failed in life and trying to make yourself relevant with plagiarized jokes, get a life.

• adamuaminu 7 years ago

Sacked pro is cursed out

• Rashid 7 years ago

I believe if it had been members of the ruling NDC that offered the bribe to Prof. Martey, he would have exposed them, taking a look at how critical he has been towards NDC. He can't name the people because it will affect the ...

• yaw yeb 7 years ago

I live in the USA and I am a professor of economics. Yet nobody has ever attempted to give me 100 thousand dollars bribe. How come that in a country with a very low GDP per capita, the Prof and preacher can consider acceptin ...

• Mahama72 & Montie3 7 years ago

Martey should come out to defend himself.I thought he held a press conference the other day and now the church has to speak for him .Martey AKRONFOO no wo hene?

• Kwaku Yuley 7 years ago

The Church can't defend anyone in bribery issues. After all, bribe is offered in privacy, not on the altar

• KWADWO 7 years ago

PROF MARTEY SHOULD NAME THE PERSON AND THE POLITICAL PARTY WHICH ATTEMPTED TO BRIBE HIM.NAMING AND SHAMING IS PART OF FIGHTING CORRUPTION.YOU KNOW THE CRIMINAL AND REFUSING TO NAME HIM ARE YOU CONDONING CRIME PROF?

• JOHN 7 years ago

BY NEXT JANUARY MARTEY AND NANA WILL NO MORE BE IN POLITICS

• Wright Atebi 7 years ago

Dr. Emmanuel Acheampong is cursed already for receiving bribe to come out with this false allegation. I saw when he was speaking as am an investigator myself, after his first statement I saw he was lying. Evil liar.

• Dee Vinity 7 years ago

And I am a psychologist Mr. Atebi, and from my long experience with cases such as this one, every sinew in Professor Martey's Presbyterian body betrayed him as a liar during his press conference. This was your typical attempt ...

• Shaba 7 years ago

Bring them for face to face talk show to know the truth. But woe to Martey if he fails to name the two bribe givers.

• Yaa 7 years ago

Prof. Martey God is with you! Be blessed and stay calm. The battle is of the Lord!

• Peter 7 years ago

Osei Acheampong should let Ghanaians know who gave the bribe to gag Rev Martey. By naming the name of the political leader, the conundrum will be solved. How can a devoted and dedicated Christian lie to the public including ...

• JAY 7 years ago

I always knew the former pro was lying,he is just bitter because he got sacked,and also his timing of events do not tally,surprisingly some STUPID and FOOLISH Ghanaians will believe him

• Kokuvi Da Togolese 7 years ago

Ei, the devil has taken over this man. He has actually sold his soul to the devil. He was sacked way back in June 2013 and he's still not over it. Poor soul!

• JAY 7 years ago

One surprising aspect of this bribery saga is how come the BNI or the POLICE have not invited Prof Martey on this?

• Abankus 7 years ago

It's very UNETHICAL for a whole church to condone n connive with a SELF-SEEKING pastor to insult d intelligence of Ghanaians. Even the man's involvement in the moderator position election was characterized by serious bribery ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

Its mr marty, who came out to talk about 100,000 dollars,car and a house and his former pro who was working with him at that time said mr marty, took the money and the car. So we want to believe two of them all..yes, there wa ...

• Nana Nti 7 years ago

Use ur brains. Fool

• Kojo 7 years ago

The Presbyterian should rather come and deny if the Mr Marty, is not driving V8 4x4 since 2013 and if he is driving such a car who gave him or was it the church who gave him the car?

• Papa 7 years ago

Anybody, who pre judge" The Man Of God" because of lies and evil claims from the former PRO, please kindly nie in prayer and ask God forgiveness because you have "Pricked against the Sword of God." Including the former PRO.

• Nana Yaw 7 years ago

The prof has more credibility

• kwame 7 years ago

That simple ...file a law suit seeking compensatory and punitive damages to donate to charity and to clear your precious name...Go for it!!!

• Lopez 7 years ago

This EVIL party called NDC thinks they can cow every citizen who disagrees with the way they run this beloved country of ours with insults. They know they have failed Ghanaians and that's why they are so scared of losing powe ...

All we r asking Prof Martey to do is to mention the political party which wanted to bribe him to clear the dirty air around him n shame the devil

• AWINE 7 years ago

The man is more than an unbeliver indeed

• K Mensah 7 years ago

Aful,you are a fool. Did you understand the import of the article?

• K Mensah 7 years ago

Only NDC fools believe the disgraced former PRO.

PROF. MARTEY HIMSELF INDICATED HE WAS GIVEN $100,000 AND A 4X4 SUV LATER FOLLOWED BY AN OFFER OF A POSH HOUSE.
    ALL WE WANT TO KNOW IS WHAT HAPPENED TO THE MONEY AND THE SUV?
    DID PROF. MARTEY RETURNED THEM AND IF HE DID, TO ...

• OTUBUAH 7 years ago

In one of the commentaries someone asked '-so in this country who is clean? -' the answer is in this country Nobody is Clean. Events in this year has confirmed that No one is clean. We've seen a lot this year, the corrupt j ...

• Dan Tadi 7 years ago

Martey is fake, and a lier we some of the members of the Church know but we can't talk even this our New Pro is the same.MARTEY go and leave our church in peace go and join NPP go. All of us can not join NPP becuase of you g ...

THIS ISSUE IS ABOUT PROF. MARTEY, THE $100,000 PLUS 4X4 SUV, THE POLITICIAN WHO GAVE THEM TO HIM AND WHAT HE DID WITH IT.
    WE DON'T CARE ABOUT WHAT WENT ON IN YOUR HIRING OR FIRING ANYBODY.
    JUST GIVE US THE FACTS AND STOP AC ...

• Gil 7 years ago

Clearly from his speech, one could tell where he's leaning. A pastor must not compromise. He should be forced to name the people who visited him with his acclaimed fat envelopes ect or for ever shut his mouth. Also since he's ...

• BSR 7 years ago

This statement will not wash. Prof Martey, Dr Acheampong and the person who gave out what was believed to be bribes are alive and are better invited and interrogated for the truth.

• Abdulai Mahamadu 7 years ago

The current PRO of the Presbyterian church of Ghana or any group of people can not tell us that the the former PRO of the Presbyterian church of Ghana was lying against the Presbyterian church outgoing Moderator,this alone co ...

• semantical 7 years ago

only d shallow minded didn't know dat so call former pro was putting out falsehood to save his stomach. now d records aa clear for d clear minded

• EVANS 7 years ago

I KNOW RIGHT FROM DAY ONE THAT, THAT EX PROS IS A LAIRER

• Nana Asenso 7 years ago

Aful the fool, do you understand what you read? The church has making bogus whatever the bitter former PRO has said, what else do you want to hear?

• goddard 7 years ago

Why not allow Martey to defend. Did he tell the church of the bribery attempt? And what did the church do? Does Rev Martey have V8? If yes let the church prove with documents how he bought it. The Presbyterian church is full ...

• fred 7 years ago

Why our pastors doing this to our church?? I pray the church is not divided. Instead of fighting for salvation for their members and also thinking about the poor who are always burdened with lots of fund raising in the chur ...

• Obuama 7 years ago

WHY NOT FORCE PROFESSOR MARTEY HIMSELF TO TALK AND DENY THAT HE DID OR DID NOT TAKE THE BRIBE?

• Abdulai Mahamadu 7 years ago

I think that the current PRO of the Presbyterian church does respect our intelligence and that is why they have come out with that damage control but, it will not work.The biggest question here remains a fact, the bribery all ...

• Mensah 7 years ago

Hahahaha. Why is the Presbytarian church speaking for him. He made a personal statement and he should defend himself.
    If live in a glass house...

• Super journalist 7 years ago

If they say Dr Emmanuel Osei is a liar why are they disturbing our ears.Whom are they serving Lord Jesus Christ or the devil

• S. K. A 7 years ago

Hummm, my question is that why Prof Martey did not call press conference at the time this thing happing but wait on till he become former moderator. I keep saying that thigs that happing in churchs we did not know but God hav ...

• da sylva 7 years ago

Presbyterian of Ghana leaders you ppl are all hypocritical in this analysis. do you think prof martey wud come n tell you wen he took De bribe or come n present it as an offering? stop De cover up........ coz DAT crook so ca ...

• S. K. A 7 years ago

In fact all of us know that every PRO for an organisation speek for the company interest. This cerent PRO for Presbyterian Church is doing his job as that. And when you have been remove from your post by force, what us lef ...

• KSK 7 years ago

In this age Afrikans are still following these churches and pastors. The Presbyterian Church is dead in Europe. Even in Scotland and Basel, they barely don't exist again. Yet, Ghanaians are wasting time and giving these peopl ...

• crusader 7 years ago

Why is the Reverend denying so vehemently that he is npp? He is treating npp like 2-2. Can he swear the bible that he will not vote npp? So what is the fuss? He is npp. He will vote npp. So he is not fit to be a member of the ...

• Luze 7 years ago

It is a big shame for so called PRO to jump into the defence of Rev. Martey, persons demeanor can tell what he/she is made of. So PRO keep quite and let sleeping dog lie we are not remote for some one to control. Let this sha ...

• merlin 7 years ago

HELLO, ARE YOU INTERESTED IN RUNNING A PERSONAL HOME BASE BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY THAT CAN EARN YOU OVER 200GHC DAILY WITH JUST THE USE OF YOUR MOBILE PHONE OR ANY INTERNET DEVICE AND GET PAID THROUGH MOBILE MONEY NO MATTER WHE ...

• Akua serwaah 7 years ago

Osei Acheampong is a devil leave him alone.Eei you dont God hmmmm..

• Sarfo Senior 7 years ago

Why do you people comment on the the topic instead of the content?. Here, the church pointed out facts which refute Mr. Akyeampong claim, and these are crystal clear. If you have any argument to the premises then post it and ...

• Rabbit 7 years ago

Rev Kofi Nyarkoh should be checked if he has not taken bribes from the ministers he is recruiting to London. There are more ministers in London but yet he is getting them from Ghana. His girl friend Eunice Adu Yeboah is anxio ...

• KWASI 7 years ago

LEADERSHIP OF THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH SHOULD FIND A WAY TO EXORCISE ITSELF FROM THIS NEGATIVE RELIGIOUS POLITICS. THE MODERATOR'S OFFICE OF THE CHURCH IS SURROUNDED BY CHARLATANS WHO CLOAK THEMSELVES IN CASSOCK OF POLITICAL C ...

• Dee Vinity 7 years ago

Was the Whole administrative department present when he allegedly collected the 'bribe'?
    Did he inform the whole church prior to that fateful meeting that night?
    The more prudent thing to do here is to dissociate the chur ...

• asonaba asiedu baafour 7 years ago

the way prof. martey carries himself and also because the church was not there at the supposed meeting, it's up to prof.martey to come out to defend himself. we all know he's very eloquent and don't suffer fools lightly. Dr. ...