You are here: HomeNews2016 08 30Article 466283

Extend presidential term to six years – Abu Sakara

Read Comments Comments (30)

• cha 7 years ago

No extension - politicians must learn to develop and govern- extending isnt going to solve the problem

• Truthfirst 7 years ago

4 years are adequate to evaluate a president and reward him for 4 more years. Not all presidents will be stella. Some of them will tank and no one ones to live under stress ad infinitum.

• aikins 7 years ago

Giving all president 6 years including useless once like mahama ? No no no no no no no and big NO.

• Omanhene 7 years ago

Kwasea Sakara

• Commet Harrys 7 years ago

Can we also require a vote of "No Confidence" so that we can kick out those who are in to waste our time

• Hanson 7 years ago

We have to make sure our leaders understand what is public service. And they are not there to steal.

• WAITING TO VOTE MAHAMA&NDC OUT BRUTAL 7 years ago

We need mid-terms elections out of the 4 years to get rid of nonsense in the governance system quickly because in the first 2 weeks you will have a good idea whether the administration will be full of nonsense or not. You don ...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Correct ????????????????

• Victor A. Young 7 years ago

Extending presidential term from 4 to 6 years isn't the solution. The constitution which allows any president to leave office with mounting debts, corruption and thievery should be amended or re-written. If an extension is wh ...

• Azumah Nelson 7 years ago

Leave our constitution alone

• XMAN 7 years ago

YEAR TERM SHOULD MEAN ONLY ONE TERM IN OFFICE PERIOD!

• All die be die 7 years ago

if we even extend it to 10 years u will never be a president of Ghana.extend it to 6 years for pple to fool when in power.like what incompetent mahama led administration is doin now.if they fool they go early as mahama is abo ...

• Kachina 7 years ago

So that we can vote to remove them if they are not performing well.

• Kwasi 7 years ago

https://grantstandblog.wordpress.com/2016/08/29/rio-2016-of-aphrodisiacs-stimulants-depressants-and-good-ol-politics-part-one-1/

• Jersey 7 years ago

We should be able to remove them if we are not happy with their performance. All politicians all levels incling Assembly men.

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

You think governance is an experiment for you to waste 2 years to learn on the job. Which of their policies required 2 years to mature?? You should start thinking of what you will do and how you will achieve it right from the ...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Correct

• MT 7 years ago

4 yrs term should be an incentive for presidents to govern proper so they can earn additional term. If you give them six yrs they may not see the need to work hard for another term. Corroption will escalate bcos those in powe ...

• Kabum Komfrafa 7 years ago

MAHAMA MAKES A CASE OF MAKING IT 2YRS .

A Fatally incompetent president to hold on for 6 yrs?

Crazy idea

• Jordys 7 years ago

Idiot!

• Tafawa Balewa or Abubaka 7 years ago

Unfortunately, he was born in the wrong country. Ghanaians have let their natural leadership as the Shining Star of Africa slip away.....instead crooks, thieves, corrupt men and ashawo so women have the say.

• SALVATION DELIGHTs. 7 years ago

The oil contracts they sign. Even 4years the looting is beyond measures for 6years for the kill. After 4 years, if you are good, people shall vote you into power for another 4 so that 48 cannot be missed. N G of 1990. Newt G.

• SALVATION DELIGHTs. 7 years ago

Other mother. German roots. Gingrich. Always into serious unthink of brutilations of other people. Forgive the electrical radioactive attack on your body, as if, when done to USA citizen white by Iran, Rissia or Sadam or Qadd ...

• Busia Danqwah Addo Kufuor 7 years ago

For we are now only waking up to the reality - and getting a little bit of your WISDOM. We did not know your thoughts are this many years older than us when we were accusing you of advocating one party blablabla brofo that we ...

• Jojo 7 years ago

He is the only one who has shown the presidency is for WORK and can WORK - since our dearly beloved and to-forever-miss OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH. As an ancestor, Nkrumah still stands tallest in development - infrastructural ...

• joe,boston 7 years ago

Four is enough or you can move. I am sure there are countries which allow their presidents to serve seven or ten years.

• Kwadjoe Yeboah, USA 7 years ago

Bad idea, don't even think about it. It will bred nothing but deepening corruption and will set the country so back if there is a bad government that manages to win a second term. Please don't talk without giving it a thought ...

• A. Kubi 7 years ago

4 years is enough! If the government does well within the four years and wins the confidence of the people, it will win the mandate of the people for another term through the ballot. Even, powerful countries like the USA and ...

• Dr. Appocco 7 years ago

Imagine being stuck with a corrupt and incompetent presidency for 6 years! The only way you increase the term for president is to change the constitution to a Westminster system of parliamentary government that allows the le ...

• Norien 7 years ago

No way. Look at his performance for four years. The worst years for Ghana's development. Even the four years is too much for him, by the way he should not have been there at all, it was a mistake.