You are here: HomeNews2016 08 17Article 463181

Presidential pardon not an affront to Judiciary - Martin Amidu

Read Comments Comments (64)

• NDC IS A CURSE 7 years ago

THIS MAN IS BROKE PERIOD.

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

THE SUPREME COURT EVEN HAVE THE POWER TO REVIEW THE PRESIDENTIAL PARDON POWERS GRANTED THE PRESIDENT IF HE DARES. READ GH CONST (b) all matters arising as to whether an enactment was made in excess of the powers conferred on ...

• TRUTH STANDS 7 years ago

The chief justice and the court are serving Akuffo Addo's interest

• facts 7 years ago

Martin Amidu may be right from the point of the presidential pardon being interpreted as interruption with the judiciary. But on the reason why the Muntie3 and not any other prisoners, should deserve the pardon, no one can co ...

• Nyansaba- 7 years ago

NOTHING THIS MAN SAYS MAKES SENSE ANY MORE. FROM THE ANAS JUDGES CASE TO THE MONTIE 3, THE MAN IS CLEARLY OFF-TANGENT. THE PITY OF THE SITUATION IS THAT HE DOES NOT EVEN RECOGNISE HE IS GOOFING.

• Sinclear 7 years ago

THE MONTE 3 MADE DEATH THREATS ON LIVE RADIO ON THE AIR, THAT CONSTITUTE A CRIME AND THE COURT JAIL THEM FOR SHORT TIME FOR THAT CRIME WHEN THEY LUCKY THEY DIDNOT GET LONGER JAIL TIME.TO GIVE THEM PARDON WILL NOT ONLY BE ...

• kwame 7 years ago

Amidu greased with your mothers Butt kwasiaa instead of u to read the sense he is saying u r there fooling

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

AUTHOR: HUMBLE B.--------Mahama must go. If Mahama would give a house and vihicles to Akua Donkor to insult opponent,then that is a good enough to vote Mahama out of office.

• kwasi 7 years ago

Oooh so u are more knowledgeable than lawyer Amidu

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

AMIDU IT'S NOT ABSOLUTE POWERS , READ GHAN CONST ARTICLE 72.

(1) The President may, acting in consulation with the Council of State-

• VICTOR CARRILLACE OFINAM-ANTWI 7 years ago

"It is, therefore, with great reluctance that I write this considered paper in defence of the 1992 Constitution." JUST LIKE SAYING, 'WITH ALL DUE REGARD, YOU MADE A MISTAKE THAT CAN BE CORRECTED BY THE PRESIDENT USING HIS PRE ...

• CHAKAA 7 years ago

You are very right, NPP MATI MEHOFO3 are very wicked and selfish party ever in this Ghana history. If sing for them u're their junior Jesus even if u kill they keep their mouth shut, the day u will repent and tell truth and b ...

• Salvation 7 years ago

the underlined word here is MAY, and that means it is optional to consult or not

• ABASS ALHASSAN 7 years ago

Does MAY means he has no power to free them as the NPP and it surrogate are trying to make us believe?

• ABASS ALHASSAN 7 years ago

Herh| Ofui did your teacher told you MAY means cannot?

• Omanba Pa, lslington - London 7 years ago

Once we are human being we can err sometimes and at this time Amidu has completely failed. If that montie guys mentioned his name to threat his life would he pardon them or he would inform the police about that? Eto da a opan ...

• KOOBOY 7 years ago

Dan Abodakpi, MP for Keta and former Minister of Trade and Industry who served a jail term for causing financial loss over an ICT project was pardoned by Kuffour.President John Agyekum Kufuor also ordered the release of 1,410 ...

• Komfo kesi3 7 years ago

Common sense should tell you, what a dangerous precedence JDM will set if he exercises this pardon!
    1. Kuffour pardoned those NDC thieves who were even his opponents after they had served well into their jail term. Not his ...

• kwame 7 years ago

Its your mother and father that are broke....Ashawo ba#kwasiaa

• buddha 7 years ago

he needs a job

• Van Pee 7 years ago

Hon Amidu is talking DEEP SENSE

• me 7 years ago

Speaking this way bcos they are from the north. shame on you amidu.

My brother I sited the U.S. and Russia Presidents to make my point that both of them pardon peoples whose action was alleged to have pose threat to the security of the U.S. and a person who murdered the two citizens of the ot ...

• SOLDIER 7 years ago

Your existence is one the reasons why Ghana is backward. Did you read Amidu's piece? You bush people will never cease to amaze me. Shame on you bushman!

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 7 years ago

DEAR HON. FORMER ATTORNEY GENERAL MARTIN AMIDU AND THE READING PUBLIC OF GHANAWEB.COM,

IT HAS BECOME VERY NECESSARY FOR ME AS A GHANAIAN LAWYER, INTERNATIONAL LAWYER AND LEGAL CONSULTANT TO RENDER MY PROFESSIONAL LEGAL OPI ...

• SCHEMER 7 years ago

You make it difficult to read especially when you write in capital letters. Next time heed my advice please and see the response. Though you made the most brilliant submissions and interpretations, I wonder how many people wi ...

• Paa Kwasi 7 years ago

Your exposition on the case is very informative for the reading public. Bravo !

• Esi 7 years ago

Just keep quiet

• Kwaku 7 years ago

Please create a room for one more mad man.

It's the quick timing other pardons are years into sentences or political times changed ...obviously you are running out of money or you are still saying thank you for all your bribes in the past ....you have now lost any res ...

• Dj 7 years ago

Whn he was supporting NPP dwarfs he wasn't broke? Fools

• Dj 7 years ago

Is nt the same person NPP saluted some few years ago? The truth they say is bitter.

• Moby Dick 7 years ago

The problems in Ghana from my layman's view are two: (1) the abundance of pastors, bishops etc everywhere
    (2) too many experts around.
    There are technical, professional and political experts everywhere who offer their ad ...

• Kwaku 7 years ago

This guy doesn't know nothing!

• Kontonkyi 7 years ago

Kwaku, he is speaking for every Ghanaian. The Constitution protects you and every Ghanaian from the Supreme Court becoming the Accuser, the Prosecutor, the Jury and the Judge in such cases.

I have seen a case like that w ...

• Paaaa K 7 years ago

Gosh this man is so hungry and day dreaming . What's all this plenty write up about? . I will not be surprise he has been bribed to write all these rubbish for NDC . Don't waste ur time becus those 3 dogs will stay there for ...

• NPP KWASEFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 7 years ago

What we are seeing at the Supreme Court is what I'll coined as "The Tyranny of Rule of Law".

• Kontonkyi 7 years ago

I agree. The process was not fair to the accused.

• Prince Charles 7 years ago

I think this guy is making a lot of sense. All presidential pardons granted are granted to those convicted by courts of competent jurisdiction, so why are those pardons accepted and not decried as an affront to the judiciary ...

• Kontonkyi 7 years ago

Yep.

• satanic church 7 years ago

Traditional Satanism is not simply an inversion, but a complete rejection of the images of a
    0244908520particular culture, religion, or philosophy. From there a Satanist uses those images against the ethos itself, that was ...

• Simms 7 years ago

The lawyers of the Montie trio did not advise properly. Why should the Montie trio plead guilty without putting up a robust defence against their contempt charges? Was it because the trio cannot finance a lengthy defence? And ...

• MAU MAU FREEDOM FIGHTER 7 years ago

So basically the argument the Citizen Vigilante is trying to advance is per legal technicalities, the crime of criminal contempt and the persistent assault on the Supreme Court by agents and assigns of John Dramani Mahama to ...

• dunaa 7 years ago

I have a lot of respect and admiration for Martin Amidu, but with all due respect I disagree with his position in the matter of three citizens issuing threats to kill constitutional officers of the Republic of Ghana. I cannot ...

• K.Ameko 7 years ago

Thanks, Martin. Why can't some see these facts?

• Barima 7 years ago

MARTIN AMIDU IS PREPARING HIMSELF FOR AN APPOINTMENT IN JOHN MAHAMA'S ADMINISTRATION.

Good Piece

• super 7 years ago

The ghanaian professor asare in the us made the the argument a long time ago, he was lambasted and here you've amidu npp's new friend expanding the argument.the (in)justice system must be reformed. georgina wood must resign!! ...

• EFO YAO 7 years ago

DOES FREEDOM OF SPEECH APPLY TO SOMEONE WHO CAUSES DEATHS FROM A STAMPEDE IN A PACKED CINEMA THEATRE BY SHOUTING FIRE, FIRE, FIRE. THOSE MONTIE 3 MEN DESERVE TO BE PUNISHED. THERE ARE LIMITS TO FREEDOM OF SPEECH.

• CARO 7 years ago

MARTIN'S ARGUMENT IS SOUND. HE HAS DEMONSTRATED HIS DEPTH IN THE LAW. HIS REASONING IS PERFECT AND I AM PROUD OF HIM. HE HAS PROVED THAT HE KNOWS THE LAW BETTER THAN MOST OF THE PEOPLE WHO HAVE SPOKEN AND MADE COMMENTS ABOUT ...

• What 7 years ago

Let this self serving git talk about all issues not ones to score points. Dip stick knows a lot of the corrupt actions done by his party but chooses to shut up and instead blackmail them . Hard to respect the guy.

• SAM 7 years ago

THIS IS SO FAR THE BEST AND MOST BALANCED LEGAL WRITE UP ON THE MONTIE FM SAGA.
    THANKS LEARNED COUNSEL

• Omanba Pa Aning, Toronto. 7 years ago

This guy should know better, when did they started insulting people did he use his good office to call them to order? This Montie 3 insulted the judges and you talking about pardon? Anyway he's an NDC member so he must suppor ...

• Aku 7 years ago

This judgement will certainly go down in our history books as a good example of what aught not have been. In retrospect I believe the justices will agree that they could have done better. I hope we all learn an important ...

• Barima 7 years ago

MARTIN AMIDU WILL SOON LAND A MINISTERIAL POST. YOU MARK IT.

'Citizen vigilante' Amidu got it all wrong! A few points here should suffice to drum home of the dangerous precedence JDM will set if he exercises this pardon!
    1. Kuffour pardoned those NDC thieves who were even his oppone ...

NDC per their arguments on these idiots of montie 3 are proving that indeed they wrestled the people's power to steal, kill and destroy the country Ghana and its people!... now targeting to kill and destroy the judiciary!

• Mike 7 years ago

Whether one chosen to see it as an affront or not doesn't make it any different, the president has that power

• JOSEPH COBBINA 7 years ago

Hon Amidu was totally right because the judgement was not fair and transpirant, so the judges must come again next time around

• C.Stephen Sackey 7 years ago

The rule of law is the foundation of a civic society.

I don't hold brief for these Monte 3.
    I think they are vile and crumbs from the bottom of the barrel of nation- wreckers, aided and abetted some people who are Ghan ...

• agyapee147 7 years ago

oh lovely dear Martin. the supreme court is the only body that have the legal right to inteprete the constitution. the presidemt's power of pardon is subject to their intepretatiom. the name SUPREME in a sense means HOLY ie h ...

• paul 7 years ago

Amidu you are too good.

• Close Observer 7 years ago

Martin Amidu is now either hungry and needs help or may be sick in the head now. In either case, he needs help.

• Ibrahim 7 years ago

i agree with martin Amidu for presidetential pardon