You are here: HomeNews2016 08 12Article 462127

I won't vote; It's not compulsory - EC boss

Read Comments Comments (81)

• jOHN 7 years ago

Dr Kwadwo Afari Djan’s successor believes the systems and the reforms that have been put in place, require the entire personnel of the electoral management body, including district officers and her other six commissioners t ...

• John 7 years ago

Don't over-hype Dr Djan,he started well but was a failure at the end.There were many new policies he shd have put in place to make our electoral system more acceptable which he didn't do.Nigeria copied from us but are now ahe ...

• kabokabo 7 years ago

who will vote if all of us say we are neutral? Assuming Asantehene, Okyehene, and all the paramount kings declare publicly that they are neutral so they will not vote because voting is not compulsory, which of their subjects ...

• KWAME 7 years ago

SHE KNOWS HER CONTRIBUTION TO NDC WILL BE MORE THAN VOTING FOR THE NDC.

• CITIZEN ONE 7 years ago

Women should govern Ghana, we have a better chance in getting things accomplished, or maybe if I could be allowed as the only male to give them guidance.

Not that her vote is gonna matter, but her conscience will be cleare ...

Author:- Egya Atta .....
    I have never thought as a Fante that our deities can involve in politics and take bribes. NDC, John Mahama, Asiedu Nketia, Koku Anyidoho,and Kofi Adams have infested our chiefs and deities with Poli ...

Author:- OFOSUAA.....
    NDC IS PURELY A MAFIOSO GROUP NOW...ALL THEY THINK OF IS THEIR WON COMFORT ZONE THAT IS WHY JOHN FORD MAHAMA COULD BUY TWO PAJEROS AND A STOREY BUILDING FOR AKUA DONKOR DESPITE THE MASSES OF NDC FOOT SO ...

• Mahmoud 7 years ago

Author: Kafui Ama
    Date: 2009-07-23 01:44:06

Please be patient and read this to the end.

By Craig Murray, former Deputy British High Commisssioner to Ghana | Posted: Tuesday, January 20, 2009

In 2004, Craig Mur ...

• WHO BELIEVE THIS 7 years ago

ALL HER TEN FINGERS WILL VOTE FOR MAHAMA .

• Omanba Pa lslington- London 7 years ago

Get lost you bitch.

Author:- Alhassan Walla .....
    What else do you expect from an uneducated, unintelligent, unlettered and a congenital imbecile of Collins Dauda's execrable ilk?

Collins Dauda is a stark illiterate; his education doesn't g ...

• Mr. Insider 7 years ago

My Dear Lady, As a leader of the Commission, you must lead by example. What, if other voters decided to follow your abstention, who would be blamed for a low turn out?

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

SHE IS FIGHTING HER CONSCIENCE AND PLAYING TO PUBLIC GALLERY. WHAT DIFFERENCE WILL IT MAKE IF SHE DOESNT VOTE BUT SUPPLY NDC WITH EXTRA BALLOT PAPERS?

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

AH, CANT U BE DIPLOMATIC? EVEN IF U WONT VOTE SAY U WILL VOTE. IF U DONT VOTE, THEN WHO DO U EXPECT TO QUEUE FOR HOURS TO COME N VOTE? JUDGES ARE VOTING, SO WHAT MAKES U THINK U ARE IMMUNE? WE ALL KNOW UR ALLEGIANCE IS TO UR ...

• Political Scientist 7 years ago

The EC Boss is damn right!!
    Many Ghanaians don't even know their birth-rights for being a Ghanaian.
    We only vote on tribal bias & partisan bias but not on political merit bias.
    Simply because Ghanaians don't understand a s ...

• Esi 7 years ago

My theory is that you won't vote because deep down you know your "boss" is incompetent.

• Joe konongo 7 years ago

what impact will ur single vote hv on the elections? give us a break

• Maame 7 years ago

THIS TO MY MIND SEEMS TO CONFIRM WHAT IS GOING ROUND IN THE MEDIA THAT THE EC BOSS IS NOT A TRUE GHANAIAN.SO IF EVERYBODY SAYS HE TOO WILL NOT VOTE BECAUSE VOTING IS NOT COMPULSORY THEN WHAT WILL BE THERE FOR HER TO DECLARE ...

• kwame 7 years ago

Madam EC, l am very disgusted and disappointed by your unfortunate public declaration that, you will not vote. l think you are too timid, too weak, you are not bold at all! You do not have the trait, capacity and even 10% lev ...

• Cindy 7 years ago

It's a complete waste of time.

How can this woman say in public that she will not vote. She dont know what she doing

• Coach 7 years ago

You guys want her to vote so that you can accuse her of voting for one particular candidate. She says she wants to be neutral, so if you intend to be neutral as well then don't vote and let the partisan voters do their busine ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

Thank you. In fact, there are too many ninnies who have no clue as to what is up in the system. Madam Charlotte Osei is doing her job gracefully and God richly bless her for staying focused on her mandate as dictated by the c ...

• mina 7 years ago

even if she wld not vote does she have to say it

• Yussif 7 years ago

So shall it be Allah becomes your witness from now,anytime one says something like this the Holy one sends Angels to police your convenant with him.The constitution stipulates and garantee your safety all that but if you do o ...

• YAMBONI 7 years ago

A WHOLE COMMISSIONER POURING DIS GARBAGE IN PPLS EARS!!!!. Pls CINDY n fr dose who might not vote due to dese comments, it's exactly wat she wants to achieve:. I can't justify dat u gonna vote fr party A or B but pls do take ...

• NPP SUPPORTER 7 years ago

She is right for deciding not to vote.I do have that idea also. what wrong with that. How can EC Boss alone rig an election. while the process is for not a person to do that. NPP party and the entire group of peopl ...

• Coach 7 years ago

It is only fools and imbeciles who think election result could be rigged by the EC chair, more especially when voting is casted, counted and the result declared right at the polling station in public

• Grow up 7 years ago

I won't vote,,,but I say you must vote...She could have said I will vote but I don't have to tell you who am voting for ... But again this is Ghana we don't practice what we preach...

• KOFI SIAW 7 years ago

Mrs Charlotte Osei, please what you have said is not all.The voters at the 29,000 polling stations including me, SHOULD ALSO AGREE FOR YOU TO BE ABLE TO RIG THE ELECTIONS.This is what former President Kufour and the NPP shoul ...

• obaa 7 years ago

Eeeiii u dis woman
    if u knew it's not compulsory y r u bothering urself to be ec boss or registering ppl
    I bore u Mrs

• Otikoton Djabaton 7 years ago

Are you aware Afari Djan never voted with the reason that he wants to remain neutral? The public will likely interpret his vote as symbolic of his possible biased intentions for one candidate or the other. There is nothing ab ...

• APPAU Benson 7 years ago

This is not good decision if u will not vote don't pronounce it is unfair.U know people vote for u before coming to be Ec chairperson n now look at what u are saying. If everyone says is not force to vote so they won't which ...

• MAN 7 years ago

MUM DONT MIND NPP FOOLS

• Amidini 7 years ago

Madam Osei, why should you worry yourself about allegation ? NPP never trust anybody even fmr prez JA Akofuor himself they don't trust him

• kubuu 7 years ago

is our EC serious ?because it is her desire for NDC to remain in power but not just for neutralality of our peace .shame on to u as the chair but lln't vote u are not leader with morality ooooooo gh

• Mertz 7 years ago

Should everyone also say is not compulsory therefore, ignored the voting Madam Osei?

• CAPE THREE POINTS 7 years ago

SHE MUST RATHER CONVINCES PUBLIC,AND INDIVIDUALS TO VOTE

• Araba Thompson 7 years ago

Charlotte Osei cut this crap, Ghanaians don't care about whether u vote or not. U will be shocked to know how Ghanaians think of you. At one breathe I need 500,000 to rig an election and another I will not vote. Pls u r a Nig ...

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

One would not have expected the chairperson. It sends a bad signal to the electorate. Does she consider herself superior to the people she expects to vote on December 7th? What would happen if everybody decided to stay neutra ...

• Kofi Nyarko 7 years ago

Madam EC chairperson. Maybe you don't seem realise, but your posture on electoral issues in Ghana makes it obvious that you side with a particular political party. It seems you are against any suggestions by almost all the pa ...

• Kofi Nyarko 7 years ago

It is also not very wise that you publicly say you are not voting. Many will take your stand. You should have been political about it even when a question is put to you. l don't think you have grown in stature in your field. ...

• Apisco 7 years ago

she says so because she has all measure in place to rig. but na lie. it wont work under our watch.

• Nana Ama 7 years ago

Vote is must

• AHATARIAN 7 years ago

THIS LADY IS CONFUSED,WHAT IS SHE,SAYING,WHY IS SHE CONVINCING PUBLIC NOT VOTE,OR ITS NOT NECESSARY TO VOTE,

• Dadaadia45 7 years ago

It is ok for the EC boss to say she won't vote.. Saying the elections """aren't compulsory """ degrades her and puts ...""not compulsory "" into voters' minds.

• Kay 7 years ago

Whether you vote or not just do the right things for Ghanaians to elect their right preaident.

• BLACK-STAR-COAST 7 years ago

SHE MUST SET AN EXAMPLE,BY CAST HER VOTE,OR,SHE IS TELLING OTHERS,LAY OUT PEOPLE ALSO NOT TO VOTE

• CASSAVA FIRM 7 years ago

VOTE IS PRIVATE,AND CONFIDENTIAL,ITS ONLY AT HERE,THAT ALL THE PEOPLE ARE INVOLVING THEMSELVES INTO POLITICS

• nana arhin 7 years ago

this woman is not serious in that ec office. who does she expect to vote leadership by example n you are not voting. you are a faliure to ghana election

• Pagan 7 years ago

What a ridiculous statement from a lousy woman who's supposed to organise elections and encourage Ghanaians to vote. I entreat Ghanaians not to vote to make her redundant.

• Habib 7 years ago

You have already distinguished yourself with the intelligent way of presenting issues. Shame unto your shameless critics, Nana Akufo Addo and NPP plus NDP Nana Konadu.

• Akwasi 7 years ago

She can not Vote because She is not eligible to Vote?oooooohhhh Probe her about Nationality

• Victor Baidoo, South Africa 7 years ago

THIS IS WRONG LEADERSHIP APPROACH. IF THE EC BOSS PUBLICLY DECLARES VOTING IS NOT BY-FORCE AND SO SHE IS NOT GOING VOTE, IS SHE BY THAT DECLARATION ENCOURAGING PEOPLE TO VOTE ON DECEMBER 7, OR OTHERWISE? WILL THE EC BOSS BE W ...

Oh "Mother Africa and Father Ghana"will be pround of you if you mean what you have said.Let LIGHT of thruth and the love for the National Unity shine.May Jah give you the Wisdom of king Solomon.

• AMA TX USA 7 years ago

You can vote for who ever you wants is your own decision you have bite what you can't chew is over to you now

• Joe Passah 7 years ago

Action speaks louder than words. Let your actions demonstrate you are a referee not a player.

So far, your actions, deeds, sayings, arrogance, snobbish character show you are an active player for NDC and a referee at the s ...

• tuutulapato's father 7 years ago

Idiocy! Ghana is full hollow headed leaders right now. How can a whole EC chair says I will not vote? Wona! Na )mb)tow aba maame Woegya mb3 declare results! Nkwasias3m arakwa.....

• mendolza 7 years ago

If u won't vote who is forcing u to vote.wat difference will ur vote make after all. Hipocracy in the highest level

• Nana Owusu Agyepong 7 years ago

So please permit me to get this clear, what is this woman saying? Then I am tempted to believe that she doesn't have the voters' I'd and I think this is the best person for Nii Armah Ashittey to sue at the high Court, because ...

• Prosper B 7 years ago

It's really amazing that a whole E.C could open to the public that she will not vote,who should vote if u can come boldly on air and say a thing like this.

• Anti Voter 7 years ago

She's right,
    Voting is not by-force, but a choice,
    If you know the law of the country & your birth-rights as a Ghanaian you're free to boycot voting these corrupt politicians to power!!
    You are free to say that openly in p ...

• BB 7 years ago

you

• STUPID MP 7 years ago

How could she vote when she knows very well that Mahama has failed big time. She is honest because she won't vote for NPP, hence her decision not to vote. By the who shd. vote for her to enjoy a better governance under Nana A ...

• Serious 7 years ago

You have voted already ain't you ashamed of yourself woman?Just get a child for the back door president and we will know you've done the right thing ok woman.For what you are doing is nothing proof to laurdina that the husban ...

• KB 7 years ago

who cares if you fail to vote. Your failure to vote is not the issue. Look for the issues and address them.

• OWARE SIMON 7 years ago

IS VOTING NOT A PATRIOTIC DUTY? OSEI CAN'T FORFEIT HER CIVIC RESPONSIBILITY TO PLEASE THE NPP. THAT IS STUPID AND WRONG.

• Juve 7 years ago

this woman needs to see the doctor, if all those involved in this electoral process say they r neutral hu else is gonna vote!!! wfd is this (madam mahama vote ooo vote)

• Peter 7 years ago

Certain things are better when you remain quiet. Be wise you don't have to say this. What about if everyone doesn't vote? Then you don't have a job and the country comes to a standstill.

• Nana forbi 7 years ago

dont vote

• kk3 7 years ago

Yeiiii fancy dress Mahama, wetin u dey do to this country? You reallystrive to cripple Ghana.

• issiful 7 years ago

This woman is cursed already .she is bloodly dangerous but God will stike her dead if she rigs the election

• K. MANU 7 years ago

I am so ashamed for hearing this "FA WO TO BEGYE EC appointment lady" spewing out her stupidity in public. If you, as the chairman of the electoral process can opening come out with such a stupid statement of neutrality or no ...

• Fils d'homme 7 years ago

A every irresponsible statement from the EC boss. If she will not exercise her civic duty as a good citizen of this country she should at its worst just shut up. I am very disappointed in you Madam chairwoman.

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 7 years ago

So did the EC rig the election for Agyekum Kufour when he was president for 8 years and with majority NPP MPs in parliament?

• Agbesi 7 years ago

If don't vote who cares you don't vote for npp ether vote or not it's your cup other tea

• Agbesi 7 years ago

If don't vote who cares you don't vote for npp ether vote or not it's your cup of tea

• fred prah 7 years ago

She sounds empty to me! how could one in such office make this pronouncement public?

• Dickson 7 years ago

Who cares .Your vote wouldn't make any difference, remember we are not stupid your abtainance from voting doesn't make you genuinely neutral and won't stop you from been biased.

• Ishaque 7 years ago

EC Boss granting interviews right left center backwards. She talks too much and capable of putting Ghana and Ghanaians at risk. How can she public say she won't vote, she should have been made to understudy Dr. Afari Djan for ...

• Yves 7 years ago

Who cares whether u vote or not