You are here: HomeNews2016 08 12Article 462109

Ghana’s economy lacks ability to create jobs - Economist

Read Comments Comments (20)

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

WHEN U HAVE FOOLS IN SUITS DRIVING THE BUS/ECONOMY. WAT DO U EXPECT?...TEPKER

• Bernard 7 years ago

Maca, also known as Lepidium Meyenii, is an annual plant that is cultivated in the Peruvian central highlands. The edible root, which resembles a radish, is a staple food for the local population.

Maca has been highly reve ...

• Grow up 7 years ago

How can you create jobs in this constant Dumsor environment. Ghana entrepreneurs cannot compete simple...

• Awude michael mawuse 7 years ago

Am coming to Ghana to create jobs

• ghanaman 7 years ago

What do the following countries in common: Gambia, Venezuela, Belarus and Haiti? They are some of the world's worst-performing economies and they all have lower interest rates than Ghana. What a shame!

• Julien 7 years ago

So the economists know the truth but government officials will not allow us to say it. The heat started since 2014 but all they say is, the economy is resilient. When something is resilient, it doesn't go down, it stand fir ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 7 years ago

A renowned Economist and Lecturer at Kumasi Polytechnic, Mr Kusi Boafo has backed the findings of CDD that the economy of Ghana is nothing good to write home about as every economic indicator shows that the country is in diff ...

• United Ghana 7 years ago

Do you really believe our problems are due to the lack of a single African market and, do you really believe that Mahama is actually taking appropriate steps to fix the economy? You must be one of his senior sycophants.

• yaw 7 years ago

when you have next to nothing people ruling u this will what ll happen
    whats sadden me most is that the poors e the most ppl voting for ndc
    gyimiii paaa nie

• Tony 7 years ago

So CDD is right...propaganda being played by this visionless government will end

The private sector can not create jobs so it can not be the engine of growth as they pretend to be. A private sector that can not light its own office when there is no power from the national grid in a tropical country like G ...

• Aki Samuel 7 years ago

indeed Ghana needs a visionary leader to create enabling environment for private sectors n investors

• Dr Robert K Glah 7 years ago

Never make politics with Ghana Infrastructure Issues:
    1.SMEs to create jobs to increase GDP
    2. Access to Energy and power
    3. Single African Market without barriers
    4. Rule of law
    5. Visionary Leadership
    Prez Mahama is b ...

Dr Glah, note - infrastructure is financed from taxing wealth creation, even if it's done through borrowing. So, if you destroy wealth creation, like Mahama's done, you have less for infrastructure development - SIMPLE.

• Kwaku Acpoli 7 years ago

To be able to solve the unemployment problem, we have to look at the main causes of unemployment The tale that 'I will solve the unemployment case when I come on board' is a promise only.
    What are the theoretical causes of ...

• Dziko Kwame 7 years ago

Funny Ghana.

Lecturing at K'Poly and you call him "a renowned Economist"?

I laugh my head off oooooo

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

IN THE FIRST PLACE, A MEMBER OF STAFF AT A POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE DOES NIT CARRY A TITLE OF BEING A LECTURER.

POLYTECHNIC TEACHERS ARE INSTRUCTURES AND NOT LECTURERS.

ON ECONOMY OF,IT SEEMS TO ME,WE STILL DO NOT KNOW HOW ...

Paa Joe, what good has all the PhDs we have in GH and, in the govt done? You're typically displaying the African vice of arrogance, brought on by having paper qualifications. Bill Gates didn't finish high school.

• Obroni 7 years ago

How come, Chinese, Indians, Lebanese, Europeans everybody can make it in our wonderful country? It's basic creative thinking, not giving up and hard and long ours of working without a getting rich in 1 day mentality, stealing ...

• Anokwale 7 years ago

What happens is a foreigner does not have extended family interference.