You are here: HomeNews2016 07 24Article 457688

GCB Bank sacks 195 workers

Read Comments Comments (66)

• Bobby, Denmark 7 years ago

Results of the IMF loans. Ndc is always full of trash!

• opoku 7 years ago

then kumasi GCB workers are in trouble. rest here

• shamu 7 years ago

Ghanaians need to understand that, when things are bad in company, people should go not asking questions about how to care taker for their family. The same thing that when government is not good, it has to go. Not creating fa ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33 ) 7 years ago

WE ARE TALKING ABOUT OVER 40 BILLION DOLLAR DEBT AND THE RESULT IS WHAT GHANAIANS ARE GOING THROUGH TODAY. LOOK AT OUR ELECTRICITY AND WATER TARIFFS AND DANGEROUS ZACHAEUS STEALTH TAXES "NA SIKA NO WO HE"???? MY CHILDREN ARE ...

• shamu 7 years ago

This is not about opportunity of change of government, but rather to change our directive of doing, and understanding things.
    Adade, never ever feel is the time for you and your NPP to come to power to loot.

AUTHOR: NDC------- If presidency was just borrowing to build bridges, construct roads, and schools then any IMBECILE can become president, but Mahama and his government can't use their brains to transform the economy to creat ...

• kooob 7 years ago

Over 2000 people depends on these 195 people who are going to be sacked . with unemployment raising in GH how are these people gonna survive? In fact I even think GCB need more branches.

Author:- akins......
    No all they need is God. The rate at which Ghanaians drive carelessly and the nature of our bad roads no matter how good you will be protected if one crash with big truck as a dispatch rider you will die ...

• Hamza 7 years ago

NPP will employ them back to work when the party wins this election, so we are all crying for NPP to restore us back to our work.

• Nyetefetor 7 years ago

Following your story, I'm afraid there is no indication of these workers being SACKED. Get your terminologies right Even for the respect of the affected GCB staff who perhaps have been prepared for the exit. GCB over the year ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 7 years ago

Ken

• ...... 7 years ago

These idiotic politicians have no love for Ghana and will connive with the westerners anyday to ruin our economy! Keep borrowing and one day all Ghanaians will be out of work. Idiots! Ghana is now a wasteland with foolish cit ...

• Hanson 7 years ago

Ghanaians are politically illiterate. They need political education.

• Musa 7 years ago

IMF bailout is working. Ndc has Notn gud to offer ds country. Mahama poisoned Mills n he's still there. He ran from the castle cos he was haunted by Mills ghost. ???? ???? ???? ???? Saman.

• Hanson 7 years ago

Give us Jobs

• LOLO 7 years ago

GHANA HAS NOT SEEN ANYTHING YET IN THE BETTER GHANA AGENDA. VOTE FOR NDC ON DECEMBER 7 FOR HE BEST GHANA. HOPE THE VOLTA REGION ARTSANS WILL GET MORE TOOLS IN COMPUTER AGE AND SING MORE ALLELUIAS.

• Forson 7 years ago

Compensation please. What about pension money?

• aston abek fada 7 years ago

Lessons to agitators. GBC should get ready then ECG and Education service and lazy Teachers hallelujah!

• ROCK 7 years ago

Heeerrrrrrr...Mahama y3 foonnn...so you think you are being on that seat forever! This serves as a lesson to all others Workers. This is just the begining,a vote for Mahama is a vote for suffering. Ghanaians arise for change ...

• Togbe 7 years ago

Tsooo why

• KKBK 7 years ago

When someone is working "nkraa"... it isn't easy, how much been redundant ?? Every sign is pointing to NDC's lose in December 7..

• Says Who 7 years ago

We want to know.

• Jakes 7 years ago

What a sense in this, can't you train the existing workers to reflect whatever changes that are coming, after all it doesn't take much time to learn basics in banking. It takes 3 months to become a bank teller or cashier,in S ...

• Kay 7 years ago

You can choose to vote wisely or vote foolishly but you can never run away from the resulting effects

• satanic church 7 years ago

Traditional Satanism is not simply an inversion, but a complete rejection of the images of a
    00233244908520particular culture, religion, or philosophy. From there a Satanist uses those images against the ethos itself, that ...

• Ben 7 years ago

There are so many of them who treat costumes like shit.

• Samuel Kwaah 7 years ago

Unemployment are increasing every day due to incompetent party in power God hve mercy on Ghana

Under better Ghana agenda, dumsor has come to stay and it is causing downsizing everywhere and Ghana Commercial Bank is not an exception. All these will end. Time will tell.

Author: Nyetefetor
    Date: 2016-07-24 14:51:00
    Comment to: incompetent Kanazoe Mahama

Following your story, I'm afraid there is no indication of these workers being SACKED. Get your terminologies right Even for the respect ...

• Nyebro 7 years ago

Foolish managers of GCB...they are more interested in the kickbacks they will get from the renovations they will carry out than the jobs they should protect.....Foolish and greedy leaders.

• yensiamoa 7 years ago

The NDC Party is not perturbed at all, because the Ewes, Krobos, Ga-Adangbes, Sefwis, Brongs, Northerners and Muslims
    are there for them. The EC, too, is in bed with them. Upon all the dumsur, killings, maimings, SADA, ISOF ...

• ddhdfhd 7 years ago

This should rather create more jobs for staff. See below.

The bank, in a statement said the Transformation Programme, which commenced a few years ago, also involved product and service innovation, alternate channel expansi ...

• KYEBI ADVOCATE 7 years ago

IT IS SHAME AND PITY SINCE THE OPERATION OF GHANA COMMERCIAL KIBI IN EASTERN REGION OF GHANA 60 YEARS THEY STILL RENTING AKYEM ABUAKWA STATE BUILDING AS THEIR PERMANENT BUILDING.
    I SUGGEST TO THEM AS URGENCY THEY SHOULD ACQ ...

• JH New York 7 years ago

Imagine that.About 60 years of Office Rent!.

• Let my voice count 7 years ago

Thanks for correcting this misinformation.
    Indeed as it stands now the so called rationalization has no clear cut criteria and / or policy objectives. The so called ICT innovations are full of not too clearly thought out pr ...

• Fairness 7 years ago

The caption and the story does not match. Sacking connotes dangerous stigma on the person sacked, it also comes with no benefits. The exercise being undertaken by GCB though may increase unemployment, the affected persons ca ...

• Let my voice count 7 years ago

@Nyatefetor, earlier comment was a compliment to yours

• Frank 7 years ago

I m f

• Mac, US. 7 years ago

Dr. Bawumia has been vendicated .
    He forsaw this lay offs and said it several months ago.
    I guess this is just the beginning.

• king SA 7 years ago

All cos of nursing trainin alawance. Just to rob paul to pay peter. Imf will not allow dis so cal alawance

• Forson 7 years ago

shame ur exploitation is not ur intension. u can train them to meet ur requirement. this is not fair. pls come again becos they r Ghanaians n need to be fed. l think all govt workers must fight for them becos who is next.

• Raymond Dennis 7 years ago

All attributing the sack to political issues are really out of context and know nothing about the country. NDC has done nothing, IMF did nothing, you need to read and open your eyes, stop doing politics blindly. GCB is restru ...

The open secret of retrenchment is that,the Men Bosses would retired the hard working experienced hands whom resisted their sexual advances or harassment to offer continued working advantage to their girlfriend or Concubine o ...

It seems the reasons to Retire some Workers of GCB is nicely and economically outline to hide the real motive behind the move.For,if truly "NEW BRANCH design introduction" is in the pipeline,why do management decide to retire ...

Correction:... instead to redeploy them

• BOB 7 years ago

It should also be extended to BOG where the big corrupt men are sitting doing nothing but chop,chop.letting DKM,Perfect edge and Jasta Motors to made our way with our monies.

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Dr Bawumia saw it coming that IMF bailout will lead to mass redundancy and our idiot fool president disputed it and what did we see mass redundancy with various excuses thinking that we are fools so we won't know that they ar ...

• Michael K. Tettevi. 7 years ago

God will make a way.

• TAVIE 7 years ago

IT A SHAME THE CALIBUR OF SOME OF THESE WORKERS TO COMPARE TO GLOBAL MATCHING OR EXPECTATION

• Stephen k 7 years ago

Yes its good to sack the guys npp secretly employed into the bank without any qualification.that is the trademark of npp.there are such guys in the other state institutions ndc go for them

• isaac 7 years ago

Dr bawumia, you are a prophet.vote for me 2016 so that i fire you 2017. U made this known to us before it happens. Ndc get ready to exit, your time is up.

• asim a.k.a. Zanzibar 7 years ago

After taken Ghc 50. 00 from us as minimum deposite, you are laying off some of your employees. Where do they go from here? Oh! I weep bitterly for Ghana. Time will tell, no position is permanent.

• king 7 years ago

dis 190+ pple are opposing the ndc gov't from stealing innocent Ghanaians moni so dey sucking dem to get chance to steal.

• Yussif 7 years ago

IMF imposition don't trick Ghanaians Dr Bawumia said this already so it's no news,Npp ll re employ them after they cancel the contract with IMF.why re minister not retrenched and it's always innocent hardworking Ghanaians NDC ...

• mahamudu Ali 7 years ago

What transformation is there in rationalisation? Stupid fools ndc gvt is bent on destroying the lives of ghanaians. They are not paying workers, taken off allowances, harassing everybody in life. They are just stupid cheat ...

• TIMOTHY GYAMWAH. 7 years ago

Is dis nt de rationalisation they spoke abt sometime back dat has hit de bankers? Many ppl explain dat it was for job cut bt ppl in government denied vehemently n said ooo its just a matter of shifting workers from one plc to ...

• RITEWay 7 years ago

Forget about useless and rotten GCB

• ALEX 7 years ago

IMF HAS STARTED IT AGAIN.GHANAIANS LOOK SOMEWHERE FOR JOBS.KUDOS TO MAHAMA

• uncle 7 years ago

Well this goes to all other government workers. There's going to be redundancy per IMFs conditions. A vote for NDC is a vote for further job losses.
    A word to the wise.....

• Efo koku 7 years ago

Are we safe.who is next ?

• Alhaji Abuu Brutus Germany 7 years ago

THEIR ARROGANCE AND RUDE BEHAVIOUR TOWARDS CUSTOMERS IS TOO MUCH TO BEAR

• hark. 7 years ago

This is mahama's results of IMF's bailout come December we shall vote them out.

• change is coming 7 years ago

rationalization for you Ghanaians. bawumia told you this dead goat will sack workers in 2017. u didn't believe him. this is clear for u to see. if u vote for mahama, he will sack ur brother father sister mother. de dead goat ...

• Alex 7 years ago

mahama is a disgrace to presidency!

• Abi 7 years ago

They were laid off not sacked!!

• buzzy 7 years ago

In fact sack all of them. I have applied for ATM for more than 3 months of which I couldn't get. They are lazy employees. sack them.