You are here: HomeNews2016 07 19Article 456508

2016 polls: I stand by social media ban – IGP

Read Comments Comments (144)

• BB 7 years ago

MAHAMA FOR 2016!!!!!

• Naa Dedei 7 years ago

Igp has NVR tasted Dr power of masses so he feels he is powerful. We shall take him and the ppl he intend working for by surprise! God is in control and The masses shall overcome the oppressors rule...Amen and Amen! Ghanaians ...

Author:- Gyeeda, Sada, Suba,Bus Branding Woyome.....
    Nana Addo is not corrupt but john Ford mahama is a traitor, devilish and surrounds himself with hardened criminals to kill destroy and steal.
    It is so sad to see ourselve ...

• Sinclear 7 years ago

cant you see this man is illiterate
    just look at his face

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

The IGP is just trying to start a confusion in Ghana. Has he got the police personnel to control the people when they decide to riot as a result of this. If there is a transparent election, there will be no trouble. Does it m ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Frank,the phones will work but the social media spreads faster than a phone call,if somebody sends you a click it is just a matter of clicking it back to another person within seconds instead of dialing a phone number which ...

Author: Frank Agyena-Karikari
    Date: 2016-07-19 15:43:13
    Comment to: bidding for JDM but won't work!

The IGP is just trying to start a confusion in Ghana. Has he got the police personnel to control the people when they ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

Corney, you are more than right. People who clamor for confusion should watch what is happening in Syria and Iraq and think twice. The EC also needs to do a good and transparent job so there will be peace. As for the IGP, he ...

• Steve 7 years ago

Somebody should advise this foolish man of a police IGP that his luck will be that he will not live to witness the massacre in the aftermath of that ban he is agitating for.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 7 years ago

I am telling this stupid man that he is not the owner of the country Ghana belongs to every Ghanaian so he must stop his stupidity and listening to what United state has said. Because of John Dramani. Mahama to go for another ...

• Kramo Seidu 7 years ago

This old man should give us a break. Go home and die peacefully. The most useless IGP in the Police history.

• Abban 7 years ago

Kudalor kwasea,you can't impose gyimi gyimii joker Mahama on Ghanaians.

• GHANAVIA 7 years ago

Who gave you that arbitrary power Mr IGP?

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 7 years ago

Only fools fail to listen to wisdom.

• EBBY 7 years ago

You lie bad. You are underestimating the will of Ghanaians. Never compare us to Uganda and other African countries. You will live to regret in toto if you dare shut down social media. Just go ahead, and you will see the con ...

• king 7 years ago

Hahaha.... What will you do little rat

• @VOTE MAHAMAH OUT.COM. 7 years ago

THAT FAKED DOCTORATE HOLDER WILL EAT HIS OWN SHIT.HE SHOULDN'T BROADEN PEOPLE'S ANGER,BECAUSE THE MASS ARE MUCH ANNOYED WITH THIS GOVERNMENT POLICIES.WE NEED A CHANGE AND IT MUST HAPPEN,SO IGP MUST SHUT UP.

• Abongo7w 7 years ago

What at all can you do

• K. Addae- London 7 years ago

The IGP is not serious and does not understand how the police operate in democracy.

• makus 7 years ago

Wafono so yedi wotrum, something is wrong with ur head

• moi 7 years ago

who made is buffoon IGP in the first place?

• kodjo nyasani 7 years ago

Who is this stupid useless ugly pig call moi are you a human being ? just go to any police station and tell them IGP is a buffon if you are really a man.

• Omanba Pa, lslington - London. 7 years ago

The Odwanfunu president John mahama made him IGP because he was the one who led the police to beat up the demonstrators sometime ago and mahama found out that this man can do a dirty work. That was the reason why he got that ...

• Joe Ali 7 years ago

This is an orchestrated means to rig the election by subduing the influence of the media to check any possible maneuvering by the incumbent NDC.IGP has no powers to undermine free and fair elections. He must be resisted at al ...

• Kwabena Akuffo 7 years ago

Social media is not granted by the Constitution . I prefer an 8 hour social media ban to a curfew. You just want to use social media for mischief on election day. I am talking to all the parties

• Atoo 7 years ago

I support th IGP 100%. When we did not have social media we lived in this country. Why are we behaving as if social media is air we breath. Mr. IGP cause it to be shut down so that these nation wreckers would not use it to se ...

• KANAWU KASABA 7 years ago

He doesn't understand the essence of constitutionalism and the law.

Law enforcement is not about wishes and personal edicts to enforces the wishes.

He may not like something for his own convenience, preferences an ...

• PAC LIVES 7 years ago

Has this IGP guy even manufactured a phone charger b4,nonsense

• KKO 7 years ago

Abowa fun ekurase police sergeant

• Obosom Denmark 7 years ago

Try that and see if you will not meet some of us in court you think we live in a jingles or you think you Lord of the land try and you will meet your meter!!

• Kombonyun Sampson k 7 years ago

Look at this fool gyiimi can you do it? bcose of your incoptent mahama. wait till mahama loose

• Prof. Issifu, USA 7 years ago

This man is crazy! What happened to free speech? He wants to steal the elections for NDC!

• KKO 7 years ago

Let us begin the media whisper campaign now: Mahama, IGP, ECG Bosses out!

• Asuoba 7 years ago

Look at the frog boasting.
    Who are you?

• Kwaku Kokotey Mensah 7 years ago

The Inspector General of Police should be dismissed for saying the above-mentioned statement. He is out of touch with the aspiration of the people of Ghana, the rule of law and democracy which Ghanaians have embraced. Civil ...

• Ekow 7 years ago

Try it and see what will happen in this country.

• Dee 7 years ago

MAHAMA HERE TOO. FROM THE EC, NOW TO THE POLICE ADMNISTRATION. THIS MAN WILL ACHIEVE HIS DREAM OF BEING THE PRESIDENT COME WHAT MAY!!. HMM, GHANAIANS, WE CAN ONLY LOOK UP TO GOD COS I SEE DANGER LOOMING. REAL DANGER-I MEAN.

• NK(nokwarey3,kanawu) 7 years ago

Ooo! Yes my brother but some of us are ready to fight for true justice en real change as Cote D'voire becos l can see dat is wat all those who want to do watever in their power to retain this mr. Ford Mahama en his corrupt go ...

• Onipa nua 7 years ago

IGP don't be silly, you want to help NDC to rig the 2016 election. God will punish you severely.

• A PANTU 7 years ago

I'll take you to court if you make any attempt, thief !!

• Ndebugre 7 years ago

This is what happens if you have people born in stone ages in charge of affairs of the country.

• #ProtestSocialMediaBanNow 7 years ago

Time to react. The IGP is playing with match sticks. Its time to test the powet of Social Media to protect free speech in Ghana. I believe Ghanaians on social media must use begin using social media to mobilise and threaten m ...

• BD 7 years ago

Under normal circumstances I will not support this move. Given the highest level of tomfoolery among Ghanaians in general , policians and journalists in particular and the palpable abuse of human decency, I support this move.

• LEVEL PLAYING FIELD 7 years ago

RECIPE TO RIGGING, RIGGING RIGGING. NO WAY. NDC IS IN TROUBLE THEY HAVE REALISED THAT. CHANGE IS COMING

• Jay 7 years ago

Everyday you in a country where state institutions turn to some political institution to back this stupid Mahama. A beg which countries are we learning from as Ghanaians? The us?uk?canada?kenya? My friend stop the bullshit ...

• Kusi Boadum 7 years ago

Mr IGP, you are not above the laws of ghana so as any body. If you your position is equivalent to Commander In -chief,better think again. The whole world is watching people like you and Charllote Osei in the run up to our imp ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Suba,Bus Branding Woyom 7 years ago

That is a lie. The IGP is lying. It is rather the social media that will let us know exactly what is going on because often times they back up their facts with pictures. Lets say for instance if NDC criminals snatch ballot bo ...

• Serious 7 years ago

Can you please banned your stupid self before that kohweni .Have you stop taken bribe ndc.police your time will come as change has arrived.

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

This IGPis an idiot.He is bent on s
    Rigging the election for Mahama

• Joseph 7 years ago

I support the IGP 100%

• agyeman 7 years ago

DR. IGP I AM REALLY SURPRISED AT YOUR INTENSIONS. UNFORTUNATELY THIS SHOULD NOT COME FROM YOU. I AM CHOOSING MY WORDS CAREFULLY IN ORDER NOT TO SOUND UPSET. YOUR INTENTIONS PERHAPS TO ONLY YOU ESPECIALLY WHEN IT IS OBVIOUS YO ...

• Uk 7 years ago

I think this man is talking from his arse, did he creat any social media or his family , Ghana people wake up we are not into slavely days , we mush stand for our rights peace

• EFFOH 7 years ago

MOMONE KOOBI

• Anwona Kanjaga 7 years ago

what is wrong with this pot-bellied insane policeman who will not qualify even to be a constable in the British police to ban social media

• One step at a time . 7 years ago

*_Timely Warning To Ghanaians!_*

FWD : ????

*"OMAR BANGURA from Sierra Leone has this to tell Ghanaians;"*

"I don't think you guys know what you are playing with. You can call each other names and laugh about it now ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 7 years ago

EBAA LAW CONSULT
    ORCA DECO (TOKU HOUSE) BUILDING
    1ST FLOOR
    ACCRA.
    GHANA.

MOBILE: 0545758633

MOBILE: 0245848560

TO: H. ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Suba,Bus Branding Woyom 7 years ago

this man is crazy and foolishly stupid
    as always

• FIAVI. 7 years ago

COWARD NDC IGP INTERMIDATION WONT WORK

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

What is this fool moron imbecile fucking problem with the media?This idiot coward should man up and ban social media from today including all state media and so that no news reach nobody.What a fool.Frankly Speaking NDC is ma ...

• puuo 7 years ago

We will use our phones to video any dirty tricks during election day so dont dream of banning it in the last hours to election because we will be vigilant this time.The right leader must rule...i mean we want the people's cho ...

• Apuu 7 years ago

top trikling yourself for you cannot and will not ban anything during the election.
    Gone were those days when the policy can intimidate the citizenry.
    We will match to the courts if you try anything funny to breach our righ ...

• Bobby, Denmark 7 years ago

Every evil comes from the ndc. Ndc is full of shit!

• Obi Ba JK London 7 years ago

You People want to take all means to let the joker John Mahama to stay in power
    John Mahama is drunk behind the steering wheel he don't know Nothing his communication studies didn't yield anything proper for Ghana
    He has ...

• Jakes 7 years ago

Get something better to worry about, instead of always talking about shut down of social media, let me tell you that the social media can be very effective tool to educate the electrates,about the dos,and donts,of the electi ...

• BEN 7 years ago

LOOK AT THIS STUPID THIEF. DO YOU THINK YOU CAN SIT ON SOMEBODY'S HAPPINESS. KWASIA MAN AND YOUR FUCKEN NDC GOVERNMENT. YOU WILL LOSE.

• NTIM Gyakari 7 years ago

STUPID.THERE WILL BE WAR IN GHANA.

• NTIM Gyakari 7 years ago

THEN.WAR/WAR/WAR/WAR/WAR/WAR/WAR.

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

I'm surprised a whole IGP should make such a statement. The media should rather increase their activities during that day to keep everybody informed about what will be going on. Wise up Mr IGP

• apuuuu 7 years ago

Mr IGP what is your fears a seating President should not fear of losing election if your Boss had done a good job I don't think you're going to ban social media during election day if your reasons of ba ...

• David abban 7 years ago

stupid fool you are mad

• Future 7 years ago

Old age is a beautiful thing but not when it comes to leadership like that of a president. I like this man's (Nana Addo) charisma and humour but I think he is too old to be elected as a president. At the age of 70 years your ...

• lsrael 7 years ago

We throw our weight behind you on this move but you will regret after month

• SIMPLE TRUTH 7 years ago

If the IGP has no innovative and creative way to HANDLE the 2016 elections, BETTER RESIGN,before it is TOO LATE.GHANA is not WAITING for your mahama.WHY HAVE YOU LEFT THE POLICE VERY OUTMODED?Make use of

your BLOCK-HEAD ...

• VOICE OF REASON 7 years ago

Always the case with low IQ buffoons who have no dog chance of ever becoming president under normal circumstances......just see the ease with which decent David Cameron of Gt.Britain stepped down and compare it with buffoon M ...

• #FASCISM IS DEAD# 7 years ago

John Kudalor, IGP must at least show he can be serious in this country and go easy on taking those swigs on the bottle and get busy with thinking.
    Ban social media, where, in his house?
    Maybe Kudalor John is going to ban i ...

• akwasi acheampong ntim 7 years ago

mr IGP don't be stubbon,be very careful.

• Joe Pasasa 7 years ago

This idiot called IGP is brainless. He should focus on is core mandate to combat armed robbery and ensure the safety of the people. Banning social media is a ploy by NDC and EC cum police to rig the elections for Mahama. You ...

• AMA GHANA 7 years ago

You people think Ghana is your personal property. Why are ugly people so arrogant? So you think you are invisible backed by your corrupt Mahama. Tyrants like you always get what is coming to them. Even the likes of saddam Hus ...

• mayaana fiagbe 7 years ago

Is it only election security that is so important? Why will he not ban it forever, since social media is used to commit crimes of equal measure daily, to their blind side? When people are using technology to counter abuse or ...

• GYAMPANTRUDU 7 years ago

There are more important issues you should be concerned with, not this one.Solve the rampant armed robbery problems instead!!

• ktz 7 years ago

You are SICK! Lazy police officer wasting Ghana's money

• NK(nokwarey3,kanawu) 7 years ago

Mr. IGP your bogus en sensiless plan is aim at helping mr. John Ford en his corrupt ndc government en nothing else. Think twice becos u will not be given de chance to surpress press freedom. Nonsense.

• Kofi, K. K. 7 years ago

IGP you are planning to bring confusion into the Country.

• Christian 7 years ago

You are power drunk l could seee.that arbitrary power would send you home next year OK. John Mahama would loose even if you ban radio.

• Kofi US 7 years ago

Don't be sheep because there are no green grasses around!!!

• pekopee 7 years ago

you are sick in the head ......Mahama's IGP

• George (Bawjiase) 7 years ago

Stop being stupid and childish our corrupt party the ndc will still lose

• ghanani 7 years ago

Kwaseasem! Why do you fear the people?
    Social media is the voice of the people

• Yaovi Agboyivo 7 years ago

He shud try it and see thieves hoooooo jul).We r going to do it UK style where cameras will be at all polling stations n media men all over.we shall collate all free n fair.No ktonu biaaaa Jul)

• Atonsu 7 years ago

I think this man has a mental problem. You people can never force mahama on Ghanaians. You want to blindfold Ghanaians to enable your paymasters to rig the election. NDC has realized their plot at EC has failed so they are pl ...

• Kko 7 years ago

Any attemt to shut down the social media on the election day means a lot to us as Ghanaians. Are we in the military erra or ..

• JOE 7 years ago

The IGP must be told he hasn't got that arbitrary powers. You are only a senior police officer. He should be guided by constitution .That pronouncement by itself is an affront against the youth and the youth should rise up.

• lt col ayeah 7 years ago

This man can he pass fitness test.does he qualify to be a police officer then Ghana we r not safe.can this man run for just 200 meters.no wonder

• NOBODY 7 years ago

IGP, your stance is a mockery of democratic principles. In the end, you'll be looking like a clown instead of the IGP. Your stance, to say the least, is Ignorant, Goofy and Pathetic.

• Rev Edwin 7 years ago

What does he mean, he's being paid to do a job for the NDC and that's where his focus is, we never heard his voice condemning those who were treating the SC judges, he is just thinking of the money he can make if he can pu ...

• EA on jul 19,2016 1858 7 years ago

Oh Mr igp why are intimidate Ghanaians please we need peace ooo so let it be free and fair and are you also becoming like madam ec eiiii 3de3n as3m nie y33bo y3n asaa bra y3n su hmmmm

• asiedu nketia 7 years ago

kwasiampanin u dint know how to create them but u want to ban them

• George paa 7 years ago

Master IGP is a lie .God is in control

• Mr Isaac Otoboah Buabeng 7 years ago

whatever u think is good to protect our national Ghana peace the good people Ghanaians citizens support you.God blessed Ghana Security Council and God blessed Ghana ....Amen Amen and Amen oo

• More 7 years ago

Look at this foolish.igp.this igp.need a.doctors.foolish.man.useless.igp.Look at this foolish man.like.flok.John.mahama.thinks.he.is.smart.this foolish igp is.going to bring war in Ghana.

• EVIL PLOT 7 years ago

Civilians just defeated treacherous soldiers in Turkey. Is that your fear? The Police should have no fears if they do not plan to facilitate the rigging of the elections by any party. Leave social media alone !!!

• One Ghana 7 years ago

Oh Mr. IGP read something about what the Private Media did in the Turkey.

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

IGP, WITHOUT LAW AND ORDER A NATION BECOMES DISINTEGRATED.

SOCIAL MEDIA ARE NOT ISSUED LICENCES TO USE THEIR RADIO STATIONS TO DO POLITICS.

DRINK DEEP TO KNOW,HOW THE SOCIAL MEDIA WERE PERMITTTED TO DO POLITICS IN GHANA ...

• Ohene Ansuh 7 years ago

You are stupid and idiots person to do that. You are working for ghana not NDC. stupid you are. Shame on you.Fool.

• wandi. 7 years ago

IGP what u are saying I disagree with u.is too early for u to start this action.

• Baba 7 years ago

Let the igp stop it's lies to Ghanaians and there will be peace, before, during and after the elections.
    The greatest danger to the peace of this nation is not the freedom of expression of it's citizenry, but the propensity ...

• Obrefoba 7 years ago

Stupid idiot you thing we going to stand idle and let you guys steal the election for the incompetent corrupt Mahamah again.

• Tete 7 years ago

true talk igp. that is a good decision for that particular day. at least some form of arrangement could be made for party flag bearers. all security agencies public ones should be provided media arrangement in case of the tro ...

Ghanaians won't tolerate this form of Dictatorship.This is another way of stealing and stuffing extra already made ballot papers for Mahama.

• Prophet 7 years ago

PAY BACK TIME FOR THE IGP. YOU THINK YOU CAN SUPPRESS THE TRUTH BY HELPING NDC TO WIN THE ELECTION. WHATEVER YOU DO GOD WILL FIGHT FOR GHANA. IGP WE KNOW YOU ARE HATCHING OUT A DIABOLICAL PLAN TO HELP YOUR BOSS MAHAMA. BUT TH ...

• Agbeli Kumordzi 7 years ago

Thank you IGP that is the best way to avoid the situation that those kokoase boys in Accra ghettos are preparing for
    Get organized to combat riots period

• shakamora 7 years ago

ofui igp illiterate

• Nana Kwame 7 years ago

Mr IGP, go ahead. it is the best decision. never mind any body.

• t.t 7 years ago

U will ban social media to enable ur party perpetuate election fraud abi ? If u fail to carry through with this diabolic plan then u are not a man enough born by a woman ? Idiot !

• t.t 7 years ago

The police are busy taking money from drivers and has turned a blind eye on armed robbers and all this IGP has in his head is banning social media so his party can engage in election fraud ? Lazy blocked headed old man ???? ...

• Fuseini 7 years ago

St.pid man, why I'm I not surprised.

• Kwame Ampofo 7 years ago

Please, can somebody advice this man to just keep quiet if he has no idea where the world is going. How can you ban social media. Is he aware how the liberalization of the media has helped to deepen our democracy. Those day ...

• Kingbobo 7 years ago

Another party animal like the IGP talking

• DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 7 years ago

FOOLISH MAHAMA IGP

• Totobibioo 7 years ago

The country will revolt just try it. IGP we have other means of communicating to the rest of the country. Quashiaa,Buloo.

• HP 7 years ago

If anyone put in charge of a group of people has to resort to the use of physical force to keep the group in check, that act signifies that the person in charge is totally incompetent and incapable of devising intellectual an ...

• Ice coola Un 7 years ago

Stupid and evil IGP you will die before the election day vote useless mahama and his idiots administration NDC party out period.

• Ri 7 years ago

Come block my VPN too ee? Wise up bro

• K. Burobbey 7 years ago

Who awarded this bastard a Ph.D? He doesn't show signs of maturity. Sooo backward. Jack, we are in 21st century. Even kids 6 months old use social media. Grow up, fool. When will the African be advanced. Stupid IGP.

• Stupid Idiot IGP 7 years ago

IGP you are nobody
    God will punish you, when you do that .

• Stupid Idiot IGP 7 years ago

This young John Mahama is using you old igp like odwan m333333.

• Aya 7 years ago

When Ghanaweb is copying and posting false stories, what else do you expect from the igp. Stupid media is the only problem, not police

• THE SENTINEL 7 years ago

“Social media is used to churn out untruths and half-baked truths and finally lies..." IS THAT ALL YOU KNOW ABOUT THE OBJECTIVES OF SOCIAL MEDIA AND FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION IN A DEMOCRACY AND A REGIME OF RULE OF LAW? IN FACT, ...

• Paul. 7 years ago

Don't be silly and fool Mr IGP.

• Common Sense 7 years ago

We are in support of the IGP. In 2012, NPP got disappointed for not using crude tactics as was employed in 2004 to declare themselves winners. They plan to do that this year. Mac Manu has said it and with an active social med ...

• Oheneba Atta--Gyamfi,CANADA 7 years ago

Mr IGP,this social media ban you plan to do. Cant happen so you better find a way to apprehend tbe numerous armed robbers in the country.No wonder your position has.been like the BNI.YOU are aware the past two elections were ...

• Aku NDC 7 years ago

See his stupid face.Can u hear urself,infact am member of NDC but this time who ever appointed must be very mean to this country.See your childish talk.

• Dzifa 7 years ago

You must be very stupid to talk like that.Do u and your Mahama think Ghanaians are fulls? Nonsense you band social media and you will see.Fools

• Cowboy 7 years ago

IBN CHAMBAS HAS TOLD YOU ALREADY OF THE CONSEQUENCES. PLEASE COMPLY AND FORGET ABOUT CREATING MAYHEM DURING THE ELECTIONS. IF YOU REALLY STUDIED TO EARN YOUR PHD IN THE USA, LET'S SEE IT WORKING. IF YOU HAD IT CONFERRED ON YO ...

• King 7 years ago

According to the IGP, he will ensure an eight-hour ban on social media during the general elections to ensure peaceful election if the need arises. Emphasis on IF THE NEED ARISES. It's not that he has made up his mind to ban ...

• Dahanshili 7 years ago

The is the means NDC is going to use and steal votes. Ghanaians should stand up for their right. This man is trying to use this kind of actions is nothing but to help NDC rig the elections.
    All political parties should stan ...

• Chokulate 7 years ago

You stand by wanumu. It's not your fault, u can only be IGP in Ghana. Where else? U want to die. Try it and u gonna love the feedback. Stupid politicians

• KING 7 years ago

.... and when you do, I'll personally distribute free VPN to people across the country to bypass that needles blockage. I thank God that I'll be in Gh by then. How do we expect things to go well with our country when we have ...

• KING 7 years ago

.... and when you do, I'll personally distribute free VPN to people across the country to bypass that needles blockage. I thank God that I'll be in Gh by then. How do we expect things to go well with our country when we have ...

• Ebenezer Boampong 7 years ago

This is not logical bcos social media is not the only way people can spread false reports.Other ways like phone calls,radio stations,websites and so on can also cause confusion in the country.we voted peacefully in the presen ...

• K. ADU - UK 7 years ago

NPP is saying NDC will steal if is stopped and NDC is also saying NPP will Forge false media to be used as evidence again. What will the other minor parties say?

• Bill Amewode 7 years ago

Why not ban telephone communication too.
    This guy is living in the past.

• RESIST OPPRESSORS RULE 7 years ago

DONT WAKE UP UP ..NDC IGP!!! ELES YOU WILLÖ RUN AMND LEAVE YOUR SANDALS BEHIND -YOU AND MAHAMA

• Steve 7 years ago

Civil strive waaawaaa! Allow this buffoon to try it and see.