In ghana, everything is political. I know this story has been posted by the NPP and is written with a slant in their favour. HOWEVER, look at the facts. The cost to produce electricity in Ghana is so much higher..Why? Businesses, are paying almost GH ¢1.79 per kwh. Why would someone expand their business in Ghana if they can get cheaper and reliable power from a neighbouring country?
GhanaMan 9 years ago
ivory coast came out of war to produce enough electricity with surplus for ghana even at cheaper rate.
ghana currently is an oil drilling nation whilst ivory coast is not .
ndc should not even be allowed to contest elec ... read full comment
ivory coast came out of war to produce enough electricity with surplus for ghana even at cheaper rate.
ndc should not even be allowed to contest elections again .
cpp and npp are the way out .
Skizzy 9 years ago
This whole Ameri gas contract stinks to high heaven. When you have a bunch of politicians who only think of contracts as a way of lining up their already bulging pockets then that's exactly the kind of mind boggling contracts that they would sign for mother Ghana. Honourable thieves, the whole lot of them.
RUTH 9 years ago
...... Oooooooohhhhhh Ghanaians, NDC IS really destroying the......... Unprecedented dumsor, unemployment rate plus high Ghana indebtedness will vote ndc out of power in 2016 elections...... NDC deceives rural areas with bore holes and proudly boasts of winning next election because villagers only care about bore holes and graded feeder roads, meanwhile ndc thieves are busy ripping Ghanaians off.... Our kid's future is destroyed by ndc government thieves through contract sole sourcing which has led to huge billions of dollars being paid to contractors and later shared by ndc government thieves.......
kk 9 years ago
When you have fools signing contracts they don't understand that what happens. The nation bleeds to death. And Fools will continue to vote for them. They say a country deserves the gov't they have. When there are too many illiterate. I hear Asiedu Nketiah bragging about his ability to mobilize more 'Kaya -Yee' to vote for his party. So yes, this is where that ends us.
willie 9 years ago
This is a wicked and evil administration who came to steal,kill and destroy just like Satan. John Mahama and his people will not blink a second stealing from a dead orphan. But there is time for everything..what will a man get in exchange for his soul? Sadly,this are the same people who attend church every sunday and give huge tithes and offerings which the Creator hates.. Sooner or later God's severe judgment will come upon them for their wickedness against the people of Ghana. There's definitely no escape for them..they face the wrath of God and Ghanaians..the day of reckoning is just around the corner..I weep for Gh..
Ebenezer 9 years ago
Jesus Christ! Really?
Nana Antwi 9 years ago
Mahama and his ministers are too fond of contracts that enrich contract holders and penalise government financially. Why? The only reason can be to keep the cash flowing like water
ssa 9 years ago
The gas supply problem is less than a week and Ghana is already losing $9.9m a month? Daily Guide must ome again
RUTH 9 years ago
...... Ghanaians are watching real evil at work in governance through the ndc government.... NDC deceives rural areas with bore holes and proudly boasts of winning next election because villagers only care about bore holes and graded feeder roads, meanwhile ndc thieves are busy ripping Ghanaians off.... Our kid's future is destroyed by ndc government thieves through contract sole sourcing which has led to huge billions of dollars being paid to contractors and later shared by ndc government thieves.......
sharp point 9 years ago
Maths fool maths
atwei 9 years ago
The gas supply problem is more than two months. Your govt does not tell the truth. Uncle John is always stammering with lies. It is good Daily Guide reminds us of the AMERI deal and how much we are paying. Whether it is one day or one year, we are paying.
Papa Bissue 9 years ago
The Ameri contract is one of the standard methods adopted in the power industry. A generator (IPP) installs the generators and gets paid a tolling fee for making the machines available. This is to recover the capital investment made. The fuel for running the plant is another cost component. Either provided by the user or the generator. Either way, the fuel cost is passed on to the user, in this case, government. Fuel for Ameri is supplied by Ghana Gas and there are problems from the producer, Tullow. Ghana is NOT losing money to Ameri as this article seems to imply. They are being paid for the availability of their generators, simple as that. Either the writer is ignorant of the workings of the power industry or just being mischievious. This does not help us as a country.
RUTH 9 years ago
..... NDC deceives rural areas with bore holes and proudly boasts of winning next election because villagers only care about bore holes and graded feeder roads, meanwhile ndc thieves are busy ripping Ghanaians off.... Our kid's future is destroyed by ndc government thieves through contract sole sourcing which has led to huge billions of dollars being paid to contractors and later shared by ndc government thieves.......
sharp point 9 years ago
Papa B issue. You are wrong. CONTRACT does not have to be standard. It is an agreement between 2 parties. The contract is governed by its terms. THIS CONTRACT HAS BAD TERMS FOR GHANA. ANOTHER WAY FOR NEW TO STEAL FROM US. This contract is shit. It could have been better for Ghana. You come out as an expert on power contracts and you are talking shit.
Kaert 9 years ago
Very good article . AMERI was set up by that sheik (a rich man by the way) but a horrendous CROOK (Alah I am sure will deal with him one day) anyway set up specifically to screw Ghana . He is making personally excluding any bribes to mahama and ministers plus hidden costs in contract work given to his brother ) US$150 million over 5 years good commission eh !! Disgusting
RUTH 9 years ago
Now because of tribalism and ethnocentrism, JOHNMAHAMA doesn't mind looting the state because he's assured of his biased tribalistic voters who disregard performance.... Hahahaaaa ide biiiiiiii Keke thieves in government bleeding our coffers empty...... NDC deceives rural areas with bore holes and proudly boasts of winning next election because villagers only care about bore holes and graded feeder roads, meanwhile ndc thieves are busy ripping Ghanaians off.... Our kid's future is destroyed by ndc government thieves through contract sole sourcing which has led to huge billions of dollars being paid to contractors and later shared by ndc government thieves.......
kwe 9 years ago
What is the electricity supply to the communities in Cote Di Voire? it is thirty percent but in Ghana ,we re doing more than eighty percent. So when it comes to generation power. Ghana is far ahead of it's peers in West Africa
Derek Sangari 9 years ago
Really, when prudence is thrown out what has it got to do with NPP. When this government has made poor decisions and not taken into account the people of Ghana you have a nerve to say NPP. Is NPP the ruling government. It is Ghanaians who are being subjected to high electricity bills based on one person's interest. The painful side of things is the mismanagement of this government is going to affect the future generation. Don't worry come November 7 out with the Mahama government and a big welcome to Nana Addo
Big Dadi 9 years ago
That is why you people are living in darkness. You allow such stupid and idiotic Mahama to deceive you. Even while you are living in darkness, Mahama promises you 24 hours of light and since you are a fool, you still believe him
GOD HATES PRIDE 9 years ago
HOW ON EARTH CAN NDC -KINDOM OF DARKNESS PRODUCE LIGHT?????? GHANA WILL NEVER SEE LIGHT IF WE DONT LIFT UP THE UMBREELA AND THROW IT AWAY SOMEWHERE TO MAKE WAY FOR THE KINDOM OF LIGHT AND TRANSPARENCY TO COME TO GHANA ---NDDC=TOTAL DARKNESS
Ghana is sick ! 9 years ago
Are we not mental patients as a country?
Say the TRUTH 9 years ago
UPON HAVING A VERY BAD CONTRACT SIGNED BY THIS DOOMED DAMNED NDC/MAHAMA REGIME THE COST OF THEIR ENERGY PRODUCTION IS KILLING COMPARATIVELY AND WE ARE ALSO DEFAULTING IN OUR ENERGY VITAL COMPONENTS SUPPLLIES!!
Cheap power fr ... read full comment
UPON HAVING A VERY BAD CONTRACT SIGNED BY THIS DOOMED DAMNED NDC/MAHAMA REGIME THE COST OF THEIR ENERGY PRODUCTION IS KILLING COMPARATIVELY AND WE ARE ALSO DEFAULTING IN OUR ENERGY VITAL COMPONENTS SUPPLLIES!!
Cheap power from Ivory Coast
Ghana is currently importing 180 megawatts power from Ivory Coast produced at 9 cents per kilowatts and sold at 11 cents/kilowatts compared to power generated locally and sold between 14 cents/kilowatts and 19 cents /kilowatts.
N-Gas
Recently, the West African Gas Pipeline Company (WAPCo) sus¬pended gas supply from Nigeria to Ghana.
This was as a result of unpaid bills by the Ghana government. The Volta River Authority owed Nigeria's N-Gas about $180 million, while N-Gas also owed the pipeline company $104 million.
A threat by the gas supplier to cut supply in October last year was sus¬pended after negotiations between a Government delegation and N-Gas.
Managing Director of WAPCo, Walter Perez, stated publicly that the debt owed N-Gas by Ghana was affecting his outfit's production.
The development is negatively affecting power distribution in the country which got a little better in February, this year and Government has as usual indicated it was explor¬ing all means to find alternative power sources to address the prob¬lem.
KKD 9 years ago
Ghanaian politicians are all alike. They come I to government with the sole purpose of lining their pockets. We need a strong honest leader who can control his ministers. Nana is not it, and neither is JDM. Ghana is fucked
The Analysts 9 years ago
Lets get the facts right. 9.9m a month, is what is being used to recover the investment made. We Ghanaians are responsible for providing the fuel to run these machines. If we have failed to do so, lets make sure the blame is placed on those responsible. The AMERI Plant has helped to contain the severe power crisis. Its unfortunate we've had to go down this very costly path. You always pay premium when you decide to wait for preventable situations to turn into emergencies. What we should be angry at is our failure to put in the right measures to avoid such situations!
DUNSOR IS BACK 9 years ago
OH BOY - NEVER THOUGHT OUR LEADER WILL SIGNED SUCH AN BAD AGREEMENT LOSING 10 MILLION A MONTHLY 120 MILLION A YEAR .
KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago
When you have stupid people signing agreement which doesn't favor the country nor the people in Ghana but their own personal interest. Ndc propaganda government led by his killer founding father and corrupt JJ Raw shit. What do you expect? I don't blame them, instead of we as people to put country first, our polluted political climate is to defend our stupid politicians who are making life difficult for generations to come. Keep adding gasoline to the stupid problems this government has been doing since the last 8 years. Example, building a fence in backward country Burkina Faso for $650,000. Idiotic morons in government.
atwei 9 years ago
This AMERI business is really a serious con strategy to milk us dry. The president has no ideas. His ministers are clueless and have no morals. Even if the ECG is sold, the investor will make no profit because at the end of the day all taxes and monies paid will go into the AMERI deal. O God, bring Ghana intelligent and well meaning leaders who will fight for the good of the land with fear in their hearts. John Mahama has dealt cruelly with us. God Bless Him.
Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago
We got to the level of foolishness in Ghana decades ago when we sat around as other nations with less sunshine in a 24 hour period than most African nations got on supplemental energy sources.
Yes there are industries and ... read full comment
We got to the level of foolishness in Ghana decades ago when we sat around as other nations with less sunshine in a 24 hour period than most African nations got on supplemental energy sources.
Yes there are industries and production industries that require different power sources but our failure to venture into other forms of safe energy production has been detrimental. For some 20 years Ghana's government could have engaged in subsidizing homes and government offices into acquiring solar energy. The saving would have meant most residential and commercial entities getting off the power grid so there could be enough power for industries. But then knowing our ignorant leaders they would have sold any unused power overages to other countries for quick cash to waste.
Kwaku Carl 9 years ago
MY GOODNESS!
Nebucadenezar 9 years ago
Ghana is being raped in the anus and vagina , left right centre by politicians. A drive through Ghana will show poverty all over the place. The incompetence and mismanagement is just too much. The worst we,the populace can to them is to vote them out. But they go scout free to enjoy their booty making the ordinary Ghanaian suffer for their bad decisions and thievery.
8888888888888 9 years ago
NPP AND THEIR LIES. STILL THIS WILL NOT HELP DWARFY TO BECOME THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA.
inercycl 9 years ago
That Donkor former energy minister should be arrested... immediately! Or later...time will tell
K Mensah 9 years ago
ssa, it appears you don't understand simple English.
K Mensah 9 years ago
Papa bissue, don't throw dust into our eyes. This Ameri contract is scandalous. It is of no benefit to Ghana.
Abeiku SW 2 9 years ago
And the Sports Minister is talking about spending 1 million dollars on the Black Stars ... at least they are doing a job
Shamo 9 years ago
GHANA NEEDS ONE MORE CLEAN UP, LIKE JUNE 4 1979.KWMAE NKURMAH ERROR,GHANAIAN'S ALWAYS THINK THEY KNOWN EVERYTHING BUT NOT.WHY DON'T GHANA GOVERNMENT CALL THE AMERICAN GOVERNMENT TO HELP FIND A SOLUTION TO THE AKOSOMBO DAM, BECAUSE IT WAS BUILT BY THE AMERICANS IN THE 60S. THE LEADERS ARE ACTING LIKE THEY DON'T KNOW BETTER.
pinado 9 years ago
Oh Ghana fucking negotiations of p
VOTE MAHAMA AND THE USELESS NDC OUT 9 years ago
Mahama and NDC are behind this looting and Share AMERI DEAL. People have to face the law. Those who are involved. Have to pay the prize. Thief's and Fools.
Kwaku Accra 9 years ago
If 1kw of solar power currently sells at 50cents why can't the government help individual home owners acquire solar panels on their roofs to produce power into the grid during the day which can be used cheaply by barbers, tailors shops etc while akossombo bui and kpong can help the few who cannot afford batteries in the night . The heavy industries can work something out with the oil and gas plants lnfact when solar power becomes common some houses may produce 20 to 50kw per day why are we wasting the free God given assets - sun power?
In ghana, everything is political. I know this story has been posted by the NPP and is written with a slant in their favour. HOWEVER, look at the facts. The cost to produce electricity in Ghana is so much higher..Why? Busine ...
ndc should not even be allowed to contest elec ...
This whole Ameri gas contract stinks to high heaven. When you have a bunch of politicians who only think of contracts as a way of lining up their already bulging pockets then that's exactly the kind of mind boggling contract ...
...... Oooooooohhhhhh Ghanaians, NDC IS really destroying the......... Unprecedented dumsor, unemployment rate plus high Ghana indebtedness will vote ndc out of power in 2016 elections...... NDC deceives rural areas with bore ...
When you have fools signing contracts they don't understand that what happens. The nation bleeds to death. And Fools will continue to vote for them. They say a country deserves the gov't they have. When there are too many ill ...
This is a wicked and evil administration who came to steal,kill and destroy just like Satan. John Mahama and his people will not blink a second stealing from a dead orphan. But there is time for everything..what will a man ge ...
Jesus Christ! Really?
...... Ghanaians are watching real evil at work in governance through the ndc government.... NDC deceives rural areas with bore holes and proudly boasts of winning next election because villagers only care about bore holes an ...
Maths fool maths
The gas supply problem is more than two months. Your govt does not tell the truth. Uncle John is always stammering with lies. It is good Daily Guide reminds us of the AMERI deal and how much we are paying. Whether it is on ...
The Ameri contract is one of the standard methods adopted in the power industry. A generator (IPP) installs the generators and gets paid a tolling fee for making the machines available. This is to recover the capital investme ...
..... NDC deceives rural areas with bore holes and proudly boasts of winning next election because villagers only care about bore holes and graded feeder roads, meanwhile ndc thieves are busy ripping Ghanaians off.... Our kid ...
Papa B issue. You are wrong. CONTRACT does not have to be standard. It is an agreement between 2 parties. The contract is governed by its terms. THIS CONTRACT HAS BAD TERMS FOR GHANA. ANOTHER WAY FOR NEW TO STEAL FROM US. ...
Very good article . AMERI was set up by that sheik (a rich man by the way) but a horrendous CROOK (Alah I am sure will deal with him one day) anyway set up specifically to screw Ghana . He is making personally excluding any b ...
Now because of tribalism and ethnocentrism, JOHNMAHAMA doesn't mind looting the state because he's assured of his biased tribalistic voters who disregard performance.... Hahahaaaa ide biiiiiiii Keke thieves in government blee ...
What is the electricity supply to the communities in Cote Di Voire? it is thirty percent but in Ghana ,we re doing more than eighty percent. So when it comes to generation power. Ghana is far ahead of it's peers in West Afri ...
Really, when prudence is thrown out what has it got to do with NPP. When this government has made poor decisions and not taken into account the people of Ghana you have a nerve to say NPP. Is NPP the ruling government. It is ...
That is why you people are living in darkness. You allow such stupid and idiotic Mahama to deceive you. Even while you are living in darkness, Mahama promises you 24 hours of light and since you are a fool, you still believe ...
HOW ON EARTH CAN NDC -KINDOM OF DARKNESS PRODUCE LIGHT?????? GHANA WILL NEVER SEE LIGHT IF WE DONT LIFT UP THE UMBREELA AND THROW IT AWAY SOMEWHERE TO MAKE WAY FOR THE KINDOM OF LIGHT AND TRANSPARENCY TO COME TO GHANA ---NDDC ...
Cheap power fr ...
Lets get the facts right. 9.9m a month, is what is being used to recover the investment made. We Ghanaians are responsible for providing the fuel to run these machines. If we have failed to do so, lets make sure the blame is ...
When you have stupid people signing agreement which doesn't favor the country nor the people in Ghana but their own personal interest. Ndc propaganda government led by his killer founding father and corrupt JJ Raw shit. What ...
This AMERI business is really a serious con strategy to milk us dry. The president has no ideas. His ministers are clueless and have no morals. Even if the ECG is sold, the investor will make no profit because at the end o ...
Yes there are industries and ...
MY GOODNESS!
Ghana is being raped in the anus and vagina , left right centre by politicians. A drive through Ghana will show poverty all over the place. The incompetence and mismanagement is just too much. The worst we,the populace can to ...
GHANA NEEDS ONE MORE CLEAN UP, LIKE JUNE 4 1979.KWMAE NKURMAH ERROR,GHANAIAN'S ALWAYS THINK THEY KNOWN EVERYTHING BUT NOT.WHY DON'T GHANA GOVERNMENT CALL THE AMERICAN GOVERNMENT TO HELP FIND A SOLUTION TO THE AKOSOMBO DAM, BE ...
If 1kw of solar power currently sells at 50cents why can't the government help individual home owners acquire solar panels on their roofs to produce power into the grid during the day which can be used cheaply by barbers, tai ...
why should we waste soo much money?