You are here: HomeNews2016 07 07Article 453347

Supreme Court erred in citing Montie FM panelists for contempt – Prof. Asare

Read Comments Comments (41)

• Judas 7 years ago

This simply means you can't tickle yourself and laugh at the same time, how aggressive should they be prosecuted??? Haven't we seen or heard worst than these??? Ghana. Yoooooooo

• ex-Cpl atia naagode 7 years ago

Cite an example my bro betrayal.what is worst more than claiming lives of fellow human beings?? Kindly tune up with time and be reasonable

• wakaholic 7 years ago

fior u judas bomboklat what do u mean Sia

• OGEE DAT 7 years ago

Fa wogyimi k).
    we're you here when Sir John, Atubiga, Ken Korankye and co were dragged before the court? Go away. wonnim hweee

• KONKONSA 7 years ago

You don't like reading do you?
    Then why bother passing silly comments?
    Read the whole text first before you display your ignorance.

• Muhammad 7 years ago

Yea.i agree with you . people just read few stuffs and begin to comment

• Gerty 7 years ago

Ken koranchie made those comments outside of the court yet the same court summoned him and he was jailed

• Hanson 7 years ago

Show some level of civility. For your information, Prof Asare has been consistent on this subject. He said the same thing when Ken Kuranchie, Atubiga and co were cited for contempt during the election petition. You can go and ...

• Edensu 7 years ago

Time will tell

• KWAKU SEI 7 years ago

AG IS NOT FIT OR UP TO IT. E BE DEE K3K3

• Louis 7 years ago

I think Prof. Asare is correct on this one. His explanation makes a lot of sense. Be blessed Prof.

• Ala 7 years ago

This is not the high courts or magistrate court. This is the Supreme Court. It is the only court of our land that has the original jurisdiction of summoning persons before them to explain why such persons actions are not cont ...

• Nash 7 years ago

i like his knowlege of the law and the due process, that is beautiful. only of the judges wouldnt be too arogant to admit the mistake been done and follow the due process. Thank you for shaing prof Asare.

• Kizito 7 years ago

Sir John n hopson's case was the time they have not pronounced de judgment but this one the panalists were commenting about wat de judges said.

• just 7 years ago

Who prosecuted the case involving Sir John, Hopeson Adorye, ken korankye and Steven Atubigah in the Supreme court election petition? I stand to be corrected but I don't remember it being led by the Attorney General. What prev ...

• Long John 7 years ago

You see, you don't understand english let alone, what the prof has said. If you really undertand what he has said, you wouldn't ask such question. Take your time and read the whole thing one more time. The prof. has made a ...

• Ala 7 years ago

Long John, the professors comment falls flat in the face of the law because this is about the Supreme Court. Our constitution gives the the powers to summon anybody before them whose actions they deem have been conteminous to ...

• Kofi, K. K. 7 years ago

Prof I don't think I agree with you. If the Attorney general refuses to cite the panelists for contempt what happens? If nobody will blow the horns for the judges they will have to blow their own horns.

• Alhassan Walla 7 years ago

So, if somebody threatens to kill the Supreme Court judges as in this case, and the Attorney General intentionally refuses to pursue it, the judges must sit down as lame ducks, do nothing and eventually be murdered, huh? Don' ...

• nana bonsu 7 years ago

am yet to read or hear exactly where the thread to kill is. they can deny this allegations and be set free because its people who are reading meanings into their statements. there is too much hatred in ghana, the level of int ...

• ex-Cpl atia naagode 7 years ago

Oh poor man! So yu nogo fit hear if yu no sabi read book?? People lik dis de make tins difficult for Ghanaman. Make yu wake up your ideas.

• ayeh 7 years ago

Then you have not listened to the tape so shut up...

• KONKONSA 7 years ago

Alhassan there is method and it is set in the procedure through which issues such as these are dealt with. Due process is key in justice delivery.
    The judges can start with a report to the police and the matter escalated fro ...

• KONKONSA 7 years ago

Very crucial

• igp 7 years ago

Its a criminal offence for the defenders to have issued a libelous threat to kill the judges. Lock them for maximun duration the statute law requires. Throw the keys at them.

• Takyi. 7 years ago

You think the police or bni will ever arrest them?

• K. Asiedu 7 years ago

This man is bereft of legal reasoning

• Julius Aghahowa. 7 years ago

Kennedy Agyapong, OMAN Fm and their cohorts are walking freely despite their dangerous and injurious pronunciations and declarations of war in this country. Why only MUNTIE Fm? Hmmmmm

• Kwesi Intsaful-Baafi, Takoradi 7 years ago

Even though I am not a legal person, the explanation he has so far given is quite understandable and i hope the Attorney General would take steps towards that. They must be punished ,and everything possible must be done towar ...

• Ernest 7 years ago

Thank you Prof for your education. Please who don't like reading or fail to understand prof Asare before commenting on this issue should stop condemning him, he really know what he was saying.

• Alfred Dautey 7 years ago

This signifies that he was trained in the American system and therefore understands what justice is about. Our Supreme Court is now behaving like God where. "might is right " is the order of the day. I can remember during th ...

• KUDZE 7 years ago

Don't exhibit your ignorance by asking Prof where he was when Sir John and Co. were dragged to the Supreme Court because his explanation on the types of CONTEMPT clear that

• mame 7 years ago

Proffesssors without .....?

• Daniel Opoku 7 years ago

@OGEE DAT: it's unfortunate that Prof Asare is being called names for his brilliant contribution on this issue. He merely sought to clarify and enlighten the public on the right things to do in such cases, going so far as to ...

• Ekow Donkoh 7 years ago

Let's put politis aside concerning this issue and lets allow the law to do it duty.

• K Mensah 7 years ago

Prof, what if the Attorney General who is a political appointee finds some lame excuse and refuses to prosecute these criminals.

• mm 7 years ago

Have you forgotten that the chief justice was also appointed by someone else as well as the ec? Don't do you politics with this

• Agyarkoh Kwabena 7 years ago

From the Prof's comments... All those who were cited for contempt and tried were tried unconstitutionally during the Election petition.

• Joe Bye 7 years ago

Its a shame the supreme court of the land is rushing and disgracing itself in this manner. Dotse and some one or two are confusing issues there with their small minds.You are been taught learn.

Prof. Come again. That is your opinion

• wakaholic 7 years ago

I don't think far about ndc funs comments about this essue. What do u expect De supreme Court to do those people? because they are ur party members u will not call a spade a spade Siasem